Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester City v Arsenal (Match Thread Warning #322)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Eboue :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Headshot wrote: »
    I wouldnt call tevez a big time player tbf

Lol hilarious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,680 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Melion wrote: »
    And i'm sure you felt the same last year :rolleyes:
    lol

did you see tevez last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

And i'm sure you felt the same last year :rolleyes:

I don't think headshot ever called tevez a big time player.

i dont know many united fans who ever did

4 goals in a season is not big time tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭CivilServant

Why didn't they bring on Rosicky earlier, they might of won the game..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

Adebayor with a 100% record!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Instant Karma

there could be massive portions of humble pie consumed next week :D

adebayor motm lol

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

rossie1977 wrote: »
    no robinho, no tevez, city do mean business this season

arsenal without arshavin look second rate, just like when he didn't play last season

ah come on !!

after your comments in this thread you could very well be right :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭CivilServant

Looking forward to it :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

This place could explode next week if Citeh win, it will be hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,014 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Calling Arsenal 2nd rate,did you just look at the score and decide that or something.They dominated most of the 2nd half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,680 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

just a pity moneybags tevez wont be playing next week ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Rosicky looked v good when he came on. Good result for Utd. might slow arsenal down a bit. should be good craic next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

This place could explode next week if Citeh win, it will be hilarious.

An explosion caused by flying pigs. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭newbie2

****ing Joke. Adebayor shouldn't even be on the pitch.
    And here's for those of you who think that Arsenal were outplayed:
    get_image.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

The jealousy and bitterness begins in earnest, most notably from Utd fans.:mad:

Could ye not just give credit where its due for a good performance?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,365 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

flahavaj wrote: »

i wouldn't want to play city in this form, i remember some utd fans couldn't wait to get liverpool at OT last year 3 days after the madrid match, we saw what happened there, better to play teams with low confidence

An explosion caused by flying pigs. ;)

I remember similar posts 17 months ago back when we were shite ;)

Fine,Arsenal played very well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Bandit12

Expected result for City. Arsenal really need to get some experienced players or they are in serious doubt of making that all important 4th spot this season..

how was it good?

an og, hammeried for the next 45 mins

score against the run of play

ade should have been sent of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,522 ✭✭✭dor83

A very entertaining game today, those saying Arsenal were 2nd rate need their eyes checked imo and I also think it would have been a very different result had Abebayor been sent off, which he should have been and hopefully they will use video evidence against him because it was very dangerous, imagine if he had caught Van Persie's eye. Good game though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Oh god, what have you done? They are going to freak out!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Gangsta

Arsenal didn't play particularly well but the 4-2 flatters City.

EDIT: Yes Adebayor should have been sent off. We'll see what the media has to say about it :rolleyes:

ntlbell wrote: »
    how was it good?

Spot on. We were simply awful. Didn't even deserve a point.

I thought Arsenal should have had a penalty for the Barry handball but would need to see it again to be sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

Any links to Adebayors celebration?

Xavi6 wrote: »

I think a draw would have been a fair result tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

fair play to City, great result.

the usual with Arsenal, big questions over how they'd react after the Utd game, and they failed. need to get their game back on track.

I'm glad to see this change in your thought process, the honesty is very refreshing

I find it's easier just to agree.

Anyhoo, 12 points from 12. That's all that matters.

I would imagine it's XX from 38 that matters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

how was it good?

Very harsh on City to be honest. They were superb on the break today and defended very well when they didn't have the ball. Really good workrate as well.

I would imagine it's XX from 38 that matters.

Nah we won't get ahead of ourselves. One win at a time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

Heres Adebayor's celebration for anyone who didn't see it.

I had a feeling City would edge this one but I didn't think it would be this emphatic. Credit to them for that but you can be sure it will be a different story a week from now.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Terrible result but it's not the end of the world (although it will be if Eduardo and Rosicky suffer recurrences of their injuries). Five attacking players out of the starting eleven was always going to make it tough, but the signs once we got a more typical looking Arsenal side on near the end were very promising. Shame Clichy had to have one of his suicidal defending days.

As for Adebayor... what a tulip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Good result for City, first test this season which I thought they would lose so fair dues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭carlop

Being a United fan, I think some of the reactions of other United fans are verging on the laughable.

City played some very good attacking football, as did Arsenal. Adebayor played well but acted the muppet. None of this is a novelty.

However, both teams were defensively a bit of a shambles. City were quite badly exposed, and looked unsure as to how to defend a lead, especially in the last 10 minutes when they could quite easily have let Arsenal back into it.

Arsenal have seen their good start to the season unravel, and may struggle to get over this setback, especially if the self-pity and sense of injustice that has been a weakness ever since we beat them 2-0 and ended their unbeaten run kicks in.

These are the positives I'm taking from what was an entertaining match, and who knows, perhaps the FA will remove the Adebayor threat for us before next week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭eddiehead

Did Ade run the length of the pitch to celebrate in front of the arsenal fans?

Fook me that's bad form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,326 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Podge2k7 wrote: »
    Heres Adebayor's celebration for anyone who didn't see it.

Just seen an interview on SSN,

Says he was sorry, but that you lose your sense of whats going on when you score,

Well done on him apologising, but to be fair he had a lot of time to think about what he was doing, running the length of the pitch, it was a very intentional looking run.

It was a very stupid thing to do, but i do understand the feelings, i wouldn't ban him for it, just issue a warning to him. I doubt the FA will hand out any ban either - he got a yellow anyways.

busted a gut, anyone else wouldve stuck a finger up fron the half way line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Adebayours celebration was poor form, which i dont think is a shock from him.

At the same time, there should be no action taken against him by the PL, unfortunately they have a history of stupid decisions with this kinda thing (Neville at OT a few seasons ago)

I would imagine the FA will give him a warning, perhaps a token fine. Doubt he will be punished beyond that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,326 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Arsene blaming lack of sharpness and tiredness on Arsenal's part.

He felt they were in control, and that there was more in it for them.

He doesn't want to asses Ade's performance, he is not his player, says his celebration was not of the biggest elegence, but that is also out of his control.

Not saying much to SSN's attempts to fish controversial statements from him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Bah, annoyed with the result but not the end of the world.

Arsenal had their chances but City took theirs. Have been backing Almunia for a good while now against the naysayers but beginning to have my doubts - he seems to have just stopped making big saves.

Ade will get banned for the stamp on RVP or at least he should do.

The guy is one of those players who plays for himself and today was a personal day for him. He played well but anyone watching the replay will see a deliberate stamp down on RVP after the ball had gone - so according to the amazing logic of refereeing, he goes on to score a goal and save one off the line against Arsenal but might be banned against utd - perfect!!!

9-2.jpg

10-3.jpg

11-1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

Great pictures there Xavi6............:D
    Really enjoyed watching the game today and particularly enjoyed reading some of the posts here today, some but not all;)
    But like you said Xavi, one game at a time and 12 from 4 seems to say that City are certainly going in the right direction!!!
    Ade was fantastic today in his playing ability, one minute a defender, next a goalie and then a striker.......fantastic and a great asset to City this season:)