Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish stuff

• 30-08-2009 2:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭

Which things do you consider to be typically "Irish".

Any traditions, foods, games (other than the obvious, but include the obvious too if you so wish), conversation pieces, list them here. Oh and say whether or not you like these things.

I don't mean Irish as in an outsider's perception of Ireland. Just real, Irish stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

Codail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Spuds,the madness when new seasons spuds where about,everyone was talking about them,Twas mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭Dartz

Begrudgery.

Self-hatred.

Modern terrorism.

Guinness

Ginger pubes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

The immersion.

Apologies to Des Bishop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Tae.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,978 ✭✭✭445279.ie

Sh*te weather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭PhysiologyRocks

I thought of another one!

Watching the news three times in a row.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

Ceilis!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭An Fear Aniar

Tree worship.

Example 1

Example 2

Goes back to the druids, all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

National Self-Reflection.

Making Lists.

Number 3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Phrases/Words:
    "Yo're Ma!"
    "H00re"
    "Story horse/bud/lad/kid"
    "Wat's da craic?"
    "Jaysis Christ"
    "FilUm"

Food/Drinks:

Bulmers
    Chicken Nuggets and Chips
    Spice Burger:P

Games:
    Gaelic Football and hurling(obviously)
    Bulldog
    Pikey Fighting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Emigration

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Four-Percent

Banter with the lads... ie talking ****e while getting hammered... what's not to like? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

Geting changed for a match in a ditch even if you are a girl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Sh* movies that only the Film Board think are good :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭PhysiologyRocks

Film censorship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Talking about the weather, moaning about the weather, eating soda bread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Complaining about the weather when it's bad, and complaining about the weather when it's good.

We're never happy.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

Aran jumper

Turf

Irish stew

The Rose of Tralee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,968 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Gombeenism. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

penis pumps

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Ugliness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Futurism

Polish people.

• Registered Users Posts: 272 ✭✭cul-2008

The Angelus

Glenroe back in the day

buying something simply because it's on sale, even though you'll never have any use for it!

hoarding stuff - "ah I might need that sometime"

Relying on the international success of one band to claim we're leaders in rock music!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

black pudding

brown bread ( the stuff you eat not the slang for being dead )

R T HEE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭blow69

Emigration

Still bitter I see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Potatoes, weather complaining, everyone starts bashing something they don't even understand one iota (Lisbon, NAMA).

445279.ie wrote: »
    Sh*te weather

No! the weather is muslim, sometimes sunni but mostly shiite

Gerry 'fat tosser' Ryan - no other country would allow him on the radio/TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

blow69 wrote: »
    Still bitter I see.

Yes

now piss off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭Laphroaig52

The Pub - Although the style, format and location of pubs in Ireland is very similar to that in England, both have very different and unique atmospheres. It's hard to say exactly what it is but I think Irish pubs are more relaxed.

I think red lemonade is uniquely Irish also!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Games:
    Bulldog
    Pikey Fighting.
    You mean British Bulldog?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭waitinforatrain

Spuds,the madness when new seasons spuds where about,everyone was talking about them,Twas mad.

New season spuds are the best thing ever. period.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

With the exception of the gob****es that get all of the press, you're some of the soundest people on the planet.

That's what I consider 'Irish'.

Games:
    Bulldog
    Pikey Fighting.

The inability to use/think of the word "British" without developing a chip on the shoulder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Bonkers_xOx

Having tea and toast while watching the 6.1 news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭fillmore jive

Clapping when a plane lands and you're a passenger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,151 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Amnesiac politicians and amnesiac voters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Irish stuff?

Drink Feck Arse Girls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

There it is gone!

When said in front of any non Irish people they think your insane, they just don't understand it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

jumpguy wrote: »
    Potatoes, weather complaining, everyone starts bashing something they don't even understand one iota (Lisbon, NAMA).

Like the weather?

Going on a date with a woman who then asks you to email her later in the week and when you do - you never hear from her again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,294 ✭✭✭source

Clapping when a plane lands and you're a passenger.

That is an exceptionally American thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

foinse wrote: »
    That is an exceptionally American thing to do.

Its sneaking into Ireland alot now though.Its ridiculous tbh,its in the Pilots own interest to land the plane safely aswell!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭scubakid

Bacon and Cabbage and Turnip and Poppy's and a rub of brown sauce :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Taking a huge dump after a feed of turnips

:eek: Awesome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 930 ✭✭✭*giggles*

How about real Irish butter, none of this "unsalted crap". We're talking Kerrygold here, and we still love it even if we have forgotten to take it out of the fridge and it rips up our bread when we're trying to spread it.

Or this cool temperate oceanic climate of ours? We all love it when it's fierce close outside, because it's the closest thing we have to a bit of warmth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭In All Fairness

Gone now, but having a law like Holy hour just so it can be ignored.

"Ah Jaysus lads, will ye look at the time, are ye trying to get me arrested. Git in. Git in."