Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

RTE to show Italy v Bulgaria qualifier live on Wednesday night

• 05-09-2009 2:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 684 ✭✭✭

In the lead up to Ireland's crucial World Cup qualifier against Cyprus this Saturday, RTÉ Sport have announced that it has secured exclusive broadcast rights for another key match in Group 8 as Italy face Bulgaria on Wednesday next.
    The match in Turin will be broadcast live on RTÉ Two television and RTÉ.ie (Republic of Ireland only) from 7.40pm.
    This latest coup adds to RTÉ's comprehensive soccer coverage which already includes broadcast rights for the 2010 and 2014 FIFA World Cups, Wednesday night live Champions League coverage, League of Ireland Live as well as both the FAI Ford Cup semi-finals and final, and extensive Premier League highlights.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/0904/italy_bulgaria.html

Very important match for us despite the fact we're not playing in it(obviously). (Depending on the result or results tonight of course.)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Well done RTÉ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

So they can show a game between two other countries yet can't follow our club representatives in European competition?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Xavi6 wrote: »
    So they can show a game between two other countries yet can't follow our club representatives in European competition?

Your surprised? They televised the Arsenal vs Celtic qualifying game when they had suggested the wouldn't televise Bohs if they got to the 3rd round of the qualifiers. (I think)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

Well Bulgaria are the draw specialists so hopefully they can do the job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

ShooterSF wrote: »
    Your surprised?

Not in the slightest, and they don't deserve any praise for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Am I write in thinking if we win tonight and Italy/Bulgaria ends in a draw, 2 wins against Italy and Montengro next month will see us qualify?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

That's not going to happen though.

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Tom10

I do think you talk a lot of sense about football man - and most of the time i'm agreeing with you but just because rte don't do one thing right doesn't mean you can't say well done of doing a different thing right.

I for one am very happy they are showing the game but would definitely haver preferred to have seen the club teams games alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

:confused: They showed Celtic vs Arsenal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,516 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Your surprised? They televised the Arsenal vs Celtic qualifying game when they had suggested the wouldn't televise Bohs if they got to the 3rd round of the qualifiers. (I think)

Does it need to be said again that they were contractually obliged to show a game from the 4th round of qualifiers, hence they showed Pana v Athletico Madrid on the Wednesday and Arsenal v Celtic the following Tuesday.
    If Bohs had got that far then obviously that would have been the game picked.

Congrats to RTE for getting the Italy Bulgaria game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭The Rooster

RTE made no decision or announcement re Bohs in the third round, but they did offer to televise the qualifier that Bohs played live. But they wouldnt pay Bohs anything other than the costs incurred to set up the cameras etc, so Bohs said No. Setanta made the very same offer also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,049 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Real League of Ireland fans don't watch football on tv.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,233 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Unearthly wrote: »
    Not everyone can afford to go to Austria

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,049 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Not everyone can afford to go to Austria

not good enough imo

bunch of fakes.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

It can't be any worse or even as bad as the first game, tbh

Surely..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

Some people will always be bitter and are only happy when complaining.

Well done RTE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

As far as I can tell these are the ramifications for this upcoming game...

If Italy win...

Italy P 8, 20 pts
    Ire P 8, 16 pts
    Bul P 8, 11 pts

If Italy beat Bulgaria they have effectively qualified. That would give them a four point cushion over us and even if we beat them at Croker and close the gap, their last game is at home to Cyprus and it's hard to imagine they'll drop points there. On the plus side we would effectively be guaranteed the second spot as Bulgaria would have to win their last two games and hope we lose both of ours. I'd say that's unlikely.

If it's a draw...

Italy P 8, 18 pts
    Ire P 8, 16 pts
    Bul P 8, 12 pts

This is the best outcome for Ireland as it would mean we could qualify automatically by beating Italy and Montenegro while on the other hand we could lose to Italy and still be in with a chance of second place if we beat Montenegro. It would take a lot of pressure off the Italy match and give Bulgaria a mountain to climb.

If Bulgaria win...

