Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thinking of doing the faction Change?

• 01-09-2009 4:41pm
    Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭

Hi peeps,

Been thinking long and hard about this and still are debating pro's and con's - Basically some friends and I have been thinking for a long time now before it was even mentioned by Blizzard that it would be cool to change to the dark side :p

Just wondering has anyone else done the big move by leaving Ally to start all over again on the Hordie side - Was it worth it? Is it more fun to be evils ;)?

Anyways up till now I have always fobbed it off as I have too many high level chars that have maxed professions and are my money makers etc. Also I love alting - I've always been a hard core raider but decided this week to chillax now till the expansion and just have fun leveling the rest of my chars to the big 80. Now with the upcoming ability to change all my chars to the dark side while keeping their achieves, reps, professions etc should i just take the plunge.

Anyone any input on whether they have done or have been thinking about doing this? Or any info's on whether or not this would be a bad mistake etc.

Please helps me :confused:

/hugs

Kai

Oh one more thing the other big problem what races to choose if I do move lol

I have a 80 Shaman (Enhance), 80 Rogue(Ass), 80 Priest(Shadow), 80 Warlock(Destro), 70 Hunter(Beast Atm), 70 Warrior(Fury), 61 Mage(Fire), 60 Druid(Feral) and a Wickle 53 Pally(Retri).

Which race would people recommend me switching these to to get the most fun or use out of racials? Again I've just no proper exp with horde side so not sure what is the best combo.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭Mac daddy

Either undead or orc, for the racials depending on the class you pick.

I have a 80 shaman - 80 rogue - 80 priest ally side.
    Dropped them a while back for my deathknight on the horde side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭Nehaxak

Troll > all the rest. Yeah mon...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭TechnoPool

TROLL IS SUPERIOR RACE

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭Kyri

:P Was thinking that myself the females look cool :p

• Registered Users Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭magicianz

Played ally for years and recently changed to horde as a tauren druid! Now i dont know if da trollz did so voodoo stuff on me or what but my druid heals better than my priest and dps better than my mage! And i have somehow managed to make like 3.5k gold in the last week and i have never been able to make even a few hundred gold before! All in all a big thumbs up :-D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 dubhdara3

Me and some Guildies, did the opposite last night. We've all been pretty die hard horde's, but we decided to all roll Ally Characters last night, and we changed to an RP server to boot.
    After having played a Blood Elf Paladin, the Draenai Dance is hilarious

I rolled ally at the very start because of how much a noob i was lol.

Always wanted to play a sexy Night Elf hunter just cos of the mount and it all started from there. Always wanted to try out the dark side but every time i get a char to like 10-15 i just think why am i starting again when i already have this char and at a higher level.

I'm too much of an alt & achieve Wh*re to want to level all over again the same class lol.

Really liking the sound of the horde now and still messing about with the character creation screen to find which class with look the best or have the best attributes to give my girls when their plastic surgery can commence :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭2 Espressi

I've rolled alts in both factions, I don't think there's much of a difference between them, I'm more interested in the class than the role usually. That said If I had to level another character again, I'd probably roll Horde just to see all thoses quests the Alliance don't get.

Well thats the main reason for it for me tbh would love to see all the game has to offer and if I stay Ally I only get a one sided lore etc. Not sure how the change will work though have Loremaster on My main but hoping that i can still go back do all the lil horde only quests if I switch - Suppose I better just wait till more info becomes available.

Thanks anyways peeps for the tips.

Any horde guilds out there looking for a pimped out shaman? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭TechnoPool

its live now!

and ha ye mine is :P

Omg it went live?

For real?

Oh sweet jebus the fun im going to have tonight :)

Well its only for US atm but at least i can start picking new bodies

From MMO - Thanks Tech :) WOOOOOOOOOOT

Faction Change Service Now Available
    Quote from: Nethaera (Source)
    The new World of Warcraft Faction Change service is now live. As we mentioned previously, [ http://forums.worldofwarcraft.com/thread.html?topicId=18031079410&sid=1 ] we’ve been in the process of developing a new service for World of Warcraft that will allow players to change their faction from Alliance to Horde or Horde to Alliance for a fee. After purchasing a Faction Change for a character, a player can choose any race of the opposite faction that is compatible with the character’s class. For more information on the Faction Change service, please read the FAQ, [ http://us.blizzard.com/support/article.xml?locale=en_US&tag=FCFAQ ] or visit the Faction Change page [ https://www.worldofwarcraft.com/account/faction-change-intro.html ] to get started.

