Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Starting a Phd - help

Options
  • 08-09-2009 2:48pm
    Registered Users Posts: 532 ✭✭✭

Hi,

I finished a Masters around a year ago but have been unable to find work since. I had always intended doing a Phd at some stage and the fact I have been unable to get a job has made the idea of doing it sooner rather than later more attractive.

However, everywhere I look I am getting different information so I was hoping to get some advice. I have a few areas I am interested in and would like to research. At the moment I don't have a specific topic or question. Should I work on getting a topic together myself and then speak to someone, more than likely a lecturer I had for degree/masters or should I go to them with a topic I'd like to explore and work out a question together?

Also, on the topic of funding, should I try to arrange this before contacting the college or should I see if the idea is a goer before looking into funding?

The whole thing is a little daunting at the moment, so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Mesoscopic

My experience is in science so hopefully this applies.

Decide what you are interested in.
    Find a group that does this.
    Do some background on the work they are doing.
    Do some background on possible scholarships.

Now: Talk to the professor in that group.
    Suck up, impress him with your interest!
    See if they have some ideas for projects for you.
    If he likes you then you can design a strategy with the professor on how to get some scholarship money.