Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TV3's first two-part drama series The Guards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Major new TV3 docudrama planned for next year: "If Jack Lynch Invaded Youtube"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 highhat

this programme looks gas. can't wait to get a look. my girlfriend knows some of the actors involved, theyre all part of some amateur acting group and theyre doing it for free for tv3. thats already a bad sign but ill still check it out and have a good laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Actors doing it for free ? Sweet Jesus..... someone suggested the budget for this shyte was 200 Euro , I think we need to revise that to perhaps 50 Euro !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭InisMor

the trailer doesn't work :(

the snack ad is pure class by the way:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭blah

Can't look at the trailer either, looks like they made it private on youtube and removed it from the official site. Do you think they took your criticisms too seriously? :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 627 ✭✭✭mcguiver

Gaurds that will do anything to get a conviction....... even going to court on a rest day, and NOT CLAIMING OSCAR TANGO!!!

"Your off the case, hand over your badge and vip pass for copper face jacks!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

"For the good of the nation.."

/profound thought

"I think I'll just claim TOIL"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

From the Herald (Source)
    Gritty new garda drama will be our answer to The Wire

A new TV drama will follow the lives of three ambitious gardai as they tackle crime on the streets of Dublin.

Production has just wrapped on The Guards, Ireland's newest cop show, which is due to be screened on TV3 in February.

The programme, filmed in Dublin, was shot mainly on location in the old Finglas Garda Station and director Graham Cantwell said that this is one of the first real gritty programmes about the day-to-day work of policemen in Ireland.

"These are regular guys, they are not high up in the ranking," he said. "We're looking at the pressures they have to deal with and how the public perceive them.

"It's not as procedural as CSI, it's more realistic, like The Wire or The Shield.

"It's a drama, it focuses on the individual gardai."

Graham said that the team received vital advice from members of the Garda press office.

"We got a hell of a lot of support from gardai. They ran their eye over the scripts, right down to the procedural stuff and how gardai talk to each other.

"A lot of our script was quite American, for instance, we didn't know how they spoke to each other over the radio," he said.

The programme stars Emmett Scanlan from The Clinic, Steven Aldridge and Chris Patrick Simpson as the three lead gardai characters, and follows their personal lives and mechanisms for coping with the difficult job.

"It is a serious drama but there are moments of humour," the director explained.

"The humour comes from the characters' interaction.

"It's something that we found, gardai use a lot of black humour to get them through."

The show also stars Aisling McLaughlin as Maeve Healy who runs Ballycore Garda Station, and is described as a feisty, strong leader working in a male-dominated environment.

Maeve takes charge with an iron fist, although secretly she holds a matriarchal fondness for the three gardai.

1611_TheGuards_H_414892t.jpg

The one image on the site looks far more 'true' to the look of a member. I'm actually looking forward to this now. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

The one image on the site looks far more 'true' to the look of a member. I'm actually looking forward to this now. :)

Overweight and shattered after running 100M. Bit like me actually!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

deadwood wrote: »
    Oh dear. Nice beards.
    Yes...nice research...expects the crash of metal on metal as more inaccuracies appear.

Romeo Tango to Romeo Base...we're goin' on refreshments...forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

the uniforms above look right but the ones on the website look like cast-off's from The Bill!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

From the Herald (Source)
    "We got a hell of a lot of support from gardai. They ran their eye over the scripts, right down to the procedural stuff and how gardai talk to each other.
    Obviously not about the beards then.

...and if I see the characters using a workable radio/IT system, then I'll now we're in the region of pure fantasy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

That pic looks a little more realistic allright.

I'll be watching it anyway :P

"Graham said that the team received vital advice from members of the Garda press office.

"We got a hell of a lot of support from gardai. They ran their eye over the scripts, right down to the procedural stuff and how gardai talk to each other. "

Ah yes, those lads in the press office know how to get their hands dirty, alright.

Hope it turns out well, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

guys do we have any dates when this is going to air?

POGAN wrote: »
    guys do we have any dates when this is going to air?