Based on further community feedback, we have also decided to offer a race change service in the future. Players who choose to switch races will be able to change their race within their same faction and class. Additional details will be released at a future date.

Faction Change FAQ
    Quote from: Blizzard (Source)
    What is the Faction Change service?
    Our Faction Change service is designed to allow existing characters the opportunity to change their designated faction (from Horde to Alliance or Alliance to Horde).

How do I begin the Faction Change process?
    To begin the Faction Change process, please visit the Account Management page, select the Faction Change option, and carefully follow the instructions provided.

How much does this service cost?
    Each Faction Change costs $30.00 USD (not including applicable taxes). This covers a single Faction Change for a single character.

Is this service taxed? If so, how can I tell if my purchase will be taxed?
    Players in select states in the U.S. may be subject to taxation when using our Faction Change service. This list includes, but is not limited to:
    - New Mexico
    - Texas

Can I change multiple characters' factions at once?
    No. The Faction Change service only allows one change per transaction. If you would like to change multiple characters' factions, you will need to pay for each one separately.

At what level can I change a character's faction?
    Characters level 10 and above are eligible for a Faction Change.

Will PvP realm restrictions prevent me from changing a character's faction?
    No. PvP realms no longer possess any faction-based restrictions. You may now play Horde and Alliance characters on any realm you wish.

Will this service allow me to customize a character and select a different name once its faction has been changed?
    Yes. Each Faction Change purchase will also provide the target character with an included re-customization and optional name change.

When I change factions, can I select any race for the character?
    You may select any race of the new faction provided that it is available for the character's class.

Does that mean I can use this service to change the character back to its original faction?
    Absolutely; however, this will require purchasing another Faction Change.

When I change a character back to its original faction, can I select any new race?
    Yes. As noted previously, though, you will only be able to select a race that is available to the character's class.

Will I be able to select Cataclysm races and class combinations for a character once they're available in game?
    Details are not available at this time. As development continues, though, we hope to provide more information.

How often can I change a character's faction?
    You may change a character's faction every 60 days.

What happens after I initiate a Faction Change?
    Once your payment has processed and after you have remained logged out of the game for at least 30 minutes, you will see a new button to the left of the character's name upon next login. Clicking on this button will allow you to select the character's new faction and race, as well as customize the character's look and name. These steps will greatly resemble the character creation process.

To complete the Faction Change, press the button labeled "Click to change your character's faction" and confirm your selections. If you do not wish to change the character's faction immediately, you may do so at a later time.

What will happen to the character's old name?
    If you opt to change the character's name, the name will be locked from use on the realm for 90 days. You are not required to change the character's name, though; this is simply an option we provide included with the Faction Change.

What will happen to the character's equipment when I change its faction?
    Equipment which is not considered faction-specific will remain unchanged by this process. Faction-specific equipment, however, will be automatically exchanged for a cross-faction equivalent. You can view a full list of faction-specific equipment and their cross-faction equivalents here.

**Please note that neither enchants nor socketed gems will be affected by an exchange.**

Will the rest of the inventory (materials, alternate currency, etc) be affected in any way?
    As with equipment, items which are not considered faction-specific will remain unchanged by this process. Faction-specific items will be exchanged for a cross-faction equivalent. You can view a full list of faction-specific items here.

What will happen to the character's mounts when I change its faction?
    Mounts which are not considered faction-specific will remain unchanged by this process. Faction-specific mounts will be exchanged for a cross-faction equivalent. You can view a full list of faction-specific mounts and their equivalents here.

What will happen to the character's non-combat pets when I change its faction?
    Non-combat pets will not be affected by this process and will be available once the character's faction change completes. This even includes faction-specific non-combat pets.

What will happen to the character's achievements when I change its faction?
    Achievements which are not considered faction-specific will remain unchanged by this process. Faction-specific achievements will be exchanged for a cross-faction equivalent. You can view a full list of faction-specific achievements and their equivalents here.

What will happen to the character's titles when I change its faction?
    Titles which are not considered faction-specific will remain unchanged by this process. Faction-specific titles will be exchanged for a cross-faction equivalent. You can view a full list of faction-specific titles and their equivalents here.

