Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Non-drinkers are 'more depressed, lack social skills'

• 29-08-2009 12:34am
    Registered Users Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭

Original link: http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/snsnojsnau/rss2/
    PEOPLE who spurn alcohol tend to be miserable social misfits, research suggests.

Teetotallers had significantly higher levels of depression and anxiety than moderate drinkers, a study found. They were also likely to lack social skills, it was claimed.

Abstainers suffered even more mental problems than the heaviest drinkers who consumed too much alcohol.

The happiest folk were those who averaged two glasses of wine, a bottle of beer, or a shot of spirits a week, the British and Norwegian scientists discovered.

One reason why non-drinkers were more gloomy could be that they have few friends, the study suggests.

"We see that this group is less socially well-adjusted than other groups," said research leader Dr Eystein Stordal, from the Norwegian University of Science and Technology.

Even when participants who quit drinking because of problems with alcohol were excluded, the link between abstinence and depression remained.

So is it true? Are non-drinkers a miserable shower of dour-faced loners? Does drinking regularly make you more sociable, even when sober?

One non-drinker I know is very outgoing, sociable and funny. But an aunt of mine is a Pioneer and she radiates misery wherever she goes. When she enters a room, erections wilt, dogs whine and children cry.

I hope the study is true anyway, so I can claim that I drink for the good of my mental health.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I don't drink and I'm fine.

Fuck you!

Where's that noose?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

brummytom wrote: »

Fuck you!

Where's that noose?

Quoted for posterity in the hopes there'll be a drunken thread in 5 days or so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭Tyranax

Fuck you!

Where's that noose?

I'll raise a glass to tha- goddamnit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Fuck you!

Where's that noose?

Your sig says it all dude!

ALL HAIL THE ALE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Johnnnybravo

I know it makes me a lot happier anyway ;)

I have one friend who is a teetotaller, lol I dont think shes anymore depressed or anxious than any of my other friends though.

She wouldnt go to as many social events but like she said herself she gets sick of drunk people slurring at her and you cant blame her for that.

FunkZ wrote: »
    Your sig says it all dude!

ALL HAIL THE ALE.

My sig's about fúcking actually :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

My sig's about fúcking actually :p

I thought of mentioning it, but figured it might make it worse :pac:

Abigayle wrote: »
    I thought of mentioning it, but figured it might make it worse :pac:

:p
    Giving me a present then Abi? ;):pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭Dave D

Well as as drinker myself I know alot of non-drinkers alot happier than myself and alot of alcoholics alot more sadder than myself, although I do know a few people who dont have many friends who would be sadder than me and dont drink. I think there would be a link to people not having many friends and not going drinking. I would guess its more of a confidence issue really.

I don't drink, and I think I'm OK. Have a bit of social anxiety though.

In saying that, this report reads more to me "People who drink tend to think they're above those who don't, and try to look down on and exclude such people as much as possible", rather than "non-drinkers r weird lulz"

Although I can honestly say, I'd much rather be known as the guy who's a boring, deppressive git, than the guy who pukes all over himself at the weekend and thinks he's cool as fcuk because of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

In all honesty, i find the whole drinking thing to be boring as ****, and people to be boring as **** when they are drunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭zonEEE

Dragan wrote: »
    In all honesty, i find the whole drinking thing to be boring as ****, and people to be boring as **** when they are drunk.

your doing it wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Non drinkers are sadists. I'm an escape artist ;)
    Giving me a present then Abi?
    I'll pop that cherry and go to the offie for ya! You might want to consider doing that in reverse order though...

/packs strap-on

• Registered Users Posts: 10,995 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

strongr wrote: »
    You're doing it wrong.

Yep drinking is great when done properly. It's been a long time since I've been too drunk to remember parts of the night before or have gotten sick.

I drink at my pace and stop when I've felt I've had enough and I always have a good time.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

You're not doing it right.

I know two people who have never drank.
    They are/were mostly used as taxis.

In saying that, they had no problems getting up on the dance floor and pulling girls. Neither lack confidence.

Funnily enough, a bouncer once turned us away from a club with the excuse that the non-drinkier with us was too drunk.
    Having been granted entry and being young, drunk and naive at the time, I was the one who gave the bouncer grief. Looking back, it was an idiotic thing to do, but the bouncer must have been a jackass to turn away a person who never touched an intoxicating substance in his life anyway.

Beer is great.

Abigayle wrote: »
    Non drinkers are sadists. I'm an escape artist ;)
    We'll see...

I'll pop that cherry and go to the offie for ya! You might want to consider doing that in reverse order though...
    Sound.. give us the booze, leave me and my mates in the park so I can get this one slag pissed :D

Why would I want to do it in reverse? (order!)
    /packs strap-on

Don't worry, I don't need.. oh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Terry wrote: »
    You're not doing it right.

Why do you think i don't drink anymore? It just didn't suit me, and towards the end i didn't like myself when drunk. I was ****ing lazy, loosing entire days to hangovers....all that ****. So i knocked it on the head.

Best decision i ever made.

Beer is great for those who are suited to it, but looking back i don't think i ever was. I think a lot of people would be better off to either cut back, or cut it out.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Why do you think i don't drink anymore? It just didn't suit me, and towards the end i didn't like myself when drunk. I was ****ing lazy, loosing entire days to hangovers....all that ****. So i knocked it on the head.

Best decision i ever made.

Beer is great for those who are suited to it, but looking back i don't think i ever was. I think a lot of people would be better off to either cut back, or cut it out.
    Yeah, sounds like you weren't doing it right.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

The only thing alcohol does to augment my nights out, is it makes my facial expressions more dramatic.

