Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you believe in God?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,523 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

No

God bothering forum is that way
    >>>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭Moojuice

No. Definitely not the classic Judeo-christian concept. As a entity that is the sum total of human conciousness? Maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

No, the concept is laughable and deserving of nothing but contempt.

This being said, haven't we done this like 20 times before in AH?

*waits for Jackass to post another tl'dr*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Nope

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

nope, i believe in logic, science and the pursuit of knowledge. I do not believe in blindly accepting that there's some beardy bloke in the sky that hates gheys and needs money.

Although if said beardy bloke comes and visits me, I'll kiss mary harney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

No but then again I was an atheist until I realised I was God...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Oooohhh..

/Gets popcorn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I believe that something mighty had to have made this world but I wouldn't constitute that it is a big bearded man in the sky. It was probably just an alien or something like that.

This world is too perfect to be a pure fluke IMO

I believe that something mighty had to have made this world but I wouldn't constitute that it is a big bearded man in the sky. It was probably just an alien or something like that.
    But who made the alien?

This world is far far far far far from perfect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Wazdakka wrote: »
    Oooohhh..

/Gets popcorn.

Is it me or does it taste a little stale at this point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

If there was a God, what a petty little Bitch he'd have to be - look at the sorry state of the World and the misery that runs through it......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

If there is a god, I hope to fcuk he closes this thread.

DONE TO DEATH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

Nope, and if you do it's either because you're an idiot, or you haven't thought about it enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Futurism

GaNjaHaN wrote: »
    Nope, and if you do it's either because you're an idiot, or you haven't thought about it enough.

Either or, yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I don't believe in a creator

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

People are entitled to believe in whatever they want as long as it doesn't have a negative impact on anyone else.

Just because they believe in something doesn't make it real.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

I don't believe in God and I think anybody who does is retarded.

(couldn't care less if I get banned for that, just voicing an opinion) :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Larkin501 wrote: »

you might not get banned but your fecked under that new blasphemy bill haha.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

I AM GOD

DrumSteve wrote: »
    you might not get banned but your fecked under that new blasphemy bill haha.

If he'd said God was retarded or the church is retarded then maybe but hes just calling people retarded which is perfectly fine (in context with the law)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

So if you support Leeds United and think they'll win the Premiership in the next 5 years does that give people the right to call you retarded?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭drkpower

oooohhhhhh.....you are such a rebel......:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

Atheists are getting very dogmatic, ironically.

• Registered Users Posts: 842 ✭✭✭starflake

IF there was a God... Who created him/her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I do, yes.

Not going to start professing my beliefs and shove them down other peoples' throats because there's no need - everyone can make up their own minds.

Hate atheists who refuse to accept that other people can have opinions though. I don't care if believing in God makes me an idiot or a sheep.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

I AM DOG

Wtf??!! You are a dog? Explains a lot I suppose...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭stiff kitten

ya..i do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

damn all ye heathens to hell, more room in heaven for me then :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Nope. I don't rule out the existence of something powerful and almighty, but I seriously doubt it actually exists.

I find myself often pondering about what created the Universe, and what created existence. Have existence always existed, and if not - how did it just become? Still - I don't think a higher powerful created this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

I don't believe in God, but I don't dislike those who do, and I don't consider them intellectually inferior to me.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Don't post in this thread again unless you have something to add other than the above trolling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

Seriously? What world are you living in? :confused:

I dunno, I think we're at the stage of advancement and understanding of science now that the belief in a big man in the clouds is no longer necessary to explain how we got here and give us something to latch on to..

And yet I'd rather spend time with someone who believed in God, than with a bigot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭stiff kitten

while in my life where i could see god working through people in everyday life

was going to be a nun but love the fellas too much but i definately believe

some of you will witness god at some stage in your life..
    he has spoken through the prophets...think thats most of us

Seriously? What world are you living in? :confused:
    He means perfect in the sense that if the world was only a tiny bit different, we wouldn't exist. There are so many things in regards to our planet, solar system and universe, that if they were slightly different would stop us living.

I dunno, I think we're at the stage of advancement and understanding of science now that the belief in a big man in the clouds is no longer necessary to explain how we got here and give us something to latch on to..
    Except that we still can't explain what caused the big bang, what started everything.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭mobius42

We should set up a new forum called "Not this again?!" where mods of other forums can send threads dealing with the same old arguments e.g. God, scumbags, foreigners.:rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

no, but i bet when i'm on my deathbed literally sh1tting myself, i'll be offering myself up to god and jesus and all that is good in heaven, bet most of you will do the same!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

After I made my Communion, I was at mass with my parents. When the priest said "Body of Christ", I replied "No, I saw that lady making it in England!", pointing at a nun sitting in the front row!!!!

