Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

your crazy luas experiences !

• 19-08-2009 10:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭

muppets

any way mine is a couple of ladsblew off a few fireworks at the back of the tram in abbey street... couple of scared old ladies got of the tram thinking it was broken and waited for the next one

i want you stories :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Que "THIS ISN'T THE DUBLIN FORUM!"

Which it isn't. I've always found the Luas grand when up in Dublin, everyone sits down peacefully, gazing out the windows. Like sheep being ferried around. Suppose the craziest I'ver ever seen it was before the Munster vs Leinstir rugby match in Croke Park. It was a different story coming home though. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

The first time I was ever on the Luas I ending up sitting near three English guys who were all obsessive Laurel and Hardy fans. They were in Dublin for some kind of Laurel and Hardy convention, were wearing dozens of badges with pictures of Laurel and Hardy, and talked constantly about their favourite Laurel and Hardy films. It was a little bit surreal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

robbie_998 wrote: »
    on the luas sometime last year going into town... got on at the red cow and the luas was empty enough (just came out of the parking area) so me and my mate (tom) got on and took up 2 chairs each... it was empty so why not. so when slowly it start to get a few customers but still not even half full... then we hit heuston and a heard of culthies ploughed onto it. so seats full and a fair few people standing. we got to museum when a few more people got on but a bloke got on (about 30) with a long blonde wig, a big womans dress and a granny bag pushing thing and also had a bit of a beard :eek:

he was a complete nutter and the bloke beside me started taking the complete piss out of him while getting the bang of vodka of the nutter.. it was hilarious :D

That was the worse story I ever heard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

seen a couple of fights breaking out but nothing to major

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Personally I blame those culthies, they are always taking up seats on the luas.
    Taking our jobs and stealing our women.

tallus wrote: »

Are they rural folk who have formed some kind of crazy religous sect?

I'm hoping the OP can shed light :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

on the luas sometime last year going into town... got on at the red cow and the luas was empty enough (just came out of the parking area) so me and my mate (tom) got on and took up 2 chairs each... it was empty so why not. so when slowly it start to get a few customers but still not even half full... then we hit heuston and a heard of culthies ploughed onto it. so seats full and a fair few people standing. we got to museum when a few more people got on but a bloke got on (about 30) with a long blonde wig, a big womans dress and a granny bag pushing thing and also had a bit of a beard :eek:

he was a complete nutter and the bloke beside me started taking the complete piss out of him while getting the bang of vodka of the nutter.. it was hilarious :D

Can anyone translate that please?

TheZohan wrote: »

I lolled!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Culthies? are these a new species?

stepbar wrote: »
    Culthies? are these a new species?

Again... I would like to point to the OP's Post....

Apparently it has since been edited...

muppets

any way mine is a couple of ladsblew off a few fireworks at the back of the tram in abbey street... couple of scared old ladies got of the tram thinking it was broken and waited for the next one

I had an entirely different recollection of how the story went... Something to do with "Culthies" and a man in a dress :confused: I guess my memory just isnt the best.

It's not our fault Dublin women love us. Especially those D4s. They find a culchie pulling up beside their Ferrari's in a tractor sexier than...well themselves.

muppets

Muppets?

Jim Henson had a yearly Luas pass apparently

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

I had an entirely different recollection of how the story went... Something to do with "Culthies" and a man in a dress :confused: I guess my memory just isnt the best.

sorry but people are being<snip> and dont seem to like that story.

jumpguy wrote: »
    It's not our fault Dublin women love us. Especially those D4s. They find a culchie pulling up beside their Ferrari's in a tractor sexier than...well themselves.

I understand the culchie thing, but what about culthies ? I'm wondering if there's a new sub species of culchie we haven't heard about yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

I know if I say "One time I seen a guy streak the length of the Luas" I'm gonna get a heap of "Oh that was me!!!" replies, so no thanks.

The Luas is one of the least interesting places on earth. Unless you like staring at people, then it's Disneyland! :confused:

So you abuse people just because the didn't like or couldn't understand your story?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Well, they're not quite mops, not quite puppets, but man...

So, to answer you question, I don't know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

I can't wait for Primary School to start back..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭beauty101

Was getting the luas late one night last Christmas when the Luas runs til 3am. Got on at Ballally and was heading to Stephen's green. At Windy Arbour this drunk fecker comes on with a smoke in his mouth-he's about 18.

