Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Legalising cannibas to cure the resession?

• 10-09-2009 11:42am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭

I am a stoner a few years now... I work full time... I go to college part time.. and instead of going home to a glass of wine I like to have a joint... Im not hurting anybody... my heath is not noticably affected...

Everyday few days I have to buy stuff.. I can get it quicker then a pizza... there is only one or 2 days a year maybe that I have a problem gettin my hands on some...

Would it not be a better idea for the government to open their eyes & stop brushing the problem under the carpet... like last week they got something like 500kg in a raid... I can still get some not a problem... the country is flooded with it & all the efforts from the garda aren't going to make a difference... its the same in every country...

I spend about 200 quid a month on it & to be honest it doens't bother me because I don't drink much... if 200,000 people spend that a month thats 40million per month going into the economy rather then in offshore bank accounts belonging to criminals....

I am a young adult & nearly everyone I associate with smoke it... whether its in work.. college & friends in general... people have smoked it for years & its not going to stop EVER

In 2006... Dublin was the 11th most visited city in the world (can't imagine why) but would it not be great for our economy to legalise it... it could be the 2nd Amsterdam...
    And for all of you that think Amsterdam is a kip... your right it is but its no different from Dublin City!

Just want to know how everyone feels about the situation!

If legalising cannibis would cure the ression what would you vote? 270 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 270 votes

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

chachabinx wrote: »
    the country is flooded with it
    No it's not, your lucky to have such a steady supply.
    And for all of you that think Amsterdam is a kip... your right it is but its no different from Dublin City!
    Amsterdam is not a kip it's a wonderful city in every way.

• Registered Users Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Hauk

I agree with you completely.

I love working out the VAT on cannabis seizures that Customs and Excise declare as worth x million euro.

Eight million euro seizure yesterday.

If it's €8million, then VAT at 21.5% = €1,720,000.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

as much as i agree with you, it aint gonna happen. the government will never admit that they're wrong. theres also still a generation in this country that see no difference between weed and heroin, an illegal drug is one that kills, full stop. its been brainwashed into them, and they wont be told otherwise.

give it about 20-30 years and you may see some progress, but it'll be slow.

on a related topic:

* News
    * World news

Mexico and Argentina move towards decriminalising drugs

In a backlash against the US 'war on drugs', Latin America turns to a more liberal policy

Comments (97)
    * Buzz up!
    * Digg it

* Rory Carroll in Caracas, Jo Tuckman in Mexico and Tom Phillips in Rio de Janeiro
    * guardian.co.uk, Monday 31 August 2009 14.07 BST
    * Article history

Argentina and Mexico have taken significant steps towards decriminalising drugs amid a growing Latin American backlash against the US-sponsored "war on drugs".

Argentina's supreme court has ruled it unconstitutional to punish people for using marijuana for personal consumption, an eagerly awaited judgment that gave the government the green light to push for further liberalisation.

It followed Mexico's decision to stop prosecuting people for possession of relatively small quantities of marijuana, cocaine, heroin and other drugs. Instead, they will be referred to clinics and treated as patients, not criminals.

Brazil and Ecuador are also considering partial decriminalisation as part of a regional swing away from a decades-old policy of crackdowns still favoured by Washington.

"The tide is clearly turning. The 'war on drugs' strategy has failed," Fernando Henrique Cardoso, a former Brazilian president, told the Guardian. Earlier this year, he and two former presidents of Colombia and Mexico published a landmark report calling for a new departure.

"The report of the Latin American Commission on Drugs and Democracy has certainly helped to open up the debate about more humane and efficient policies. But, most of all, the facts are speaking by themselves," said Cardoso.

Reform campaigners have long argued that criminalisation enriched drug cartels, fuelled savage turf wars, corrupted state institutions and filled prisons with addicts who presented no real threat to society.

The US used its considerable influence to keep Latin America and the UN wedded to hardline policies which kept the focus on interdictions and jail sentences for consumers as well as dealers. The "war" was first declared by the Nixon administration.

The economic and social cost, plus European moves towards liberalisation, have emboldened some Latin American states to try new approaches.

