Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I can't f*cking believe this - 15 mins before the film starts NTL is gone!!

• 23-08-2009 7:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrgggghh!!! Why? Why? WHY???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

did you try turning it off and switching it back on again?

p.s

what film?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Could be worse... Just ask Maddie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

That's what ya get for cheapin out on Sky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

Try paying your bill on time, perhaps!

Adamcp898 wrote: »
    That's what ya get for cheapin out on Sky

cheapin out on sky? NTL is just as flippin expensive! 78euro a month or something ridiculous! and there are always problems with it. But my poxy management company don't allow sky dishes :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

peanuthead wrote: »
    aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrgggghh!!! Why? Why? WHY???

LOL. Sux to be you with NTL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

Off to XtraVision with ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

Well I don't own the house, so when I get my own place I'll get sky!!!

Catch me if you can - I know its old, Ive seen it like, 5 times or so, but Im here on my own....

The 2 lads are roaring at eachother down there trying to fix it, so I'm sure they have turned it off and on again

but maybe we have it on dvd... must check.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Could be worse... Just ask Maddie.

Pffft yawn!!!!

Soooooooo 2007!!!

plus NTL sucks balls bigtime!!!

benwavner wrote: »
    What film was it anyway???

If it was porn, I fully understand the OP's frustration.

Yep I agree!!

no porn = imagination time!!!

why wait 15 mins for porn when his broadband is clearly working?

Maybe he's with Eircom, those censoring shower of eejits!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Schism wrote: »
    Off to XtraVision with ye.

They have some deals on at the moment on the not-so-new-releases. 5 for €5 for 5 nights.. or something like that. One of the films that I got out last night was 'Sleeping Dogs' and was described as "The dogs bollox".

They weren't kidding :(

OT- ummm... grrrr NTL.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭K-Ren

NTL?! Chorus is stretching it really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

In other news, I am upgrading to Sky+HD next week.

NTL sucks bigtime

ooooooh we got a pro here people!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

You're a girl... and you watch porn?!! :eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭Bob_Harris

In other news, I am upgrading to Sky+HD next week.

NTL sucks bigtime

Sky AND NTL suck.

I've got a Free to Air HD combo box which gives me digital RTE and all the free satellite channels. It can record and pause, can act as a media centre to play any file format under the sun, and watch youtube vids and browse the net :D

Also the SD reproduction is superb, so much so that switching from BBC1 to BBCHD is not as massive a jump in picture quality as you would expect.

All for once off fee of slightly more than €300.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Spare a thought for me im stuck watching Fair City as i only have 4 tv chanels.

Ehhh there are still three other options!
    Change, change, chaaaaange!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Well I don't own the house, so when I get my own place I'll get sky!!!

Catch me if you can - I know its old, Ive seen it like, 5 times or so, but Im here on my own....

The 2 lads are roaring at eachother down there trying to fix it, so I'm sure they have turned it off and on again

but maybe we have it on dvd... must check.
    I'm watching it now, great movie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

brummytom wrote: »
    You're a girl... and you watch porn?!! :eek::eek:

A lot of girls do, young man. ;)

Kiera wrote: »

Thank you Odep,

you've just made my day.

brummytom wrote: »
    Thank you Odep,

you've just made my day.
    I was trying to ruin it by calling you young man :)

Yeah I missed that because I was focusing moreso on the porn :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

and what do they do while watch this porn?

Explain in graphic detail

*whispers girlie secrets to Kiera*

Well you know the way boys fap? Well we flic.....

Nevermind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Nevermind.
    Oh holy Jesus...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭mukki

if i was a mod i would say....
    christ above back on topic people

and brummytom stop changing the topic in every thread to a porn discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭TheReverend

Torrent the film?

Nevermind.

Now to encourage some flicking

Not a hope i'm clicking that, panda. I know how twisted you are remember?

The music really got me going there!
    :P

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,228 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

i dont want to wade in here and be all serious but i think there is an activation code/card with ntl (thats if you have sky sports and the like) that ntl have recently changed without sending out the replacements for them first.
    a guy in work told. his ntl was cut off on wednesday and when he rang up to ask what was going they said he prob wouldnt have the new card until monday!!

mukki wrote: »
    and brummytom stop changing the topic in every thread to a porn discussion

I'm 15.. it's a gift I have.

Not a hope i'm clicking that, panda. I know how twisted you are remember?

But i do my christian bale in American psycho impression, 6 seconds into it!!

Well, didn't find it on dvd, but watched something waaaayyy better!!!

Probably can't say though, seeing as it may not be, as they say, "above board"
    not porn, just a downloaded film. OMG!! She downloads films!!!!

Well, didn't find it on dvd, but watched something waaaayyy better!!!

Probably can't say though, seeing as it may not be, as they say, "above board"
    not porn, just a downloaded film. OMG!! She downloads films!!!!

She?!?!?!?!?!

Does your husband know you're on the internet?

She?!?!?!?!?!

Does your husband know you're on the internet?

Aint no man gonna tell me what to do!!

*clicks fingers and shakes hips*

Um...hum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

But i do my christian bale in American psycho impression, 6 seconds into it!!

Ah you need to have "Sussudio" in the background for that kinda thing. :pac:
    Can't listen to that song now without flashbacks. Damn you bale!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

Bob_Harris wrote: »
    Sky AND NTL suck.

I've got a Free to Air HD combo box which gives me digital RTE

hmmm thought rte werent digital fta yet.

Also the SD reproduction is superb, so much so that switching from BBC1 to BBCHD is not as massive a jump in picture quality as you would expect.

All for once off fee of slightly more than €300.

so you paid more for not that much of a difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭Bob_Harris

hmmm thought rte werent digital fta yet.

Digital terrestrial tests (RTE1,2,TV3,+TG4 + radio) are being transmitted from the main transmitters right now. You just need an MPEG4 compatible set top box or TV to pick up the channels.
    so you paid more for not that much of a difference.

300e is the luxury option, you can get a combo box for 200e, or a CAM for 50e which slots into your TV and allows it to receive the digital terrestrial broadcasts.

Sky with it's once off install and equipment fee plus the basic package for 12 months (minimum superscription) is around 290e. Stick with them an additional 2 years and the over total is something like 670e.

And that's the basic package, I've seen the line-up and there's nothing special on there. If you start to add the fancy channels your running total increases massively.

When Free to Air, no subscription, systems are so readily available, I can't understand why people still flock to Sky, or NTL.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,030 ✭✭✭angel01

I have never had a problem with UPC. I think it is a great service and pretty damn reliable.