Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irishisms

• Registered Users Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

sure that's the way of it.

that's the way of what? f*ck off!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

"Show me that till I have a look at it" = Hand the said item to me so I can inspect it further.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

Acting the maggot = Playing around
    Ages = Long time
    Arseways = Complete mess
    Bad dose = Bad illness
    Bags/hames = Bad, messy job
    Banjaxed: Broken, useless, tired
    Chinwag: a chat
    Class: Great
    Cop on!: Don't be so stupid!
    Cod: to joke
    Cute hoor: Untrustworthy/Sly person
    Deadly: Cool/great
    Divil: Devil
    Dry ****e: Boring person
    Eat the head off: Attack verbally
    Fair play!: Well done!
    Gas: Funny
    Knackered: Very tired
    Queer hawk: Peculiar person
    Scab: A person who constantly borrows
    Shift: To make out, kiss
    Sound: Really nice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

yer man has a neck on him like a jockeys bollox.

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭legendal

'Sambo' ie a sandwich.
    Saying 'I'd murder...' for 'I'd love to eat...'

Sambo's a racist term for black people elsewhere. I read on Boards once a story about a Irishman working in a London office who said 'Jaysus, I could murder a sambo right now!' He was called to a disciplinary hearing.

'Messages' instead of groceries is another one. A woman was called to an IRA trial in the 60s, and when asked where she was she told the court she was 'only getting her messages'. The court probed her, asking what these messages were, and who told them to her.

Those Brits just don't understand :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,783 ✭✭✭KungPao

My faves are;

'Go on out of that'......which I think tranlates as 'I don't believe you'.

'Give over'......Stop?

And to the poster who said the Irish can pronounce 'about', well this is generally untrue.

The correct pronunciation is apparently like 'abaowwt'.....the Irish say this word way too flat......other examples are Out, House, Mouse etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

KungPao wrote: »
    My faves are;

'Go on out of that'......which I think tranlates as 'I don't believe you'.

'Give over'......Stop?

And to the poster who said the Irish can pronounce 'about', well this is generally untrue.

The correct pronunciation is apparently like 'abaowwt'.....the Irish say this word way too flat......other examples are Out, House, Mouse etc.

cummere yeww wityer toffee noazed bollix and f*ck off ourraavih.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,937 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

legendal wrote: »
    'Sambo' ie a sandwich.
    Saying 'I'd murder...' for 'I'd love to eat...'

Sambo's a racist term for black people elsewhere. I read on Boards once a story about a Irishman working in a London office who said 'Jaysus, I could murder a sambo right now!' He was called to a disciplinary hearing.

'Messages' instead of groceries is another one. A woman was called to an IRA trial in the 60s, and when asked where she was she told the court she was 'only getting her messages'. The court probed her, asking what these messages were, and who told them to her.

Those Brits just don't understand :D

irishisms are just another covert attempt to wreak revenge on the crown and their filthy language. although where do dublin shams get the 't' in cousin? or any word that ends in 'n' actually, it's not 'nt'
    spent ages explaining to a brit what a press was. 7 years in england and i got out without using the word cupboard. like cupboard makes any sense. it's a press. deal with it!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,783 ✭✭✭KungPao

Col MCFC wrote: »
    cummere yeww wityer toffee noazed bollix and f*ck off ourraavih.

Pardon me, my good man but I do not comprehend ones colloquialisms.

Be a dear and reiterate.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

www.slang.ie

This could keep this thread alive for decades.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

irishisms are just another covert attempt to wreak revenge on the crown and their filthy language. although where do dublin shams get the 't' in cousin? or any word that ends in 'n' actually, it's not 'nt'
    spent ages explaining to a brit what a press was. 7 years in england and i got out without using the word cupboard. like cupboard makes any sense. it's a press. deal with it!!

And press makes more sense?! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

On the phone
    "Come here to me - I'll let you go"
    Come? Go?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

"yer man is an awful gowl" ........what does that mean??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

My daughter who was brought up in london caused great amusement when she did not know what a hin (hen) was. This was talking about the hin not actually looking at the hen by the way.

The hin one might be more pronunciation though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Is this what your after

• Registered Users Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Hauk

My favourite one I love hearing is: "So I says to 'em says I". My granny + mother are always at that. "So I says to 'em says I: "I'm not paying that". And then they go off whispering.

And the other is "Tis".

A friend of mine has a great habit of winding up his granny(a proper Galway auld one) with:

"Tis."
    "Tisn't."
    "Tis."
    "TIS."
    "TISN'T. Tiisssnn't!"

:P

And another: "Sure ye wouldn't be well if ye were sick." :confused:

Remembered another: When somebody is buying something: "What's the damage on that?"

• Registered Users Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

KungPao wrote: »
    'Give over'......Stop?
    Thats defo not an Irishism. Its as British as the Queen herself.

Its only reading the thread I realise how many of the words and phrases mentioned that I use everyday!!

Anyway, the one very common everyday phrase that confused the life out of people in London when I lived there was "Giving out" as in "I was giving out to x about his bad performance" I was amazed when people didn't understand it as its such an normal thing to say in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

Using t instead of ed at the end of words 'I callt her'

• Registered Users Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Hrududu

Bold and Ignorant have different meanings here than they do elsewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

''you're a terrible one for..''

My German friend said he spent the first few months here feeling offended anytime he heard this. ''You're a terrible one for texting, snoring, worrying'' etc.

He always thought they were saying he was terrible at it rather than saying he did it quite often.

• Registered Users Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Jeanious

grenache wrote: »
    Thats defo not an Irishism. Its as British as the Queen herself.

...who, as it happens, is about as British as a pint of Krombacher!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭2 Espressi

I am, in my hole == I am not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭hoochio

philstar wrote: »
    "yer man is an awful gowl" ........what does that mean??

Around here it means a certain female body part!

'Well now?' is one that I tend to use a lot, as in 'how are you doing?'

• Registered Users Posts: 222 ✭✭Trankton

My favourite has to be when someone asks you to do something such as :

'Will you run over to the shop and get some bread??'

Answer : 'I will yeah!!' meaning NO...brilliant.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

"I'll do that now soon"

So, now or soon?

• Registered Users Posts: 444 ✭✭ZzubZzub

My English friend, and her mam both love how I would say "Will I" instead of "Shall I." eg- Will I grab the keys?

Press instead of cupboard, and use of the word "mammy" tickles them too :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

not a bother

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

me (to my south african house mate upstairs): "i'll throw that laptop upto you now"
    housemate (horrified): "don't throw it, you might damage it!"

Thought of another one.

When someone your expecting arrives at the house. "They're landed"