Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Class Wars!

• 23-08-2009 1:22am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭

Okay, I come from a middle class suburb of Dublin, and now live in a less-than-salubrious neighbourhood shithole in inner-city Dublin. I’ve accepted my lot. I’ve come down in life, yeah, cause I can no afford no fancy-ass postal code. But… there are people on my street that just can’t accept their lot.

The street’s divided in two. There’s the middle class blow-ins that thought during the Celtic Tiger days that three hundred and fifty k for a two-bed terrace within 2 miles of the spire was really an investment considering the lack of commute and… I don’t-know-what-else... but now are in negative equity and in serious need of a reality check.

There’s this one couple across from us. A ‘council’ family moved in next door to them about six months ago. And since then all hell has broke loose. I’m laughing as I type this because as far as I can see, they’ve brought it on themselves. The ‘middle-class’ couple have tried to let the street know just how 'middle-class they are' by flaunting their so-called-‘culture’ on everyone. From hosting ‘hat parties', where guests come in ridiculous hats and swill brandy on their on-street chair-set to having ‘cultured’ cinema evenings with toffs hanging outside their door puffing on Gauloise cigarettes discussing the impact of the French New Wave.

So this ‘middle-class’ couple have take serious umbrage with the ‘council-family’ and have been trying their best to have the council people fecked out. The wife’s called the cops on them a few times, accusing them of dealing drugs (haven’t seen anything myself to that effect) and since her ‘ratting’ has been assaulted a few times. The hubbie’s been prevailed upon, now, to defend her honour and only two day ago I saw him confronting the council-people’s husband / partner / whatever – serious words were had. Serious accusations were levelled against the council-people – drug dealing, scum-bagism and yer man’s blantanly called Mrs. Middleclass a fat whoring rat to her husband’s face. Lots of slaggings and accusations. The scene ends with Mr. Middleclass screaming ‘You’re finished! It’s over! You’re out of here! You’re finished! Fuck you! You’re finished!’ And lots of ‘you’re a drug dealer!’ bla bla bla. I just know they’re going to get burnt out or something equally vicious (it’s happened to other people in the neighbourhood).

Any one else experience similar shit cause of the so-called boom?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭boogle

Spore wrote: »
    Okay, I come from a middle class suburb of Dublin, and now live in a less-than-salubrious neighbourhood shithole in inner-city Dublin. I’ve accepted my lot. I’ve come down in life, yeah, cause I can no afford no fancy-ass postal code. But… there are people on my street that just can’t accept their lot.

The street’s divided in two. There’s the middle class blow-ins that thought during the Celtic Tiger days that three hundred and fifty k for a two-bed terrace within 2 miles of the spire was really an investment considering the lack of commute and… I don’t-know-what-else... but now are in negative equity and in serious need of a reality check.

There’s this one couple across from us. A ‘council’ family moved in next door to them about six months ago. And since then all hell has broke loose. I’m laughing as I type this because as far as I can see, they’ve brought it on themselves. The ‘middle-class’ couple have tried to let the street know just how 'middle-class they are' by flaunting their so-called-‘culture’ on everyone. From hosting ‘hat parties', where guests come in ridiculous hats and swill brandy on their on-street chair-set to having ‘cultured’ cinema evenings with toffs hanging outside their door puffing on Gauloise cigarettes discussing the impact of the French New Wave.

So this ‘middle-class’ couple have take serious umbrage with the ‘council-family’ and have been trying their best to have the council people fecked out. The wife’s called the cops on them a few times, accusing them of dealing drugs (haven’t seen anything myself to that effect) and since her ‘ratting’ has been assaulted a few times. The hubbie’s been prevailed upon, now, to defend her honour and only two day ago I saw him confronting the council-people’s husband / partner / whatever – serious words were had. Serious accusations were levelled against the council-people – drug dealing, scum-bagism and yer man’s blantanly called Mrs. Middleclass a fat whoring rat to her husband’s face. Lots of slaggings and accusations. The scene ends with Mr. Middleclass screaming ‘You’re finished! It’s over! You’re out of here! You’re finished! Fuck you! You’re finished!’ And lots of ‘you’re a drug dealer!’ bla bla bla. I just know they’re going to get burnt out or something equally vicious (it’s happened to other people in the neighbourhood).