Italy P 8, 17 pts
    Ire P 8, 16 pts
    Bul P 8, 14 pts

This is surely the nightmare scenario. This would mean if Ireland lose to Italy and Bulgaria win their game against Cyprus, Ireland would go into the last match in THIRD place needing to beat Montenegro whilst also hoping Italy and Bulgaria lose their final games (which are both at home to Cyprus and Georgia respectively). It would put huge pressure on the Italy match. On the other hand if you're an optimist, it would mean a win against the Italians would put us on the brink of qualifying automatically.

As far as I can make out though I think it's fair to say the best result on Wednesday is a draw. If there is to be a winner though I'd want it to be Italy as I'd question our chances of getting second place if Bulgaria take all 3 points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

And which is of more importance/ interest?

FFS like. Ill be watching this over here if they show it. Fair play to RTE.

Im having serious concerns as to how, or why, Italy based Kaladze managed to score those two. Jesus, if we had that clear peno in Montenegro and last night was nil all we would be running away with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Yeah a draw would be best for this one, would keep Bulgaria too far back and would actually put qualification in our hands, although I really dont see us getting 6 pts from last 2 games, 4 pts perhaps.

I will also be keeping an eye on Scotland vs Holland, because if Scotland don't win they are almost certainly gonna be the worst runner up, so we would only need a point from our last 2 games to be garaunteed a play off spot. (provided Italy dont beat us by about 6 goals!)

Edit: No, I'm wrong....I forgot about Bulgaria....haha these calculations!!

• Registered Users Posts: 700 ✭✭✭Prufrock

If Bulgaria win...

Italy P 8, 17 pts
    Ire P 8, 16 pts
    Bul P 8, 14 pts

This is surely the nightmare scenario. This would mean if Ireland lose to Italy and Bulgaria win their game against Cyprus, Ireland would go into the last match in THIRD place needing to beat Montenegro whilst also hoping Italy and Bulgaria lose their final games (which are both at home to Cyprus and Georgia respectively). It would put huge pressure on the Italy match. On the other hand if you're an optimist, it would mean a win against the Italians would put us on the brink of qualifying automatically.

Shudder. A real all or nothing scenario. Bulgaria really have to go for it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

Yeah a draw would be best for this one, would keep Bulgaria too far back and would actually put qualification in our hands, although I really dont see us getting 6 pts from last 2 games, 4 pts perhaps.

I will also be keeping an eye on Scotland vs Holland, because if Scotland don't win they are almost certainly gonna be the worst runner up, so we would only need a point from our last 2 games to be garaunteed a play off spot. (provided Italy dont beat us by about 6 goals!)

actually if Scotland don't win, Norway will probably overtake them on goal difference. not that it matters much.

I'll be praying for a draw like everyone else come Wednesday.

Bad form of RTE though. First they ignore the athletics when some of our lot put on the performances of their lives. Then the LoI goes without saying...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Ronan Raver77

Good one on RTE for this as i wanted to watch this match.Not often i praise rte as we all know the should show other games/sports at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

yayamark wrote: »
    Some people will always be bitter and are only happy when complaining.

Well done RTE

Down of the horse there son! Well done RTÉ indeed!:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

If Bulgaria win...

Italy P 8, 17 pts
    Ire P 8, 16 pts
    Bul P 8, 14 pts

With the way Italy and Bulgaria are playing at the moment, this is for me the most likely scenario.

Bulgaria could win by a couple.

It's great RTE are showing it, but it shows the power of the advertiser re club games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭DSB

shane86 wrote: »
    And which is of more importance

Irish clubs in Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

nipplenuts wrote: »
    With the way Italy and Bulgaria are playing at the moment, this is for me the most likely scenario.

Bulgaria could win by a couple.

It's great RTE are showing it, but it shows the power of the advertiser re club games.

