Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Besiktas JK vs. Manchester United [Tues]

• Registered Users Posts: 203 ✭✭Miap

Good man Evra

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,432 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

we need another goal, partially because my accumulator has 2-3 goals in this match ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭nicklauski

nuxxx wrote: »
    god mark lawrenson is such an annoying commentator, accent bugs me :(

He just bugs me!! The head of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

That_Guy wrote: »
    Lucky lucky United there.

great defending is not down to luck

you should know about that more than anyone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭anplaya

ooh that was close.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Who needs Carrick when we've got Scholes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,680 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

hard luck owen

FS owen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

great chance for Owen:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

good chance for owen

Owen you idiot! just cost me €30 :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Is that the Nihat that plays for the national team and used to be with Villareal? The camara isn't giving a close up of him. If it is the Nihat i'm thinking of he's class.

Pro. F wrote: »
    Is that the Nihat that plays for the national team and used to be with Villareal? The camara isn't giving a close up of him. If it is the Nihat i'm thinking of he's class.

yeah, he's not class anymore though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Should be United's game. Been very very poor though.

4-5-1 = the boring formation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

posts deleted, stay on topic

looks like 3 points in bag for united,how many mins injury time?

Cut the ball back FFS

Didnt he play with Real sociadad during the time Alonso was there? He played along side that big tall striker, cant remember his name though, anyways it is him

edit; game over :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

anplaya wrote: »
    looks like 3 points in bag for united,how many mins injury time?

3 mins. Final minute now.

Well done Neville.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

A win is a win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

Job done.

3 points. Terrible game. The result is all that matters at the end of it all.

game over,bit of a scare at the end with all the players piling forward,was it valencia who didnt release the ball to nani and lost it?

• Registered Users Posts: 203 ✭✭Miap

3 points in the bag but that was a boring game!! Good way to start the campaign but a lot needs to be done mainly bout valencias final ball it was brutal especially in the 2nd half!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

The Guardian summed that match up pretty nicely:
    Job done for Manchester United, who get three very important points. But I never, ever want to think aboiut this match ever again.

disgraceful performance by utd

personal and formation was well off tonight

fergie does really piss me off in europe some times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Didnt he play with Real sociadad during the time Alonso was there? He played along side that big tall striker, cant remember his name though, anyways it is him

Kovacevic was it???

Headshot wrote: »

especially against a team like bes there's nothing to fear don't know why he doesn't just go to get it over with quickly then rest who he needs if needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Far from disgraceful ffs..

it's all TV3's fault :mad:

only1stevo wrote: »

yes 3 points is great but mate that performance against a a very average bes side was disgrace

most of the players didn't bother showing up and playing Rooney as a lone striker is beyond me

only1stevo wrote: »

it was pretty damn disgraceful as far as champions league matches go

passing was terrible.

no pace.

final ball was awful

nani was terrible

carrick was terrible

velncia was terrible

rooney didn't get a sniff

formation was wrong.

i'm finding it very hard to find anything that wasn't disgraceful

Liam O wrote: »
    it's all TV3's fault :mad:

You only relise how Entertaining RTE is when you have to listen to lawrenson, cascarino and keown.

Good god.

Got the sound muted until the chelsea game comes on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

You only relise how Entertaining RTE is when you have to listen to lawrenson, cascarino and keown.

Good god.

Got the sound muted until the chelsea game comes on

Keown isnt bad tbf but he's the best tv3 have....

Yeah he did. Darko Kovacivic was the tall fella i think. Would have thought he would still be good enough to start for this crowd. Maybe he wasn't fit.

Disappointing game tonight. The formation has to be my real gripe. Not that i think 451 is always defensive but i don't like it when Rooney is up front on his own.

The biggest talking point is probably Rooney's tantrum. He was right to be a bit pissed off imo - battling away on his own all game and then when he goes off we go two up front.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

The biggest talking point is probably Rooney's tantrum. He was right to be a bit pissed off imo - battling away on his own all game and then when he goes off we go two up front.

Rooney would have known that was the game plan before the match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Nice few days in the sun for the lads, usual away European preformance.

3 points = all that matters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

RasTa wrote: »
    3 points = all that matters.

They did just enough to get the three points, by christ, some people want to be "entertained" in every match they watch.

The result trumps the performance every time. Every time.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,175 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Thanks you so much mister Scholes. Great goal, when it looked like nobody would score. Rooney needs one beside him, playing on his own is pointless. Owen looked sharp though, he beat 2 offside traps, and the linesman flagged both times.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Smegball

We played awful, but who cares 3 points on the board, I'm delighted to see we still have that ability to ground out a result after a limited performance!

Foster although forced to do very little was commanding and is slowly but surely playing himself into a permanent starter imo.

Evans was once again top class, for a CB of 21 years of age to have that assurance, composure and ability is very very promising indeed :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

ntlbell wrote: »
    i'm finding it very hard to find anything that wasn't disgraceful

A bit overkill lads. I would've taken a below par performance with 3 points, in one of the harder places to go on the opening night of the groups. Besiktas weren't terrific but they were pretty solid and didn't look like giving much away the entire game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭ScholesyIsGod

Poor enough display but the 3 points are what matter that was a hard place to go and get a result with the support they had behind them but they never looked like causing us too many problems bar a few half chances. Nobody really stood out tonight although Valencia had a lot of the ball but the quality of his crossing was really disappointing hopefully that improves as the season goes on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Smegball wrote: »
    Foster although forced to do very little was commanding and is slowly but surely playing himself into a permanent starter imo.

I dunno. He's had some good moments but that fumble is the reason I still have a mild stroke every time I see him coming to collect the ball..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,412 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Another dreadfully boring away performance in Europe by United.
    Par for the course,they havent had a decent attacking away performance in Europe for years.
    Ferguson is so afraid of losing that he sets up his team too defensively .
    I hate to say it but United away from home in Europe are painful to watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

Another dreadfully boring away performance in Europe by United.
    Par for the course,they havent had a decent attacking away performance in Europe for years.
    Ferguson is so afraid of losing that he sets up his team too defensively .
    I hate to say it but United away from home in Europe are painful to watch.

Arsenal at the Emirates in last year's semi-final?

Des wrote: »
    Rooney would have known that was the game plan before the match.
    Good point. Still frustrating for Rooney though.
    They did just enough to get the three points, by christ, some people want to be "entertained" in every match they watch.

Not every time. I wouldn't complain about the lack of entertainment tonight - Besiktas were never going to be a huge challenge and the game wasn't even that important when you put it in context. I do think it's reasonable to ask for style as well as results in general at United. That's not really an issue for a game like this though.

I think people giving out about the performance are more concerned about the lack of hunger from some players rather than the lack of entertainment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,852 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Hate to agree, but I strongly do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

The negativity on this thread has me baffled. Disgraceful performance? United went to one of the most hostile atmospheres in Europe, didn't hit top gear and yet still came away with all 3 points, managing to rest several players along the way. I fail to see the disgrace in that. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,852 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

The negativity on this thread has me baffled. Disgraceful performance? United went to one of the most hostile atmospheres in Europe, didn't hit top gear and yet still came away with all 3 points, managing to rest several players along the way. I fail to see the disgrace in that. :confused:

I agree, although it wasnt great to watch, and Carrick was awful again, United did very well. Nani and Valencia average and Rooney up front on his own didnt work, but it was solid enough. Evra and Evans were decent.