Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which Newspaper?

• 30-08-2009 10:20am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭

Which newspaper/news source do you rely on for your political news/news in general?

I know that all the papers have some form of bias but which one here can be 'trusted' the most. Now I might be flamed for this or people may disagree but I find the Sunday Times or timesonline.co.uk to be what I would follow, obviously I have my own opinion on matters but I think it to be reputable enough. :D

The economist and Ft.com are others which are also interesting reads :p!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭ei.sdraob

jokes aside

i daily check the independent and irish times to keep up with national news

find myself reading the timesonline site few times a week and also the telegraph, telegraphs business and economics coverage and commentary is top notch and often only ones to point out things that other papers shy away from

also when i have more free time (tho im far from being a leftie!) i read thru the comments is free section in guardian.co.uk site, some of the threads are entertaining and illuminating

• Closed Accounts Posts: 943 ✭✭✭OldJay

Irish Times for Irish news. BBC for other.
    The Economist, being a collection of editorials and not a news publication (apart from two pages of snippets), is good for reading other people's views.

I wouldn't rely on any Murdoch publication whatsoever for news. Nor would I rely on the other 'fleet st' papers.

Anyone who follows the 'news' should read Nick Davies' "Flat Earth News". It should be curriculum material in fact.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Irish Times, Belfast Telegraph or The Irish News. BBC when online

• Registered Users Posts: 12,588 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Irish Times and the BBC.

I dont know why I read the IT - the articles are okay on average I guess, but half of the hippie **** that gets dressed up as an editorial ( the editors an idiot) or opinion piece in the Irish Times makes me roll my eyes and sigh. I also despise people like John Waters and that other Lara "Why did the USSR have to go and collapse:(" Marlowe eejit who masquerade as journalists.

I amnt really sure why I read the Irish Times to be honest, but I do.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭ChocolateSauce

The Irish Times for Irish news, BBC for world news. The Times is the only Irish paper that isn't sensationalist, which is why I like it, and the BBC is just great all round.

On TV, I'd watch Al-Jazeera. It's news of he highest quality and is from an interesting perspective.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

The Times, The Guardian, Irish Times too (for a local perspective) ...........

BBC when online.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

The Guardian, Observer, Sunday Times and the Irish Times

Justind wrote: »
    The Economist, being a collection of editorials and not a news publication (apart from two pages of snippets), is good for reading other people's views.

I used to subscribe to the Economist a few years ago and I've never felt so informed on World Events. Fabulous in depth coverage. Like all publications you have to pick up on the author's spin though.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭djpbarry

Sand wrote: »
    I dont know why I read the IT...
    It's the best we've got - they haven't got much to compete with.

I'd read the Times on a daily basis. I'd also check BBC fairly regularly and occasionally RTE.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Cannibal Ox

Al Jazeera, Irish Times, Reuters, and than blogs like Aid Watch, Making Sense of Darfur, Wronging Rights and Global Health for more specialist, and generally better, news/opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Kalashnikov_Kid

Well in terms of newspapers, I'm not really spoilt for choice over here -

Sun/Mirror/Mail/Express - what you'd expect

Daily Telegraph - Largely a tarted up version of the above (IMO)

Guardian - panders towards the left a lot - not exactly my cup of tea.

So leaves me with the Times or the Independent. I usually go for the latter.

The Lockerbie release being a classic case in point - The Independent was the only paper with a non-sensationalist headline - its opinion article was from a Swedish academic who was a UN Observer for the trial. The Daily Mail's offering - a British woman who is writing a book for justice for families of Omagh - fair play of course, but not exactly a rounded view - more an excuse to chuck in a rant about the IRA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 943 ✭✭✭OldJay

greendom wrote: »
    I used to subscribe to the Economist a few years ago and I've never felt so informed on World Events. Fabulous in depth coverage. Like all publications you have to pick up on the author's spin though.

Hence my use of the word 'editorial'.
    I used to work with that publication.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Irish Times, Guardian.

For NI issues as a source of regular info from there...The Irish News, UTV news and BBC NI online

• Registered Users Posts: 264 ✭✭getcover

I find the Independent (The London Independent) to be an excellent paper, with a fair rage of opinion represented.
    The IT is a very good newspaper, with it's own reporters in many cities, though why they let Waters turn an eight of a page into toilet paper once a week is beyond me.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,620 ✭✭✭Grudaire

Jaysus - where do all the Indo readers hide out!? (Goes to After Hours :pac:)

The Indo is trash in my opinion, the IT, and the Sunday Tribune are what I read

Guardian - panders towards the left a lot - not exactly my cup of tea.

