Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2009 - 2010 NHL Season Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Well my Blackhawks have held onto the Top Spot in ESPN and TSN's Power Rankings for the past six weeks. I would be very surprised to see how it plays out next week with the Hawks schedule.

The Hawks took out the Flames last night as Kipper stood on his head. These is something very wrong in Calgary at the moment. They are such a better team than their record.

Detroit has now moved into the 8th spot in the Western Conference.....and that's something that I just won't stand for !! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭StevoTG

Caps are looking very good, Ovechkin is playing some great hockey.
    Boston have been shocking lately. I've seen three of their games recently and they just haven't looked like winning a game. That said, they've been unlucky. The terrible high sticking call on Lucic against the Blue Jacket's in particular was a crushing blow. I felt so sorry for them on that one. Tied at 2-2 with 1:31 left, then that call was made, and they went on to lose 3-2.

LEAFS' BURKE TRADES SIX PLAYERS; ACQUIRES PHANEUF AND GIGUERE

Busy day in the NHL yesterday, with another rumoured trade (Olli Jokinnen going to the Rangers) on hold at the moment.

The leafs got a couple of good players in their deal, but I thought Stajan could become a big part of their team, so I'm sad to see him go.

I just wish the Rangers would get rid of that d!ck Sean Avery.

StevoTG wrote: »
    I just wish the Rangers would get rid of that d!ck Sean Avery.

Avery plays his role better than anyone else in the NHL.

I would also go on to say that Dion Phaneuf has not been the same player since that Avery incident....which is absolutely mind boggling when you think of it.

......and yes ....Avery is a dick regardless of what he is doing in life.

I know that Avery is good at what he does, it's more of a personal reason why I want him gone. I've only been into hockey for 3 years, and I'm not a real supporter of any team yet. NYR were the first team that I took an interest in and I know it sounds ridiculous but I just have a tough time rooting for a team with Avery in it.

I hope Phaneuf comes good for the Leafs. Would be a great asset if he can get back to form and maybe the move was just what he needed.

The Leafs (Leaves) are going to be screwed for a few seasons with the mess that they are dealing with. Burke is dumping salary by the bucket load at the moment, but does not have that much talent coming up through the system. He is going to try and 'buy' a team in the offseason, so he will be forced to overpay and then deal with those consequences.

Toronto is four or five seasons away from competing if everything goes right with this plan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

Only noticed this thread now. Its good to see that I'm not the only irish person into hockey.

Things are hotting up nicely now with the sprint to the mid season Olympic break. Washington and Ottawa are on fire and they play each other very soon as far as I'm aware.

My Sabres have had a great season to date but have been a bit off form over the last 10 games going just 3-5-2. Good opportunity tonight to get back on track against Carolina at home.

Early days yet but who are peoples predictions for the cup? San Jose, Chicago, Washington and Pittsburgh look like the best bets at the moment. Though its so hard to predict and theres always the chance of a cinderella story, such as the Oilers in 2006 making the final.

If Backstrom and Ovechkin are in form in the play-offs then I fancy the Caps for the cup.

Was reading a bit about Jaromir Jagr, who is apparently interested in returning to the NHL for the the 2010-11 season.. he'll be 38 by then, but as long as his wage demands aren't big then there would have to be teams who'd be happy to have him!

My fondest memories from starting to watch the NHL revolve around Jagr and Shanahan so I'd absolutely love to see Jagr back!

Saw Montreal @ Boston the other night, a shootout loss for the Bruins after a 2-2 draw. Boston were 2-0 up and conceeded twice in 39 seconds. They're just the perfect example of a team in freefall, everything goes wrong!
    Toronto is four or five seasons away from competing if everything goes right with this plan.

Do you think they'll stick with Burke for four more years without the play-offs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

Saw Montreal @ Boston the other night, a shootout loss for the Bruins after a 2-2 draw. Boston were 2-0 up and conceeded twice in 39 seconds. They're just the perfect example of a team in freefall, everything goes wrong!

After Buffalo's loss at home to Carolina last night, I'd be worried they are going the same direction as the Bruins. The last 3 games they have somehow managed to find a way to lose!

Senators 0-5 Leafs :eek: Great team performance! (extra credit to Giguere though)
    Wouldn't begrudge them the win after Burke lost his son Brendan in a car accident on Friday. The win is likely of little significance to him today.

Do you think they'll stick with Burke for four more years without the play-offs?

Four more years without the playoffs .....no.

They are going to have to show an improvement every season going forward.

I would expect them to make the playoffs at some point as a lower seed, but wouldn't expect them to go far in the playoffs.

They are a long way from becoming contenders.

Headshots are the post-Olympics buzz word.

Wisniewski just bout himself eight games for his blatant intent to injure Brent Seabrook on a boarding, charging, roughing, interference headshot the other night.

I've only seen two games since the olympics. I did see Ovechkin's boarding hit/shove that got him a ban though. Caught Vancouver's OT loss to the Red Wings. Was rooting for Vancouver but I'd like to see both teams in the playoffs.

