Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Seriously - Will The Irish Public Please cop The Hell On!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

ScumLord wrote: »
    Sorry but I don't agree, people are out of work NOW, people are suffering NOW, people are even dyeing now. When it comes time to vote the other lot won't have been told, they won't have the motivation that our government would need to make the drastic changes needed. Voting is only half the battle the people who think they're in charge need a serious kick in the hole. They need to be told, we're in charge and all that matter is the public interest.

But is having a protest right now really going to change anything or get our elected representatives to act a different way? Possibly, if you got 200,000 people out onto the streets like in the monster meetings back in the day of the Liberator, I would be surprised if there was one tenth of this number out protesting. I think your idea is great and I too would love it to happen but I just think realistically the only way you can bring about change is through the ballot box. I think our politicians are so entrenched now that they will not budge. If you want a massive protest it requires organisation and sadly I do not see this. I would be more than happy to be proved wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Mrmoe wrote: »
    But is having a protest right now really going to change anything or get our elected representatives to act a different way? Possibly, if you got 200,000 people out onto the streets like in the monster meetings back in the day of the Liberator, I would be surprised if there was one tenth of this number out protesting. I think your idea is great and I too would love it to happen but I just think realistically the only way you can bring about change is through the ballot box. I think our politicians are so entrenched now that they will not budge. If you want a massive protest it requires organisation and sadly I do not see this. I would be more than happy to be proved wrong.
    Ya, The Irish government are experts at ignoring all kinds of public assembly and street protests. The problem I have with the ballot box is they'll say just about anything to get into power. No matter which side it is they'll pay lip service but do nothing. It would take a massive street protest to bring about change. Absolutely massive!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

kelle wrote: »
    Hmm, that may be true - only the Gardai are affected by all this too and may join in!

If it was to all kick off the Gardai will do their job or they'll be run out of their own one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

So who's going to protest outside the Dail tomorrow? I challenge someone hear who is complain to go start a hunger protest outside the Dail until a general election is called. It will start with one person but soon hundreds will you join in.

Who willing to to go first? I presume those who have expressed the strongest opinions here will be the most eager to volunteer.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Go and have a little protest of a Monday evening ...and keep at it ...every Monday ...that way the Berlin wall came down

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Monday_demonstrations_in_East_Germany

• Registered Users Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

Ya, The Irish government are experts at ignoring all kinds of public assembly and street protests. The problem I have with the ballot box is they'll say just about anything to get into power. No matter which side it is they'll pay lip service but do nothing. It would take a massive street protest to bring about change. Absolutely massive!

I think you are absolutely spot on but we will still need politicians afterwards. Who do we elect then? I honestly do not know myself. It is quite disheartening when you have absolutely no trust or confidence in any politician. If I had the power to introduce one piece of legislation then it would be to give power to people to recall an elected representative at any stage once a certain number of petition signatures were achieved.

Euro_Kraut wrote: »
    So who's going to protest outside the Dail tomorrow? I challenge someone hear who is complain to go start a hunger protest outside the Dail until a general election is called. It will start with one person but soon hundreds will you join in.
    Will there be refreshments?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

Will there be refreshments?

Sure. Sly hang sandwiches and a slug of TK lemonade when nobodies looking.

Euro_Kraut wrote: »
    Sure. Sly hang sandwiches and a slug of TK lemonade when nobodies looking.
    All this talk of hunger protests is making me hungry. I'm off to spar to buy wine and biscuits!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

If the NAMA is passed, I'll be the first one chained up outside the Dail, starving away. If anyone would like to join me or bring me some water...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Tellox wrote: »
    If the NAMA is passed, I'll be the first one chained up outside the Dail, starving away. If anyone would like to join me or bring me some water...

Seriously, if your willing to do that, let me know. I will join you.
    I mean it.
    I can't starve myself (due to a non-curable sick child) but protest along with you I will, in chains or not!

At my own cost, I'll hand out the self created leaflets of why the action is taking place.
    Won't be the first time I've done similar.

