Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Girls going for a drink in a pub/club on their own

• 22-08-2009 9:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭

Do ye find it strange to see a lady having a drink on her own.

I'm not talking about someone getting pissed on their own, I mean more of a "pop in for a social drink on the way home" kinda scenario?

I often fancy a drink and if there's no one around to come with, I may go in alone.

Have found some strange reactions such as suspicion, or people assuming that I'm "looking for a good time"

Ridiculous I think, but I have had people try to make me uncomfortable for doing a bit of solo socialising.

What does AH think?

Would you even notice?!

Ladies socialising alone 166 votes

Not weird
    0% 0 votes
    Weird
    34% 58 votes
    Don't care
    33% 55 votes
    Atari Jaguar drinks alone
    31% 53 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

If you get a boothish thing and read a book or the paper I wouldnt give a second glance. Walking in, sitting at the bar and staring blankly would be odd though. And sitting at the bar and looking at the people in the bar (likely mostly guys, stereotypical but true IME), might signal you're 'out for a good time'.

Depends what you're doing while drinking really.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Good luck to them. They need to relax and de-stress too. Why the heck not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Women at pubs on their own?
    Sounds interesting!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Not weird at at all.

And if you've ever dealt with the "timekeeping" :rolleyes: that Irish Rail promise you'll often see people drinking in the station bar on their own.
    Not much else to do....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

If you get a boothish thing and read a book or the paper I wouldnt give a second glance. Walking in, sitting at the bar and staring blankly would be odd though. And sitting at the bar and looking at the people in the bar (likely mostly guys, stereotypical but true IME), might signal you're 'out for a good time'.

Depends what you're doing while drinking really.

So . . . . if I want to go for a social drink I must hide myself away or at least be looking at a paper

rrrriiiigggghhhhtttttt

mud wrote: »
    So . . . . if I want to go for a social drink I must hide myself away or at least be looking at a paper

rrrriiiigggghhhhtttttt

I never said you had to do it. You asked what I'd think, and I told you: I'd think nothing if you looked busy. If you were sitting alone at the bar looking into space I'd think it was a bit odd. If you were looking at guys I'd think you were trying to 'get some'.

You asked, I answered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

I've done it and never thought twice about it. On one memorable occasion I was handed a lime on my way. So I went in and got a free drink. In there I also met some people I knew and ended up having a great night. I didn't plan on going out I had decided on having one before I went home but it ended up more than one.

What I'm wondering is, why is the op looking at women in a bar on their own, doing their own thing in the first place?

I never said you had to do it. You asked what I'd think, and I told you: I'd think nothing if you looked busy. If you were sitting alone at the bar looking into space I'd think it was a bit odd. If you were looking at guys I'd think you were trying to 'get some'.

You asked, I answered.

Fair enough
    I find that attitude depressing in today's world but each to their own, thanks for answering.

El Siglo wrote: »
    What I'm wondering is, why is the op looking at women in a bar on their own, doing their own thing in the first place?

I am a woman.

Fair enough
    I find that attitude depressing in today's world but each to their own, thanks for answering.

I agree, I would love to live in a world where nobody would think about anything I'm doing bar registering having seen me. Nobody has such a tight grip on their mind though, and it tends to wonder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

Don't see much wrong with it tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,466 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I think it would be odd for a woman to just sit at the bar drinking alone. Having said that, I wouldnt go into a pub by myself and sit at the bar drinking either. I would have a drink away from the bar if I had something to occupy me.
    Lots of men will just sit drinking at the bar & I guess women will too so each to their own

I am a woman.

Interesting. My question is did women's lib not get rid of this kind of idea? Is there something supposed to be wrong with a woman drinking on their own in a pub or is it wrong of us to be asking such a question in this day and age? My, look how far we've come in this country!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

I've got no problem with it, just so long as they toddle home and get dinner on the go for their man after 1 drink...

tman wrote: »
    I've got no problem with it, just so long as they toddle home and get dinner on the go for their man after 1 drink...

