Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cats or Dogs?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,248 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Atari Jaguar
    Cats? Not the sharpest axes in the toolshed in the main, plus people mistake disloyalty with independence in them. Mostly useless as dogs are better ratters etc. They're feckless freeloaders for the most part, who will only give up affection when required. Again that's not independence it's a personality issue. The usual rant of died in the wool catists is that they're cleaner than dogs. Right so, I'll show up to your gaff and "clean" myself by spitting on my hand and wiping the results on my body. They carry more diseases than dogs. More people are allergic to them.

Dogs? Can be a bit daft, but have more variable personalities, not dependent on the owner to ascribe such to them where little evidence exists, as is usually the case with cats. They're loyal, they have the pack/family thing going on. They're far more useful and practical(except for those with part time pet syndrome going on). They're stronger, more consistent and have a true nobility that cats can't approach. Us and dogs have walked together for the guts of 100,000 years. We improved each other along the way. We have much smaller noses and sense of smell than our ancestors. Ever wonder why? It could well be that we didn't need them anymore as we had the dogs to make up the diff.

The ancestor of the domestic cat? A wild cat, small belligerent and solitary for the most part. The ancestor of the dog? The wolf. Game over.

Never trusted cat people. IME I've been right not to.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Im not really great at looking after things. I had various animals ie fish, hamsters, a cat.. I now have a dog (I think its still alive, must check garden).

On a unrelated topic, if anyone needs a babysitter PM me. Very reasonable rates :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭Reindeer

Dog
    Cats are for lonely old ladies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭hatetherain!

Atari Jaguar
    Dogs are the business......I prefer my dog to some humans I meet and to all cats!!!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Atari Jaguar
    Reindeer wrote: »
    Cats are for lonely old ladies.
    Any lonely old ladies out there ?

I have 5 unwashed, piss smelly moggies here ..going free ,,they are yours , you collect .

I had a freind on another forum and first thing he would ask newbies was ' Cats or Dogs ,which do you prefer / It's not you is it OP ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Wibbs wrote: »
    Cats? Not the sharpest axes in the toolshed in the main.
    Never trusted cat people. IME I've been right not to.

People don't choose cats, cats choose people.:D

And as for never trusting cat people.:(

Cats: 10.

Rats: 0

I'd rather own a cat than have rats making their home in the garden.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭PhysiologyRocks

Dog
    I had a cat called Heathcliff. He was very stripy. I loved him.:)

He used to watch rats and birds and never chase them. He wasn't the brightest crayon in the box, but what a cat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

Dog
    I actually like both, but I have to give the edge to cats!
    I have a cat named Samhain and she's a doll. She always greets me when I come in, and wants to be near me. Whenever I call her, she comes over, no matter what she's doing. And her favorite thing is to sit in my lap and purr. She's adorable and full of personality!
    I like dogs too, but they're more difficult to take care of. And I don't like small dogs, I like big dogs. My ideal dog is a Leonberger. But I live in a small apartment, and I don't feel it's right to have a big dog in such a small space. So it's me and Samhain for now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I'm not an animal person at all so don't particularly like either. Everyone always looks at me in disgust at this point!
    However, I had a boyfriend once upon a time who had a dog I was actually quite fond of. It ate my vomit!!!!!! :eek: I miss that dog sometimes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

Atari Jaguar
    Cats are all the same, just slightly different colours. Dogs are far better. all different shapes and sizes, and different personalities. Dogs FTW. Dogs have character. If Dunphy was talking about this he's say "The cat, is a nothing animal"

dannym08 wrote: »
    ok people which do ye prefer...

exhibit a) a dog

will love you forever but tends to piss and sh!te everywhere untill trained otherwise and not the most inteligent creatures on the planet it has to be said

or exhibit b) a cat

will put up with you while you feed it but if the food is better next door, its going there instead. Can have funny expresions and does extremely stupid things when is a kitten
    So, if you ever happen to go blind, I'll assume you'll have a cat to guide you, because dogs aren't intelligent enough? Dogs are great, they can be trained to do all sorts of stuff. My mate is a farmer and he has a sheepdog (called max) and he's a legend. Rounds up sheep and even cows. What can a cat do? Fúck all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

My cat helps blind people! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Dan Dare

Dog
    I like both but prefer bigger dogs. As for cats, they do have personalities and some are very affectionate indeed. Some are quiet and some are vocal and some are magical!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

The Dog's Diary

8:00 am - Dog food! My favorite thing!
    9:30 am - A car ride! My favorite thing!
    9:40 am - A walk in the park! My favorite thing!
    10:30 am - Got rubbed and petted! My favorite thing!
    12:00 pm - Milk bones! My favorite thing!
    1:00 pm - Played in the yard! My favorite thing!
    3:00 pm - Wagged my tail! My favorite thing!
    5:00 pm - Dinner! My favorite thing!
    7:00 pm - Got to play ball! My favorite thing!
    8:00 pm - Wow! Watched TV with the people! My favorite thing!
    11:00 pm - Sleeping on the bed! My favorite thing!

The Cat's Diary

Day 983 of my captivity

My captors continue to taunt me with bizarre little dangling objects. They dine lavishly on fresh meat, while the other inmates and I are fed hash or some sort of dry nuggets. Although I make my contempt for the rations perfectly clear, I nevertheless must eat something in order to keep up my strength.

