Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Villain to turn €10 into ????

• 06-09-2009 9:58pm
    Registered Users Posts: 15,944 ✭✭✭✭

Ok I just saw someone has a simalar thread going so mods if this isn't on or you want to merge work away

Anyway I put €10 on my betfair account a few weeks ago when YE Yang bet Woods I backed Yang at 10 and laid him at 6 so €40 profit.

Then I backed Villa against Pool only €5 at 11.50 and laid at 3.7 so €37.05 profit

Next was Utd V Arsenal at half time I backed Utd €7 at 6.43, backed €2 at 12.5 on a draw late on to cover myself so proft €34.20

Now I started to think maybe I could use the bit I know about soccer to actually have a good chance of winning some money, I know €10 was a small start but I was up to €111 now I thought lets give it a go I enjoy watching soccer and as the ad says "it matters more when you have money on it".

In play betting seems to open up a lot of opportunities especially to cover bets already placed.

So anyway my bets that followed that were:

Market Start time Settled date Profit/loss (€)
    Soccer / Ghana v Sudan : Match Odds 06-Sep-09 18:00 06-Sep-09 20:39 1.71
    Soccer / Chile v Venezuela : Match Odds 06-Sep-09 02:30 06-Sep-09 04:34 -14.00
    Soccer / Argentina v Brazil : Over/Under 2.5 goals 06-Sep-09 01:30 06-Sep-09 02:52 4.70
    Soccer / Paraguay v Bolivia : Match Odds 05-Sep-09 23:30 06-Sep-09 01:26 8.36
    Soccer / Peru v Uruguay : Match Odds 05-Sep-09 21:30 05-Sep-09 23:26 6.65
    Soccer / Croatia v Belarus : Match Odds 05-Sep-09 19:30 05-Sep-09 21:22 2.85
    Soccer / Bulgaria v Montenegro : Match Odds 05-Sep-09 18:30 05-Sep-09 20:23 2.62
    Soccer / Charlton v Brentford : Match Odds 05-Sep-09 12:15 05-Sep-09 14:10 6.17
    Soccer / Luton v Crawley Town : Match Odds 01-Sep-09 19:45 01-Sep-09 21:48 5.22
    Soccer / Newcastle v Leicester : Match Odds 31-Aug-09 19:45 31-Aug-09 21:41 5.24
    Soccer / Aston Villa v Fulham : First Goalscorer 30-Aug-09 16:00 30-Aug-09 18:25 12.16
    Soccer / Aston Villa v Fulham : Match Odds 30-Aug-09 16:00 30-Aug-09 17:49 -2.00
    Never used that tag before I like it

I also put €5 on a horse called Asset which turns out to be more of a donkey.

So my current bank total is €144.08, as you can see I'm sticking to low odd matches now, not mad about Internationals will mostly stick to UK soccer matches.

Anyway target is €1000 could get there or could be to 0 in a few weeks lets see how it goes I'll keep this updated if mods allow :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,459 ✭✭✭T-b0n3

Good luck, your already off to a good start.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,944 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Ok Next Bet is on Kettering in the Conference Tuesday night against Gateshead. €10 win at 1.61

Kettering are 4th in the league 2 draws and 3 wins in last 5 games.
    Gateshead are 2nd from bottom have 3 losses 1 draw and 1 win in last 5

Kettering won easy 4-0 profit 5.79

Bank is €149.87 with no bets in play.

Think I'll probably give the internationals tomorrow a miss have a good look in the morning first

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭biscuits1981

nice one villain i just started today doing the same bets as u hope u dont mind hope u dont mind posting ur bets here so i can have a look cheers

No problem Biscuits1981, don't put your house on anything based on me though, my idea is to get profit by slow patient betting, i.e. if nothing looks a good bet don't bet.

Ok next bet placed because I think odds will shorten only small money available on betfair I got the following betting for Rotherham against Morecambe on Saturday

Rotherham Odds 1.62 Stake €2.30 Profit €1.43
    Rotherham Odds 1.64 Stake €7.70 Profiy €4.93

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

kool

Charlton V Southampton Saturday 12th
    Charlton to win Odds 1.66 Stake €10.00 Profit €6.60 (Betfair)

Seems good value to me so put the bet down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭biscuits1981

cheers villian will do them both singles and just might do a small double

Bournemouth V Lincoln Saturday
    Bournemouth to win Odds 1.8 Stake €10.00 Profit €8.00

Done a treble for those three as well

1,2 and 3 Odds 4.49 Stake €5.00 Profit €17.45

First bad day today, Rotherham and Charlton both drew, Charlton had 2 goals disallowed, ah well have to take the rough with the smooth, thankfully Bournemouth won to make it not a total disaster

Put €4 on Utd at 4.2 after Spurs scored, 1-2 to Utd at HT, heres hoping we can make back some of the earlier losses

Utd did indeed win so bank back to €144.63 not a bad bounce back, some lads in the Soccer forum reckon Utd were available at 9's but highest trade on betfair was 4.5

• Registered Users Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Villain wrote: »
    Utd did indeed win so bank back to €144.63 not a bad bounce back, some lads in the Soccer forum reckon Utd were available at 9's but highest trade on betfair was 4.5

Utd @9's a goal down! Thats utter rubbish

Yea I think the bet they meant was before the game, for united to go behind and win which is obviously different, still think 4.2 for Utd 1 down to Spurs was good value

Don't usually like backing the away team but Willem II v Feyenoord, Feyenoord win €5 @ 1.74

Ciudad Juarez v Toluca, Toluca win €2 at 2.3

• Registered Users Posts: 39,547 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Yea I think the bet they meant was before the game, for united to go behind and win

Thats what the 9/1 bet was alright. Had a bit of it myself

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 20,862 Mod ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Don't usually like backing the away team but Willem II v Feyenoord, Feyenoord win €5 @ 1.74

I hope you win :D

Last 3 seasons: 2 losses and a draw....

