Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Super League Play-Offs

• 13-09-2009 6:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭

So the trials and tribulations of the regular season have finished, (for some teams that means one win in the last 12!!!!) and for the lucky 8 the Play Offs loom. Any preference who wins and any predictions? Any suggestions for a team with an outside chance, worth a tenner of my money.:confused:

Friday, 18 September 2009
    Leeds v Hull KR, Qualifying Play-off, 20:00

Saturday, 19 September 2009
    St Helens v Huddersfield, Qualifying Play-off, 18:00
    Wakefield v Catalans Dragons, Elimination Play-off, 20:00

Sunday, 20 September 2009
    Wigan v Castleford, Elimination Play-off, 19:00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

The question at the moment is will Huddersfield stutter and fall at these big occasions like the CC final. Ill expect Cas, Wakefield and Catalans to loose for sure, HKR have a decent chance they'v been quietly going about their business taking wins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

HKR are the not-so-dark horses for me. Leeds seem to be hitting form yet again at the business end of the season, and the Catalans, well who knows, very erratic, but can beat anyone on their day...

Leeds v Hull KR,

You'd expect this as a very straight forward match and for Leeds to win comfortably, it's very much the Man Utd vs Everton the heavy weight vs the most consistent average team in the league. But KR do have the results to back them up going into this match, maybe not so much the players but they know how to win. You look at their team and of course you ll single out the class of Briscoe who most people are saying is the best FB in the NH. For me though the lumbering Paul Cooke will decide whether they manage to beat Leeds or not. Now Cooke is probably the oddest player iv ever seen considering he looks nothing like a League player but hell does he know how to score from 5 meters out. He ain't going to make huge breaks from his own half but when KR are packing on Leeds line he ll be the difference on whether they score or not.

St Helens v Huddersfield,

Probably the most anticipated fixture and also the most interesting one. Saints. The question will be whether Long can play due to the sun or not, if not then the very talented Eastmond will find himself in his most important match so far for the Saints and there lies the problem. Eastmond is extremely talented but importantly he's a hot head, the Giants will target him and they know if they can just unsettle him it ll throw him off his game and he ll start giving away silly penalties. However if they lay off him and give him space he ll easily cut them apart.

For the Giants its a question of whether they learned anything from the CC final where they were beaten by a team playing final rugby. They need to adapt to the situation infront of them in this play off something they'v struggled all season long. They need to stay composed and not get carried away and for me at least that will depend on Lee Robinson. If Robinson decides to go on suicide runs across the pitch and throw ridiculous passes the whole team starts to follow suit. Hodgeson really needs to calm his side down and play smart rugby, once they get settled in the first 10 minutes then they can start their offloading game and if it works it should be enough to beat Saints.

Wakefield v Catalans Dragons,

Ill be looking to skies for this match as both teams rely heavily on the stars and moons being in line for them to preform well. Both Wakefield and Catalans have been guilty of fluctuated throughout the year, they can be brilliant on occasions and muck for others. For Wakefield it ll be a simple question on whether they can play at a high intensity, the same intensity that saw them really challenge Leeds at home. This means a high tempo game to run the massive Dragons pack around the field. If Brough has one of those days with the boots it may mean the difference of Wakefield winning or loosing.

Catalans probably the most inconsistent side in SL have the players to beat Wakefield but again it's more about them showing up on the day. In the pack they have probably some of the best players around and will get them going forward. The pressure then will fall on the shoulders of Birds and Bosch to get them going. Bosch particularly for me will be the difference of Catalans winning or loosing. With his giant array of tricks he can unlock even the best defences and Catalans will look to him with the subtlety of Bird to get them through Wakefield.

Wigan v Castleford,

This is a very straight forward match that Wigan should win easily, Cas are nothing special. They are a stubborn side to play against but they are limited. All eyes will be on try scoring maniac Sam Tomkin's, a young player with a cool head and nose for the try line, if he finds his game expect the Warriors to pile on the tries against Cas.

Fine summation Steve_o, except for the fact that reckon Leeds are going to have their work cut out big style on Friday night to beat KR. The pride of East Hull have dipped a bit on terms of form of late, but I think this could be a real humdinger of a game.