The only thing that keeps me going is my dream of escape. In an attempt to disgust them, I once again vomit on the carpet. Today I decapitated a mouse and dropped its headless body at their feet. I had hoped this would strike fear into their hearts, since it clearly demonstrates my capabilities. However, they merely made condescending comments about what a "good little hunter" I am. Bastards!

There was some sort of assembly of their accomplices tonight. I was placed in solitary confinement for the duration of the event. However, I could hear the noises and smell the food. I overheard that my confinement was due to the power of "allergies." I must learn what this means, and how to use it to my advantage.

Today I was almost successful in an attempt to assassinate one of my tormentors by weaving around his feet as he was walking. I must try this again tomorrow, but at the top of the stairs.

I am convinced that the other prisoners here are flunkies and snitches. The dog receives special privileges. He is regularly released, and seems to be more than willing to return. He is obviously retarded. The bird must be an informant. I observe him communicate with the guards regularly. I am certain that he reports my every move. My captors have arranged protective custody for him in an elevated cell, so he is safe. For now ...

I have both a cat & two dogs - all three are hilarious in their own little ways.

I love the independent nature of a cat, as I usually hate clingy, needy people.. although I make allowance's for that in my dogs, because I love dawgs!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Dog
    Like both but prefer cats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

Atari Jaguar
    Dogs, definitely.

Aside from being allergic to cats, I consider them to be the femme fatale of the animal world ; evil buggers!
    They make you work for their affection, they hurt you, they show no sense of loyalty.

Dogs, on the other hand, will love you unconditionally if you're nice to them. They'll protect you, they'll show you affection and they'll be a great companion.

It's so sad when they die though :(
    You become so attached to them.
    My dog, Lulu, died seven years ago and I still hate talking about it. Can't do it without crying :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 demac71

has to be a dog. more faithful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

Atari Jaguar
    dogs are better...../thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Mousey- wrote: »
    dogs are better...../thread

At what?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

Atari Jaguar
    At what?.

At mowing the lawn and domestic chores, obviously!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

The Dog's Diary

8:00 am - Dog food! My favorite thing!
    9:30 am - A car ride! My favorite thing!
    9:40 am - A walk in the park! My favorite thing!
    10:30 am - Got rubbed and petted! My favorite thing!
    12:00 pm - Milk bones! My favorite thing!
    1:00 pm - Played in the yard! My favorite thing!
    3:00 pm - Wagged my tail! My favorite thing!
    5:00 pm - Dinner! My favorite thing!
    7:00 pm - Got to play ball! My favorite thing!
    8:00 pm - Wow! Watched TV with the people! My favorite thing!
    11:00 pm - Sleeping on the bed! My favorite thing!

The Cat's Diary

Day 983 of my captivity

My captors continue to taunt me with bizarre little dangling objects. They dine lavishly on fresh meat, while the other inmates and I are fed hash or some sort of dry nuggets. Although I make my contempt for the rations perfectly clear, I nevertheless must eat something in order to keep up my strength.

The only thing that keeps me going is my dream of escape. In an attempt to disgust them, I once again vomit on the carpet. Today I decapitated a mouse and dropped its headless body at their feet. I had hoped this would strike fear into their hearts, since it clearly demonstrates my capabilities. However, they merely made condescending comments about what a "good little hunter" I am. Bastards!

There was some sort of assembly of their accomplices tonight. I was placed in solitary confinement for the duration of the event. However, I could hear the noises and smell the food. I overheard that my confinement was due to the power of "allergies." I must learn what this means, and how to use it to my advantage.

Today I was almost successful in an attempt to assassinate one of my tormentors by weaving around his feet as he was walking. I must try this again tomorrow, but at the top of the stairs.

I am convinced that the other prisoners here are flunkies and snitches. The dog receives special privileges. He is regularly released, and seems to be more than willing to return. He is obviously retarded. The bird must be an informant. I observe him communicate with the guards regularly. I am certain that he reports my every move. My captors have arranged protective custody for him in an elevated cell, so he is safe. For now ...
    Ha! Spot-on! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,345 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Atari Jaguar
    Dogs, they're much more affectionate and not so snooty. They accept that they're pets and their life is going to involve being petted all the time and only being played with when the kids or owners want to play.

I do like cats, as well, but they seem to think they're equal to humans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

Dog
    I personally like cats more. For a start, cats are not as dependant on people as dogs. While it is true that cats generally try to butter you up when they are hungry, they can also be good company.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Aside from being allergic to cats, I consider them to be the femme fatale of the animal world ; evil buggers!

Have you been watching Body Heat?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Atari Jaguar
    Dogs by far.

We have 3 dogs one big one(Boxer), one medium(Beegle) and one small(Jack-Russell)-I love them all.
    We have 3 cats, a black one, a black and white one and a gold and brown one, all the same size and shape, two have bitten me(hard, not a little nip) and the other one scratches me continuously, not fond of them, except one(the one that scratches me) I actually like him:o.

Dogs are so affectionate and loyal, cats are snooty and independant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Dog
    They're both crap!

Red panda is the ideal pet. I like their tails.