Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DT224 anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 simbaelmo

opt wrote: »
    as far as i know we just need to be there on the 17th, so i'll probably come up for the day then move into apt on the 20th..

i think i'll do the same. prob wont be much happenin nehow. i've ben on mydit tryin 2 view our timetable but i cant get in 2 d feckin ting :(

• Registered Users Posts: 25 purple27

simbaelmo wrote: »
    so it luks like the 1st yr opometry class has a total of 3 members . . . jese i hope its not hard 2 get 2 kno ppl :D

Oh it will be, 2 people is way too many to get to know....:p
    Isn't there only like 20 people or something in our course anyway?

so what are your names anyway, might as well get to know eachother haha. I'm Melanie :D

Just saw our timetable! Cracked how ya get in 2 c them after all this time :) hence the crazy hour i'm up til :) ha! nehow its very confusin (gone is the simplicity of the school timetable!) they have like 2 timetables all rolled n2 1 1 4 sept ta dec and d other 4om jan ta may i tink, not sure but i tink up til xmas we have 28 hours n total between lectures, tutorials, labs (didnt kno we had them why on earth wud we like?! we're hardly goin doin titrations now are we?!) nehow mon is 7 hours 9 ta 6 with 12 ta 2 off, tues is 7 hours 9 ta 5 with 1 ta 2 off, wed is a KILLER 8 hours 9 ta 6 with 1 ta 2 off, thurs 4 hours 9 ta 1 and fri 2 10 ta 12 :) so i'm tinkn thur nite will be party nite? :D:D fri bein da l8st we start & shortest day!

• Registered Users Posts: 17 opt

Crazy hour is right :pac:.. how did you find the timetable :confused:

Go 2 mydit.ie login by poppin in ur student number and the password is ur DOB then click on timetables when ya get logged in. 4 username Student Science and 4 password science (all lowercase) then click school of physics & type in course name, code and year. Viola!

Look at the timetable (list version)..maybe i'm reading it wrong :o... but there isn't anything down for any Friday this side of Feb 5th 2010??.. except for something on the 6th Nov this year... :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 SocoAmoretoLime

Optometry is great even if you're unsure about it, i know i was! Kevin St is small enough so you won't get lost and because your class is so small you make loads of close friends. I'm glad I'm doing it :)

Look at the timetable (list version)..maybe i'm reading it wrong :o... but there isn't anything down for any Friday this side of Feb 5th 2010??.. except for something on the 6th Nov this year... :confused:

Did u look at the graphics version tho opt? I cant make head nor tale of that list one :)

Optometry is great even if you're unsure about it, i know i was! Kevin St is small enough so you won't get lost and because your class is so small you make loads of close friends. I'm glad I'm doing it :)

Cool. Thanks for the reassurance. But ive never dun physics b4 so now i feel like an ass for pickin this course! had u dun it b4?

I think there were 5 or 6 of us who had physics out of 27, so you definitely won't be alone. Physics can be a bit hard to get your head around, I had it, so I was ok but I didn't have biology and I wish I had. See they tend to go slower for physics and chem and just cover the leaving cert syllabus more or less, but they assume everyone has biology so they cover waaaay more in that! Don't worry though, not having physics definitely shouldn't put you off and if you have any trouble the lecturers are happy to help :)

I didn't do biology for Leaving so will it be tougher than picking up physics??

If I had paid more attention it would have been fine! You should be alright, I think they move a bit faster in biology than physics, so in my opinion its harder to pick up the biology. In saying that its not too difficult, go in with an open mind, read over the notes and look up anything you don't understand (not trying to be a smartarse, wish I had done that!). All in all remember the lecturers aren't out to get you, they don't want to have to correct repeats in the summer as much as you don't want to have to sit them :)

Thanks for the help!

I think there were 5 or 6 of us who had physics out of 27, so you definitely won't be alone. Physics can be a bit hard to get your head around, I had it, so I was ok but I didn't have biology and I wish I had. See they tend to go slower for physics and chem and just cover the leaving cert syllabus more or less, but they assume everyone has biology so they cover waaaay more in that! Don't worry though, not having physics definitely shouldn't put you off and if you have any trouble the lecturers are happy to help :)

How many places are there in the course? I know in the prospectus it says 25 but i woz told they only take in like 20 or so coz its expensive 2 run. Is that true? woz also wonderin how many exams will we hav for 1st year xmas? i believe ther n jan so xmas will be RUINED :(:(:(:(:(

hey i did biology for the LC and its grand. really simple 2 understand ya just gotta keep on top of it & learn as u go along otherwise it can get very overwhelming

How many places are there in the course? I know in the prospectus it says 25 but i woz told they only take in like 20 or so coz its expensive 2 run. Is that true? woz also wonderin how many exams will we hav for 1st year xmas? i believe ther n jan so xmas will be RUINED :(:(:(:(:(

They take in 25 each year, and if there are any repeats you could have a few more in your year. 3 exams at the end of semester one in january (which is such a bad idea, i agree :() and then 6 at the end of semester 2 at the end of may. So 9 altogether! You get review weeks and stuff during the semesters and tutorials before the exams so you're not completely thrown in the deep end for the assessments :)

uhhhhhh nooo. . . wat 3 exams are after xmas??? are they tough 1s?? how the hell are ya supposed 2 study over xmas with all ur pals at home socialisn :(

After christmas you'll have maths, geometrical optics (thats physics based, its to do with lenses) and cell biology. Maths is easy, geometrical optics if fine once you attend the lectures (definitely go to the tutorial lectures before the exams, and run through past papers, the questions are very similiar), and cell biology is ok if you keep on top of it. It is kinda annoying going home to see all your friends from UCC/UL/TCD have finished their exams and you have to study but on the bright side you get a week/a week and a half off after exams . . . just give yourself a break for going out christmas/new years and cram cram cram before the exams ;)

wats maths like 4 sum1 who only has dun pass:(

Its grand, we had a few that did pass and no-one failed. You get 'homework' which counts for 20% of your mark, so if you have any trouble you can get help from someone that did hons. Another 20% is a class test, and the remaining 60% is from the end of semester exam. And in the library there is a maths learning centre, you can go there and get help from maths lecturers, and its free you just go along. No need to worry :)

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭jwabh

maths learning centre lady is useless.she used google to figure out how to help us one time. but the maths teacher is sound and shell help you if you ask her. and she does put up all the notes at the end of the module just before the exam. so dont wory bout trying to get everything down.just ask somebody from the year ahead and theyll probably have a copy of em somewher.

and the timetable aint as bad as it seems. your split into two groups for labs in semester 1 so physics labs are every second week and ya get out early and some of the other labs on the timetable will be one group and the other will be off, or doing something else.

neway sure dont wory too much and sure well see ya all at the meet the first year nite.

jwabh wrote: »
    maths learning centre lady is useless.she used google to figure out how to help us one time. but the maths teacher is sound and shell help you if you ask her. and she does put up all the notes at the end of the module just before the exam. so dont wory bout trying to get everything down.just ask somebody from the year ahead and theyll probably have a copy of em somewher.

and the timetable aint as bad as it seems. your split into two groups for labs in semester 1 so physics labs are every second week and ya get out early and some of the other labs on the timetable will be one group and the other will be off, or doing something else.

neway sure dont wory too much and sure well see ya all at the meet the first year nite.

Actually yeah you're right I forgot we went to that and she used google . . . Better off asking the lecturer for help!

Oh and everyone should definitely go to the meet and greet thing that the Optometry society put on, its great craic and ye can ask us whatever ye need to know :)

Did any of ye get anything in the post about registration apart from the gold envelope and the bank giro...