Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Isn't Al Pacino the best!!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

tech77 wrote: »
    I wouldn't say that.

About Schmidt vs
    Easy Rider vs
    A few good men vs
    As good as it gets vs
    Anger management.

OK he's Jack but they're all pretty different characters.

Oh god what a terrible film. At least he had the sense not to make a sequel unlike De Niro and Analyze This/That and Meet the Parents/Fockers. Three of my favourite actors who have almost destroyed their credibility with their recent output. Pacino's reduced to shouting, Jack is just in dreadful films now and De Niro is happy to do 'comedy'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

Who ever told you that you could work with men?????

That's some abuse. :D
    The soundboard for that is great.
    Used to great effect.

javaboy wrote: »
    Oh god what a terrible film.

Just an example of the different characters he's played.
    The others probably better demonstrate his range.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭KerranJast

Great actor but he hasn't been in anything decent since "Any Given Sunday" and that was 10 years ago.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Now, Kevin Spacey, there's an actor. Sometimes he does it by the numbers, but when he's good, he's good.

K-pax though.
    Hard to forgive that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭K-Ren

Whenever I hear about a new Al Pacino movie I get the scent of something else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

K-pax though.
    Hard to forgive that.

If you're going to pick a bad Kevin Spacey movie, at least aim for something really horrible. Like Ordinary Decent Criminal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Al Pacino, is pretty good, Any Given Sunday and The God Father Trilogy, but I would have to put Paul Newman at the top. Just an all around brilliant actor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

CHD wrote: »
    Right

Megan Fox or Angelina Jolie

Fox I suppose.

Daddy or Chips?

• Registered Users Posts: 162 ✭✭MikeyCdublin

He was great in carltios way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

Ive never seen anything with al pacino in it so meh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

The-Rigger wrote: »
    I used to think so, but nowadays he is fairly sh1t, as is Bob De Nero.
    Do love Scent of a woman though.

theres no more good roles being written for them. and Im sure they want to avoid repeating old character types over and over.
    jack nicholson is still doing good work, tho hes guilty of overacting in the past.

you havent seen 'Heat' on tv?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Bonavox

How's that rock your living under :p

How the hell does someone manage not to see something with Al Pacino in it? Honestly, that's insane.

Although he's not the best. Toshiro Mifune on the other hand, if there could be a best, he'd be damn close.

you havent seen 'Heat' on tv?
    never even heard of it
    Bono Vox wrote: »
    How's that rock your living under :p
    its suprisingly comfy under here
    How the hell does someone manage not to see something with Al Pacino in it? Honestly, that's insane.

Although he's not the best. Toshiro Mifune on the other hand, if there could be a best, he'd be damn close.
    easily enough.

i only know him as the dude off the scarface posters.

Christ, next thing you're gonna say you don't know who Carl Weathers is...

Go watch Carlito's Way and get back to us.

Christ, next thing you're gonna say you don't know who Carl Weathers is...

Go watch Carlito's Way and get back to us.

never heard of him either

arent all pacino films like gangstery?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭b12mearse

MotteDai wrote: »
    Wow just finished a bottle of wine and 'set of a woman' .. he is some actor.. always the same but he palys him soooo well. I recokon hes best actor ever and str8 men want to be him etc etc

definitly hes a grand chap (hick-up)

never heard of him either

Never heard of Carl Weathers? He played Dillon in Predator, and Apollo Creed in the Rocky films. For shame.
    arent all pacino films like gangstery?

No, they're not. But what's wrong with gangster films? Some gangster films are among the very best films of all time, take Once Upon A Time In America for example.

Never heard of Carl Weathers? He played Dillon in Predator, and Apollo Creed in the Rocky films. For shame.

No, they're not. But what's wrong with gangster films? Some gangster films are among the very best films of all time, take Once Upon A Time In America for example.

oooh ive seen rocky:)

yeah i aint a fan of them in general though dunno why.