Over the past few years beer has been turning my stomach more and more (from 5-6 pints two years ago to 2-3 nowadays, could be a minor allergy or a clash of stomach acids) so going out drinking is more expensive as I turn to alternatives. As I drink less, I don't see my nights getting worse. On the contrary, as I spend nights out with close friends, I find that alcohol doesn't make any difference to a night out except make things louder and the aforementioned facial expressions :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

In saying that, this report reads more to me "People who drink tend to think they're above those who don't, and try to look down on and exclude such people as much as possible", rather than "non-drinkers r weird lulz"

Although I can honestly say, I'd much rather be known as the guy who's a boring, deppressive git, than the guy who pukes all over himself at the weekend and thinks he's cool as fcuk because of it.

Give me Mr. Pukey any day. At least he's having fun. Genuine depression is not a nice thing. At all.

I think its a load of crap. Not-drinking isn't what makes you not have friends.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Getting sick is an accident, occasionally following at the end of a great night. No big deal. You'll be all the better for it in the morning.

Being a boring and depressive pioneer is a lifestyle choice. It lasts a lot longer than a heaving session. It is pioneers who look down on drinkers from their 'high horse'. It is us spunkers who will have the last drunken laugh.

“Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the
    intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well
    preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways,
    cigar in one hand, champagne in the other, body
    thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming
    “WOO HOO what a ride!”

• Registered Users Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

It's simply to do with context. If you live in a society where most people can only socialise when getting drunk, then it's to be expected that non-drinkers will find it hard to socialise in general, because most people around them will be dirnkers, and because the "normal" thing to do for most people is to drink.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Most non-drinkers I know/knew play the whole Pioneer card but in reality are just too tight to drink, wouldnt spend christmas.

The only rational reason I'd accept for not drinking the beautiful nectar would be if beer had the same effect as Hydrochloric Acid on you. Im at a stage now where I stop after I reach my limit, it's a fair drop but I still can function the day after a pi$$ up.

Beer really is Great.

• Registered Users Posts: 442 ✭✭STBR

Cianos wrote: »
    It's simply to do with context. If you live in a society where most people can only socialise when getting drunk, then it's to be expected that non-drinkers will find it hard to socialise in general, because most people around them will be dirnkers, and because the "normal" thing to do for most people is to drink.
    Exactly.

It's because of Ireland that so many people are like this.

So different even in the US.

My cousin was home from Japan last week and he said he couldn't believe the only thing all his college friends are still doing [around 30+ years old] is drinking every weekend.

Won't be staying here for that.

*Awaits immature replies*

• Registered Users Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

SirDarren wrote: »
    My cousin was home from Japan last week and he said he couldn't believe the only thing all his college friends are still doing [around 30+ years old] is drinking every weekend.

Posting on internet forums FTW! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

I have to draw attention to the "lack social skills". I guess some non drinkers may be a bit more self conscious or not as adept at talking in big groups but I have to say I have noticed plenty of drinkers lacking social skills. In particular the people who fall asleep in the club or at the bar, those who go around stealing drinks or throwing things around, getting really pervy and randomly feeling people up, those who puke up everywhere, those people I see after the club falling around,fightning other people, boyfriends, girlfriends, those who go around town after shouting and roaring, damaging things, littering the street. And lets not forget my personal fave the ( usually ) drunk girl sitting down on the footpath or against a wall bawling crying because either her or her drunken ass boyfriend have done or said something stupid or have started some sort of drama. And to think that four hours earlier all of them were in good spirits looking forward to having a drink and a chat and a dance etc, but those idiots overdid it and don't learn and proceed to do it again the next weekend. Yes I was generalising abit, but I'm 29 now and have seen enough of how some people carry on. So glad I don't have anything to do with that scene. And before someone says anything,of course I know lots of people who like to have a drink and socialise and get on fine, I'm not talking about them. I am talking about the drinkers who "lack social skills"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I'm now by far mainly a non-drinker but thats because I need to stay focused at all times.
    (I can get a phone call day or night about work and off I have to go).
    That said, do are non-drinkers more depressed, lack social skills, etc...? NO.

When I do drink I'm a plonker, when I'm off the drink I can be a plonker.
    Does the lack of drink change me in bad ways? No. The true underlying character and mood of the person will always be there.
    In fact, I'd say that alcohol only acts as a further catalyst to create more depressive moods, bigger social skill problems, etc than in comparison to any non-drinkers sticking with their Club Orange.

Short answer to OP question above, simply "NO".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Rev. BlueJeans

Rhyme wrote: »
    The only thing alcohol does to augment my nights out, is it makes my faecal expressions more dramatic.

I read that as above, and was about to ask if you embraced the pear too.

• Registered Users Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Whiskey Devil

I can understand those who have gave up drinking for reason - booze doesn't suit some people at all, but the people I know who have 'never drank' are mostly too tight to drink (mentioned above) or they're just squares.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

LOL...."research suggests". And I suggest that research suggests a lot of things!

2 particular good friends of mine, 1 male 1 female, have never touched a drink in their lives (and I'm a light drinker myself) and they are 2 of the funniest, most sociable people you could ever meet.

Now, compare that to the 2 old school friends of mine who basically live in the pub 24/7 and cant see past their beer-bellies and just look like they've aged 15 yrs more than I have, with their farty constipated expressions on their faces.:rolleyes:

Who would I rather hang around with? No-brainer.