What will happen to the character's reputation levels when I change its faction?
    Upon changing factions, the reputation level associated with the character's previous race will become the reputation level of the new race. All other racial reputations will be converted according to the following chart:

Orc (Orgrimmar) ↔ Human (Stormwind)
    Tauren (Thunder Bluff) ↔ Gnome (Gnomeregan Exiles)
    Undead (The Undercity) ↔ Night Elf (Darnassus)
    Troll (Sen'jin) ↔ Dwarf (Ironforge)
    Blood Elf (Silvermoon) ↔ Draenei (The Exodar)

Additional faction-specific reputations will be converted into their cross-faction equivalents (if a cross-faction equivalent exists). You can view a full list of qualifying faction-specific reputations and their equivalents here.

Faction neutral reputations will not be affected by this process, and faction-specific reputations which do not possess an equivalent will be lost.

What will happen to the character's quests when I change its faction?
    Quests which are active in the character's log at the time of the Faction Change will be cleared and all quest items associated with these quests will be destroyed.

With this, completed quests that are considered faction-specific will be removed from the list of completed quests and no longer count towards any running "quests completed" totals. Should you ever elect to change back to the original faction, the original list of completed quests will be restored. Completed quests that are considered faction-neutral or possess a cross-faction equivalent will be unaffected or automatically exchanged without any detriment to the quest completed totals.

What will happen to the character's flight paths when I change its faction?
    All flight points associated with the character will be reset and you will receive a new list of flight points which are appropriate for the level and new faction.

What will happen to the character's "Friends" and "Ignore" lists when I change its faction?
    The character's "Friends" and "Ignore" lists will be reset following a Faction Change.

What will happen to the character's Guild and Arena team(s)?
    The character will not be affiliated with any Guild or Arena team following a Faction Change. Guild and Arena team tabards will be removed and Arena team ratings will be reset as a result. If the character is a Guild Master, you will not be able to perform a Faction Change.

What will happen to the character's honor and Arena points?
    Any honor points, Marks of Honor, and lifetime honorable kills will not be affected by this process. Earned Arena points will carry over, as well; however, any pending Arena points accrued after the last maintenance period, but before your Faction Change is initiated, may be lost.

What will happen to the character's mail and auctions?
    Active mail and auction items will prevent a character from Faction Changing, so please be sure to pull all mail from the mailbox and take down any auction items prior to initiating the Faction Change process. These items will be handled as normal inventory.

Is there a gold limit for Faction Changes?
    Yes. Characters possessing too much gold for their designated level bracket will not be eligible for a Faction Change. Please use the following table as reference.

Level 10 to 30: 300 gold
    Level 31 to 50: 1000 gold
    Level 51 to 69: 5000 gold
    Level 70 to 80: 20000 gold

Where will the character be located after the Faction Change is complete?
    Once the Faction Change is complete, the character will be moved to the capital city of its new race.

What will happen to the character's Armory profile?
    Once you have completed the Faction Change process, the character's Armory profile will be updated to reflect any faction, racial, gender, or name changes. Please note that our Armory system is still in beta at this time, so the character's profile may not immediately display the updated information.

Will this service share a cooldown with the Character Transfer, Character Name Change, or Character Re-Customization services?
    No. The Faction Change service will not share its cooldown with any of these services.

Can I use this service to change race on my existing faction?
    No. We will be releasing a Race Change service in the near future for this purpose.

Will this service share a cooldown with the Race Change service?
    Yes.

Can I purchase a Faction Change for a character that has a pending Name Change or Re-Customization or is in the process of being transferred?
    No. Before you may initiate a Faction Change for a character, please complete any pending Name Changes, Re-Customizations, or Transfers. These pending transactions will prevent you from initiating a Faction Change.

When will I be charged for the character's Faction Change?
    You will be charged immediately upon pressing the confirmation button on the Faction Change page.

Is there any way to cancel a Faction Change while the process is pending?
    Because your payment method will be charged immediately upon confirmation, you will be unable to cancel the process once you have pressed the confirmation button and the Faction Change process is underway.