Argentina's supreme court, presented with a case about youths arrested with a few joints, ruled last week that such behaviour did not violate the constitution. "Each adult is free to make lifestyle decisions without the intervention of the state," it said.

The government, which favours decriminalisation, is expected to amend laws in light of the ruling. The court stressed, however, that it was not approving complete decriminalisation, a move that would be fiercely resisted by the Catholic church and other groups.

The previous week the government of Mexico, which has endured horrific drug-related violence, made it no longer an offence to possess 0.5g of cocaine (the equivalent of about four lines), 5g of marijuana (about four joints), 50mg of heroin and 40mg of methamphetamine.

Three years ago, Mexico backtracked on similar legislation after the initiative triggered howls of outrage in the US and predictions that Cancún and other resorts would become world centres of narcotics tourism.

Now, however, the authorities quietly say they need to free up resources and jail space for a military-led war on the drug cartels, even while publicly justifying that offensive to the Mexican public with the slogan "to stop the drugs reaching your children". They also argue corrupt police officers will be deterred from extorting money from drug users.

Washington did not protest against the announcement, which was kept deliberately low key. "They made no fanfare so as not to arouse the ire of the US," said Walter McKay, of the Mexico City-based Institute for Security and Democracy. "I predict that when the US sees its nightmare has not come true and that there is no narco-tourist boom it will come under more pressure to legalise or decriminalise."

Some US states have decriminalised the possession of small amounts of marijuana and the Obama administration has emphasised public health solutions to drug abuse, giving Latin America more breathing room, said Kasia Malinowska-Sempruch, director of the Global Drug Policy Programme. "My hope is that Latin America will be the next region, after most of Europe, where evidence and science will be the basis for policy-making."

Argentina and Mexico's moves may encourage other governments to follow suit. A new law has been mooted in Ecuador, where President Rafael Correa last year pardoned 1,500 "mules" who had been sentenced to jail. His late father was a convicted mule.

Brazil's supreme court, as well as elements in Congress and the justice ministry, favour decriminalising possession of small quantities of drugs, said Maria Lúcia Karam, a former judge who has joined the advocacy group Law Enforcement Against Prohibition.

She welcomed the moves towards decriminalisation but said repression remained a cornerstone of drug policy. "Unfortunately the 'war on drugs' mentality is still the dominant policy approach in Latin America. The only way to reduce violence in Mexico, Brazil or anywhere else is to legalise the production, supply and consumption of all drugs."

it could start here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

chachabinx wrote: »
    like last week they got something like 500kg in a raid...

They could simply sell that on the streets, every little helps...

• Registered Users Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Amsterdam is an incredible place, even if there was no vice tourism it'd still probably be the best city in Europe. The infrastructure & efficiency there is epic. They have mobile police stations that park up outside nightclubs etc to stop violence and other crime

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Hauk wrote: »

I love working out the VAT on cannabis seizures that Customs and Excise declare as worth x million euro.

Good point. Then you also have the income tax from the workers involved in the sale and distribution of the product. Rates from the licenced premises to sell the stuff, VAT on bills etc etc.

TheZohan wrote: »
    Good point. Then you also have the income tax from the workers involved in the sale and distribution of the product. Rates from the licenced premises to sell the stuff, VAT on bills etc etc.

Yup, and it would also free up Garda/Justice/Prison systems, which would allow them to deal with an over-crowded prison system, saves the Garda on the street piles of paperwork, and speeds up the court system for serious crimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭chachabinx

ScumLord wrote: »
    No it's not, your lucky to have such a steady supply.

Amsterdam is not a kip it's a wonderful city in every way.
    I agree completely I love Amsterday but I know that other people don't think too highly of it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

It will also cure Berry Berry, lungworm, cancer, the skuts, piles, lice, premature ejaculation, chlamydia, dengue fever,fatal familial insomnia, hookworm, kawasaki disease and acne.
    Erowid.com

Im all for it, why didnt someone think of this before;)

ok lets break this down:

700kg siezed. that 700000 grams

going rate for weed in my area is 3g fro 50 quid

700000 divide by 3 is approx 233333 bags

233333 x 50 = 11666650

hmmmm they kinda underestimated a bit..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭roneythetube

OP - you have spelt 'cannabis' incorrectly. Change it before some eejit comes on pointing out that misspelling is a symptom of cannabis use :rolleyes:

I agree that we have a choice. Continue to pour millions each day into a War on Drugs that has been failing for almost 40 years. Or legalise and normalise a medicinal herb that has been used by humans for thousands of years. simple really.