There's a little complacency here in Leeds re: this game (not I hasten to add among the team, who treated winning the minor prem last weekend as well, nothing at all.), with people already playing the final in their heads!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Should be a walkover tonight, KR getting no luck with injuries.

Horrible, horrible injury. Didn't see it at full speed and was lookin at his right knee, just saw the left leg giving way. Awful when this happens.

Two great tries so far. Would just about agree on benefit of the doubt for the KR try.

amacachi wrote: »
    Horrible, horrible injury. Didn't see it at full speed and was lookin at his right knee, just saw the left leg giving way. Awful when this happens.

Bloody awful, I'm sure I could hear the crack sat up in the north stand! Hard luck for Chev. Thought the final score didn't reflect KR's doggedness, but had Leeds been more clinical in the first twenty and stopped trying to score on EVERY play...well KR would have been on the way home to east Hull within the first 30.

toomevara wrote: »
    Fine summation Steve_o, except for the fact that reckon Leeds are going to have their work cut out big style on Friday night to beat KR. The pride of East Hull have dipped a bit on terms of form of late, but I think this could be a real humdinger of a game.

There's a little complacency here in Leeds re: this game (not I hasten to add among the team, who treated winning the minor prem last weekend as well, nothing at all.), with people already playing the final in their heads!
    Bloody awful, I'm sure I could hear the crack sat up in the north stand! Hard luck for Chev. Thought the final score didn't reflect KR's doggedness, but had Leeds been more clinical in the first twenty and stopped trying to score on EVERY play...well KR would have been on the way home to east Hull within the first 30.

Have more faith in your team Toom :p Was always going to be a victory bar a complete fluke.

Only had half an eye on it at full speed. Once I saw Senior's reaction and the crowd going quiet I knew something was up.

Final score reflected what it was in a way I thought. It was one of those games that once Leeds got a bit of a lead ya had to expect them to run through them.

They way Saints are playing they'll need next week off.

On a semi-related note I'm considering going to the SL final. Looking at about 60 for flights and 45 for a ticket, worth the bother?

Christ yeah, especially if its a leeds, Saints final...there's going to be massive fireworks at that game if it pans out. Could be an all time classic.

Well I'll have to book it soon enough for the cheap flights, will be praying for a Saints-Leeds final. :D What's Manchester like anyway? Planning to come back the following morning on an 8am flight, so need a pub with very late opening hours to keep me busy. :P

Poor poor start to the Wakefield-Catalans match, Catalans just turning it on now. The da has Wakey -4 as the last selection in an accy, so this is fun to watch. :P

Walkers leg break, horrible stuff.

Weekend of seriously entertaining rugby, not always the highest quality mind, but the play-off eliminations don't half add spice. Last nights Wigan/Cas game a case in point. Error strewn, a little bit on the, ahem, 'tasty' side (not helped by an appalling refereeing display by all three officials)but compelling stuff nevertheless.

You'd have to say on the strength of those games a Leeds/Saints final looks likely...but who knows...

So Cas and Wakey gone. Next weekend;

Giants V Dragons (25th sept KO 20:00)
    Hull KR V Wigan (26th Sept K0 17:30)..tasty prospect this one. Interesting to see what happens to Noble if he manages to make the finals and win the thing..will he still go to Crusaders?

I'm predicting Giants and KR to win...who'll Leeds choose for the semis? Be fascinating to see.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

Looking forward to the next weekends fixtures, hoping for a Hull KR win, just have an aversion to Wigan.

Think Huddersfield will be too strong for the Dragons, not sure Catalans will have the ooompf to last a whole game against the Giants.

I know Jon Wilkin isn't a fan of the new play-offs, but with no relegation it keeps the season live for virtually the whole season, with 2 games of regular season to go there was 10 teams still vying for a play off spot.

It seems a bit convoluted this year but that is only because its new. (OK, and a bit convoluted!!!!)

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/rugby_league/8237698.stm (a rundown of how the playoffs work this year)

What's Manchester like anyway?

