Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The end is nigh for shooting?

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭rrpc

Sparks wrote: »
    Ah, but that wasn't the interesting comment Bunny - it was what he said right after that that's the interesting bit.
    Was bunny there for that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭rowa

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Trained by Lord Shortarrse in his super secret Louth hotel ,that converts into a Fortress of Solititude and bodygaurd traing facility at the mention of money no doubt???:D:D

is that "gentleman" still here or has he returned to his family castle in peckham ? gone to rome to be honoured by the pope again maybe ?

Trained by Lord Shortarrse in his super secret Louth hotel ,that converts into a Fortress of Solititude and bodygaurd traing facility at the mention of money no doubt???:D:D

is that your man, 'The Baron', who claims to be ex SAS and all that? Runs a bodyguard training school.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

That'd be him allright zara.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

bmcm71 wrote: »
    I agree we're not a big powerful group like say the farmers but if we do nothing, then nothing happens.

But surely most farmers have guns?? Pretty much every farmer I know has one. If done in the right way you could get decent numbers for a protest if the farmers, hunters and target shooters were to ally.

Can anyone tell me if firearms are Tax deductable for farmers? If not we might have some incentive for farmers to march.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,024 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Croydon more like...;)
    Bodygaurd school....Rightttt,pay alot of money and get to shoot full auto stuff and learn how to muck about with illegal explosives is Lativa or some place out there.:rolleyes:About as useful BG skills as wellies in the Sahara.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

its hard to believe that there are people like this guy out there , and even harder to stomach that people take him seriously , its the likes of him that give shooting a bad name .

If done in the right way you could get decent numbers for a protest if the farmers, hunters and target shooters were to ally.

Do you REALLY want the most "hated" class of people,next to Irish politicans out protesting our cause???
    FFS it's bad enough being a gunowner,but having the IFA,or some of its more "hairer" members,drive sheep or cattle into the DOJ offices just to make a point,or some other such protest??? I shudder to think what effect that would have on our cause??:eek::eek:

The Baron isnt as much a hotshot anymore Rowa.ARRSE have done a fine job of demolition work[and still continue to do so] on him,his dubious claims,backround ,military history,his Ebay medals,and fancy dress costumes.Still seems to be the only creditable evidence of "combat training"ever done in Ireland.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Do you REALLY want the most "hated" class of people,next to Irish politicans out protesting our cause???
    FFS it's bad enough being a gunowner,but having the IFA,or some of its more "hairer" members,drive sheep or cattle into the DOJ offices just to make a point,or some other such protest??? I shudder to think what effect that would have on our cause??:eek::eek:

i have to agree , the joe duffy/ cuddly bunny /looney left d.4 socialists would have a field day in the media , but then again it worked out ok in the uk , passed off peacefully etc .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Hated by whom?
    Our Cause?
    Right now, other than shooters, who gives a sh1t about our cause? Do politicians hate farmers? If 100,000 gunowners and farmers were to march on Dublin, do you not think something might happen? The opposition might use it as advantage over the sitting government. They might ask how many licensed gun owners have been involved in gun crime, and if maybe Scrooge Aherne is wasting his time, and several million tax payer's money.

But remember what the first million march consisted of.Everyone in the UK countryside with a grievence against Tony Blair and New Labour.Everyone from fox hunters to people losing their rural post office,police station ,and bus route.
    Here all it would be seen as "Them feckin farmers wantin somthin for nothin again and effin blocking up de traffic Dublin".

Hated by whom?
    Just about every urban person in Ireland.The Irish farmer has the worst media and PR image going...
    Our Cause?
    Trying to keep what little gains we have made since 2004.
    Right now, other than shooters, who gives a sh1t about our cause
    ?
    No one TBH with you.We are too small to affect a difference,and too poor to buy or influence any politican here!:(
    Do politicians hate farmers?
    Totally indifferent to them,good to shear at election time,and promises of grant money from Europe or some financial concessions keeps the aul vote.
    100,000 gunowners and farmers were to march on Dublin, do you not think something might happen?