Prohibition never worked first time - not sure why some people think it may work now.:rolleyes:

grow your own

simples!

grow your own

simples!

yeah it is the way forward - but one should be able to grow a plant in the privacy of your home for personal use without penalty.

ok lets break this down:

700kg siezed. that 700000 grams

going rate for weed in my area is 3g fro 50 quid

700000 divide by 3 is approx 233333 bags

233333 x 50 = 11666650

hmmmm they kinda underestimated a bit..

I usually calculate it by the average prices in Amsterdam, which is about 8/9/10 euro per gram.

700000 x €9 = €6,300,000

€6,300,000 / 100 = €63000.

€63000 x 21.5 = €1,354,500

And that is straight to the government. :P

I usually calculate it by the average prices in Amsterdam, which is about 8/9/10 euro per gram.

700000 x €9 = €6,300,000

€6,300,000 / 100 = €63000.

€63000 x 21.5 = €1,354,500

And that is straight to the government. :P

Can you tell me how much tax the dutch government have taken from the sale of dope?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

It won't solve any problems at all.

What should be done is make it illegal to drink or smoke without a license. In order to get the license, people have to pay for it and attend a set of courses teaching them how to drink moderately, how to tell good drugs from bad ones, how to recognise when you're being ripped off by bars and how to search Boards.ie for threads about legalising cannabis so you don't unnecessarily start yet another one.

humanji wrote: »

What should be done is make it illegal to drink or smoke without a license. In order to get the license, people have to pay for it and attend a set of courses teaching them how to drink moderately, how to tell good drugs from bad ones, how to recognise when you're being ripped off by bars and how to search Boards.ie for threads about legalising cannabis so you don't unnecessarily start yet another one.

Send me your address, a lovely christmas card will be coming your way good brother....:pac:

yeah, but thats amsterdam....as long as its illegal here its more accurate to use irish "street prices"

what i want to know is, how did that guy expect to get 700kg through? whats that a ****ing bale of weed? i get paranoid carrying a stinky ounce ffs.

Can you tell me how much tax the dutch government have taken from the sale of dope?

The Dutch rate of VAT is 19%. I don't have the figures on the average annual sales(by weight) in Holland so I can't give a figure.
    yeah, but thats amsterdam....as long as its illegal here its more accurate to use irish "street prices"

what i want to know is, how did that guy expect to get 700kg through? whats that a ****ing bale of weed? i get paranoid carrying a stinky ounce ffs.

Ah my mistake. Yeah, I suppose you are right. I imagine moving 700KG would be a big logistical operation in itself. :D

Moves towards the taxation of MMJ (Medical marijuana) is currently happening in Oakland, California to try and make some money for wider society by taxing this popular herb and not simply hand the money to criminal gangs. If only the shower of wasters in charge of this country could show some balls and imagination for once and take a similar sensible step.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,072 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

OP - you have spelt 'cannabis' incorrectly. Change it before some eejit comes on pointing out that misspelling is a symptom of cannabis use :rolleyes:

I agree that we have a choice. Continue to pour millions each day into a War on Drugs that has been failing for almost 40 years. Or legalise and normalise a medicinal herb that has been used by humans for thousands of years. simple really.

Prohibition never worked first time - not sure why some people think it may work now.:rolleyes:

Isn't paranoia one of the symptoms of cannabis abuse?:P

ejmaztec wrote: »

possibly, but then dont abuse it..... :pac:

ejmaztec wrote: »
    No it's one of the main symptoms of a stupid law.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

Anything like this should be debated from the point of view of long term individual health and collective economic implications.

Smoking is not good for you, and smoking marijuana less so. Despite the consistent irony of middle class 'campaigners' effectively justifying their want of an easier supply through exchequer gains, and completely ignoring the real possibility of a burdened healthcare system through long-term smoking related physical and mental complications.