To be honest amacachi, I dont know Manchester that well, been a few times for games, but usually just a smash and grab job. lots of pubs in the centre, usual suspects really, Irish bars UK chains etc....generally good craic, just keep your wits about you as you would anywhere, don't go near Moss Side and you should survive!:D

I won't be staying too long anyway, just want to find a club for the night. :P Should be a laugh anyway. :)

Catalans beat Hudders in a meh kinda of game, Giants pretty much bottled it at the business end of the season this year a bit of the Gloucester syndrome. Congratualtions to the Dragons they deserved it chances are they ll be picked by Leeds and hopefully thrash the Rhinos =P

I really hate Stevo but i had to laugh when he said there that Paleaaesina was winding up for a run, one run later and 4 bodies left in his wake he scores.

Now KR are coming back at Wigan who seem to have lost their heads, 18-16!

Clubcall time. Who does McClennan choose? Nightmare decision in my opinion, just gives ammunition to the opposition...Got to be the Catalans, no?

Can't see any other choice tbh.

Catalans it is.

Dragons Saints Final then :D

dooferoaks wrote: »
    Dragons Saints Final then :D

I'd have to say, much as I'd like to see Catalans achieve something, as I'm a huge evangelist for RL in France, on the strength of this weekends utterly dire Hudddersfield/Catalans encounter, it's extremely unlikely. One of the worst games I've seen all year, a pointless arm wrestle between two teams big on brawn but very short on anything resembling a brain....The amount of nonsense in the tackle was unbelievable, almost like watching a bleeding judo bout at points!

Catalans will be tough, and dare I say it a tad dirty. They'll play with that compressed midfield defence, try to strangle the ball, and stop Leeds getting it out wide. The difference between Leeds and Huddersfied though is that I reckon we've got the skill, talent and players to beak them down and get round them. Also Huddersfield's kicking game was appalling, leeds' is in a different class.

It'll be physical, and we'll probably have an injury list as long as Sean long's dreads afterwards, but I reckon we'll take them. I'll tell you what though, if I was Saints I'd be worried, Wigan are hitting some serious form. I reckon a Leeds/Wigan GF is a likely enough prospect!

I'll tell you what though, if I was Saints I'd be worried, Wigan are hitting some serious form. I reckon a Leeds/Wigan GF is a likely enough prospect!

Hope you are wrong, ANYONE but Wigan.

Super League Semis

Leeds and Catalans name unchanged sides for tomorrow eve's game (Sky Sports, Friday 8:00) while the Saints are hoping Long and Cunningham are on song against the currently red hot Warriors. (5:30, Saturday, Skysports). One of RL's greatest derbies, cannot wait.

Also, if you can, make sure you catch the Championship final between Barrow and Halifax on Sunday (again Sky are showing it at 5:30) This game's going to be a cracker, the standard in the C'ship this year has been amazing. Easily the best game I saw last weekend was the semi-final clash between Halifax and Featherstone. Don't miss it, going to be good...In particular watch for the Barrow centre ,no 4. Liam Harrison, who's been named in Ireland's Euro cup squad, a massively talented player and one for the future.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭SarahBM

What a cracking match!!!! Great performance from Maguire and Hall!!! Rhinos almost let the dragons back into it in the second half but won out in the end! The ref should have binned at least 2 dragons players. they got away with a lot in my opinion!

But Leeds won. Now we have to wait and see what happens between St.Helens and Wigan!!!

I want a Leeds St.Helens final!!!

Leeds can count themselves lucky, they played 5 minutes of high intensity rugby in that match grabbing the three tries but christ they were mediocre everywhere else. Come on Wigan tomorrow, Warriors for the title ;)

Tough, hard fought game as expected. Catalans were their normal cussed, difficult to break down selves, and as usual played at the edge of legality in the tackle for most of the time. How Elima managed to avoid a yellow is beyond me.

We did enough. I think after our 10 minute purple patch, concentration wandered and the Rhinos were fantasising about Manchester. Also you could visibly see the intensity level drop off, worried about injuries possibly...but against a well drilled outfit like the Dragons, you can't relax.

