Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you dislike about Metal?

• Registered Users Posts: 963 ✭✭✭Richy06

Oh yeah!

Paramore may be gay but yer wan that sings for them is fair hot!

• Registered Users Posts: 947 ✭✭✭fobster

Gospel were immense!

Aye, more black thrash gigs are whats needed. Absu and Razor of Occam in November in the Academy 2, now that's what I'm talking about!

Thought the other bands were deadly too particularly Neutron Hammer and Ground of Ruin (immense drumming performance), thought Scythian could have had better sound considering how tight the sound was for the previous two bands. Good stuff from them nonetheless.

Back to things I don't like about metal. A general one really is Ireland not being an inclusion on bands touring schedule (applies to not only metal of course), fair enough it's not economic etc. but the bands that do come here always seem to be honestly appreciative of the crowd response. A recent one being Pentagram, great crowd in for them. I guess it's down to what matters more to the bands themselves, their fans or their bank manager.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭empirix

personally i dislike the people associated with it, always appear somewhat depressed and aggressive when in fact they are all quite gay!:P

• Registered Users Posts: 150 ✭✭H1tmonlii

The stereotypes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

fobster wrote: »

Back to things I don't like about metal. A general one really is Ireland not being an inclusion on bands touring schedule
    Even major bands have gone to the UK this year and not Ireland. Slayer for instance, are touring the UK either currently or in the near future, but they arent coming here AFAIK

• Registered Users Posts: 947 ✭✭✭fobster

Max Power1 wrote: »
    Even major bands have gone to the UK this year and not Ireland. Slayer for instance, are touring the UK either currently or in the near future, but they arent coming here AFAIK

Aye but then again are Slayer that great live these days? I can't back that up myself, just going on what I've heard. Anyone have any input on this?

Clutch are one band that immediately spring to mind anyway, going to see them in London at the beginning of November with Kylesa in support. They're even playing in Colchester of all places but aren't coming over here, I'd think about being a concert promoter for one-night only just to get them over...

fobster wrote: »
    Aye but then again are Slayer that great live these days? I can't back that up myself, just going on what I've heard. Anyone have any input on this?

Its Slayer FFS! Of course they are!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭ride-the-spiral

I have heard otherwise...

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Things I hate about metal.

1/. Stereotypical metal fans. You see this missing link at most metal gigs. These guys must literally be, the toughest guys in the WHOLE world. Wow don't mess with him, he wears spikes and likes SLAYYYYYURRRRRGGGGHHHH. He can also drink loads of alcohol and be EVEN MORE obnoxious. This attitude is fine at 15. But add ten years on, its embarrassing.

2/. The tendency to forget the song as a whole. Some bands these days seem to be all about technicality. This for me is great...in context. But when its just constant speed/technical prowess in favour of a well written, well put together song, it grows stale, fast.

3/. The generic bands that seem to populate the tv channels.

*This just in..."Metallica? Yeah they've actually already happened, hmm?you didnt hear? seriously...it was in the eighties, spanning into the nineties and noughties, HUGE TOURS, millions of records sold. Maybe its time to TRY something new rather than recycling someone elses songs*
    Couldn't agree more, especially with point number 1. These fans annoy me, and paint a very bad picture of fans of the genre in general.

• Registered Users Posts: 805 ✭✭✭metzengerstein

PORNAPSTER wrote: »
    Couldn't agree more, especially with point number 1. These fans annoy me, and paint a very bad picture of fans of the genre in general.

id agree with point 1 also (except the part of dragging slayer's name in it ) this attitude is ridiculous, lots of this to be found on a certain site i mentioned in my 1st post.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,053 ✭✭✭D.Q

id agree with point 1 also (except the part of dragging slayer's name in it ) this attitude is ridiculous, lots of this to be found on a certain site i mentioned in my 1st post.

sorry. nothing against slayer,(although that said... im not a fan:o)

but after that slayer live at the warfield dvd, that sort of fan just stuck in my mind.

• Registered Users Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Thornography

The insane switches in time signatures in the drums.

Cradle of filth are masters at just completely changing the dynamic of a song in milliseconds.

I HATE that.

I absolutely adore Cradle, But lads, give me a heads up when your about to literally modulate to a new song all together. I also think its this reason they don't have that many fans in Ireland. We like our metal simple with true form. No hurdy gurdy so to speak!

• Registered Users Posts: 957 ✭✭✭GrizzlyMan

H1tmonlii wrote: »
    The stereotypes.

I would have to agree with ya there!!! way too many metal heads take themselves way too seriously!!! What ever happened to getting ****faced at a gig and meeting new folks, instead of who looks the most metal or what band shirt youve on etc.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,223 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

The insane switches in time signatures in the drums.

Cradle of filth are masters at just completely changing the dynamic of a song in milliseconds.
    A lot of prog bands change tempo very suddenly, I quite like it, Pain of Salvation are very good at it.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users Posts: 17 xYazbombx

If you dont like it, DONT ****ING LISTEN TO IT...

xYazbombx wrote: »
    If you dont like it, DONT ****ING LISTEN TO IT...

That's all well and goodto just say, but when you think a band has great potential but they have some aspect that you don't like. e.g. The vocals, alot of people say they would listen to some metal bands if it weren't for the vocals so to them it's more of a case of wasted potential than just not liking it.

If that makes sense...

• Registered Users Posts: 805 ✭✭✭metzengerstein

sorry. nothing against slayer,(although that said... im not a fan:o)

but after that slayer live at the warfield dvd, that sort of fan just stuck in my mind.

yea id agree with that the american fans are a bit nuts ,but makes for a funny section of the dvd

he he he he

if it wasnt for the hardcore fans, especially in the early 80s, you probably wouldnt be hearing of bands like slayer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Dime101

There is nothing I don't like about metal......NOTHING!

Dime101 wrote: »
    There is nothing I don't like about metal......NOTHING!
    well this sums up Max Powers attitude

I wish I could say that...

But I forget one thing, People are dicks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

The only thing I dislike about metal is the snobbery that sometimes arises between the subgenres. I am guilty of it myself at times, but I reckon I've copped on a bit in recent times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 gith75

The thing i hate is in the majority of death metal, the incomprehensible "singing" (growling). The music is going 100mph but the singing is slow, it does sound right.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

gith75 wrote: »
    The thing i hate is in the majority of death metal, the incomprehensible "singing" (growling). The music is going 100mph but the singing is slow, it does sound right.
    :confused: If it does sound right why are you giving out about it?

gith75 wrote: »
    2 words for you. Morbid Angel.

Failing that, DEICIDE .... quality death metal ftw

• Registered Users Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

Actually, if you don't like the growling, try some Nevermore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 gith75

Sorry i was meant to say it doesn't sound right.

I have 1 Nevermore album

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Anna Molly

its all starting to sound the same :(

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,223 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Anna Molly wrote: »
    its all starting to sound the same :(
    Listen to prog if you don't already ;)

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Anna Molly

Listen to prog if you don't already ;)
    Oh labels.
    We're talking Tool and whatnot here, right?
    I love Tool, one of my favourites.
    And A Perfect Circle... <3