I lived on Mountjoy Square for two years. Woke one morning at 5a.m. when somebody threw a Jameson bottle through my bedroom wondow, showering me in glass.

Now my nearest neighbours are the cattle in the field next door. Bliss. No neighbours = the best neighbours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

jesus i'd expect that kind of behaviour in bray, but not in the north inner city.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Semms like you have your very own soap opera out your window, no renting a movie for you:D Grab the popcorn and enjoy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭barakus

Cool...That would make a pretty decent real life 'paths to freedom' style documentary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭RHunce

awww, i clicked on this thread hoping to discuss the techniques invloved in throwing a paper ball in class, firing pencil cases and happy slapping, these are the type of class wars i have come to love:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Spore

Nope. Nor is it a discussion on wars that are deemed 'class' i.e. the bogger use of 'class' - being brilliant / fun / exciting / extravagent / not-from-the-country etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

when can we see this new rte comedy series on our screens?

Nobody wants a repeat of 'upwardly mobile'... nobody.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

who the hell makes their fortune on socks?
    and why the bicycle shorts in every episode?
    and why did I watch it on tv as a child...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

RHunce wrote: »
    awww, i clicked on this thread hoping to discuss the techniques invloved in throwing a paper ball in class, firing pencil cases and happy slapping, these are the type of class wars i have come to love:cool:

Don't forget tackle hooking with a tsquare.

• Registered Users Posts: 746 ✭✭✭skregs

because everyone knows that scummers solve all their problems through burning.
    you should probably try to lay off the poshie who like so hates posh people thing while you're at it

skregs wrote: »
    you should probably try to lay off the poshie who like so hates posh people thing while you're at it

leave him alone, he's had to trade his merc for a bmw, and he's down to his last 37 suits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭barakus

laugh wrote: »

Now thats pain.

skregs wrote: »

Pardon, didn't quite get that, can you translate?*

*Oh my god, I've become the thing I hate!

in the school i went to the lads used to make perspex shanks in engineering when the teacher was out on a smoke break. rock and fooking roll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

1) Play them off against each other, hate mail etc.
    2) Film it
    3) Profit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

You're the best kind of snob OP

you look down on everyone!

1) Play them off against each other, hate mail etc.
    2) Film it
    3) Profit.

Ha ha! Suggested the same to my o.h. To get the price down on one of the gaffs, natuarally. The poshie's have an end-of-terrance I wouldn't mind getting for a knock down price. I remember watching the film adaptation of Stephen King's 'Needful Things' - some good ideas there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

The problem is that they moved next door to gear dealers and not coke dealers. Fatal miscalculation.

phasers wrote: »
    You're the best kind of snob OP

you look down on everyone!

That's only a half-truth. Whilst moving here I've learnt a few things:

1) The poorer the street the more likely you are to actually see your neighbours.

2) The more you try to 'differentiate' yourself from your fellow man, the more 'different' they'll make you feel.

3) Guards are bastards.

4) There's some great craic to be had in inner-city pubs.

5) holy Shit U2 were loud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Hard to tell these days who's really middle class in Dublin /Ireland

At least back in the early 80s you knew who was ,who pretended to be and who wanted to be

(drug dealers excluded ).

The Celtic tiger (what a horrible phrase) re arranged the rules now nobodys not sure who's who anymore .

• Registered Users Posts: 746 ✭✭✭skregs

Where I'm from, the poorer the street the less you see your neighbours. Mainly because they dont speak English and dont socialise.

There's some great crack in inner city pubs, and its cheaper than coke