Oooooohhhhhhh!!!!!:pac:

Interesting. My question is did women's lib not get rid of this kind of idea? Is there something supposed to be wrong with a woman drinking on their own in a pub or is it wrong of us to be asking such a question in this day and age? My, look how far we've come in this country!

True, its just sad in this day and age that the general question should arise in the first place!
    Move on ya old thinking, out of date farts who think the wimms still belong in the kitchen!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Futurewarrior

Whats wierd is that girls more than lads think someone in a pub drinking alone is suspicious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

Would make a change if you could walk up to a bar in a pub alien to you and be stared at by random women!

Do what you want and feck peoples opinions.

Except glaring at strangers to you, thats just rude.

Glaring that is, giving the eye is acceptable flattery......;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

I'm not talking about someone getting pissed on their own, I mean more of a "pop in for a social drink on the way home" kinda scenario?

it not social if you're on your tod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

If I seen a lone woman drinking in a bar I'd instantly assume that she was scorned, probably in an abusive relationship and looking towards suicide

but I've never been great at judging situations

genericguy wrote: »

Group telly watching could be construed as social behavior:p

If I seen a lone woman drinking in a bar I'd instantly assume that she was scorned, probably in an abusive relationship and looking towards suicide

but I've never been great at judging situations

So you would see an oppertunity then? :D

I asked this question out of genuine curiosity, based on my own experience. I don't mind what other people get up to as long as they don't annoy or disturb others. I see no problem with having a social drink alone regardless of sex but I've noticed that some folk think there's something weird about it (when it's a girlie doing it)

I'm not saying it happens all the time but I know myself that some people can't resist commenting about it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

I've worked in a few bars and there was always a few girls i around 18/19/20/21 who would come in by themselves for a drink, but really, they know all the staff and they'd know most of the regulars so it wasn't as if they were coming in and just sitting there by themselves silently looking at the telly.

Bar work in a "locals" type of pub = greatest way to meet women on the planet, clubs and big busy disco bars are cack for it as they are so loud and there are no regulars.

Even auld mans bars are great, you'll always get regulars daughters in once a week or so.

Edit, also, I've often wandered down to my local by myself and had a pint, read the paper, watched whatever sporting event was on the telly or just chatted to the barman/regulars I knew, can be a great way to distract yourself if your in a bad mood, 1-2 pints and then back home, sorted.

Private drink = at home
    Social drink = in public

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

If you know the bar staff/regulars it's social.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭Bob_Harris

Some people can't do ANYTHING alone. Me, I prefer to do most things alone :pac:

It's sad enough that people constantly need company to go anywhere or do anything, but it's a lot sadder if they try to judge someone for being on their own.

I asked this question out of genuine curiosity, based on my own experience. I don't mind what other people get up to as long as they don't annoy or disturb others. I see no problem with having a social drink alone regardless of sex but I've noticed that some folk think there's something weird about it (when it's a girlie doing it)

I'm not saying it happens all the time but I know myself that some people can't resist commenting about it.

I wasn't directing the question at you personally op, it was merely a remark in general. My remark would in fact be aimed at people who comment on such behaviour in the first place as something that is 'odd'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Bob_Harris wrote: »
    Some people can't do ANYTHING alone. Me, I prefer to do most things alone :pac:

It's sad enough that people constantly need company to go anywhere or do anything, but it's a lot sadder if they try to judge someone for being on their own.
    That is very true , being alone and being lonely are two different things .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

How does a girl go to the toilet if she is on her own?

jester77 wrote: »
    How does a girl go to the toilet if she is on her own?

She puts one foot in front of the other!
    Guess what, she can walk... Miracle of all miracles! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

Private drink = at home
    Social drink = in public

so a wino getting shitfaced on the street is being sociable? no.fcuking.way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Where's the "Yes i would like some Sexy Time with you" Option????

