Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lisbon: Mícheál Martin destroys British eurosceptic on Pat Kenny

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭ei.sdraob

realismpol wrote: »
    Are we? I woudn't go far as to say dastardly. That would attribute some sort of intelligence. I mean our own taoiseach has admitted he didn't read the treaty in the first campaign despite urging a yes vote. woof woof!

our ministers sit on the EU Council alongside other ministers of other countries

there is no "unelected" elties

im sick of all this conspiracy crap born out of ignorance of how the EU works

@realismpol please name the 3 main bodies of EU and their jobs

im not taking crap from anyone who is incapable and unwilling to learn how the EU works, and then goes around and tells people how to vote

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

yep heard that interview/debate... Martin was impressive, put the saddle on the guy and rode him to death(metaphorically of course).

Kenny wasn't exactly impartial on the time given to each guy.

Martin just kept talking and wiped poor Nigel out.
    Yes unfortunately this is where Mairtin looks good. Arguing against people who clearly are just an embarrassment against the no campaign.This is a non issue really and again another attempt to sell treaty by tying one fringe element in with entire no campaign. Higgins as with Coir made the point of ignoring your friend "Nigel" for exact reason.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

nesf wrote: »
    That would be because the only mainstream political party calling for a No is Sinn Fein and they haven't been to the forefront of the No campaign for some reason. That leaves the less appealing groups as the only options to put in front of the camera. Though with Libertas back that'll change.

Are you implying that Libertas is not a less appealing group? I'd be hard pressed to declare a preference between Declan Ganley and Richard Greene.

Yes unfortunately this is where Mairtin looks good. Arguing against people who clearly are just an embarrassment against the no campaign.This is a non issue really and again another attempt to sell treaty by tying one fringe element in with entire no campaign. Higgins as with Coir made the point of ignoring your friend "Nigel" for exact reason.

who would you put forward as a "spokesperson for the NO side"

• Registered Users Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Are we? I woudn't go far as to say dastardly. That would attribute some sort of intelligence. I mean our own taoiseach has admitted he didn't read the treaty in the first campaign despite urging a yes vote. woof woof!
    You've not answered anything I asked.

In what way is the EU undemocratic? We elect officials to it after all.
    ei.sdraob wrote: »

Someone who doesn't understand the treaty, but is against the EU because sure, Daniel O'Connell and the lads would have been against conscripting our aborted babies into a high corporate tax entity.

Higgins I think is someone most would agree with. Campaigned for rights of Turkish workers during the Gama dispute so he is someone who represents all workers and not just Irish workers.
    And by campaigning under his own umbrella, I think he is someone who sticks to his principles.
    I would also agree there are moderate voices on yes side too.

Higgins I think is someone most would agree with. Campaigned for rights of Turkish workers during the Gama dispute so he is someone who represents all workers and not just Irish workers.
    And by campaigning under his own umbrella, I think he is someone who sticks to his principles.

it be interesting to see himself alright (at least hes from Ireland), tho questions would be asked about him rewording the treaty to suit his agenda

and its ironic you bring up Turkish workers when FT gets all worked up in a parallel thread about Turkey joining the EU

it be interesting to see himself alright (at least hes from Ireland), tho questions would be asked about him rewording the treaty to suit his agenda

and its ironic you bring up Turkish workers when FT gets all worked up in a parallel thread about Turkey joining the EU
    Think it was explained that he mis placed a word re the charter. It was a textual error. And the guy who made the allegation has since agreed to join Higgins in a public debate.
    And sure FT doesnt speak for Higgins and visa versa Higgins for FT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Yeah maybe he didn't read it because he was there negotiating it in the first place.

Think it was explained that he mis placed a word re the charter. It was a textual error. And the guy who made the allegation has since agreed to join Higgins in a public debate.
    And sure FT doesnt speak for Higgins and visa versa Higgins for FT.

well what about all

"stop privatization"

posters himself/socialists have put up?

what does Lisbon have to do with Privatization? the word is not even in the treaty!

Higgins I think is someone most would agree with...

I doubt it, but they might find him less offensive than many other no campaigners.

I don't accept the implication that Higgins is a moderate.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,645 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Are you implying that Libertas is not a less appealing group? I'd be hard pressed to declare a preference between Declan Ganley and Richard Greene.

He's got more media savvy and is far more polished than him. They don't come across half as extremist as they actually are.

I doubt it, but they might find him less offensive than many other no campaigners.

I don't accept the implication that Higgins is a moderate.
    The fact that he is giving a voice to a section of workers who are exploited does not make him extreme either. Again was asked who would be acceptable voice for No and said Higgins.

He's got more media savvy and is far more polished than him. They don't come across half as extremist as they actually are.