As it is, I'm currently constructing video and related information for a youtube channel set-up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭waitinforatrain

NOthing short of a national strike will get them to call a general election.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

Biggins wrote: »
    Seriously, if your willing to do that, let me know. I will join you.
    I mean it.
    I can't starve myself (due to a non-curable sick child) but protest along with you I will, in chains or not!

At my own cost, I'll hand out the self created leaflets of why the action is taking place.
    Won't be the first time I've done similar.

As it is, I'm currently constructing video and related information for a youtube channel set-up.

I'm deadly serious. Im in my early 20's, and in good health. I also have the constitutional right to protest - so thankfully, my job can't be taken from me, which would be my only major concern (most of my family are now redundant - which is my only commitment).

I'm sorry to hear about your child - but even if I'm the only one starving, a few people around to keep an eye on me and even to encourage others would get me through it.

• Registered Users Posts: 806 ✭✭✭bonzos

As a matter of interest, who are the TD's that agreed to the pay cut? I will assume Brian's Cowen and Lenihan are two of them. I think Enda Kenny is another. Anyone know the rest?
    Gilmore didnt take a cut as far as i know he "didnt get around to it yet"did you ever hear such BS....maybe JOD took a cut:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

The Taoiseach will be in Killarney from 11 to 1 on Saturday if any boardsie want to meet him. I will be meeting him myself.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

skelliser wrote: »
    i opened a new thread highlighting saturdays no to nama march
    Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    Wow that was closed fast. God forbid if you'd want to advertise a protest against the biggest robbery of the Irish State to date, it would warrant being posted on the busiest forum on boards.... :rolleyes:
    skelliser wrote: »
    if its put in the politics forum a lesser audience will see it plus the vast majority of posters there would be well aware of the protest anyway, so id just be wasting my time.
    AH is the best place for it. more will see it and go off and investigate a learn about nama and then make there minds up.

This is the most important decision this country has ever faced.

I think that THE little issue of irelands image and future economic solvency warrants a disscusion in AH

1. The thread was briefly locked while discussing what to do with it.
    2. The thread is now open on the politics forum
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055678416
    with an active redirect from AH which I bumped to take it to the top of AH before the move.
    3. It is best placed in the politics forum.
    4. If it's kept here or stickied it shows a mod bias the yes to NAMA people wouldn't be too happy about.
    5. If you have a problem with my moderation here then use helpdesk from now on. I have tried to PM everyone and anyone involved to explain the process and opened a discussion with all the mods on this. The thread is open on the politics forum. I just linked to it right there. Posting in AH just to reach a larger audience is contra-indicated. Please pm me for any clarification on this as I will not be entertaining any further discussion on that thread or it's fate on here.

OK. That's the mod bit over.

I'm not a goddamned economist and I don't know what's best for this country. I've heard "It's our only hope." I've heard "It'll sink the country forever."
    Every time somebody explains it to me I just think of all of those ads on TV asking you to "consolidate all your existing debts into one easy to pay loan".
    But what do I know. I'm an AH mod. I like puns and hating bono.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Unfortuantely the only alternative we have to to stage a huge protest that will shake the goverment. But that won't work because the goverment have proven in the past the protests are meaningless. Unless of course you stage a coup, but then we'll have to find a leader worthy to put in charge of the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 TAKAWAKA

IF THE GREEN,S HAVE THERE WAY WE WILL BE PAYING 20 EURO FOR A ****ING LITRE OF PETROL .FAGS WILL BE ILLEGAL AND WE WILL ALL GET THE JAIL FOR STEAM COMMING OFF OF OUR PISS.

• Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭shaca

Such a shower of money grabbing s**t talkers the lot of them. Trying to convince people they know what they are doing and to trust them. Look at their "centre of excellence" hospitals - my aunt started radium treatment this week, has to travel 2 hours to get there for 10 minute treatment. Can't take the bus there and doesn't drive so has to try and organise lifts 5 days a week for 7 weeks. (definately can't afford €600 for a taxi) Told today not to bother coming tomorrow cos the macine is broke. They are playing with our lifes here. How would they feel if it was a member of their family. I'm all for us getting us out on the streets in every major town and city in the country.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

netwhizkid wrote: »
    The Taoiseach will be in Killarney from 11 to 1 on Saturday if any boardsie want to meet him. I will be meeting him myself.