Thought (Danny) McGuire had a cracker and Peacock was immense, but worryingly Burrow had an anonymous game by his standards. Just glad we got out of it without any serious injury (bar possibly Webb)...

Roll on the GF.

Eastmond goes through Tomkins and puts Maeli in the corner brilliant start for Saints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭couerdelion

Got my tickets for the GF last night ( just a coincidence Leeds are going to be there). There will be a few of us Eagles going over to watch it and it should be a cracker. C'mon Wigan!

Excellent first 20 or so minutes of the match. Saints very lucky with their last try, the penalty in their own half (open to correction, saw nothing wrong) and the forward pass which was then knocked on by Wigan.

Hope the second half keeps this pace up somewhat at least. :)

Pacy start to the second half. Unreal Goalline defence so far from Wigan. Still fancy Saints by 14/16, think once there's more than a score in it Wigan's heads will go down.

So so close time after time, Wigan just can't get the last thing to go right.

Hope they score soon for a good finish. :)

What a ****in try!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭couerdelion

Two great games of Rugby League this weekend. I thought Wigan might just sneek it, but Saints defence was the determining factor in the end.

I turned over to watch the Leinster vs Munster match after and it seemed like they were playing in slow motion compared to the intensity I'd seen in the 'other code'.

Uncanny, I had exactly the same feeling....almost like they're running through treacle. And as for the skill level...it's like falling off a cliff. Two superb games this weekend and a final next week to die for. Impossible to call, It's either teams' to win. Cannot wait.

just a quick reminder folks, don't forget the Championship final today on Sky..Barrow V Halifax...5:15. Going to be good.

Im looking forward to the Grand Final now. Two great semis. Thought it was an absolutely brilliant try by the "Irishman" Richards yesterday, although try of the weekend IMO was the Donald kick to McGuire try.

Were the Warriors a bit unlucky with the call that Long had put their player in touch a good couple of seconds after the tackle looked complete? If a second effort going over the tryline is illegal, surely the same applies with second effort in a tackle?

Will Brian Noble still go to the Crusaders now they are in meltdown? Wigan are announcing their new coach next week I think (though I might be wrong), any rumours of who?

Were the Warriors a bit unlucky with the call that Long had put their player in touch a good couple of seconds after the tackle looked complete? If a second effort going over the tryline is illegal, surely the same applies with second effort in a tackle?

Not just that before one of the Saints tries they got a penalty in their own half for nothing, then there was a very forward pass, which was then knocked on by Wigan, putting the count back to nought, even though it should've been a penalty for Wigan.

just a quick reminder folks, don't forget the Championship final today on Sky..Barrow V Halifax...5:15. Going to be good.

Looking forward to the Champ. game, the Div 1 game was thoroughly enjoyable, thought Oldham might have won it. I think skys coverage on the Thursday has been great, god knows what crap I will have to watch on Thursdays now.

Will Brian Noble still go to the Crusaders now they are in meltdown? Wigan are announcing their new coach next week I think (though I might be wrong), any rumours of who?

The rumour here is the deal with the Crusaders is done, at least according to last weeks League Weekly. Apparently there's going to be a few high profile signings as well for next season. I guess with Noble at the helm, might be some hope....
    think skys coverage on the Thursday has been great, god knows what crap I will have to watch on Thursdays now.

Totally agree, and the standard this year in the C'ship has been brilliant. Some superb games.

Barrow Halifax game was a cracker, brilliant come back by the Raiders and great finish.

Enjoyed that game too,would either of them need much to be a success in the Super League?

Need to be Welsh :P

Cynical but true. A bigger Super league would keep their expansion plans on the rails (even more expansion further North with those crazy Cumbrians!!), and adjust fixture list so there isn't an increase in games, maybe even reduce a game or two (or 10 in Quins case!)

Just a quick update on Wigans new coach, Melbourne assistant coach has been approached and will probably take post.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/rugby_league/super_league/wigan/8290706.stm

Just a quick update on Wigans new coach, Melbourne assistant coach has been approached and will probably take post.

Shaun Edwards was approached but turned it down..