'Legalising cannabis to cure the recession'??

That has to be one of the stupidest things I have heard, even for AH

possibly, but then dont abuse it..... :pac:
    Ye see I don't get the paronoia thing... like I get paro as in I wouldn't leave my bag on the floor of my car incase someone broke my window or I'd lock my car when Im running into the shop but I don't think that everyones looking or talking about me...
    I get paro in a good way... it keeps me safe!

All my friends are the most easy going people in the world & we're never agro & agressive... just a bunch of stoned people with not a care in the world!

efla wrote: »
    Anything like this should be debated from the point of view of long term individual health and collective economic implications.

Smoking is not good for you, and smoking marijuana less so. Despite the consistent irony of middle class 'campaigners' effectively justifying their want of an easier supply through exchequer gains, and completely ignoring the real possibility of a burdened healthcare system through long-term smoking related physical and mental complications.

'Legalising cannabis to cure the recession'??

That has to be one of the stupidest things I have heard, even for AH
    Ok my point was that its everywhere anyway... most of this generation is smoking it on a daily basis so why not???? There is still going to be the same problem regarding healthcare whether its legal or not!

Also did you know that the scum that provides the drugs mix it with sand, diesel, petrol & old tyres & lord knows what else. So to me thats would cripple the healthcare system NOT clean weed & hash!

Below is the medical benifits.

Note the word partial:

Partial list of clinical applications
    "Victoria", the United States' first legal medical marijuana plant grown by The Wo/Men's Alliance for Medical Marijuana.[citation needed]

Medical cannabis specialist Tod H. Mikuriya recorded over 250 indications for medical cannabis,[10] as classified by the International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems (ICD-9).[11]

In a 2002 review of medical literature, medical cannabis was shown to have established effects in the treatment of nausea, vomiting, premenstrual syndrome, unintentional weight loss, and lack of appetite. Other "relatively well-confirmed" effects were in the treatment of "spasticity, painful conditions, especially neurogenic pain, movement disorders, asthma, [and] Glaucoma".[12]

Preliminary findings indicate that cannabis-based drugs could prove useful in treating inflammatory bowel disease (consisting of Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis),[13] migraines, fibromyalgia, and related conditions.[14]

Medical cannabis has also been found to relieve certain symptoms of multiple sclerosis[15] and spinal cord injuries[16][17][18] by exhibiting antispasmodic and muscle-relaxant properties as well as stimulating appetite. Clinical trials provide evidence that THC reduces motor and vocal tics of Tourette syndrome and related behavioral problems such as obsessive–compulsive disorders.[19][20]

Other studies have shown cannabis or cannabinoids to be useful in treating alcohol abuse,[21] attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD or AD/HD)[22][23] amyotrophic lateral sclerosis,[24][25][26] collagen-induced arthritis,[27] rheumatoid arthritis,[28] asthma,[29] atherosclerosis[30] bipolar disorder,[31][32] childhood mental disorders,[33] colorectal cancer,[34] depression,[35][36][37][38] diabetic retinopathy,[39][40] dystonia,[41][42] epilepsy,[43][44] digestive diseases,[45][46] gliomas,[47][48] hepatitis C,[49][50] Huntington's disease,[51] hypertension,[52][53] urinary incontinence,[54] leukemia,[55] skin tumors,[56] morning sickness,[57][58] methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA),[59][60] Parkinson's disease,[61] pruritus,[62][63] posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD),[64][65][66] sickle-cell disease,[67] and sleep apnea.[68]

• Registered Users Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

I would think that legalising weed would encourage more smokers, which would encourage more people to spend the night in smoking, rather than going to the pub. The tax they'd get off alcohol would be far higher than that they would get off weed, so I fail to see how it could cure the recession

efla wrote: »

Simple solution, don't smoke it, there are two other easy ways to take it, eating and vaporising. In a cafe setting vaporising would be the standard way of doing it. Cannabis is also an anticarcinogen some claim it cancels out the carcinogenic effects of smoking it.

Cannabis is simply not dangerous enough to be illegal.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

humanji wrote: »

Glad you're not running the country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Between the pub lobby and joe duffy callers, i can't imagine it ever being legalized to be honest.