Then luas was half full and he was screaming Fairytale of New York at the top of his lungs, after a few mins the driver comes on the intercom and tells him to shut up or he'll call the gards. At Cowper 2 of his friends get on-also bladdered and with their cans of Royal Dutch. They're sitting in one of those booths for 4 people. He asks one of is friends can he have their can cos he needs to take a p*ss and they say no, he asks the other and it's the same answer. So he stumbles through the Luas asking people if they have a can/bottle for him cos he's "fookin burstin"...nobody gives him anything.

At tis stage we're around Ranelagh, everybody is fed up with him smoking and he driver not carrying out his threat. A random guy tells him to get off and go to the toilet then catch the next Luas to town, but he says he didn't buy a ticket and can't afford to buy one and the ticket checkers are "definitely" on the next luas, he says. So in his state he heads up to the driver and asks can he wait for him at Charlemont so he can take a p*ss, the driver obviously ignores him. Next second he's peeing all over the seat next to his friend! And then sits in it! :eek:

sorry but people are being muppets and dont seem to like that story.

Its a rarity when something is so rambling and incoherent that all of AH turns against it, but Im afraid your post was just that. And what happens if we don't like the new story? Are you just going to keep changing it indefinitely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

sorry but people are being muppets and dont seem to like that story.

OP, you cannot abuse posters just because they quite rightly don't get your post.
    It's not allowed in After Hours.
    Maybe take a break to read the Charter.

Banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

OP, you cannot abuse posters just because they quite rightly don't get your post.
    It's not allowed in After Hours.
    Maybe take a break to read the Charter.

Banned.
    Snap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

I've seen a couple of weird things while on the Luas [red line].

Funniest thing I saw was this man who must have been about 60, dressed in drag - red lipstick in the beard, frilly dress, stilettos, blonde wig, calling himself "Mandy"- flashing these two scumbag kids as they got off the tram.

They got on for a few stops, started teasing him, asking if he was going home to his boyfriend - so he shouted after them when they were getting off, and whipped up his dress to reveal himself!

Like. deers. caught. in. headlights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I was on the Luas once! I saw it soon after it opened and it was wedged with people all stuffed in like sardines so I didn't bother.

I prefer the ones in Amsterdam, "bong - Rembrantplien - bong". Bollix I should have got off this thing 4 stops ago.

What's with that weird "bong bong" noise the Luas makes? It sounds like it's coming from nowhere...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I was on the red line on at least three separate occasions last year where there wasn't a single junkie in my carriage.

stovelid wrote: »
    I was on the red line on at least three separate occasions last year where there wasn't a single junkie in my carriage.

Sorry for going off topic stovelid, but cool video in your sig! it makes me want to go to a rovers game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I've seen a couple of weird things while on the Luas [red line].

Funniest thing I saw was this man who must have been about 60, dressed in drag - red lipstick in the beard, frilly dress, stilettos, blonde wig, calling himself "Mandy"- flashing these two scumbag kids as they got off the tram.

They got on for a few stops, started teasing him, asking if he was going home to his boyfriend - so he shouted after them when they were getting off, and whipped up his dress to reveal himself!

Like. deers. caught. in. headlights.

Did he have a pink suitcase?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Sorry for going off topic stovelid, but cool video in your sig! it makes me want to go to a rovers game.

http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/news/35-news/939-next-match-tickets

:cool:

Did he have a pink suitcase?

He did have a large pink bag. Hmm.

I've seen him a few times since! Saw him on the Luas on another occasion. I was on my own so he decided to approach me - Swung around one of those support poles, like some slapper in a Scooter video, while shouting "Jesus loves me, even though I'm different!"

God bless him, or it, rather!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I've seen him a few times since! Saw him on the Luas on another occasion. I was on my own so he decided to approach me - Swung around one of those support poles, like some slapper in a Scooter video, while shouting "Jesus loves me, even though I'm different!"

Yeah he's danced outside the Ilac a few times at xmas. A load of knacker teenagers were throwing coins at him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭sells

I once saw a man get on the luas and then he sat down , oh wait no that was a bus. i actually was never on the "luas".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭MikeC101

For your pleasure sir, please find enclosed my poor attempt at translating this street urchins slang into an understandable form.

on the luas sometime last year going into town...

I was on the luas last year, on the way into town

got on at the red cow and the luas was empty enough (just came out of the parking area) so me and my mate (tom) got on and took up 2 chairs each...

I alighted said vehicle at the red cow stop, and it was fairly empty - it had after all just left the parking area - so myself and my good friend Tom took two seats each

it was empty so why not.

It was after all, somewhat deserted. Why should not two upstanding gentlemen as ourselves enjoy the pleasures of stretched legs!

so when slowly it start to get a few customers but still not even half full...

