Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The unemployed, what do we do all day.

• 24-08-2009 4:48pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭

Well folks ive been on the Dole now for the best part of a year, anyone else here on the dole, and what do ye do to pass the days.

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭alfaz

Go get a job ya bum!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭Kevin Bacon

fap fap fap

There its been said can we all just move along....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

When I was unemployed I got some hens for laying eggs and planted veg and stuff, just to pass time more than anything

Still have them now, and I sell them at farmers markets :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

alfaz wrote: »
    Go get a job ya bum!!!

Jeez i wish it was that easy, ive never been afraid of hard work in fact i love it, i usually do all the overtime god sends working 7 days a week often, but there are no Jobs out there and thats the simple fact of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭hblock21

I live with someone on the dole. He just sleeps / watches tv and eats ready meals. He's some waster..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭TheInquisitor

Set up a militia for the laugh and take on the gangs. what else have you to do. Guards certainly aren't doing anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

I'm only back after being outta the country for over a year. So i have a lot of tv shows to catch up on. That's how i pretty much pass my day. Since the job situation is sh1te i may have to feck off again in the new year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭hblock21

When I was unemployed I got some hens for laying eggs and planted veg and stuff, just to pass time more than anything

I'd like to think that is something I would do...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

Jeez i wish it was that easy, ive never been afraid of hard work in fact i love it, i usually do all the overtime god sends working 7 days a week often, but there are no Jobs out there and thats the simple fact of it.

Look into doing a 3rd level course then... there's schemes just been put in place for people to up skill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Do the house and garden up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Im the same,just back in the country after a year away,thought it would be easy gettin a job some fool I was! Basically sit around all day waiting for the evenings to come along when everyones finished work! Theres only so much Maury,Jeremy Kyle and David Dickinson a man can watch bring on college!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,264 ✭✭✭Elessar

Go to the gym, 3 times a week, play computer games, volunteer, head out with friends, watch movies at home and in the cinema, read. I always find things to do.

An awful lot of internet tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,151 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

hblock21 wrote: »
    I live with someone on the dole. He just sleeps / watches tv and eats ready meals. He's some waster..

You should have married someone else.

hobochris wrote: »
    Look into doing a 3rd level course then... there's schemes just been put in place for people to up skill.

Im going to Aus in a few weeks so it wont be too bad. Besides i would never go to college its Just not for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭b12mearse

join the ra....

Im going to Aus in a few weeks so it wont be too bad. Besides i would never go to college its Just not for me.

Fair enough.. but your employment prospects tend to be better with a degree under your belt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Offer to do some yard work around your area or something, I'd be driven mad without work. Get out of the house or something. The gardening thing is a great idea.

hobochris wrote: »
    Fair enough.. but your employment prospects tend to be better with a degree under your belt.

Yes they sure would be, but im Just could never wear a suit every day or work in a office, its Just not me, besides im happy Just making a small wage every week im not very materialistic:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,018 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Learn to cook and bake. It's easy, rewarding and depending on how adventurous you want to be- time consuming.
    Do you have any hobbies, why not explore them. Photography, athletics, cycling, whatever. Indulge your interest.
    As people have mentioned watch television, borrow, rent, watch your own DVDs.
    Play videogames and actually finish the games. Try to get any achievements.
    Go to the library. Read up on whatever tickles your fancy. They are usually free and have thousands of books.
    Volunteer. There are loads of charities and sevices where you can volunteer one or more hours per week, I'm sure they'd love to have your help.
    Similar to one of the above but get out and explore your neighbourhood. Walk the roads, hills.

The best way to fill your day is to have structure. Get up early, pick something to do and actually do it. Getting up late and being sloth like makes the day drag by and you won't have any sense of achievement. Be disciplined.

b12mearse wrote: »
    join the ra....

Regent Advisor?
    http://www.residentadvisor.net

Sungod Worship?
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ra

Radiocommunications Agency?
    http://www.ofcom.org.uk/static/archive/ra/rahome.htm

Similar to one of the above but get out and explore your neighbourhood. Walk the roads, hills.

Oh can i do that tomorrow? id prefer to just get pissed on cans today:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

i have a job, but just don't feel like going in sometimes, so i don't. best of both worlds.

neh neh!

Yes they sure would be, but im Just could never wear a suit every day or work in a office, its Just not me, besides im happy Just making a small wage every week im not very materialistic:D

Maybe volunteer somewhere then? It would keep you busy at least and while unpaid counts as experience and could be rewarding in other ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,118 ✭✭✭DenMan

Do plenty of writing. Look into any short story competitions coming up and work on a project. Enter it and see how you get on. Be creative. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭EastWallGirl

Believe it or not, you are not meant to volunteer while you are on the dole as you are not considered to be available for work.

That being said I was very up front with the place I was volunteering at, that if I got a job i would let them know as soon as possible so they could get cover. Bit silly really as the work I did was good experience for the CV. I think social welfare are very short sighted. I think perhaps you should be allowed to do 10-15 hours a week as it gives structure to your day, makes you get up and get dressed and gives you experience with people and perhaps a reference.

