Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Reserve Applicants-Introduce Yourself (see Moderator note in post#1)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

How long does all this take?

No two applicants are similar in terms of their application moving from one stage to the next. Their has never been any set time-frame or indeed any benchmark for people to compare against.

Some applicants seem to get processed faster than others. Several reasons given in the past include: number of relatives; number of relatives abroad; personal time spent abroad either living or working or both; number of people employed to carry out the checks for each reserve applicant.

I'd like to give you a definite time-frame TheCityManager but being honest with you, unfortunately their is none.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭kensey

kerry4sam wrote: »
    No two applicants are similar in terms of their application moving from one stage to the next. Their has never been any set time-frame or indeed any benchmark for people to compare against.

Some applicants seem to get processed faster than others. Several reasons given in the past include: number of relatives; number of relatives abroad; personal time spent abroad either living or working or both; number of people employed to carry out the checks for each reserve applicant.

I'd like to give you a definite time-frame TheCityManager but being honest with you, unfortunately their is none.

Like kerry4sam said, there are no decimate answers but it shouldn't take too long, the fact they recruit on an ongoing basis means that applications are constantly being reviewed. From the time I applied to the time I started my training was a little over a year. A vague answer I know but hope it helps somehow.
    Count your lucky stars it's not at long as full time application process!

PS - Congrats to kerry4sam On your recent moderator status!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 clare33

Moderator Message:
    Welcome to all our new posters and new applicants :)

Are their any updates by people who have posted in here?

If anyone needs to or wants to have their posts amended and/or updated but find they can't, just PM me and I'll update your posts no bother.
    cong well deserved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭Loopie

Hello everyone,

Just a quick update - as it stands, BR form gone to HQ, had a call to arrange super interview for next week, BUT I'll be on hols!! Argh... I've to rearrange for a couple of weeks time when I'm back.

kerry4sam - well done on the Mod position!

Loopie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 up the cats

Hi All,

just a quick update. Had meeting in local Garda staion yesterday which went very well. Quite sraight foward browsed through application form to confirm details and a few extra questions. I was informed that process won't take much longer but I'll wait and see as some of ye have been waiting a while....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭scullersky

Thats good news... About the wait, everyones case is diffferent it all depends how long the vetting can take which is from 2 months to 2yrs.

All the best with the rest of the process,

Tommy-Kerry.:cool:

Hi All,

just a quick update. Had meeting in local Garda staion yesterday which went very well. Quite sraight foward browsed through application form to confirm details and a few extra questions. I was informed that process won't take much longer but I'll wait and see as some of ye have been waiting a while....

Thats good news... About the wait, everyones case is diffferent it all depends how long the vetting can take which is from 2 months to 2yrs.

All the best with the rest of the process,

Tommy-Kerry.:cool:

I just want to correct something here: Tommy-Kerry with the best of intentions I am sure gave a time-frame of 2months to 2years but for the purpose of clarity I want to state that their is no set time-frames.

Some checks commence almost immediately after forms are submitted (subject to resources) and can go on for years, not specifically to 2years, it can go on longer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 780 ✭✭✭munster4868

I just want to correct something here: Tommy-Kerry with the best of intentions I am sure gave a time-frame of 2months to 2years but for the purpose of clarity I want to state that their is no set time-frames.

Some checks commence almost immediately after forms are submitted (subject to resources) and can go on for years, not specifically to 2years, it can go on longer.

Sorry to correct a correction but you a nearly there on been correct for the time frame but if you have relatives living aboard the Backround checks for those persons has to be sent to their local Police station in that country, so, if you have loads of relatives living aboard in different countries, then all those Backround check requests has to be sent out to all those different police stations in those counties and than collated on their return. This is what causes the most % in the delays in getting the form processed. Yes you do get the odd form been left on the desk in your local but as said, the relative checks on the ones that are aboard hold this up mostly. Hope that helps!

thorough reply here, cheers :)

Cheers Tommy,

My Wife has a couple of relatives in England so yes a bit concerned that this may delay the process. Other than that all my own are safely tucked away in Kilkenny and herselfs in Meath so hoping it won't be to long. Process has been fairly quick so far for me biggest concern is the medical , eye test, I wear glasses but i did attend an optician a few weeks ago before I handed in BR just to see if I met the required standard and was told I barely scraped it. They didn't charge me for the exam and helped reassure me some. Something i'd advise others to do if they have the same concern which may give you the oppertunity to do something about it before medical.

Hi again,

Just checking in with an update - I have an interview with the Super in my local station tomorrow. Happy days! I'll let you know how it goes!

Loopie

Loopie wrote: »
    Hi again,

Just checking in with an update - I have an interview with the Super in my local station tomorrow. Happy days! I'll let you know how it goes!