Ovechkin got two games and Campbell may not play another game this year.

It's time the NHL added on the suspension after the injured player returns to the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 elprez

Hi Guys
    Does anyone out there know where I could get my hands on a washington caps jersey?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭Junior #8

Junior #8 wrote: »
    SO here we go again.......
    I'll tell yas now-
    East
    1.Philidelphia - Good signings always a good team
    2.Washington - In the cup shake-up if Ovie stays fit
    3.Boston - Not as good a season, but lessons learned
    4.Pittsburgh - Cup winners not enough depth to win division
    5.New Jersey - Never far away, rarely miss playoffs but weakened
    6.New York Rangers - Decent signings
    7.Montreal - Finally might get it together
    8.???? Toronto/buffalo/florida (ill make my mind up closer to season start)
    Dark Horse for Cup- NYR

West
    1.Detroit - Always top
    2.San José - Solid group but need to keep Thornton fit
    3.Calgary - Iginla leads the way
    4.Chicago - Won't top detroit in Central young and aspiring team
    5.Vancouver - Nice to resign Sedins, decent season with Luongo again
    6.Anaheim - Decent team with Getzlaf - Perry - Ryan
    7.Dallas - Get Turco over last year and should have decent run
    8. ????? Columbus/L.A./Edmonton (same as east)
    Dark Horse for Cup - Vancouver

A long time ago I guessed these results in the NHL Reg season, I know they pretty much decide themselves by common sense...but ive done fairly well.
    My two mistakes were anaheim and NYR, the ducks cant get solid goaltending, and the rags just plain suck....

Caps
    Pens
    Sabres
    Devils
    Sens
    Flyers
    Habs
    Bruins
    (ATL)-2
    (NYR)-4

Sharks
    Hawks
    Nuks
    Coyotes
    Preds
    Wings
    Kings
    Avs
    (CGY)-4

Anyone any idea where nashville came from?

Who do you think will surprise us in the first rd?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭Junior #8

elprez wrote: »
    Hi Guys
    Does anyone out there know where I could get my hands on a washington caps jersey?
    Oh and im pretty sure you can get them at the ice dome, if they have any left, ill find out tomorrow for ya

Saw NYR beat the Islanders 4-3 last night. It was great seeing them play without Avery, I could actually will them to win without feeling conflicted!

I'd like to see the Rangers and the Bruins in the play-offs but it's probably one or the other. The Rangers have a decent enough run-in but the Bruins are in position.

Montreal (7th - 82 pts) host Carolina next while the Flyers (6th - 82pts) go to the Islanders, you'd fancy both of them to win. Boston host Florida (8th - 82 pts) host Florida tonight. New York have a night off, and are 4 points off the playoffs.

Anyone fancy Rangers' chances at all? I don't really but I guess they'll be hoping one of the three teams will slip up.

Who do you think will surprise us in the first rd?

I guess the Red Wings are dangerous, and will be one of the lower ranked teams.

Anyone any idea where nashville came from?

Nashville is probably the best coached team in the NHL. Barry Trotz does not get enough credit for the job that he does in Musictown.

Strong overall physical team D with excellent goaltending. Pekka Rinne has really come into his own. They are strong 5 on 5 but have really poor special teams play.

With Calgary eliminating themselves last night with a loss to San Jose, all of the Western Conference teams have been decided. The seeds are still open with teams jockeying for postion with 2-3 games left in the season.

The Eastern Conference is in a similar situation with only Washington locked into the #1 seed as winners of the President's Trophy.

The seeds will not be set in stone until late Sunday evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Dublinproud

Awesome game last night with the Rangers/Flyers game going down to the wire!

Cruel though that one team got THAT close and ended up going home

Roll on the playoffs...Go Canucks and Sens! :)

Yeah, I was pretty sick when the Rangers lost the shootout but well done to the Flyers, they deserve to be in the playoffs.

Can't wait for the playoffs to get underway! Go Canucks and Bruins... and when they get knocked out, Caps and Red Wings :D

My Blackhawks missed out on securing the #1 seed in the Western Conference with an OT loss to the ERM on Sunday.

The Hawks now have the #2 seed and will open up against #7 Nashville.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭Shanannigan

first blood to canadiens.. sweeeeeet! one extra day on the playoff beard!

Tomas Plekanec put his money where his mouth is and Jaroslav Halak helped him deliver.

Great opening rounds so far, although I hated seeing Philadelphia and Vancouver win.

My Blackhawks open at home in a little over two hours against Nashville. I got off of work in 35 minutes and then it is a 40 mile race to find a seat at the bar to watch the game.

series level, but all's not lost.. that game went down to the wire

My Blackhawks came through pitching a shutout against Nashville last night to level the series at 1-1. Now it is off to Musictown to try and pick up two more games.

Another shutout for Niemi as the Blackhawks tie the series with Nashville 2-2.
    Philadelphia puts away New Jersey ending Kovalchuk's short lived career with the Devils.