What gangster films have you seen so? If you've never seen a film with with Pacino, that strikes some of the best off the list.

not even sure if ive seen any:o:p

Oh dear, what are apartment prices like on the moon? :pac:

Go out right now and get hold of Once Upon A Time In America, it's one of the greatest masterpieces of cinema. I just cannot rate it highly enough. The music alone is something extremely special.

Oh dear, what are apartment prices like on the moon? :pac:

Go out right now and get hold of Once Upon A Time In America, it's one of the greatest masterpieces of cinema. I just cannot rate it highly enough. The music alone is something extremely special.

ill see it at some point
    its on the list with things like shawshank redeption and all thoose other ones people go on about

You mean you haven't seen... Ah, never mind, I'll have to stop being surprised by things you haven't seen.

What have you seen?

You mean you haven't seen... Ah, never mind, I'll have to stop being surprised by things you haven't seen.

What have you seen?

ive seen many films....

high school musical being one of them:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

El Siglo wrote: »
    Al Pacino, is pretty good, Any Given Sunday and The God Father Trilogy, but I would have to put Paul Newman at the top. Just an all around brilliant actor.

newman was a very cool man but never a great actor

ive seen many films....

high school musical being one of them:P

thats not a film, thats an advertisement for a cd/music download

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 beni

YES he is one of the BEST out there.

irish_bob wrote: »

Ah Jesus, even after "The Hustler", "The Verdict", "Slap Shot", "The Colour of Money"? Well, each to their own I suppose!;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

Fox I suppose.

Daddy or Chips?
    Chips, that was actually my next one.

A night with Fox or Making KillMe00 change his avatar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Wow just finished a bottle of wine and 'set of a woman' .. he is some actor.. always the same but he palys him soooo well. I recokon hes best actor ever and str8 men want to be him etc etc

Watched it last night aswell, :) suffered for it this morning when I had to drag my ass to work :(.

Great actor, It was worth it :pac:

El Siglo wrote: »
    "The Colour of Money"
    tom crusie aint too bad, I hate to admit it! well no, u cant deny it, its just a pity hes a scfiologist

irish_bob wrote: »

Ah c'mon. :)
    Fast Eddie Feltzen; Cool Hand Luke.
    Jaysus.

tom crusie aint too bad, I hate to admit it! well no, u cant deny it, its just a pity hes a scfiologist

Yeh and this as well:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

CHD wrote: »
    Chips, that was actually my next one.

A night with Fox or Making KillMe00 change his avatar?

Killme00 changing his avatar.

Jessica Rabbit or the Cadbury's caramel rabbit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Jessica Rabbit or the Cadbury's caramel rabbit?

Jessica Rabbit.

Stop posting this A or B crap or receive a ban?

:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭Red Sleeping Beauty

"I don't know if we got it, did we get it kid ? did we get da take ?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I think he was a great actor now he is just a parody of himself, a big joke really. De Niro is nearly worse, he will make any old crap these days. If you wan to see an older actor who has evolved and isn't afraid of playing a man of his age then Jack Nicholson is your man. He is of a type but there are times when he just blows my mind.

Lux23 wrote: »
    If you wan to see an older actor who has evolved and isn't afraid of playing a man of his age then Jack Nicholson is your man. He is of a type but there are times when he just blows my mind.

I see Nicholson and raise you Christopher Walken. He's done the few naff comedies as of late, but he's a damn fine actor. Probably the best thing about Catch Me If You Can.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I see Nicholson and raise you Christopher Walken. He's done the few naff comedies as of late, but he's a damn fine actor. Probably the best thing about Catch Me If You Can.

He's good but he's no Gary Busey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Yea he is pretty good but I don't think he gets the best parts lately.

He's good but he's no Gary Busey.

And that's a good thing. :D

Now here's a real old timer, far better than Pacino:

• Registered Users Posts: 242 ✭✭MotteDai

Okay I was a little inebriated and spelt wrongly... I also dont think so passionatly about wanting to be him. Hang overs are sobering things,

I also prefer coke to Pepsi,McDonalds to Burger king and Angilina.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

thats saying something as thier isnt anything or anyone bad in catch me if you can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭bertie4evr

Fcuk Al Pacino!Have you heard of Christopher Walken