Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pimp My Site

• 28-08-2009 9:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭

This Superthread is designed to allow you the user publicise your own soccer-related work hosted off-site. That may include opinion, match reports, articles, photography, video, artwork (this list is not exhaustive) but is subject to a few guidelines.

1. You may post links to any work of your own, or work that is hosted on a site you run.

2. The site must not be a commercial venture.

3. The site must not be primarily a discussion forum, though a general site that includes a discussion forum will be allowed (moderator discretion may be exercised here).

4. Where possible the site should consider user input from soccer forum users.

5. This thread should not be used to discuss points raised off-site, articles linked should not be used as the basis for discussion here. Please use whatever comment section is provided on the original site to comment on the points raised there, or start a specific thread on this forum to discuss the issue.

Please bear in mind the forum charter at all times, any user posting links to circumvent the provisions of the charter may be banned and/or infracted. If in any doubt as to whether a link may be in breach of this, please PM a moderator for approval first. Moderator discretion may be applied.

I'd like to suggest that each of you introduces the website which you intend to bring to our attention, and then feel free to post updates from the site as and when you see fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

I'm struggling to think of a better thread-title, so if anyone has any ideas fire away.

Actually, how does the Pimp my Site Superthread sound?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

wow xavi6s website created this thread. that is truly awesome.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/29986568@N03/

heres my flickr site its pretty crap, every photo on that page was taken by a 4 to 10 year old ( i think not sure on their exact ages).

Anyway the point is i bring my kids to matches and let them loose on the camera (cant slate my pic taking abilities then :D ) , its an interesting idea but flickr want money from me so the last 3 games will be uploaded to photcucket as its free and im over my limit on flickr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,934 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

I think applying the word "Super" to so many threads has started going a bit too far :)

I don't see this one being a hot bed of posting mayhem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

astrofool wrote: »
    I think applying the word "Super" to so many threads has started going a bit too far :)

I don't see this one being a hot bed of posting mayhem.

It'll get seriously abused my me ;)

Hopefully there'll be no bickering this time.

Great idea, TRO, anyone with football related stuff to plug should give it a try, there's some very helpful Boardies around to help.

I guess I'll give this thread a go!

French team of 1998 - Where are they now? Link

The Week In Football - Link

And my post on EPLtalk.com (Biggest EPL blog on the net, I think) - Link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Dodgykeeper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

This Superthread is designed to allow you the user publicise your own soccer-related work hosted off-site. That may include opinion, match reports, articles, photography, video, artwork (this list is not exhaustive) but is subject to a few guidelines.

1. You may post links to any work of your own, or work that is hosted on a site you run.

2. The site may not be a commercial venture.

3. The site may not be primarily a discussion forum, though a general site that includes a discussion forum will be allowed (moderator discretion may be exercised here).

4. Where possible the site should consider user input from soccer forum users.

5. This thread should not be used to discuss points raised off-site, articles linked should not be used as the basis for discussion here. Please use whatever comment section is provided on the original site to comment on the points raised there, or start a specific thread on this forum to discuss the issue.

Please bear in mind the forum charter at all times, any user posting links to circumvent the provisions of the charter may be banned and/or infracted. If in any doubt as to whether a link may be in breach of this, please PM a moderator for approval first. Moderator discretion may be applied.

I'd like to suggest that each of you introduces the website which you intend to bring to our attention, and then feel free to post updates from the site as and when you see fit.

Might be just me, but there's grounds for a double meaning there. Would "must not be" be a less ambiguous option in the above posts?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,529 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

The thread title is bizarre. Even knowing the content I can't make sense of it. Pimp my Site is much more understandable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

Today at BPF:

A couple of new polls have been added, including one on the ROI so go and vote.

The next ... Patrick Vieira? - New feature looking at the legends of world football and who will be the man to step into their boots.

Result in Cyprus is imperative
    - Glenn explains why the game in Cyprus tomorrow is a must win.

Living in a land Down Under - Fantastic read on the Australian football league, the A-League.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

My website..... a work in progress......

89171.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,677 ✭✭✭Chong

dreamers75 wrote: »
    wow xavi6s website created this thread. that is truly awesome.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/29986568@N03/

heres my flickr site its pretty crap, every photo on that page was taken by a 4 to 10 year old ( i think not sure on their exact ages).

Anyway the point is i bring my kids to matches and let them loose on the camera (cant slate my pic taking abilities then :D ) , its an interesting idea but flickr want money from me so the last 3 games will be uploaded to photcucket as its free and im over my limit on flickr.
    Maybe I am behind the times your kdjacl? Your back WTF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Dodgykeeper

Xavi6 gives his opinion on the age old question...can England win the World Cup?

http://backpagefootball.com/info/international/can-england-reign-down-in-africa/

Back Page Football has been nominated for an Irish Web Award!

We're all absolutely delighted! We all hope you will bookmark us, read our articles and comment on the posts from time to time. We highly appreciate anyone who takes a moment to take a look at the site, and hope you can make BPF apart of your daily football reading material.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

well done lads.

brilliant stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,591 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Eire-Dearg wrote: »
    Back Page Football has been nominated for an Irish Web Award!

We're all absolutely delighted! We all hope you will bookmark us, read our articles and comment on the posts from time to time. We highly appreciate anyone who takes a moment to take a look at the site, and hope you can make BPF apart of your daily football reading material.

Well done lads, fair play. Nice to see real content and regular updates. All the best with it.