I presume "He" is Ganley, and "him" is Greene. I agree that Ganley is polished. That makes him more dangerous to the yes side. I was, however, mildly heartened by his participation in Marion Finucane's programme this morning: he was confronted more robustly than was typical of the last campaign, and it unsettled him.

The fact that he is giving a voice to a section of workers who are exploited does not make him extreme either. Again was asked who would be acceptable voice for No and said Higgins.

Higgins' politics aren't remotely mainstream though. He did an excellent job as a TD on the GAMA issue and others but he is a socialist in a country where the mainstream is decidedly centrist.

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭ronan001

i'm amazed that people are still in the no camp.

we have been given assurances that the european court will not and i emphasise not over ride our constitution. Why do people still think it will?

The amount of benefits the european union has brought to ireland, everyone one of us have benefited from europe if you've ever walked a street, drove a car, went to school or college, products you buy in shops, all sorts of standards in food and equipment and prices when buying things to protect all of us.

I accept that we could find things that do not work well, but i genuinely believe there are much more that are good than bad and this is the same with no or yes in lisbon. If we are seen to be interested in europe it continues to keep us in the 'gang' and business and employers will continue to come here.

Even NAMA, whether you agree with it or not, our governments money is only good because we have the backing of europe. If we didnt we would be in a worse position than Iceland. Imagine if we still had the pound, it would be worth less than toilet roll.

Another point, if people like the uk nationalist party, men and women who would have it back to the days of the british empire where there was no value on anyones life unless they were british, if these people are voting no, then please take a step back and ask yourself are you the same as them? do you want the same world as a uk nationalist? Please ask that, i hope the answer is that you are not the same as them and you would like to see europe and the world develop as it has been over the last 30 years.

We are lucky enough to be a citizen in arguebly the best continent the earth has too offer, from past mistakes that have been made and the lessons learned, we have a continent that has all manner of people living together quite successfully compared to the rest of the world. dont turn your back on it, it may not be 100% perfect but europe and a vote Yes really is the best option for ireland and the world.

Higgins' politics aren't remotely mainstream though. He did an excellent job as a TD on the GAMA issue and others but he is a socialist in a country where the mainstream is decidedly centrist.
    Well maybe mainstream in this country is not necessarily a good word given what is going on at the moment. The rich get richer, the poor get poorer. And certainly I would not judge Higgins because he attempts to look out for those less fortunate.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,155 ✭✭✭PopeBuckfastXVI

Well maybe mainstream in this country is not necessarily a good word given what is going on at the moment. The rich get richer, the poor get poorer. And certainly I would not judge Higgins because he attempts to look out for those less fortunate.

I would judge Higgins for being part of a political movement which seeks to move all private property to state ownership though...
    Well in the case of a few developers that wouldn't be a bad idea. How ludicrous is it they can move their properties into the names of their spouses to stop it being repossessed.

This comment about the rich get richer and the poor get poorer.

Examine it, these people who you call the poor, what is stopping them from becoming rich or even comfortable, its themselves. Think of the many thousands of men and women in their 50's and 60 in this country. The would grew up here in the 1940's and 50's. Very few had money in this country then, but many many thousands of them have been able to get themselves out of poverty and have led very successful and wealthy lives. These 'poor' could do the same, there is nothing stopping them, it takes hard work and time, spending their life in a job and education.

This idea that the rich get richer? With the exception of a high rate interest, rich people do something for the money to 'get richer' and they entitled to do as they please with their money just as i or you would be if had money.

"rich get richer and poor get poorer" It just sounds like a lazy persons way of saying i should have lots of money for doing nothing.

Well in the case of a few developers that wouldn't be a bad idea. How ludicrous is it they can move their properties into the names of their spouses to stop it being repossessed.

That doesn't work. If they put up their home as collateral, moving it into the name of your spouse doesn't get around that. Otherwise banks would never be able to claim what's legally owed to them.

I seen eddie hobbs is blogging that they are doing this in an attempt to make it difficult for NAMA? No idea if its true.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,155 ✭✭✭PopeBuckfastXVI

Seizing assets to pay for loan defaults isn't even on the same planet as seizing privately held, honestly earned property to redistribute to the 'working classes'.

ronan001 wrote: »
    I seen eddie hobbs is blogging that they are doing this in an attempt to make it difficult for NAMA? No idea if its true.

No idea, what I do know is that if they had previously put their homes up as collateral then their wives would have had to sign off on it, making moving the property into their names a no-win situation since the bank could still claim it if they defaulted on loans.

If they hadn't put their homes up as collateral previously then I don't know what the situation would be unless they were running a non-limited company business which surely would have been very unlikely.