I can't make it but do me a favour yeah? Tie a good tight knot around his neck. I'll explain another time.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭dyl10

This thread has me riled up.
    Anyone know of any no-confidence marches coming up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 REAL LIFE HOOD

Nothing will be changed because the first thing the Irish do is look to emmigration. Other nations have more pride in their country and wouldn't tolerate this ****!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

What exactly are we to do biggins? We could have a protest... yet I bet it would do absolutely nothing... I am all for change, getting these pr1cks out of power and putting somebody/party in power that is not interested in running the country into the ground to benifit himself and his horsey friends, or his mate that's ceo of a major bank, etc etc. The government will more than likely ignore the 1-2 thousand people who would march on the dail. They would basically laugh, then make up some legislation that would make it illegal.

France does a great job of making themselves heard... riot. A mass riot in dublin city, ransack the dail and make a hames of the place. I would like to see that ;)

So what exactly can we do? I would love to run in the elections, but how the hell would you do that? I would go in with great intensions... but it just wouldn't work. Too many corrupt officials would oppose me. Too many powerful people would be against it. In their eyes, we do not matter... you see we do not invest heavily in what ever it is they own. We don't give them power. We are just pawns. It should be the other way around. They should be our bastard pawns.

So, I would also like to see some sort of body to keep the government in check. Oh but there would be some legislation installed to keep government officials and TD's from investigation etc etc.

Guys, our government don't care if we eat or not, they don't care about your sick children, they don't care about our tomorrows, they don't care about any one of us. We are not important to them, not in the slightest. So what exactly do we do? How do we remove them? How do we put somebody in power that will fight for us?

There are no political party that I would like to see in power. We get to pick from a bunch of scum, money grabbing, back stabbing corrupt bastards. Who's the best? Any one of them parties will do the same thing, maybe more stealthily than our current government, but they are only there for themselves, their family and their super rich friends.

Why is there an obese whore running our medical department? The overweight b1tch can't even look after her own health let alone 4.5 million people.

Who lets somebody that says "I will run this country as I see fit" on national television, actually run our country? Who put this fat turd in power? Oh yea, that other greedy bastard.

So what exactly are we going to do about it???

What is this about NAMA, it is an offence to lobby against it? How does that work? Who does this law protect?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

If Fine Gael get into government they will have to, completely ignore what their base of farmers, nurses, teachers etc want, in order to get the country back to making money from outside.

Does Enda Kenny have the balls to do that, **** no.

• Registered Users Posts: 168 ✭✭super_metroid

i voted against fianna fail the last 3 elections

fat lot of good that did

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Nolanger wrote: »
    We need a political party devoted to people instead of the environment.

This is the quote of the century! Yesterday I heard Green TD, John Sh1thead, talking about Irelands' number one problem. Fukkin' climate change.

A great insight into what's top of voters agenda!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

well Tellox wants to go on a hunger strike outside the dail.

I think for a mass protest say 150,000 people you will need to sit down and start with a plan and set a date, some saturday, the 26th of september or 3oct are the days imo
    like it or not your goin to need the unions on board. To get massive numbers you will need them.

if anyone is thinking of organising something pm me im definitly willinging to get involved.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

dyl10 wrote: »
    This thread has me riled up.
    Anyone know of any no-confidence marches coming up?

the only marches coming up are the nama ones, there is three i believe, this saturday, wednesday and next saturday

• Registered Users Posts: 206 ✭✭itsnotmyname

perhaps the socialists among us need to think of the greater good ???
    we're in a sh**H**E..........and harsh decisions are needed !
    Robbin Hood cant get ANYONE out of this 1 !!!!.........

• Registered Users Posts: 17,187 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Protesting isn't magically going to get answers/solutions. It'll take persistance.

Remember 120, 000 people marching in Dublin on Feb 21st? Result?

Wow, great jobs, one march.

The only way the government will start taking us seriously is if we arrange weekly marches, walk out of work etc etc until the government is forced to call a general election.