Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dentistry

• 23-08-2009 12:48am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭

Anyone on here doing dentistry?

How are you finding the course? How many hours per week in first year?

Any advice for someone starting soon!?:pac:
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 UCCmed09

i think its like a 3day week up to xmas lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭FluffyCat

I did Pharmacy and two of the classes are mixed with you guys. Physiology and biochemistry. The coursework was heavy but not impossible. If kellie dean is still lecturing biochem your in luck!! She loved the dents!!
    Good Luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭i'm a smiler

UCCmed09 wrote: »
    i think its like a 3day week up to xmas lol

Are you serious?! Wow!:pac:

What's the story after christmas?

dont think it gets too bad either after xmas...i was in pharm last year and ye do physiology+biochem with them...they're not the worst like+ye get more credits than pharmacy for them even though its the exact same thing....more pressure defo in pharm+med than dent from what i could see!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,249 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Its not great I heard, 90% of the people in the class didnt get the points for medicine so most of your conversations will be giving out about how your course is harder than medicine or that dentists earn more than doctors

I'd drop out now boy

Its not great I heard, 90% of the people in the class didnt get the points for medicine so most of your conversations will be giving out about how your course is harder than medicine or that dentists earn more than doctors

I'd drop out now boy

well they'll have a hard job trying to convince people they have it tougher than the meds haha...from what i saw last year theres no comparison!!
    but yeah apparently there's a huge domino effect from med!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭i'm a smiler

I'd drop out now boy

I don't think so, mate!:pac:
    This year the points for dent in ucc are the highest for any course in the country-- 575 on random selection.

Therefore, basically everyone would have gotten med if they had done a half decent hpat test.

I hate the way that everyone assumes that dent students are failed med applicants... sigh... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭PhysiologyRocks

Most dents I know could have done med but didn't want to. I don't see why people assume everyone wants to do med.

I want to do med, so I'm there, and I love it. I just don't assume that everyone else wants to do the same thing as I do.

I don't think so, mate!:pac:
    This year the points for dent in ucc are the highest for any course in the country-- 575 on random selection.

Therefore, basically everyone would have gotten med if they had done a half decent hpat test.

I hate the way that everyone assumes that dent students are failed med applicants... sigh... :rolleyes:

to be honest i wouldnt think they are personally...just hearsay this yr!its a very specific choice like...you wouldnt just slot into dent cos u didnt get med...dont think twud be a good move anyway

but i do know of people who DIDNT do a good enough hpat and are going into med!

we're in rival classes so haha...brookfielders are us lol!

• Registered Users Posts: 29 blogger 3000

I'd drop out now boy

DROP OUT?!!Dentistry's a great course with brilliant job prospects. only 5 people in 1st dent this year did the HPAT out of 48, for the vast majority their first choice was dentistry. It really annoys me that everyone thinks all the dents are med rejects even tho there's supposed to be a couple people in med this year that couldn't get the points for dent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭J2D2

Its a tough enough course, you'll have to be prepared to work hard. My friend is now in 4th year and has always spent a lot of time studying, and I mean a lot!! Just be prepared to work, but my friend is enjoying the course. Best of luck!

• Moderators Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Big_G

This nonsense about a 3 day week. Maybe in UCC. In Trinity I was doing a 36 hour week when the meds were doing 18. I was treating patients in second year and had clinical competencies to do all the way through. The meds don't get that until 4th or 5th year.

There are a few med rejects in dentistry. They tend to be people who don't belong in medicine or dentistry. They are people who have a particular idea about what medicine is. When their fantasy isn't fulfilled in dentistry they try and get into medicine and their fantasy often isn't fulfilled there either.

Dentistry in my opinion is probably one of the three toughest undergraduate courses, including architecture and engineering. The amount of hours spent at undergraduate level in 5 years is reflected in the fact the Trinity awards two degrees to dental students when they graduate a bachelor of arts in science and a bachelor of dental science degree.

Dentistry is a rewarding profession, monetarily and in terms of job satisfaction. It is not without its drawbacks. The course is tough as previously stated, patients can be difficult to deal with and often have unrealistic expectations of cost or treatment outcome. All in all it is a great job. Stick with it and you won't be sorry, particularly if you are artistic and like working with your hands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 flanagan10

Hey all,

Im starting Dentistry as a mature student in sept!! Any tips to throw this way would be savage.. Any good ideas for accom? does anyone know what Carraighbarre accom is like. There is meant to be a house there for mature heads..but i think the 1st years are around the corner ( noisy feckers). By the way I didnt want to medicine.. Dentistry seems so much cooler.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Rón beag

Have just graduated from Cork, you'll love itThe biggest piece of advice is just keep on top of things!!. The course isn't too bad in first year (it does get tougher in second year) and as others have said you do a lot of things with either pharm or med- great way to make friends outside of the course!

