Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Cardiff City V Newcastle United Match Thread

• 13-09-2009 12:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭

Live on Sky Sports 1.

Kick off: 2:05pm

Teams : TBA

Streams can be found here. (Post number 2)

Arguably our toughest fixture thus far in the Championship. Away from home makes it that little bit tougher but if we can stay composed and cut off all delivery to Chopra we should somewhat eliminate their goal threat.

I think we've got a bit more pace about us and a lot more quality than Cardiff in nearly all departments so I think a win is achievable but it'll be tough.

I'm looking forward to the match and am very confident that we can continue our unbeaten run in the Championship.

Howay the lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 613 ✭✭✭smog

another game on TV .. so much for lack of tv action :pac:

Glad for it though, hopefully its a good game we are going to need this decent start for later in the season i recon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

smog wrote: »
    another game on TV .. so much for lack of tv action :pac:

Glad for it though, hopefully its a good game we are going to need this decent start for later in the season i recon.

Great that we're on tv so much early on in the season. Will we get this much next season when we're back up in the Premier League? ;)

I agree with you smog that we will need this good start for later in the season. Injuries to key players are inevitable it seems so we need to keep winning and give ourselves a bit of breathing space at the top so that if players do get injured at least we could lose a game or two and still be on top.
    Hopefully it won't come to that.

Ranger and Lovenkrands up front perhaps today? Very impressed with Ranger's last performance against Leicester so hopefully he can do the same today.

GO ON THE TOON!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

TOON TOON!!!!

Decent enough start from us.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭CR 7

That_Guy wrote: »
    Live on Sky Sports 1.

Kick off: 2:05pm

Teams : TBA

Streams can be found here. (Post number 2)

Arguably our toughest fixture thus far in the Championship. Away from home makes it that little bit tougher but if we can stay composed and cut off all delivery to Chopra we should somewhat eliminate their goal threat.

I think we've got a bit more pace about us and a lot more quality than Cardiff in nearly all departments so I think a win is achievable but it'll be tough.

I'm looking forward to the match and am very confident that we can continue our unbeaten run in the Championship.

Howay the lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

:confused: Its correct.

R taylors delivery has been excellent so far, if he keeps that up we should get something from it

M5 wrote: »
    R taylors delivery has been excellent so far, if he keeps that up we should get something from it

Hopefully. We've bossed possession so far. Need a bit more quality in the final third though.

we have soooo much space in the center of the park

Great start :)

Cardiff already resorting to long ball tactics. :) Good sign. They must know they've no quality in midfield to get past ours.

:D:D:D Coloccini, Great header and great cross from Taylor.

Get in Colo!!!

Great goal .. .kept the pressure on!

Brilliant from colo, well deserved for the effort by him and the team

Fair play to Colo. Kept the move alive and got himself back into position to score the goal. Quality cross by Ryan Taylor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,792 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Imagine if 2 years ago you'd been told Fabricio Coloccini would be playing in the championship in 2009. Bizarre!

JPA wrote: »
    Imagine if 2 years ago you'd been told Fabricio Coloccini would be playing in the championship in 2009. Bizarre!

he may have found his level TBH

JPA wrote: »

If the odds were right I'd hop in my Delorian and have a piece of that.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭CR 7

Duff wrote: »
    :confused: Its correct.

Just wondering why it's at that specific time?

It's been all Cardiff at the moment since the goal. We need to regain possession and keep ourselves composed. Two let offs from us.

Seem to have stepped off the gas here, need to raise the intensity

M5 wrote: »
    Seem to have stepped off the gas here, need to raise the intensity

Another one for us should flatten Cardiff. Doesn't really help when we've only got one up front to aim at.

Cardif starting to get a hold on the game :(

Really impressed by Smiths work ethic so far this season. We seem to have lost composure since the goal.

We need half time. :( Saddens me to say it because we were on top for the first 20 mins and got the goal. Since then we've been hanging on. All Cardiff at the moment.

Was wondering how long it would take the commentators to mention how good a job Hughton has done so far at Newcastle.

heh .. Chris deserves it though

Aye that he does. Dangerous free kick before half time.

need to step it up for the second half, has been slack since the goal

Thank fcuk for half time. I wonder if Chris will shake it up a bit and stick Lovenkrands up front alongside Ranger with about half an hour to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,853 ✭✭✭Cake Man

So far so good lads, good to see players working for each other. Coping well with the pressure applied on us too. Keep it going lads! A second goal would kill Cardiff but must ensure that they don't get an equaliser.

Cake Man wrote: »
    So far so good lads, good to see players working for each other. Coping well with the pressure applied on us too. Keep it going lads! A second goal would kill Cardiff but must ensure that they don't get an equaliser.

which at 0-1 they are likely to get the more time goes by

True. But clean sheets in our last 4 games gives me some cause for optimism! :)

which at 0-1 they are likely to get the more time goes by

Well the later the game goes on the more Cardiff are likely to throw men forward for the equaliser and that's when we get them on the break.

We need two men up front though. Ranger can't do it by himself. Lovenkrands might come on for Nolan I'd say. He's been very very quiet.

A good early goal from us though would be fantastic. Would really dampen Cardiff's spirits.

Never thought I'd ever say this but I miss Ameobi up front.

Fcuk me we were cut wide open.

colo doesn't like people running at him .. much better when he is attacking the ball

Fcuk me we were cut wide open.

serious ball watching going on there, all three defenders got sucked in

If Cardiff can get an equaliser I don't see us finding a winning goal. We haven't created anything even worthy of a chance bar the goal.

Ranger looks extremely tired up there by himself. Sub needed soon I think.

If Cardiff can get an equaliser I don't see us finding a winning goal. We haven't created anything even worthy of a chance bar the goal.

Ranger looks extremely tired up there by himself. Sub needed soon I think.

Yeah we could do with freshening things up. Cardiff starting to turn the screw a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,246 ✭✭✭Esse85

Hows Barton playing?

we are way way way too deep here

Esse85 wrote: »
    Hows Barton playing?

not great

Smith you big con you. None of the ball. Lucky not to get carded for that. Cardiff playing very well.

Lucky corner for us. Now hopefully we can do something from it.

EDIT: Never mind.

well spotted ref :))

Esse85 wrote: »
    Hows Barton playing?

Quiet enough.

have we had an effort since we scored?

Guthrie off for Lovenkrands. Hopefully a bit more support for Ranger now.

Come on Lovenkrands