Read the post by ForegoneReality @ 18:05.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

[B
    Ah yes, those lads in the press office know how to get their hands dirty, alright.

Clearing a jam in the photocopier can be a messy job. That toner is so hard to shift!!

This will be a crap show - it's on TV3 , need we say more ?

Chief--- wrote: »
    Clearing a jam in the photocopier can be a messy job. That toner is so hard to shift!!
    Don't forget the great shredder/tie scare of '96. Jesus, that was a close one.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Don't forget the great shredder/tie scare of '96. Jesus, that was a close one.

Only his tie pin saved him, jamming the shredder.

Poor old mary the finance officer dropped her kit-kat finger into her coffee with the shock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭SuperMario

It was then decided by management to put together a working committee to investigate why marys kit kat finger ended up in her cup and what could be done to stop billy mule from impaling himself in the shredder again. After 2 years and a bill of 200000000000, the working committee findings decided to buy a new shredder and an industrial packet of kit kats for mary,,, rather than use the money for something that was needed!!!!!

Anyone heard any more about this one? It was in a TV3 press release as a "spring" programme back in January but not a dicky bird since.

Funny , I was thinking the same thing . Maybe TV3 cancelled it on the grounds '' it was so realistic as to endanger National Security '' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭klong

There was an article on it recently in the Garda Review. 90-minute pilot episode to be aired first, can't remember when though. Warning sign to me was that it said the series was made on a tight budget...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭Leo Demidov

"There was an article on it recently in the Garda Review. 90-minute pilot episode to be aired first, can't remember when though. Warning sign to me was that it said the series was made on a tight budget... "

Relatively small budget didnt hold back Hurt Locker:P

wexfjord wrote: »

Yeah , but that's Hollywood - we're talking TV3 here :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

i'm sure some people will enjoy it, but for people in the know about procedures and policies, it will be completely unrealistic.

I'm sure that i'll watch the first episode out of curiosity. But i don't think i'll be setting Sky+

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭iMax

Anyone know if this was ever screened ?

I was wondering the same thing so I emailed TV3 on Thursday - waiting on a response.

And (finally) the reply:
    TV3 wrote:
    Hi [****],

Thanks for your email.

Production has wrapped but we are still in post production. A Tx date has not been set yet.

Best

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

sdonn wrote: »
    And (finally) the reply:

Good, stuff, what the hell is the TX bit about, could they not just say transmission date..

msg11 wrote: »
    Good, stuff, what the hell is the TX bit about, could they not just say transmission date..

Transmission takes a lot longer to type than tX...Tx...t#ex...d'oh.

Maybe because I used the phrase "wrapped" in my original mail he thought I knew the lingo, more likely he's just a TV3 executive with lazy fingers.

Anyone reckon "still in post production" might be code for "waiting on Fachtna to rubber stamp it"? Presume they wouldnt have filmed it without the OK first but they'd probably have to view it at AGS first before letting them away to transmit it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭klong

wexfjord wrote: »
    "There was an article on it recently in the Garda Review. 90-minute pilot episode to be aired first, can't remember when though. Warning sign to me was that it said the series was made on a tight budget... "

That was low-budget Hollywood, this is low-budget...TV3 :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭cushtac

sdonn wrote: »
    Anyone reckon "still in post production" might be code for "waiting on Fachtna to rubber stamp it"? Presume they wouldnt have filmed it without the OK first but they'd probably have to view it at AGS first before letting them away to transmit it?

I would reckon it means they're trying to polish the turd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 366 ✭✭Gibson101

The fact is been done on a tight budget could me it could be in post-production for a number of years. ye know how directors get when they have a project and don't want to release it until its perfect.:D

It's TV3 so I'm hoping they never broadcast it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

They may want to rethink the name of this drama since a big budget drama called "The Guard" see Brendan Gleeson team up with FBI agent Don Cheadle.

http://www.herald.ie/entertainment/tv-radio/wait-goes-on-for-our-answer-to-the-wire-2205825.html

I hope that the show is good. But don't build something up to be Ireland's answer to "The Wire", I know you should play up a TV show but it's not really up to the producers to suggest that it is going to be like The Wire, the audience and the critics will crusify you if it isn't anything like the wire.