In an alternative universe that might happen!!:(About the only thing that would come out of that is more negative publicity for gunowners,as we are lumped in now with farmers ,whom the GP consider to throw their toys from their pram,if it doesnt go their way. And proably 100,000 less FACS,which Herr Aherne would gladly revoke on some trumped up grounds of an attempted Coup de etat or some other codswallop that he belives the GP would swallow! Thanks but no thanks!Ireally dont want to give that man anymore excuses to ruin what little pittance we have here in shooting.:(

The opposition might use it as advantage over the sitting government. They might ask how many licensed gun owners have been involved in gun crime, and if maybe Scrooge Aherne is wasting his time, and several million tax payer's money.

And this has been done in both the Dail and Seanad ,before they ran off on their hols and left the country in freefall again.In case you missed the last three months.We've been there,seen this,done it,bought the T shirt.
    ALL those questions have been asked...NO effect.

the irish have a major failing , they'll bitch to each other in staff canteens , pubs , queues , on here ,outside the school/church gates but never get together and do something about it , we were beaten into submission by church and government over the years to swallow what ever crap they dished out ,

if the same carry on and revelations about the government that happened here over the last 2 or 3 years happened in france for instance , what do you think the result would be ? i can tell you, burning lorries and cars , massive numbers of people out on the street with placards and the government "rethinking " its position .

ahern did what he did because he knew one thing, just as c.j. , bertie , ray burke, o'donaghue etc knew it , we'd whinge and moan but ultimately we'd do nothing and accept it .

• Registered Users Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Bananaman

if the same carry on and revelations about the government that happened here over the last 2 or 3 years happened in france for instance , what do you think the result would be ?

They'd be dusting off the guillotines and planting spuds after digging up the ring road round Paris.

People in Ireland have got a weird sense of 'our betters know best' when the 'betters' they speak of have all turned out to be fecking them over and its all coming out in the wash now. Priests, Bankers, Doctors, Pharmacists, Solicitors, Builders, etc.

The Politicians have escaped unscathed for the time being except for the few they threw on the pyre, e.g. CJ, Ray Burke, etc. by keeping the attentions focused on tribunals of inquiry the end result of which was a public outcry against the fees charged by Barristers and Solicitors.

Their day will come.

B'Man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

Grizzly,for the most part farmers get their own way .Yes block up the streels of Dublin, give politicians a head ache. All the IFA has to do is rattle their sabres they are a powerful lobby, and don't ye friggin townies forget where you do most of yer shootin' or that we still are a mainly rural society whether ye like it or not:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭PJ Hunter

They'd be dusting off the guillotines and planting spuds after digging up the ring road round Paris.

no. read when their national association heard tightning up was on the way,they put members up for election. won over a million votes. that put an end to that.:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 804 ✭✭✭Sikamick

+1 PJ. ;)

Sikamick

4gun wrote: »
    Grizzly,for the most part farmers get their own way .Yes block up the streels of Dublin, give politicians a head ache. All the IFA has to do is rattle their sabres they are a powerful lobby, and don't ye friggin townies forget where you do most of yer shootin' or that we still are a mainly rural society whether ye like it or not:eek:

HEY!! dont be calling me a townie.Ya mucksavage:D.
    Right,greetings exchanged.Doing what you suggest is fine 4gun.
    IF the Irish pouplation was behind us.Unfortunatly [1] They are not.
    [2] By and large they mostly live in the greater Dublin/Lenister area,going by last censuses [3]By "sabre rattling" which the IFA does on seemingly every issue ,they have destroyed what little positive public goodwill the Irish people have to farmers.
    [4] Not helped by good old Irish begrudgery,of Farmer=Land[No doubt aquired by sucking up to the English,or some backhanded method]=MONEY[And lesser extent nowadays FOOD,Gained by being a tightwad from generations of tightwads,and spending none the many EEC,EC and EU grants for which they were designed for.]

So with the biggest lobby in the country,being now as pouplar as a Pork butcher in Saudai Arabia in the average Irish persons eye.Them "demanding" another concession on firearms,because they are farmers,will do ALL of us gunowners no favours whatsoever!!
    FFS what makes a farmer have the right not to have to have a gun cabinet,when the rest of us have to install alarms etc!!??A single gun cabinet isnt going to break the bank either.[Proably because there was no EU grant available is why the IFA is giving out..again:rolleyes:]
    It's this kind of petty things that make the Irish farmer /IFA look bad in the eyes of the public.Seeing that most of the illegal firearms out there according to the Gardai,are nicked farm shotguns,I would have thought they should be the first lot to be hit with tight security requirences!!