*click*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Seems like a bit of an oxymoran to me. How cna it be a social drink if you're on your own? If it's social it means you're interacting with other people, in which case you wouldn't be on your own, no?

I wouldn't go to a bar on my own anyway, I'd get bored and lonely.

Piste wrote: »
    Seems like a bit of an oxymoran to me. How cna it be a social drink if you're on your own? If it's social it means you're interacting with other people, in which case you wouldn't be on your own, no?

I wouldn't go to a bar on my own anyway, I'd get bored and lonely.

Need to interact with the barman to get a drink don't I? ;)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I used travel with work quite a lot and in the evenings would often go for a drink on my own, usually in the hotel I was staying in.

There would usually be several women on their own having a drink before or after dinner there, the odd time I'd go to one of the local bars for a drink, didn't think twice about it tbh.

eta: I'll often go into a pub to watch golf/rugby as I don't have sky sports, and it's often on there, won't necessarily have a drink, but have never had any problems doing that either, it can be very amusing how you can strike up conversations with complete strangers over a shared interest in the outcome of a competition!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭fifth

Have to say it doesn't happen that often when I'm out or I just don't notice it that often - be that because I don't find it weird (subconsciously or otherwise) or because it's not a common occurence..

I've no issue with it, now that I think about it though I did initially think "ok yeah, maybe it's a tad odd" because I never go pub alone, but each to their own I say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭barakus

dear diary...

Jackpot:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Part of going for a "social drink" alone is meeting strangers/other regulars in the pub and having a chat. I do it an odd time it's good fun and you never know who you're gonna meet (or what state they'll be in :D).
    Then again OP, I think you mean a quiet drink, undisturbed by the other punters etc. Unfortunately people will try to be friendly and make conversation, it's what you do in a pub (as you said social drinking).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

The problem with going to some pubs on ones own can be the same for male or female .
    People will view you with suspiscion ie, he / she is on his / her own ?

must be something wrong with them .....might be undercover police ....etc .

But we do live in a suspicious society anyway so it doesn't really matter what anybody thinks ,as long as you are happy in your own company ,that's all that matters .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

A couple of months ago I got locked out of my apartment and had to wait 3 hours for my flatmate to come back with the key. There was noone around and I didn't fancy sitting in a cafe for three hours so I walked down to a pub on O'Connell Street that has nice grubs and is usually pretty busy. I was there just over two hours and I was approached by 6 different men asking to buy me a drink. I assume they all thought I was looking to score, it was a bit of a revelation to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

I know this is the wrong way of thinking, but there is something very lonely looking about someone sitting at a bar alone drinking.

Then again, when I had to travel with work, I'd often pop down the the bar for a glass or two. I'd always have a book with me though. Otherwise I would be just stuck sitting there looking at people. Boring to sit doing nothing at home, boring to sit doing nothing in a pub.

• Registered Users Posts: 754 ✭✭✭ryoishin

I got stood up on Thursday, ended up drinking on my own. Was a very weird experience. Bar maid copped it I think as she brought me over 2 pints instead of one and said she got me an extra one by "mistake".

Im a bloke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭wylo

Id find it weird, but thats only cause im not used to seeing it, however, id have more respect for that girl than anyone else in the bar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 471 ✭✭pmg58

ryoishin wrote: »
    I got stood up on Thursday, ended up drinking on my own. Was a very weird experience. Bar maid copped it I think as she brought me over 2 pints instead of one and said she got me an extra one by "mistake".

Im a bloke.

Was she hot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭Vinta81

I think it's weird, I most certainly wouldn't do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

who care's.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I would never pop in anywhere for a drink on my own but I wouldn't notice someone if they did, if that makes sense!! Everyone is too concerned with themselves really to notice anyone else.

• Registered Users Posts: 282 ✭✭_ZeeK_

women in bars? who ever heard of this poppycock.

they belong at home, chained to the oven. :D