The promotional material really doesn't lend it self to an Irish version of The Wire

the-wire.jpg

the-guards-1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Rothmans

It is set in the fictional Ballycore Garda Station and the characters are being described as "young, stubborn and impulsive" and a "lethal combination".

Ballycore = Baltimore ?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

They need to make a road wars that follows the Gardai around doing drug busts, arrests etc, and not something like boring traffic blues, dont know why they dont do one, the uk has loads of them,

Nick

yoyo wrote: »
    They need to make a road wars that follows the Gardai around doing drug busts, arrests etc, and not something like boring traffic blues, dont know why they dont do one, the uk has loads of them,

Nick

Sky One/Virgin 1 tabloid sh1t. If they did copy something like that you would be giving out that they were just copying the British who are only copying they American's aka COPS (What you goin' to do?).
    Ballycore = Baltimore ?

The irony that Baltimore is named after Baltimore in Cork.

Elmo wrote: »
    Sky One/Virgin 1 tabloid sh1t. If they did copy something like that you would be giving out that they were just copying the British who are only copying they American's aka COPS (What you goin' to do?).

BBC also does one and ITV, both are good,

Nick

BBC also does one and ITV, both are good,

Nick

Doesn't make them any better. ITV certainly doesn't. I have never seen the BBC version so I can't comment. Just not my type of show, I would rather watch a drama or film. There are so many cheap TV tabloid Docs out there.

I have to say RTE efforts at Garda ' fly on the wall ' type documentaries are pretty tame - they don't even show them handling domestic disputes.

Doesn't make them any better. ITV certainly doesn't. I have never seen the BBC version so I can't comment. Just not my type of show, I would rather watch a drama or film. There are so many cheap TV tabloid Docs out there.

http://www.itv.com/Entertainment/Extremereality/CopsWithCamerasgallery/default.html

ITV do cops with cameras, funnily enough these kind of shows are all I watch on tv, cant stand tv most of the time,

Nick

ITV do cops with cameras, funnily enough these kind of shows are all I watch on tv, cant stand tv most of the time,

Strange, its one of things I hate about TV, and ITV hasn't been good in about 15 years.
    I have to say RTE efforts at Garda ' fly on the wall ' type documentaries are pretty tame - they don't even show them handling domestic disputes.

So your just looking for some violence.

Certainly not - my point is that Domestic Disputes are by all accounts pretty much routine ' bread and butter ' Policing . Yet RTE do not show Gardai dealing with them - they seem to go for the ' soft ' option of showing motoring offences.

delancey42 wrote: »
    Certainly not - my point is that Domestic Disputes are by all accounts pretty much routine ' bread and butter ' Policing . Yet RTE do not show Gardai dealing with them - they seem to go for the ' soft ' option of showing motoring offences.

The Show was about Traffic. Traffic Blues and the other Customs show was about Customs.

You want Garda Patrol: Life on the Streets :)

Fair point , but do you recall a show that followed recruits from day 1 in Templemore and out on the streets ( a few years back now )?, can't recall it's name but it was very tame and all it showed was them pounding the beat and stopping motorists - pretty much nothing else.

delancey42 wrote: »
    Fair point , but do you recall a show that followed recruits from day 1 in Templemore and out on the streets ( a few years back now )?, can't recall it's name but it was very tame and all it showed was them pounding the beat and stopping motorists - pretty much nothing else.
    There was one called "Recruits", i think, back in the early 90's. Showed trainees enjoying pony trekking, walks in the rain and that kind of thing. It was meant to show the new face of the Gardai as well educated young men and women who weren't just lured down from the mountains with pieces of raw meat.

I remember Commissioner Culligan, when asked about the role of women in the job, commenting that if there was a riot, he'd rather have a line of men standing there than women but he had to eat his words after.

(If he didn't, there'd have been tears:D)