Howdy all, just thought I'd post a quick update on the site.

This weekend's Premier League preview - including predictions and fantasy player picks. Please comment your predictions down at the bottom of the post.

Playing a captain's role - Neil's weekly on his Fantasy league team, see what he's up to this weekend.

Moments of Magic - Trevor Sinclair special.

Rodwell's time to shine - Jack Rodwell's time to step up for Everton?

If you'd like to get involved with us in any way, then send an email over to admin@backpagefootball.com

This weekend's Premier League review, full of derby goodness.

http://backpagefootball.com/columnists/reports/gameweek-six-review/

Some of you may be interested in this, a new lad on the ol' site looks at England's wide options -

Plethora of wingers masks England's lack of depht

Enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Good news! BackPageFootball has made it through to the second round of the Irish Blog Awards in the Sports category (sponsored ironically enough by boards.ie!).

http://awards.ie/blogawards/2010/03/10/2010-irish-blog-awards-not-so-shortlists/

Judging for a place in the final takes place this weeked so we have a heap of new content to have a look at.

http://backpagefootball.com/

Just an update, www.backpagefootball.com has made it to the final 5 of the Blog Awards! :D

The winner is chosen next Saturday, March 27 so fingers crossed.

http://awards.ie/blogawards/

Howdy all,

A quick update on Back Page Football. As you know, Boards was a big help to the site when we first started out (remember that thread?!). After all, it was two Boardies who created the site and as time went on we've had some people from here write on the site, so we felt it was right to give you all a quick update on what's been happening.

Since August '09 it has been onwards and upwards for us, and this past month we have seen our best for page clicks, unique visitors and returning visitors, an almost 600% increase since the turn of the year which is absolutely fantastic.

Articles have been getting better, and as our team of writers strenghtens we've been turning out quality as well as quantity on a daily basis.

We've got some plans in the works that will come in time, some pretty epic from an Irish perspective, and others on a universal level as we go into the World Cup and on in to next season, so stay tuned for that.

http://backpagefootball.com/site/got-stats/

A big thanks to all who have read, wrote on, subscribed and enjoyed the site.

BPF Team.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,733 ✭✭✭bigron2109

Hi Folks.

For all you Liverpool fans out there, we have a new Liverpool fans forum up and running..

http://www.irishanfield.netboards.org/.

A little History behind it.Its run by two irish Chaps, and it has been running since Janurary.We have a small communtity at the moment off about 150 people, but its growing every day..

Each day brings something new, with Banter and fun, and also of course, all the Lastet Liverpool news, on Takeover bids(Hot topic at the moment) discussions about Games and Players..

We also Advise people on the cheapest way to get to Liverpool regarding flights and Tickets etc, instead of paying Crazy amounts to Touts and travel agents..

So if you've a few spare minutes,pop along and join our every growing community of reds..

Ronan

• Registered Users Posts: 495 ✭✭tetsujin1979

I've restarted my stats site for Irish players in England and Scotland, and updated it with all the games to date in the season: http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails
    To make things simpler, I've started a twitter feed for when the site is updated: http://twitter.com/irish_abroad

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

I've restarted my stats site for Irish players in England and Scotland, and updated it with all the games to date in the season: http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails
    To make things simpler, I've started a twitter feed for when the site is updated: http://twitter.com/irish_abroad

Nice one,I was only thinking of that site the other day.Fair play to you I am sure it takes a lot of time.

• Registered Users Posts: 495 ✭✭tetsujin1979

Dub13 wrote: »
    Nice one,I was only thinking of that site the other day.Fair play to you I am sure it takes a lot of time.
    thanks, a lot of it is automated now, but I don't have enough time to write up the summaries as much anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭maynooth_rules

New website me and a friend have set up

www.greenscene.me

Updated with numerous articles each day, it focuses on all irish players, both playing in all English divisions, and abroad.

Follow the Trapattoni index
    http://greenscene.me/trapattoni-index/

Example of some of our articles
    Pat Walker, Irish man who has made a name for himself in Sweden
    http://greenscene.me/2010/09/spotlight-pat-walker-irishman-done-good-in-scandanavia/

Interview with Jack Charlton
    http://greenscene.me/2010/09/interview-jack-charlton/

Hope you all enjoy

Shameless plug -

BackPageFootball
    is sponsored by the kind folk at the Paddy Power and together we run a Tip Off! competition every week.

It's pretty simple - predict the winner of our featured game, the score, the first goalscorer and the minute of the goal to be in with a chance of winning a free 20 euro bet.

If you aren't already a Paddy Power customer you can click on their ad on the site and avail of their 'Bet 10, get 20' offer.

To place your tips for the comp, just add them to the comments section of the link below -

http://backpagefootball.com/featured/hold-the-backpage-episode-12/

Any questions feel free to drop me a PM!

Back for 2011 with a new look to the site and plenty of fresh content from writers around the world -

http://backpagefootball.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,373 ✭✭✭Dr Galen

Can I just say fair play Xavi and all the rest of the lads involved with the site. Its come on so much since its debut, and genuinely makes a great read.

Dr Galen wrote: »
    Can I just say fair play Xavi and all the rest of the lads involved with the site. Its come on so much since its debut, and genuinely makes a great read.

Thanks a mil! It's really snowballed recently and we've managed to get some really talented writers to contribute.

For anyone who hates twitter, facebook etc, we'd be nowhere without the networking they offer.