Flyers, Sharks and Penguins are all at home waiting to see who they will play in the next round.

The Blackhakws absolutely STOLE that game from the Predators yesterday.

The Coyotes just forced a game seven with a 5-2 victory in Detroit.

The 'yotes just got their asses handed to them by the ERM.

San Jose v Detroit
    Chicago v Vancouver

The Eastern Conference is still waiting for the Washington v Montreal series to finish up this evening as Game Seven i slooming in DC.

my heart's in my mouth for the series decider this evening.. finally found a good stream to watch it online.. go habs go

Towards the end of the second period at the moment and the Habs are 1-0 up and on a powerplay. The Habs have frustrated the hell out of Washington and are looking in control at this stage.

Incredible 3rd period!! Habs win 2-1. Made it 2-0 with 4 mins to go but conceded about 90 seconds later and survived a 6 on 4 for the last 1:44. Both teams also had a goal chalked off in the 3rd period. I was rooting for the Caps but fair play to the Canadiens, they deserve the win. Shanannigan may have had a heart attack!

WOW.

The President's Trophy winning Caps just became the first #1 seed to ever lose a series after being up 3-1.

He didn't show up when it mattered most.

You can add the Olympics to that list as well.

Most explosive talent in the world at any given time, he just hasn't shown it in the biggest games of his career yet.

He didn't show up when it mattered most.

You can add the Olympics to that list as well.

Most explosive talent in the world at any given time, he just hasn't shown it in the biggest games of his career yet.

Can't argue with that. I really hope he gets to lift the Stanley cup during his career, he'd certainly be one of the greatest to never win the cup. There will certainly more big games for Alex to come good in in future.

The Canadiens won 3-1 in Pittsburgh to level the series at 1-1. Once again the Habs were outshot but were too solid in their defense and were clinical with their opportunities. Next game will be in Montreal and the place will no doubt be rocking. After quietening Ovechkin at crucial moments in the Washington series, the Canadiens gave Crosby a torrid time today. He looked extremely frustrated and was partly to blame for the third goal. It will be interesting to see how he responds in game 3. It should be a cracker!

Also, after the Canadiens went 3-1 up there was a nasty hit on Bergeron that could have taken him out of the game. Wasn't nice to see and it sealed the game as Montreal had a man advantage for the rest of the game.

Incredible 3rd period!! Habs win 2-1. Made it 2-0 with 4 mins to go but conceded about 90 seconds later and survived a 6 on 4 for the last 1:44. Both teams also had a goal chalked off in the 3rd period. I was rooting for the Caps but fair play to the Canadiens, they deserve the win. Shanannigan may have had a heart attack!

I'm still alive...
    but i was fretting towards the end... i just think that that second goal was crucial, cos then caps scored minutes later... it was a breathtaking finish to a great series.. and one that, if the habs progress further (fingers crossed), will be seen by them as the pivotal series of these playoffs.
    and they're one a piece against the pengs, so so far so good... they blocked lots of shots and it was a team effort for the caps series, but Jaro Halak is on fire right now too.. i saw in the between period interviews i think it was.. or maybe it was a quote one of the match commentators mentioned.. that Halak thrives on being busy in the net.

Can't argue with that. I really hope he gets to lift the Stanley cup during his career, he'd certainly be one of the greatest to never win the cup. There will certainly more big games for Alex to come good in in future.

I wouldn't start putting that sort of pressure on him yet. They had a spectacular regular season winning the Presidents Trophy walking away. He is going to get plenty of opportunities to go very deep in the playoffs in the future.

Let us not forget that he has only been in the league since the 2005-2006 season. He is still a 'pup' when you think about it.

Detroit are down 2-0 heading back to the Motor City ( I to call it H
    Town). It looks like San Jose is starting to shake off the ghosts of post-seasons-past.

My beloved Blackhawks were an absolute joke on Saturday night.

Here's hoping for a better showing tonight in the United Center.

The Blackhawks draw even with the Canucks after a 4-2 win last night in the UC. It's off to Vancouver for games 3 & 4.

Every game is followed with only one day off in this series. With the distances traveled and the number of games being played, there is very little time for either team to lick their wounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭cena

were are ye watching these games.

I've been watching on ESPN. Pittsburgh @ Montreal is on ESPN America (Channel 410 for me) at midnight and San Jose @ Detroit is on ESPN (Channel 407) at 00:30. If you don't have ESPN then you can usually get a stream on www.myp2p.eu :)

Detroit are down 3-0 !!

Ahhhh....somedays it's the little things that make me smile the most.

Boston up 3-0
    San Jose up 3-0
    Pittsburg up 2-1
    Chicago up 2-1

Dustin Byfuglien absolutely owned (Luongo) the Canucks last night. Antti Niemi kept the Hawks in it early and the Canucks completely fell apart mentally in this game taking stupid penalties late.

I am expecting a penalty filled Game Four in Vancouver from all of the whining coming out of one of the locker rooms.