I had been to England the week before, visiting my dad's aunt who is a nun there and had actually seen nuns making the bread for church!

So after that my parents weren't too keen on bringing me to mass and now I am a "pagan" as they say! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

He means perfect in the sense that if the world was only a tiny bit different, we wouldn't exist. There are so many things in regards to our planet, solar system and universe, that if they were slightly different would stop us living.
    Yep I know that, but I mean in the sense that if there was a god, surely then 'perfect' would actually mean 'perfect', and all the crap like war, famine, etc. wouldn't exist. So if a god exists then it's far from perfect. But for a world that was not the creation of a god it is pretty perfect.
    Except that we still can't explain what caused the big bang, what started everything.
    Yeah, but I just think we're far too intelligent now to view as plausible the idea of The Big Man sitting in the clouds watching over us, smiting us, whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭BigEejit

And yet I'd rather spend time with someone who believed in God, than with a bigot.
    Um, isnt that out of the frying pan and into the fire?

I voted maybe, but now I'm not sure :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Long Onion

Do you believe in life after love?

Now there's a question ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭AthAnRi

Just out of interest, would you say that the Man who dreamed up the Big Bang Theory was retarded?

As a very intellegent, and very intersting Priest once said to me "I don't think there is a God I know there is one". I also believe in our Lord and Savious Jesus Christ I just wish I could A) know more about him and B) be more like him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭highlydebased

genericguy wrote: »
    nope, i believe in logic, science and the pursuit of knowledge. I do not believe in blindly accepting that there's some beardy bloke in the sky that hates gheys and needs money.

Although if said beardy bloke comes and visits me, I'll kiss mary harney.

+1 for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭BigEejit

AthAnRi wrote: »
    Just out of interest, would you say that the Man who dreamed up the Big Bang Theory was retarded?

As a very intellegent, and very intersting Priest once said to me "I don't think there is a God I know there is one". I also believe in our Lord and Savious Jesus Christ I just wish I could A) know more about him and B) be more like him.
    I dont run down anyones beliefs*, my Dad always is very religious and I respect that. But I dont think that standing/sitting/kneeling in a musty building listening to the orders of a man who I did not vote for is going to bring anyone closer to any deity than being at home browsing porn.

*unless said beliefs are technological in nature -> "your 1 meter 90 euro monster HDMI cable does NOT give a better picture than my 4 euro HDMI cable"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Im not sure to be honest...

dont really believe in christian concept of God of some old white dude up in the clouds...

but I guess there might be some other thing out there.

The Christian concept of God doesn't involve a white dude in the clouds. Just to clarify :)

Anyhow, yes I do believe in the Judeo-Christian God, and that He has revealed Himself from the beginning to the present. I believe that this God can interact with us, and not only interact with us, but change entire lives in the process.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

sugarcubes wrote: »
    Stephen Hawking? Well he's physically retarded if that's what you mean? Tho I'm sure it's god's will that he has to go thru life like that.

Banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭AthAnRi

sugarcubes wrote: »
    Stephen Hawking? Well he's physically retarded if that's what you mean? Tho I'm sure it's god's will that he has to go thru life like that.

It was actually a Priest by the name of Georges Lemaître that thought up the big bang theory. does that make him "Retarded"

I believe in Cod, is that good enough?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

This is one thing I happen to note in this debate. How come instead of actually bringing something positive to the table many of the non-believers insist on throwing mere ad-hominems at people who follow a way of life that they clearly don't understand? Incredible.
    I don't believe in God, but I don't dislike those who do, and I don't consider them intellectually inferior to me.

This is worthy of commendation. If more people were willing to hold this kind of attitude towards religious discussion it would be a lot easier to have in the first place.
    dfolnep wrote:
    Nope. I don't rule out the existence of something powerful and almighty, but I seriously doubt it actually exists.

I find myself often pondering about what created the Universe, and what created existence. Have existence always existed, and if not - how did it just become? Still - I don't think a higher powerful created this.

I've been there, and occasionally I do doubt my beliefs. I think believers will doubt from time to time.

Religion explains different types of claims to science. Religion tends to deal with metaphysical questions about the whys of life. Science explains to us a bit more about the how.
    brummytom wrote:
    I do, yes.

Not going to start professing my beliefs and shove them down other peoples' throats because there's no need - everyone can make up their own minds.

Hate atheists who refuse to accept that other people can have opinions though. I don't care if believing in God makes me an idiot or a sheep.

It's peculiar the way that some people feel that they have it all worked out. There's still much I don't understand, and much I will probably never understand in this life time.
    I don't believe in a creator

Interesting, do you believe in a creation?