Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Soccer forum q&a with Damien Duff

• 27-08-2009 3:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭

So, Darragh has been offered an interview with Damien Duff on Monday ahead of the World Cup Qualifer against Cyprus on Saturday 5th September - it'll be on video - but he thought it might be cool to do a Boards.ie Q&A with the Duffer.

So does anybody have any questions that they would like to put to DD? There are not too many strictures on this, the questions must be reasonable and the normal soccer forum rules apply. Darragh will ultimately decide what is asked and the video will be put up for all to see.

I am sure darragh will post here if there is anything I have missed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

This is a great thing for Boards.

Question for Duffer.

How much sleep do you get on your day off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Who's the longest in the shower?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,670 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

What did you really think of the Newcastle Away Jersey.

Oddly enough I think its great, it's really grown on me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

What is his opinion on Alan Shearer as a manager?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,047 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Ask him about how he feels to be Mrs Ranieris' favourite player at Chelsea:

"Damien is Damien. When I don't put him in the squad my mother, who's 84, asks 'why isn't Damien playing?' She kills me about it and that's true" - Mrs Ranieri has a thing for little Irish men.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭curry-muff

What made you sign for fulham?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

Which manager you have played under has helped you develop most as a player?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,852 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Who in the Irish camp pissed off Steven Ireland the most, and is he really the muppet some think he is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 627 ✭✭✭Jugs82

Many say that Fulham overachieved last season and that playing in Europe this year could be detrimental - what would say to them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Wreck

Please ask him about Stephen Ireland, if he would be welcomed back by the squad, if Duffer personally thinks he should come back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭DoireNod

Cool, fair play to Darragh.

Question:

Does Damien Duff make use of Boards.ie?

or

What was your most memorable goal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭ITT-Pat

Who does he think should be Trap's 1st choice pairing in centre midfield?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭stevoslice

having ecperienced premiership victory with chelsea, to relegation with newcastle, does he feel he made the right move, and does he think this move to fulham can resurrect his career?

how did the irish team feel after THAT result in cyprus, and what have the group learned as a result?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

Did he like switching wings with Robben as often as he did when he was at Chelsea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Best player he ever played with, at club and country level. Best he ever played against.

If he thinks Kevin's Boys are dirtier than Lourdes Celtic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,587 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

What was the best team he played in?

What team would he most liked to have played in?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Damien,When you left Chelsea were their other clubs in for you..?if so why did you pick Newcastle..?

Would you now do things different,ether stay at Chelsea or move to another club...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

Dub13 wrote: »
    Damien,When you left Chelsea were their other clubs in for you..?if so why did you pick Newcastle..?

Would you now do things different,ether stay at Chelsea or move to another club...?
    That's along the lines of what I was about to ask.
    There were rumours that Valencia were in for you when you were leaving Chelsea. Do you regret turning them down and going to Newcastle?

And

What's your favourite colour?

Whatever happened to that absolute stunner I saw you in with in the O2 store on Grafton Street a few years back?

If it didn't work out can you hook a brother up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Whatever happened to that absolute stunner I saw you in with in the O2 store on Grafton Street a few years back?

If it didn't work out can you hook me up with her brother ?

FYP:)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Smegball

Daddy or chips :pac:

In all seriousness, best player to ever play alongside and why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

Not counting Traps, who was the best IRish manager you've played under and why?

Was it really this much craic under The Special One?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

Who's the longest in the shower?

Caleb Folan.

Mikeyt086 wrote: »
    Caleb Folan.

I'd have thought Stephen Hunt. He has a lot of hair to wash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Yep, it's Hunty, deffo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Do you admire Newcastle fans for their eternal optomisim or do you like the vast majority consider them to be clueless and deluded??

Oh yeah and what was the story with that head the ball in Saipan? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

They always say Given is last out, apparently he washed his gloves in there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

If you could be a professional athlete in a sport other then Football what would it be and why?

Do you have any plans for life after playing professional football?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

What was it like to work with a thug like Joey Barton?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Ask him about the horror that was the Hibernian ad and ask him how he ever recovered from such a travesty?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭eddiehead

What is your opinion on diving in the modern game and how should the clubs & authorities deal with it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

who's his favourite manager of irish team that he's played with

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Tomthepost

If Ireland fail to qualify for the world cup would he consider concentrating on club career and stop making himself available for his country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,852 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Wreck wrote: »
    Please ask him about Stephen Ireland, if he would be welcomed back by the squad, if Duffer personally thinks he should come back.

I'll thank you even though I posted it first! I think the response won't be great either though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

- Which would you prefer: to get into Europe next season with Fulham, or to see Newcastle back to the Premier League next season?

- If you have a bad day on the pitch, what do you do to keep your spirits up?

- Who would you like to see win the Premier League this season?

- Can I have your autograph?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

Did he every drink Duff beer? Did he like it and would he ever consider endorsing it?

Who is the strangest footballer he has come accross?

Does he think money is ruining the game?

Does he ever have days when he gets sick of the whole football lark and daydreams about working in an office/factory/job?

Whats his favourite website?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,519 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Ask him to tell Andy Reid to keep his chin up.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,209 ✭✭✭Redzer7

He's talking about Caleb being tall in the shower :p As in he's long ;):p.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

What is a day in the life of a professional footballer actually like?

A run down of two days, eg normal training day and match day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

1. Damien, in 2006 you said you couldn't sign for Spurs because they were a London club and a rival of Chelsea. You've just signed for Chelsea's real rivals Fulham. What's all that about then?

2. Have you given any thought to what you might do when your playing career comes to an end? Do many professionals give consideration to that?

3. Have you any regrets about how your career has panned out to date?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

noodler wrote: »
    Ask him to tell Andy Reid to keep his chin up.

which one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Damo,
    • What is your lowest / highest point personally as a footballer?
    • Who has impressed you most in training with Fulham?
    • Any up&coming youngster you have been really impressed with at Fulham?
    • Do you still keep in contact with any of your old Chelsea teammates?
    • Do you think A. Reid deserves a spot in the national squad ahead of squad players like Miller, Gibson?
    • Do you think A. Reid is capable of playing in Traps system (2 holding MFs, 2 out&out wingers, etc...) ?
    • Favourite league to watch outside of EPL ?
    • On your days off when you're not training and / or sleeping, do you wanna hang out (I live nearby, im not a stalker :pac:)? Pub, crazy golf, cinema etc ...you choose).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Wreck

shoutman wrote: »
    If you could be a professional athlete in a sport other then Football what would it be and why?

Do you have any plans for life after playing professional football?

I'm guessing that the answer to both these questions will be golf :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭curry-muff

Ask him how come he cant do that thing in the lucozade ad in a real match :pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Dub13 wrote: »
    You're probably referring to Liverpool but Valencia and I think Inter were also in for him so I'd love to know whether he considered playing abroad, if you could ask this.

Do you feel your style has changed substantially over the last 5 years? (obviously it has but I'd like to know his opinion on why and how).

There were rumours that he'd like to end his career in the league of Ireland, is this true?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

Who was the toughest full back you've come up against in your career?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Ask him why he's been useless since he left Chelsea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,480 ✭✭✭✭cson

FearDark wrote: »
    Ask him why he's been useless since he left Chelsea.

Ask him does he ever feel like sticking the nut in people who abuse him like FearDark. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Irish Iron

Whats the most intimidating atmosphere you've played in on an away trip?