Feyenoord did indeed win 2-3, and Toluca won 0-1 as well so back in business bank 148.61, had 2 euro on non soccer event

Valladolid v Valencia
    Valencia win €5 at 2.14

In Play €5 Everton win @1.41, currently 0-1 to Everton

Went chasing my losses and had Fulham in play win so broke even on that bet. Come on Valencia

Valenica won 2-4 happy days, thought for a while though might be a loss for the weeekend after Charlton and Rotherham let us down yesterday but a profit of 11.39 in total. Bank is 154.26 with no bets in play.

(Bet €2 on Harrington, really should stick to soccer.)

This weekend:
    Soccer / Valladolid v Valencia : Match Odds 13-Sep-09 18:00 13-Sep-09 19:53 5.41
    Soccer / Fulham v Everton : Match Odds 13-Sep-09 16:15 13-Sep-09 18:09 0.24
    Soccer / Willem II v Feyenoord : Match Odds 13-Sep-09 11:30 13-Sep-09 13:21 3.51
    Soccer / Ciudad Juarez v Toluca : Match Odds 13-Sep-09 01:00 13-Sep-09 02:55 2.47
    Soccer / Tottenham v Man Utd : Match Odds 12-Sep-09 17:30 12-Sep-09 19:25 12.16
    Soccer / Rotherham v Morecambe : Match Odds 12-Sep-09 15:00 12-Sep-09 17:15 -10.00
    Soccer / Charlton v Southampton : Match Odds 12-Sep-09 15:00 12-Sep-09 17:06 -10.00
    Soccer / Bournemouth v Lincoln : Match Odds 12-Sep-09 15:00 12-Sep-09 17:02 7.60

• Registered Users Posts: 19,193 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Valenica won 2-4 happy days, thought for a while though might be a loss for the weeekend after Charlton and Rotherham let us down yesterday but a profit of 11.39 in total. Bank is 154.26 with no bets in play.

(Bet €2 on Harrington, really should stick to soccer.)

This weekend:
    Soccer / Valladolid v Valencia : Match Odds 13-Sep-09 18:00 13-Sep-09 19:53 5.41
    Soccer / Fulham v Everton : Match Odds 13-Sep-09 16:15 13-Sep-09 18:09 0.24
    Soccer / Willem II v Feyenoord : Match Odds 13-Sep-09 11:30 13-Sep-09 13:21 3.51
    Soccer / Ciudad Juarez v Toluca : Match Odds 13-Sep-09 01:00 13-Sep-09 02:55 2.47
    Soccer / Tottenham v Man Utd : Match Odds 12-Sep-09 17:30 12-Sep-09 19:25 12.16
    Soccer / Rotherham v Morecambe : Match Odds 12-Sep-09 15:00 12-Sep-09 17:15 -10.00
    Soccer / Charlton v Southampton : Match Odds 12-Sep-09 15:00 12-Sep-09 17:06 -10.00
    Soccer / Bournemouth v Lincoln : Match Odds 12-Sep-09 15:00 12-Sep-09 17:02 7.60

Villian, i too am going to start at €10 and follow your bets if that is ok with you?

Tis just looks like fun and even if i lose it all after a few weeks, it seems like €10 well spent on the interest i will have in it (although mine will be with Boyles so different odds)

I will post results :D

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Villian, i too am going to start at €10 and follow your bets if that is ok with you?

Tis just looks like fun and even if i lose it all after a few weeks, it seems like €10 well spent on the interest i will have in it (although mine will be with Boyles so different odds)

I will post results :D
    No bother only thing is I don't always get to post my in play bets straight away and tbh in play is where you can make money or recover losses easier imo.

Take yesterday for example, I got Utd at 4.2 when Spurs scored other than that I would have been in a loss and also after I bet on Everton when they went 1 up I had to bet on Fulham to win to recover my bet when Fulham equalised.

But I'm only betting small money and it was only a €10 investment, also obviously the more games that are played the more form we have to study, most Spanish football teams have only played 2 games.

I'll post next bets soon, thinking of MK Dons but we'll have a look around

No bother only thing is I don't always get to post my in play bets straight away and tbh in play is where you can make money or recover losses easier imo.

Take yesterday for example, I got Utd at 4.2 when Spurs scored other than that I would have been in a loss and also after I bet on Everton when they went 1 up I had to bet on Fulham to win to recover my bet when Fulham equalised.

But I'm only betting small money and it was only a €10 investment, also obviously the more games that are played the more form we have to study, most Spanish football teams have only played 2 games.

I'll post next bets soon, thinking of MK Dons but we'll have a look around

I had money on Everton today too, feckers!

Ah well, i'll give it a go none the less

Ok few small bets at slighter better odds.

Randers v AaB AaB win €5 @ 2.36

MK Dons v Norwich - MK Dons Win Both Halves €2 @ 6.6

Ok few small bets at slighter better odds.

Randers v AaB AaB win €5 @ 2.36

MK Dons v Norwich - MK Dons Win Both Halves €2 @ 6.6

Sweet, since your bankroll is > x10 of mine, i will stake lower.

AaB win €2 @ 2.20

MK Dons win both halves €1 @ 3.50

(Man, Boyles suck for odds on football)

Nantes v Strasbourg

Nantes win @1.69 €5