Loopie

Hope you enjoyed your holliers :), good luck tomorrow. I'm certain all will go well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 littlebubble25

Hi All:)

Thought I'd join in if thats alrigh...
    Put in my application about 6 weeks ago, haven't heard anything as of yet..would imagine I'll prob be waiting a while!

Quick question for all applicants or anyone who is currently a reserve, do you work full time during the day and if so how does being a reserve impact on that?

:):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Yogi Bear

Hi All:)

Thought I'd join in if thats alrigh...
    Put in my application about 6 weeks ago, haven't heard anything as of yet..would imagine I'll prob be waiting a while!

Quick question for all applicants or anyone who is currently a reserve, do you work full time during the day and if so how does being a reserve impact on that?

:):)

It doesn't affect you at all really. You work in the reserve when you are available. If you work 9 to 5.30 say, you might work on a Friday night or Saturday night or Saturday or Sunday during the day. If your off during the week you can work those times also.

Hi again,

Did the interview this afternoon. Went great, he was very nice, it wasn't formal or anything. I didn't suit and boot myself up, but went smartly dressed as my mother would say! :)

He didn't really ask me too much, just pretty much went through the application form, asking my reasons for wanting to join.

To re-iterate everyones sentiments here...here's hoping it won't be too much longer!

Loopie

Hi All,

I received a phone call this morning requesting that I attend an interview on Tuesday coming with the super. I thought the interview I had last week (with sargent) was the only one, maybe i'm in trouble. Just wondering if anybody knows does this mean my BR has been completed. I remember reading a post at one stage saying super interview after Br clearance completed?

Thanks again.

Hi All,

I received a phone call this morning requesting that I attend an interview on Tuesday coming with the super. I thought the interview I had last week (with sargent) was the only one, maybe i'm in trouble. Just wondering if anybody knows does this mean my BR has been completed. I remember reading a post at one stage saying super interview after Br clearance completed?

Thanks again.

Hey, if you were in trouble I would give your local guards the respect of saying they would speak with you first and not direct you straight to your local Superintendent.

This meeting is pretty standard. It is normally a meeting with either Sergeant or Inspector first and then sometime after you will attend the meeting with your local Superintendent. Their have been times though when candidates have only had one meeting and not both, but both are the norm.

It will be along the same lines as your meeting with your Sergeant.
    It in no way means that you checks have been complete though. You could ask if they know how checks are coming along but I doubt they would have that information to hand at your meeting.
    Best of Luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

For your background checks with relatives living abroad, they only check Garda records afaik.

PULSE would be checked, and possibly any records not transferred to PULSE(unlikely).

You should be fine if you've never been in serious trouble or convicted of anything.

Mod Note:

As per title of thread, this thread is for Introductions of yourself and your updates on your applications.

Any more general queries about background checks or anything not relating to this thread won't be allowed in here and they will either be moved or deleted as appropriate.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭halfback5

hi guys I'm a good bit behind most of ye, waiting on interview at the moment, I'm expecting it shortly though.
    Pulls up chair :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 littlebubble25

Hey halfback5...
    I'm also waiting on interview:)...when did you send off your application?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 GRHopefull

Hi All,

I've read over many threads before deciding to join!!

I applied to GR 11/09
    Sent an e-mail 04/10 by PAS confirming my interest
    Eventually received date 07/10 for my Test
    Recevied reply from PAS 08/10 I passed and fill in BR form
    BR Form completed and stamped by local station 08/10
    Interview with local Sgt. in 08/10
    BR checks still being completed...... I understand can take up to 2years!!

Question : Does local Superintendent have a meeting before BR checks are completed or wait till same are completed before meeting?

got the magic letter this morning, have interview and report writing exercise on the 20th :eek:

Best of luck with your exam.......

Only advise I can give, be very mindful of the time allowed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭westcoastboy

Lads, as a Garda Reserve for 2 years now, i notice that people turn up and a lot leave after a year, even people with a lot of free time, so you go to all this trouble forms , medical etc, for what.
    The benefits are for me:
    it looks good on application forms for jobs, promotion.
    you are meeting new people, reserves and full timers.
    the €1,000 pays towards a holiday or part of it anyway...
    best of luck..

Hi lads,

I accept what Westcoastboy says about a lot of effort.......... going through it now...

Personally, I feel it is worth it,
    1. To prove to myself I can do it
    2. I've always wanted to join the full time force but economics dictate otherwise
    3. It's a very good in-sight into what full time members actually do.. also gives us an oppertunity to give back to community

If persons leave after a year that is their business.... I'm assuming as there are still reserves there over 2yrs it must be some reward
    (no disrespect intended at all).