Rón beag wrote: »
    Have just graduated from Cork, you'll love itThe biggest piece of advice is just keep on top of things!!. The course isn't too bad in first year (it does get tougher in second year) and as others have said you do a lot of things with either pharm or med- great way to make friends outside of the course!

you just graduated from UCC this year? i just finished 1st year this year,

what sorta job did you get? did everyone in the class get one?

you just graduated from UCC this year? i just finished 1st year this year,

what sorta job did you get? did everyone in the class get one?

Got VT in England. Pretty much 2/3 of class went for VT the other third have headed over to England as associates. No prob with jobs anyone without a job yet is just taking an extended holiday and hasn't started looking yet!(think theres maybe 2 or 3 left!)..

that sounds pretty good,
    at the risk of sounding a bit stupid, whats VT? and what does the job of an associate involve? is it just that you work for another dentist in his/her practice?

that sounds pretty good,
    at the risk of sounding a bit stupid, whats VT? and what does the job of an associate involve? is it just that you work for another dentist in his/her practice?

vt is vocational training - essentially you're mentored for the year. In the UK its a 4 day week and then a Study day on the 5th day where you do lectures/training. It's a nice and easy way of getting out into the real world 'cause you've always your trainer in the room next door if you're ever unsure of a treatment plan or an extraction's going badly etc etc. It's kinda essential if you ever wnat to go and specialise as well. An associate then is where you work for yourself (so self-employed) in someone else's practice generally split your profits 50:50 with them.

• Registered Users Posts: 608 ✭✭✭Anthony16

vt is vocational training - essentially you're mentored for the year. In the UK its a 4 day week and then a Study day on the 5th day where you do lectures/training. It's a nice and easy way of getting out into the real world 'cause you've always your trainer in the room next door if you're ever unsure of a treatment plan or an extraction's going badly etc etc. It's kinda essential if you ever wnat to go and specialise as well. An associate then is where you work for yourself (so self-employed) in someone else's practice generally split your profits 50:50 with them.

Just accepted ucc dent.very pleased:)

woohoo!! congrats guess il see u in first year!!

flanagan10 wrote: »
    woohoo!! congrats guess il see u in first year!!

Did u get any orientation info or anything from them in the post yet as i havent?

Hey we dont get it till the third of sept! You all set, did u get ur accom sorted? Cork accom is a total kip and overpriced!

hey,im probably gettin an apartemnt in the city and i doubt many students do that so they should still be available.have u spent much time with dentists/i havent gotten the chance yet so am definitely taking a risk but hopefully ill enjoy it all the same!
    thanks for replying

Cool, i was gonna do the same they have savage apt beside jurys but i ended up gettin a house beside the coll! Sweet location. Yeah i have been workin in a dentist for a few months and when i was in coll a did voluntary work in 3rd and 4th yr. Loved it, im goin bac as a mature stud but im not that old..i sound very old when i say that! Ul prob love it cant see y u wouldnt. I was down for the mature stud open day on wed and the coll is really nice. Way more organised than NUIG! But that wouldn be hard..do u know anyone else goin into first yr dent? I know no1

well i did the leaving cert with another guy in 09 and he is goin into 2nd yr dent but thats all i know.Im sure we will make friends very quickly.
    Good luck,looking forward to it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 XCiXCol

Guess Ill be seeing ye there too :D Did ye see the timetable before christmas- looks pretty sparse

XCiXCol wrote: »
    Guess Ill be seeing ye there too :D Did ye see the timetable before christmas- looks pretty sparse

no,i havent got any info from UCC yet,have you?Lookin forward to meetin u!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 XCiXCol

• Registered Users Posts: 7,937 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

that's very wrong. you don't need to do VT at all if you want to specialise. you may be mixing that up with MFDS which you can get by sitting the exams while working as an SHO in a hospital, or after 7 years you can do it without taking the year in the hospital environment.
    VT is very hit and miss. in ireland, unless things have improved recently it's very much miss. the VT'ers are treated like associates and paid a much smaller salary than what they could normally make.
    you're better off getting an associate job in a busy practice where you're sure there'll always be someone else to give you a hand when you're stuck. and remember, when you're stuck, you'll learn your limits and know when to refer.
    the only problem is in the past couple of years there's a major shortage of jobs. in the UK and ireland you'll have competition from a lot of european dentists who wouldn't get close to the 50:50 split at home (in germany, associates take 25%). it's just a case of waiting for things to pick up again.

as for the course in cork, like big_g said, 3 day week is ridiculous. you have anatomy, physiology and biochem. there's dissection a couple of mornings a week which you'll eventually get used to without passing any notice on what's going on. then they're physiology and biochem labs, and biochem can drag on a fair bit. not great if it's still on on a wednesday afternoon and you finish up after 6 on a miserable winter cork evening, and you've a biochem postgrad who think's they're invincible demonstrating to you.
    it's tough, but if you got into it, then you should be well able for it.

a small bit of advice, join some clubs and socs, because by the end of final year you'll have seen enough of your own class!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭Calum196

Is that right ? Friday off !!!! I love it already.

Also, where does most of the work take place... brookfield ?