Is there any way to reverse a Faction Change once it's completed?
    No. Once a Faction Change is done, it is permanent. You may, however, purchase another Faction Change to switch back to the original faction once the service cooldown time has elapsed.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Berns

Geif race change. Blood Elf rogue sucks :( She looks prity but, racials suck. Want Berserking or Axe/Bow specialisations :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭2 Espressi

Thanks for the update Kyri, looks like you will be able to have both factions on the same PvP servers now as well, race change loks good too ( I wish I was a little bit taller)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

One of old characters havnt played in a year because was ally can now be reinvigorated!!
    Human Priest - Troll Priest FTW!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

im seriously considering moving my hunter over to horde, but i really dont want to pay the 30$ for the change over and then another 20$ ow whatever it is to change realms :(

Well way i figure it is gonna save a hell of alot more money by sitting in playing wow then going on on the tiles or buying crap DVD's just to make my collection look better so i figure its worth the move. It'll pay for itself.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Tempted to bring my 80 DK over aswell.

But €40 for the change is a bit pricey, considering a DK starts at 55 and wouldnt take that long to level

However my 70 priest is highly highly tempting....its time like this i love how im good at paddypower poker.

You cheap skates :O)

Try converting all my lil miss's but im still playing so will def be worth it once i do it gradually. Agree though with a DK thats why I aint bothered leveling one higher then 60 deleted her thinking when i reroll just level up again and will save the 20 squid or whatever the euro equivalant will be.

Why would you bother chagning ALL them? surely you've already played at least some of the other faction to soem degree of a high lvl and know the questlines and areas and which ones you prefer... would be a real waste to commit all your characters to one faction but i can see how someone might want to change to bring an alt that ended up being an excellent alt to a big guild.

Its more cos of the professions hun, I got my Main as a Jc'er & Blacksmith for the sockets and gems bonuses. Then my lock is my Herbie and Tailor, Rogue is my enchanter & Engineer, Hunter is my LW'er with alot of Uldar patterns even though she is lvl 70 still, Priest is my Herbie and an inscripter and the others are either a diff spec of a profession like a transmute, pot and Flask master and gatherers to make cash on.

I've always been a hard core rairder and like to make sure I can look after myself in regards to anything that might be needed to raid in case theres none in the AH etc. Plus because it's a move with my mates would sux to be not able to chat the them in game while im dossing on one of the lil guys. I will move them gradually though not a huge all now type thing but whats the point in being in several guilds or on different factions if you need to raid 3-4 nights a week on your main or when you could be raiding on one of your lil guys with your friends.

Anyways thats just my opinion think i've been kinda bread to be loyal to one guild just cos its what i've always done since day 1 with alts etc.

sounds like an awful lot of work and time and effort fair play... i would only have 2 money earners myself and wouldnt dedicate that much time to each profession only when i reroll ill pick someting i hvnt done befoe but wouldnt be intensely farming.

thats just me being lazy. but as regards to being loyal im sure they wouldnt feel the same if they got a better offer or got bored and needed to refresh their pals lists or raiding players.

Suppose your right about guilds but its more i know these peeps in real life and when we cant meet up its a good to be able to chill with my mates on vent while dossing in game. With the chars though i aint gone outta my way to farm etc on them i just have been playing so long I kinda sorted them in a handy way which means now if im broke i can get cash easy and dont have to grind dailies to buy pots etc.

Back in vanilla WoW was great to have all the professions covered as was quite hard to find crafters so was easier for me to do it myself. Esp when i was leading a raiding guild with my bf used to be a pain getting the resistance gear made for peeps etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,911 ✭✭✭nix

Not seeing any faction change in my account, is it only for US realms at the moment? Only see them refering to US and using the $'s for currency :(

• Registered Users Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

nix wrote: »
    Not seeing any faction change in my account, is it only for US realms at the moment? Only see them refering to US and using the $'s for currency :(

Yep, only US at the moment. They always get stuff first.

Yeah looks like we will have to wait a few days if not a week or so to see it live here.

I'd say they are going to be facing alot of bugs and tweaking this alot so tbh I don't mind waiting a bit longer if it means less messing about for us.

Looks like it has alot to do with the terms adn conditions to for eu so we will have to see how it goes.

• Registered Users Posts: 779 ✭✭✭papajimsmooth

Official Blizzard Quote:

Faction Change ETA in Europe
    Here we go: it is not coming today, tomorrow or this week, or probably next. However, plans can change though, but this reply should give you a much better idea of when it is probably coming and should help you to better plan in advance, should you wish to do so. (Source)
    :(

• Registered Users Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

:(

Thats specific enough to be Blizzard alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Crónhóle

The faction change sounds great , but you can feck off if my human paladin is going to turn into a Blood elf emo ass butt hugger know chance. Any word on when the race change will come into a effect ?, i want to change my human into a Dwarf.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,189 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

I think its a terrible idea.