If a member leaves af 1 year, I assume it's about reserves having limited powers. Surely joining reserves is nothing to do with power/power tripping (or is this the only reason anyone joins reserves to have power/power trip) rather than be a Garda presence (all be it a GR) and a bridge between local community and full time Guards!!

I don't think this is the forum to be discussing the above......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Sierra86

Hey,

New to this but have been reading this thread for awhile...got my letter this morning and have my interview and exam on the 20th..:eek: should be good though :cool:

Sierra86 wrote: »
    Hey,

New to this but have been reading this thread for awhile...got my letter this morning and have my interview and exam on the 20th..:eek: should be good though :cool:

I'm not the only one who got the letter this morning so :P

Lads, as a Garda Reserve for 2 years now, i notice that people turn up and a lot leave after a year, even people with a lot of free time, so you go to all this trouble forms , medical etc, for what.
    The benefits are for me:
    it looks good on application forms for jobs, promotion.
    you are meeting new people, reserves and full timers.
    the €1,000 pays towards a holiday or part of it anyway...
    best of luck..
    GRHopefull wrote: »
    Hi lads,

I accept what Westcoastboy says about a lot of effort.......... going through it now...
    I don't think this is the forum to be discussing the above......
    [

Sorry you dnt think that it is the appropriate place,

I think that GRHopefull means that that kind if info would be more suitable in this forum here as opposed to this introductory thread. (I've copied your post over into that thread)

If I am right, then GRHopefull, while I appreciate your assistance, please try not to moderate in the forum (back-seat modding is not permitted).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭lippy88

february 2010 applied to GR.
    april 2010 interview and exam.
    may 2010 received e-mail confirming my acceptence(i sent away my BR form 2 weeks later).
    september 2010 meeting with Super-All went good:)
    Can anybody tell me is there a way to track my BR Checking?? I have seen maybe 2 or 3 posts already in this forum regarding this aswel but none have been answered to!Thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Mc Jakester

Finally got word, Medical next month...all going well, Templemore February '11...Long wait 1 year 6 months....:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Nikkigirl

Hi all
    well im new here,
    im waiting on a call for the medical,

took exam in febuary10
    br form april10
    interview with sgt may10
    interview with inspt may10

so im pulling up a chiar.............

ps; also rang hq couple of weeks back backgrond checks still been done-but im hoping that im in next months medical!!
    crossin my fingers

got a letter in the post this morning to say I passed the interview and report writing:cool::cool: Was sure I was going to be let down by the report writing as I ran out of time and didnt get to finish it, thankfully I did a very good interview.

Now to fill out the BR form:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭snorlax

applied 24th June..interview on the 17th November..:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭robo008

I did the first interview/test in April this year, BR form in same month I had the Sgts. interview as I handed in the BR form as he was on desk at the time and had a moment spare, (wish i had known as I was just out of work still in snickers and a raggy t-shirt) Had the Supt. Interview wit an inspector, as the Supt. was on leave in early June. Still havnt heard anything regards a medical or even if I have passed these interviews! Would love to start in the reserves before next regular Garda recruitment comes round, which I have heard is this month?????? Anyone care to add any information on this many thanks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭rookie09

Did you try ringing HQ regarding the status of your application...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭robo008

No i havnt rang HQ, is there a number specifically for applications or do you just their general line?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭dentalnurse

when are the background checks done? is it when you've completed your interview? iv sent my application how long do ye reckon il be waiting before i hear anything>?

I'll give u my dates...

Oct 08 I applied
    feb 09 I did the written and interview
    April 09 I did the Sargent interview
    June 09 super interview and checks sent off
    oct 10 they called for me to fill in an exemption form as I don't have maths
    now.... Waiting for the comissioners to say YES!!!

did my test and interview today..just about finished the test in time (literally the last word!(..people were lovely and its was only 20minutes :)..the test was 45minutes and half the people didnt show up who were suppossed to be there..pity

sept 10 I applied
    october 10 I did the written and interview
    november sent off BR form
    now the big wait:(

Applied March 2009 and passed Medical November 2010 ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭rookie09

Well done! I done it yesterday and passed...roll on february:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭lehanemore

Excellent news Kerry!!!

well done

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Go kerry! Here's hoping you don't have too much longer to wait.

Excellent news, I'm delighted for ya!

sent in my BR form...I presume they contact you for the medical and meeting with the superintendent? thanks!

if i only have two UK addresses (the rest are irish) is it likely to speed up the process?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭Spartan09

Applied March 09, started training Feb 10, Attested Nov 10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 colmwills5

Hey Guys.
    Applied April 09
    Super interveiw Oct 09
    Medical 15 Dec 10
    Should Start training Either Feb 11 or Mar 11
    Can,t wait!! I've been waiting long enough.
    ROLL ON FEB 11:D

Applied March 2009
    TEMPLEMORE FEBRUARY 2011 HERE I COME :D