Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

UEFA Super Cup Final - Barcelona v Shakhtar Donetsk (live RTE 2, KO 7:45pm)

• 28-08-2009 7:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭

Right, dont see a thread for this. If there is mods, ye can delete this.

50080.gif52707.gif

FC Barcelona coach Josep Guardiola and his FC Shakhtar Donetsk counterpart Mircea Lucescu will put their friendship aside for 90 minutes when their sides meet in Monaco with the UEFA Super Cup at stake.

Still trying to dig out line up for teams...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,209 ✭✭✭Redzer7

Right, dont see a thread for this. If there is mods, ye can delete this.

50080.gif52707.gif

FC Barcelona coach Josep Guardiola and his FC Shakhtar Donetsk counterpart Mircea Lucescu will put their friendship aside for 90 minutes when their sides meet in Monaco with the UEFA Super Cup at stake.

Still trying to dig out line up for teams...
    Forgot about this, cheers mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Stuck a fiver on Shakhtar h/t Barca f/t @ 28/1 for the craic.

Barca team:
    Valdes
    Alves -- Puyol -- Pique -- Abidal
    Keita ---- Toure

Xavi
    -- Messi
    Henry --
    Ibrahimovic

• Registered Users Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Deadly. Totally forgot about this. Thanks for the heads up lisbon.

This should be a decent watch.

Srna is still playing for Shakhtar afaik. Wonder will he outshine Alves.

Plus a chance to see how Ibra is fitting in.

Cool.

Number 27 chygynskiyy has already signed for Barca :P
    he's gonna score an og in the last minute :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

Is Andres Iniesta injured?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

Can't wait to see Ibra begin what's gonna be a substandard year up front. Still can't get over that transfer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭lisbon_lions

Line up from Uefa site

3864875519_b616964183.jpg3865660006_8e693ff3ff.jpg

Mikeyt086 wrote: »
    Is Andres Iniesta injured?
    Yeah Mate :mad:. Here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

I know it's been said before, but Barcelona really do have a fantastic team.

How has Ibrahimovic done in pre-season?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,792 ✭✭✭✭JPA

What is up with Gabriel Milito?
    Fecked?

Jaysus that Monaco pitch is always fecked. In a state all together.

The Super Cup is only played there so the UEFA suits have an excuse to go at the casinos and fancy hookers.

Good effort by Henry there.

Yeah pitch is a right bad shape. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Neither team look arsed. Shaktar to win is a nice price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,680 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Neither team look arsed. Shaktar to win is a nice price.

ya

finding it boring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

Henry nearly scored a goal reminiscent of the one against United in '00. How ironic :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,750 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

Headshot wrote: »
    ya

finding it boring

eastenders ftw:cool:

how many subs are allowed ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

redzerdrog wrote: »
    eastenders ftw:cool:

Yeah can't believe Coronation Street double bill was cancelled for this.

ya

finding it boring

If your bored have a watch of Keita and debate with me whether United should have made a bid for him this summer. I've been thinking he might be worth a punt. He's always going to be down the pecking order at Barca, might blossom at United though.

sorry about that lads. bit of an anti climax this.

Not your fault they all love Eastenders :p.

i'd be so embarrassed if i was you :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Matches like these are an embarrassment to the game.

Prawn sandwitch beano on a pitch worse than the one they had a tap about on at Ypres

ha ha took the brave step of starting a thread and this is what happens. pfft.ill get me coat.

Srna has some right foot on him. Both teams are trying. Shakhtar just defending very well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Awful game. Fell asleep twice already.
    Rekop dog wrote: »
    Yeah can't believe Coronation Street double bill was cancelled for this.

Step away from the keyboard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭Tyranax

Pro. F wrote: »
    If your bored have a watch of Keita and debate with me whether United should have made a bid for him this summer. I've been thinking he might be worth a punt. He's always going to be down the pecking order at Barca, might blossom at United though.

Would he leave Barca for us? If we could even afford him....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

Massive amounts of underwhelment

Ibra hasnt done much but I suppose Messi hasnt either

Bit odd that - Henry and the Barca players hanging around in the stairs waiting for Pep to go out first:confused:

Cameraman doing his best to spot some hot Monaco totty at half time:D

I think part of the problem is that the game is being played before what I assume is a largely neutral crowd of French/Monacons. Seems very quiet in the stadium for the most part.

Ibra wins the utterly pointless back-heel flick to no-one out over the sideline award of the night

penalties written all over this one.

Tyranax wrote: »
    Would he leave Barca for us? If we could even afford him....

I don't know if he'd really be available, i was just thinking he might be tempted to leave if he thought he'd have more of a chance to get first team football.

penalties written all over this one.

Don't know - Barca might just nick one with all the possession/field position they have.

Shaktat have displayed all the attacking threat of a sleepy three year old with a blankie this half.

Ibrahimvoic having a stinker, que a goal.

god damn id have eto'o all day long

Might be extra-time in this

AAAAAAAAAGGGGGHHHHH the humanity!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,170 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

2 match ban for Ibrahimovic coming up then.

Ibra doing a Eduardo

Ibrah Dive Dive, Worst Than Eduardo :p.

Eto'o wasn't great on his Inter debut either.

Yeah on this showing Ibra very poor

Cant see him being too popular at the Nou Camp if he continues to ignore players free in space like he did with Henry there.

Two match ban for that dive :pac:
    edit: stupid slow connection. Royal with Cheese wins i think.

2 match ban on the way for Ibrahimovic.

Cocknose coming off, at last.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    2 match ban on the way for Ibrahimovic.

UEFA have to look at this.

OPENROAD wrote: »
    UEFA have to look at this.

If they wish to be consistant, yes they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,170 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

The depressing thing is you'll never hear anything about it ever again, and nobody will ever describe Ibrahimovic as a cheat.

Iv a feeling Henry will score

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭Leprechaun77

Can of worms....:D