Gradually more passengers alighted, however it was still barely half full

then we hit heuston and a heard of culthies ploughed onto it.

Then we arrived at Heuston station and a large amount of gentlefolk from the countryside drove ploughs onto the luas

so seats full and a fair few people standing. we got to museum when a few more people got on

Now the carriage was full, there were even some people standing, then more people got on

but a bloke got on (about 30) with a long blonde wig, a big womans dress and a granny bag pushing thing and also had a bit of a beard

Then a gentleman alighted, perhaps thirty years of age. He was wearing a hairpiece made up of long blonde tresses, a large ladies dress, and carried a sack, the type of which one would usually see eldery ladies carry their groceries in. He also appeared to have neglected his morning ablutions - most noteably he had neglected to shave!

he was a complete nutter

He was somewhat eccentric

and the bloke beside me started taking the complete piss out of him

The good fellow beside me began to mock the gentleman

while getting the bang of vodka of the nutter.. it was hilarious

Ehh....perchance this means, while the aroma of alcohol pervaded the air around the gentleman dressed in ladies attire

i want you stories

I desire you, person named stories.

Yeah he's danced outside the Ilac a few times at xmas. A load of knacker teenagers were throwing coins at him.

Encouraging him to get his trousersnake out for de gurrrrls ;)

I saw a mini version of him on the Luas another time. This boy who couldn't have been older than 12 got on, dressed in drag. Neon pink heels, mini skirt, boob tube, badly applied clown-like make-up...
    I was too shocked to even laugh about it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Muppets?

Well, it's not quite a mop and it's not quite a puppet... but man...

So to answer your question, I don't know. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭jefreywithonef

After a concert I stood beside a couple of drunkards, one of whom was encouraging the other to eat his can of coke. After seeing that he wasn't about to stop chewing away on the can the other guy then began pleading with him to stop, repeating "it's not healthy man. seriously!''.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭ChocolateSauce

Once had to escort a group of people from Belfast to a friends house. They were all on acid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭MikeC101

Once had to escort a group of people from Belfast to a friends house. They were all on acid.

On the Luas? That must have been some trip.

• Registered Users Posts: 770 ✭✭✭Dublindude69

One time, on the Luas, there was this crazy woman, she was running up and down it screaming. When the doors opened at the Charment stop she stood in the way and refused to let them close. I had no idea what her problem was but she ended up breaking the door and the gardi had to be called.
    Looked to me like she was on drugs or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭stateofflux

i have to say the "you are safe with cctv" sign on the luas is ironic with the wave of recent assaults....you have the pleasure of getting the ****e kicked out of you and the bonus is it gets recorded on video .....you're a star of your own movie ...woo hoo !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 goosey gander

I was on the luas a few weeks back with a friend of mine going from tallagh to the city centre, we were chatting away when 2 young lads who were sitting across from us asked us where we were from so i told him we were from kildare, 1 of the lads then turned to the other and said "i told you they were from offaly,kildare is the main town in offaly!!!!:confused: I laughed and told him no that kildare was a county.....2 minutes later he asked me did i live in blessington!!!

Obviously the poor chap has never seen a map or even left dublin!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

I was asked if I was looking for sex. http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055133542

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

I was once squashed in between two very drunk Dublin 'Hill 16' supporters on the way back from Croker. Most uncomfortable experience of my life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭yupyup7up

Not really crazy but kinda funny...

Was on it one day going from the square in Tallaght and some complete knacker was goin around asking everyone "Have yis got a bleedin' cigarette" in a big scumbag Dublin accent, and everyone seemed to be scared ****less of him. He came over and said it to me, so in the biggest scumbag Limerick accent I could I said "Here kid, I dont f*ckin' smoke a'tall, be on your way dare..." and stared him down.

He just shut his mouth and went back to his seat :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

thats exactly who i was talking about in my original post... but people didnt like the way i told said story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭yermandan

On the Luas coming out of town one afternoon during the week. As we got to Blackhorse the driver made an announcement

"Ladies & Gents there are 2 plain clothes ticket inspectors getting on at this stop so could you please have your tickets at hand for convenience thank you."

When we pulled up to the stop 2 people did get on and about 50 got off and stood on the platform, clearly waiting on the next Luas.

When we pulled away the driver got back on the intercom, laughing and said

"I was only joking, there's no such thing as a plain clothes ticket inspector, I just wanted to see how many people got on without paying!!"

Overheard by Lynn, On the Luas

• Registered Users Posts: 52 ✭✭nameproblem

stovelid wrote: »

Might not be funny, but definately odd..