That's a bit strong isn't it - i mean it's hardly advocating a Socialist Workers paradise is it?

Or have we reached such a state that social democracy is now left wing ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭ei.sdraob

greendom wrote: »
    That's a bit strong isn't it - i mean it's hardly advocating a Socialist Workers paradise is it?

Or have we reached such a state that social democracy is now left wing ?

the guardian is a funny one as i mentioned

some of the articles are very lefty to the point that make one sick :D like there was huge long thread about a maximum wage, only a communist would think of something like that

tho some of the articles are quite rightwing in order to gather eyeballs and stir up the bees nest in comments is free section ;)

overall its a great website and interesting reading at times

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I read the Irish Times anyway, plus it's the only paper with a decent crossword. However, Geraldine Kenny is a pain in the hole, as are some of the madcap columnists they have like that Anne Marie Hourihane and John Waters, the most insufferable bloody bore in Irish media. As much as I hate the likes of Myers and Harris at least they're a bit of craic, Waters is only a bleating clown in my opinion. The Irish Times does have a good international section though, I found their coverage on the recent crisis in Iran quite good.

On a Sunday it has to be the Tribune really, the Sindo is nothing but a sensationalist rag and the Sunday Times is obviously agenda-driven behind a somewhat respectable facade.

It is also important to access other media that isn't driven by an Irish, (or more usually British) point of view, and for that matter, a European view in general. For this reason I watch Al Jazeera on a regular basis, fantastic documentaries and coverage of various alternative issues around the world.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,588 ✭✭✭✭Sand

John Waters, the most insufferable bloody bore in Irish media.
    Waters is only a bleating clown in my opinion.

And they say hatred can only divide people...
    It is also important to access other media that isn't driven by an Irish, (or more usually British) point of view, and for that matter, a European view in general. For this reason I watch Al Jazeera on a regular basis, fantastic documentaries and coverage of various alternative issues around the world.

Media from outside the western "24 hours news" Sky/CNN/Fox News/whatever model is quite interesting really. I have been watching a fair bit of Al Jazeera, Press TV (Iranian) and Russia Today ( what it says on the tin) and probably the clearest difference was the Kennedy Funeral...Sky News spent hours and hours reporting non-news "Ted Kennedy is still dead today, he has not yet risen from his coffin to eat the living, but we on Sky news will keep up the vigil until hes safely 6 foot underground with a concrete block around him!" whereas the other 3 mentioned above did a 1-2 minute piece on him and then moved on to deal with the rest of the news across the world.

Of course I wouldnt consider any of the above stations to be free to bite the hands that feed them ( Yes, everything in Russia is fine! Totally fine!) but they seem free enough to give indepth coverage of international issues.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I watch that CCCTV there as well, gas stuff. There was a two-hour panel discussion on it three weeks ago consisting of various Chinese conservationists, wildlife correspondants and journalists. The topic? The million wild camels in the Australian outback and the burning question of whether to cull them. I never even knew there were f*cking camels in Australia, I asked a buddy of mine about them and got the typical Aussie response; "Best camels in the bloody world mate!"

Press TV is the job, plenty of fascinating documentaries on Palestine. There is also a paper (or webzine) called Moscow Today which was recommended to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

Sand wrote: »
    And they say hatred can only divide people...

Media from outside the western "24 hours news" Sky/CNN/Fox News/whatever model is quite interesting really. I have been watching a fair bit of Al Jazeera, Press TV (Iranian) and Russia Today ( what it says on the tin) and probably the clearest difference was the Kennedy Funeral...Sky News spent hours and hours reporting non-news "Ted Kennedy is still dead today, he has not yet risen from his coffin to eat the living, but we on Sky news will keep up the vigil until hes safely 6 foot underground with a concrete block around him!" whereas the other 3 mentioned above did a 1-2 minute piece on him and then moved on to deal with the rest of the news across the world.

Of course I wouldnt consider any of the above stations to be free to bite the hands that feed them ( Yes, everything in Russia is fine! Totally fine!) but they seem free enough to give indepth coverage of international issues.

russia today makes fox news look like the standard bearers of impartiality