Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Must Have Android Apps and Games?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

paddy2k wrote: »
    It's quality Irish software engineering.
    Myself and a guy from Spain have made the Firefox extension.
    Plus the main project its led by an Irish lad from Google

Nice one. It's one of my top Firefox plugins, very simple but effective. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭eoferrall

There's now an app on the market for checking your used & remaining units in your bill for o2 and meteor customers.

search for 'mobile account checker' and you got it!

handy little app, no need to book mark the o2 page now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

Any plans to do a Firefox equivalent of android2cloud?
    http://lifehacker.com/5604248/android2cloud-opens-urls-from-your-phone-in-chrome

• Subscribers Posts: 32,856 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

When I install Chrome to Phone on my Desire it says unable to connect using one of the gmail accounts linked on my phone.

Any ideas? I have the plugin above for firefox installed on my browser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭vengeance52

5starpool wrote: »
    When I install Chrome to Phone on my Desire it says unable to connect using one of the gmail accounts linked on my phone.

Any ideas? I have the plugin above for firefox installed on my browser.

It only supports 2.2 i think. What are you running?

Stock 2.2, upgraded at the weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭ru437z9t8fidq2

hey just wondering if ye know if both the hero and legend would be able for all these apps yere talking about?... trying to decide what model to get atm...

I have the Legend and I have lots of these Apps. I love my Legend :D

so youd reccommend tha legend so?... hows your battery?

Yes. the case is nice and comfortable in my hand or pocket. Using Advance Task Killer i get 2 days with average usage, or just over a day with heavy usage. I love this phone

cool... ya mighta just made my mind up...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

You should get a Desire tbh. It beats the Legend on all accounts barring looks and the price difference between both is negligible.

I haven't seen a Legend up close, but I can't see how people think it is a better looking phone? The Desire isn't the best looking phone out there, but it is better than the legend imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,171 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Nimbuzz update now supports SkypeOut. (Meaning you can now use your Skype credit to dial numbers)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

I haven't seen a Legend up close, but I can't see how people think it is a better looking phone? The Desire isn't the best looking phone out there, but it is better than the legend imo.

It's the aluminium case, which I hear will be used on the new Desire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,541 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

JohnK wrote: »
    I filled in the form the day it was announced but I've still not heard anything :(
    As per the App Inventor thread, I got my invite this morning, so they seem to be rolling them out at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭BopNiblets

Awesome Drop, push files over wifi to your phone!

Bookmark this: http://labs.dashwire.com/drop
    Download this:
    searchqpnamecomdashwire.png

Very convenient, no hooking up to your USB cable anymore (unless you're transferring huge files) :D

Edit: bah beaten to it a few pages back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,044 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

I find Multicon quite useful, fit 4 icons in the space of one

screen?id=921253757502539039&i=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,369 ✭✭✭madmoe

Multicin and Awsome drop are both great apps, been using them for a while.

Anyone know a way to permenanlty disable the stock music app? I have TuneWiki which I love but the stock app seems to keep popping up when least wanted!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 JohnM81

• A Top 10 (unordered) list of my most recommended FREE apps from the Android Market.
    • List does not include any apps pre-installed with Android version 2.2 (Froyo).
    Would be interesting to see other similar listings. Plenty of other FREE apps i've yet to find and try out !

1. Cabbage -- free texting using your webtexts
    2. AndWobble -- hours of fun, and happens to cost $1.99 on the App Store !
    3. Fake-Call Me -- better to have it and not need it than to need it and not have it :)
    4. Picsay photo editor -- excellent picture editing app, easy to use and fun
    5. Astro File Manager -- if you like poking around with your phones files then look no further
    6. Google Sky Map -- truly amazing app, we are officially the spoilt generation !
    7. Gmail -- if your a gmail user
    8. Twitter -- if your the tweeting type
    9. Memory Trainer -- brain training game, only started to use it but already addicted
    10. Advanced Task Killer -- one of the best, a must if your not happy with battery performance

• Registered Users Posts: 257 ✭✭squire23

Cheers Squire! I was specifically looking at a Top 10 'Free' apps/games list for android, i'm just new here too but it's really nice to know that 'someone' can delete the thread i created and then re-post it to another thread without even notifying me...

• Registered Users Posts: 931 ✭✭✭PH4T

Anyone recommend any good paid games to while away those hours stuck in airports etc?

So far I have Robo Defense and Barrr.

JohnM81 wrote: »
    Cheers Squire! I was specifically looking at a Top 10 'Free' apps/games list for android, i'm just new here too but it's really nice to know that 'someone' can delete the thread i created and then re-post it to another thread without even notifying me...

Mods are all powerful, they can merge threads all they like! :D

PH4T wrote: »
    Anyone recommend any good paid games to while away those hours stuck in airports etc?

Abduction, free version is excellent - not going to get paid till after my exams. very simple but I find highly addictive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

+1. Not seen it up close but from pictures it looks like an ugly silver monolith of a thing.

I actually think the Desire is a great looking phone. In the Android side of things, maybe just behind the Nexus One for good looks. And I love the feel of the kinda rubbery matt finish back to it.

Anyroad... eh, back on topic... I've finally gotten around to setting up Tasker. Awesome app!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,553 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

What kind of profiles have you set up, Goodshape?

A couple of simple one's so far... it kinda feels like my imagination is the only limiter here :D

'At home' -- turn wifi on.

'Plugged in' -- turn on GPS, WiFi, blutooth and auto updates, keep screen active for longer.

'Battery 20%' -- basically the reverse of plugged in. Also quits certain apps, like Talk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Zagato

PH4T wrote: »

I find My Paper Plane 2 pretty good/addictive lite version available for free to try.