Other then that I help in the MIL's garden, do my own garden, go for long walks, cook, babysit, catch up on reading.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭waraf

Mainly internet but today I've been trying to wire brush a metal fence all day but i can only get little bits done at a time cause of the showers. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,018 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Oh I forgot to add don't forget to look for a job as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭helpwanted1

Being unemployed is awful. Everyday passses with little meaning. In my opinion it is the nearest thing to being dead as you can get. You dont feel part of society. The weekend means nothing and everyday any little bit of motivation you have is slowly and painly dispersed. How any one lives like this on a long term basis to me is unbelievabe. It a terrible way of life. Its drive me insane......:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Johnny Bitte

Ok, So people with jobs wanna stay in bed and people without wanna work. This is just not good enough.

There has to be some job where we can stay in bed and work....HMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

Believe it or not, you are not meant to volunteer while you are on the dole as you are not considered to be available for work.

That being said I was very up front with the place I was volunteering at, that if I got a job i would let them know as soon as possible so they could get cover. Bit silly really as the work I did was good experience for the CV. I think social welfare are very short sighted. I think perhaps you should be allowed to do 10-15 hours a week as it gives structure to your day, makes you get up and get dressed and gives you experience with people and perhaps a reference.

Other then that I help in the MIL's garden, do my own garden, go for long walks, cook, babysit, catch up on reading.
    Really? I applied for the dole last week and had planned on getting a job volunteering just for something to do (I'll go out of my mind otherwise).

How idiotic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,151 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Oh I forgot to add don't forget to look for a job as well.

I'm sure that they will, should they have any time left over after going down your comprehensive list of activities.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Futurism

Drug dealing?

Get a gym membership. If you don't have the money for that, go for a run every day. Doing up your house/garden is also a pretty good idea. I know you don't want to get a degree, but maybe you should do a training course of some sort?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

When my alarm goes off at 7am I feel so jealous of people on the dole. Soooo jealous.

Though, at the end of the day I'm so lucky I have my job! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭The Walsho

I think you should download some pornography.

And then masturbate while watching said pornography.

If you catch my drift.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭DublinDes

ejmaztec wrote: »
    You should have married someone else.
    hblock21 never said she was married to him, he said - " I live with someone on the dole. He just sleeps / watches tv and eats ready meals. He's some waster.. ". Maybe you should try and understand a message before replying ...........

DublinDes wrote: »
    hblock21 never said she was married to him, he said - " I live with someone on the dole. He just sleeps / watches tv and eats ready meals. He's some waster.. ". Maybe you should try and understand a message before replying ...........

I'm fairly sure he was just having a laugh ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

I was unemployed for several months a few years ago.
    My main occupation was to find a(nother) job. Scour the papers for ads, check the internet job sites, send off CV's, follow up on CV's sent, etc ...

But there's only so much of that that you can do in a given day and the rest is waiting ...waiting for the postman (with todays batch of "we'll keep your application on file" letters), waiting for e-mails, waiting for the phone to ring.

Waiting drove me absolutely bonkers. So, other than doing a few long neglected tasks around the house, I took up fishing. Great thing to get you out and switch off, relieve the pressure. Plus on occassion you'd catch your own food ...we ate a lot of free fish that year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 therogue

since being on the dole ive really improved my computer skills. nobody beats me now super mario :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

MizzLolly wrote: »
    When my alarm goes off at 7am I feel so jealous of people on the dole. Soooo jealous.
    Believe me, it gets old fast :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Futurism

peasant wrote: »
    Waiting drove me absolutely bonkers. So, other than doing a few long neglected tasks around the house, I took up fishing. Great thing to get you out and switch off, relieve the pressure. Plus on occassion you'd catch your own food ...we ate a lot of free fish that year.

Shame about the weather though. I'd actually love to go fishing now for a while but there's always too much rain for it to be bearable.

hblock21 wrote: »
    I'd like to think that is something I would do...

Everyone should do it, it's very rewarding

there's hardly any work involved with keeping hens, and the veg seem to grow themselves :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

look for jobs ????

only joking.... jobs are for suckas
    dunno go on the internet... hang out around the place... go to a mates house.
    im a students so im basicaly unemloyed....sorta....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

I apply for jobs some times I hear something other times I don't.
    I go for walks.
    I surf the internet for jobs
    Then I go and work on my other projects such as improving my spelling.
    not much at the weekend si spend time with my friends tho I'm thinking of getting in to circuit training to get me out a lot more and fitter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭mega man

you could hang around a university, get a timetable of some course you like and attend the lecture like a 21st century unemployed ecentric:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭An Fear Aniar

I don't think we were physiologically designed to work 9 to 5, 5 day weeks (and usually in fact longer). URL="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Working_time#Prehistory"]citation needed[/URL

mega man wrote: »
    you could hang around a university, get a timetable of some course you like and attend the lecture like a 21st century unemployed ecentric:D

or just sniff glue in the shed all day while your wifes at work

I like it, I like it a lot. You could pull some 18yr old Philosophy student:cool:

That sounds like great fun tbh

kind of like the homeless guy that lives in UCD

• Registered Users Posts: 158 ✭✭bogs

I hope your not thinking its going to be a bed of roses because that would be a total illusion and for your own sanity also.

you could also buy a wooly jumper and sew leather patches onto the elbows and pretend your an intellectual...but really you probably resemble ted bundy

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,918 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

I look for work and go to the gym.