Yeah I'm worried about this too. Italy are struggling up front and Bulgaria looked pretty sharp on Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

Sorry lads to lazy to check but whos the home team?..Really is nearly rocket science to work out if we are gonig to get through or not..Nearly half in our own hands half not.But would seem a draw would be for the best

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭Tyranax

The game will be played in Turin. I wonder if Lippi swung that. He's favoured the Juve lads heavily in his squads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,270 ✭✭✭✭briany

Hmmmmmm its really hard for me to see our team doing the business against the italians in Dublin, as much as i would like to see them to. Still, like most others i will be hoping for a draw but failing that, the italians to kill off the bulgarian threat once and for all and then maybe a memorable clash with northern ireland or scotland in the playoffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

Sadly, no League of Ireland clubs made it into Europe this year. What a surprise.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Sadly, no League of Ireland clubs made it into Europe this year. What a surprise.

I think you'll find there were irish clubs in Europe but RTE didn't cover any of the matches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Sadly, no League of Ireland clubs made it into Europe this year.
    This is so clueless it's not even funny.

Boards.ie poster with ignorant LoI related post
    What a surprise.

indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

Tyranax wrote: »
    The game will be played in Turin. I wonder if Lippi swung that. He's favoured the Juve lads heavily in his squads.

Doubt it. Games have been played in the likes of Bari already so it's just Torino's shot at rotation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭ANTIFA!

Clueless post. I'll have you note that Aston Villa, a team from presumably your cherished Premier League were knocked out by the team that finished below Red Bull Salzburg who Bohs were within 5 minutes of going through against.

Bohs managed to draw against the champions of Austria away while Aston Villa were beaten by runners up.

Derry City were knocked out by CSKA Sofia by the odd goal(2-1 on aggegrate) who then went onto knock out Dinamo Moscow.

Pat's went to the 4th round after knocking out the team who finished 6th in Russia.

• Registered Users Posts: 700 ✭✭✭Prufrock

Yeah I'm worried about this too. Italy are struggling up front and Bulgaria looked pretty sharp on Saturday.

Worse than that Berba looks like hes interested now....when he wants to be hes a great player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Juventus are heavily featured because they prioritise Italians in the squad. They have always aspired to being the most Italian Italian club.

The FIGC have a policy of bringing La Nazionale to as many regional cities as possible, to allow fans from outside the capital to see their heroes play. A practice I feel many other national associations could adopt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭Mr Maroon

That's because they actually have Italians, unlike Inter.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

Mr Maroon wrote: »
    That's because they actually have Italians, unlike Inter.

Internazionale have international players?

Well, I never.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

Des wrote: »
    This is so clueless it's not even funny.

Boards.ie poster with ignorant LoI related post

indeed.

Ah, come on Des. It was a bit funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Tomthepost

Whilst I agree with your views above I think what was even more disgraceful was not showing any coverage whatsoever of the recent World Athletics Championships where Irish Athletes excelled and the Bolt, greatest individual in sport since Tiger was on show.
    I will probably watch the game wednesday as I would if they showed any of the domestic teams in european action but even a nightly one hour highlights programme on the world championships would surely not have been out of the question.
    As much as football fans here moan about RTE coverage be thankful that athletics is not your no 1 sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,778 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Unearthly wrote: »

Genuine early doors contender for Best Post of the Year in the Humour Category imo...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭DSB

Ah, come on Des. It was a bit funny.
    Nope.
    keane2097 wrote: »
    Genuine early doors contender for Best Post of the Year in the Humour Category imo...
    Nope.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

I think Bulgaria will win this - blow the group wide open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,732 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Jesus lads, its a TV station operating at a loss. It can't cater to niche matches where the viewing attendances will be minimal.

Italy v Bulgaria on the scheme of things is a huge match, not just for the 2 teams involved but for Irish Soccer.

I for one are delighted they are showing it.

Bulgaria will cause an upset IMO. 1-2 to the smokers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

what time is the game on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭String

syngindub wrote: »
    what time is the game on?

8.50 according to fifa website but im not sure what timezone that is.
    Coverage starts at 7.40 so defintly not 8.50 kickoff here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Italy haven't lost at home in a competitive in 10 years to the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,516 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

DrMorphine wrote: »
    8.50 according to fifa website but im not sure what timezone that is.
    Coverage starts at 7.40 so defintly not 8.50 kickoff here

I'm going to go out on a major limb here, and suggest that it'll be 7.50 kickoff our time.

7:30 according to the beeb