Goodshape wrote: »
    A couple of simple one's so far... it kinda feels like my imagination is the only limiter here :D

'At home' -- turn wifi on.

'Plugged in' -- turn on GPS, WiFi, blutooth and auto updates, keep screen active for longer.

'Battery 20%' -- basically the reverse of plugged in. Also quits certain apps, like Talk.

For At home, I presume you are using location. I have this set up too, using network location. Usually switches on fine, but doesn't switch off when I leave home, which it is supposed to happen as an exit task.
    Does it work for you?

Zagato wrote: »
    For At home, I presume you are using location. I have this set up too, using network location. Usually switches on fine, but doesn't switch off when I leave home, which it is supposed to happen as an exit task.
    Does it work for you?

It will still be running the 'at home' profile when you leave, or it will exit the profile but not revert your settings?

I'll test it a bit more this evening.. the 'at home' profile is the only location based one I've got currently. And the only thing it does is switch on wifi -- which I usually have on anyway, so I wouldn't expect it to turn off when I leave (it will "revert" my setting, which is still 'on').

I'll turn wifi off before I go home this evening and see how it works when I get there and leave again.

It's a bit of both.
    I need to use a proxy to use wifi at work (this is my biggest gripe with android) so not on during the day. It always switches wifi home when I get home. When I got into work in this morning, the at home profile was still active so I went into maps (which does have a profile to switch on GPS) to see where it thought I was, it knew where I was, and then when I checked which profiles were active again, there were none active, but wifi was still on:(

Interested to see how it works for you, and what radius you use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,923 ✭✭✭kearneybobs

Anyone know if paddy power has released a mobile app for Android?
    I know they have an ipod/iphone app. Anynews when It's coming?

eoferrall wrote: »
    Mods are all powerful, they can merge threads all they like! :D

The later of your comment appears to be true...
    "Most powerful is he who has himself in his own power." - Seneca. ;)

I have the legend and the case has a nice feel, comfortable in your hand and i think the one piece aluminum looks great.

Zagato wrote: »
    Interested to see how it works for you, and what radius you use.
    Radius is set to 200m. Using Net and GPS although GPS was switched off as I went home.

I'm going to reduce it from 200m as that seems like quite a lot actually... but it seemed to switch on the WiFi OK, and switch it off again when I went out. So far no problems!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,565 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Anyone know if there is a betting calculator on the market, i cant find one?
    This type of thing all the betting sites have them.
    http://betcalculator.paddypower.com/start.php?lang=en

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,804 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Anyone know if paddy power has released a mobile app for Android?
    I know they have an ipod/iphone app. Anynews when It's coming?
    It's on its way. I sent a tweet to @askPaddyPower and the came back telling me their development team was working on it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭kc66

New Chrome to Phone app out. Havent tried it yet as it requires Froyo but could be handy on the odd occasion. Might install Froyd Villain soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭BopNiblets

I am enjoying this game called Hungry Shark!
    hungry-shark_2.jpg
    Om nom nom nom, great fun!

• Registered Users Posts: 257 ✭✭squire23

It's on its way. I sent a tweet to @askPaddyPower and the came back telling me their development team was working on it :)
    They all say that

Bluefoam wrote: »
    Name: Flixter Movies
    very cool, find cinema times & reviews - uses gps to locate cinemas near you
    Url: http://market.android.com/search?q=pname:net.flixster.android

Are you using Flixster Movies app in Ireland? Maybe i'm doing something wrong but Flixster is not available or even found on the Android Market for Irish users. I'm a big fan of rotten tomatoes myself so a bit disappointed about this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,848 ✭✭✭✭28064212

JohnM81 wrote: »
    Are you using Flixster Movies app in Ireland? Maybe i'm doing something wrong but Flixster is not available or even found on the Android Market for Irish users. I'm a big fan of rotten tomatoes myself so a bit disappointed about this...
    It's not available on the Irish Market. What you can do is get the SlideMe.org "alternative market" app instead (search for Mobentoo on the Market). Install that, then you can use it to install Flixster

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

28064212 wrote: »
    It's not available on the Irish Market. What you can do is get the SlideMe.org "alternative market" app instead (search for Mobentoo on the Market). Install that, then you can use it to install Flixster

That works a treat, sound man! Now to re located all those other apps that i passed out for the same reason :D

BigAl81 wrote: »
    I can't install Flixter or Babbler, they dont show up in market searches and any links I find don't work either? Do I need a UK sim for these???

Not sure if you got a response on this or not, it's a pretty long thread! In case you didn't try the below out, compliments of 28064212.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=67451743&postcount=594

Baza210 wrote: »
    What do you mean one click? Once you link your google checkout account it essentially is one click.

you wont see one click ordering until its licensed by amazon.com who happen to hold a patent for this - no flies on them lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,875 ✭✭✭budhabob

BopNiblets wrote: »
    I am enjoying this game called Hungry Shark!
    hungry-shark_2.jpg
    Om nom nom nom, great fun!

This isnt on the market is it? couldnt find it, and it looks like a good laugh.

• Registered Users Posts: 28 cakesnjelly

Without having to look through 40 pages of this thread can anyone tell me if there's an app that i can keep certain files in that i don't want others to see that has a password. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,277 ✭✭✭evolutionqy7

Without having to look through 40 pages of this thread can anyone tell me if there's an app that i can keep certain files in that i don't want others to see that has a password. Thanks

trying to hide the porn? :D there's a search button on the top right corner aswell you got bing/google

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭Darksaga87

trying to hide the porn? :D there's a search button on the top right corner aswell you got bing/google

Maybe hes a secret agent?