Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Rise and Fall of IWW

13»

whiplash,that song is awesome!

i for one am very gratefull for IWW being around,i was never at a wrestling show till 2006 (or 05?) till iww came to kilkenny.and i loved it,i was so happy to finally being able to see a wrestling show.since then i was at a few wwe shows but never was i able to get a oppurtunity to actually interact with wrestlers ,untill i went to a few more iww shows where i got to see guys such as balls and kid kash or eugene and rene dupree.to me that was amazing.

then i actually got the oppurtunity to learn how to wrestle which i fully appreciated.from there i got to go on a few road trips,(one ill always remember is sitting in the middle of the car with vito to my right and doug basham to my left, ribbing me the whole way).another time i got into the ring before a show in youghal just to do a few bumps and joel redman and big vito came into give me advice.

so whatever the bank balance of iww is , i will always be gratefull to iww for the oppurtunity to see westling and learn it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭RAMPAGE1

leggo wrote: »
    I don't get what you mean about them falling out with everyone they had dealings with? As I said, I still talk to people in respected companies who've had fond memories of their dealings with IwW (a lot of my work in radio involves me dealing with the same people I made contacts with through wrestling).

Bro your dedication to the cause is without question but you know well what I mean by falling out with People and it didn't mean you or Manson. There's not a person on this planet and possibly any other planet that could fall out with Manson. I could start a reasonably long list here of people who have worked for IWW who simply could no longer work with the promotion lets say to be politically correct and one of them was your top man for a long time and his name begins with S and he's possibly and ECW star now but I don't want to get into this to be honest but if you go down and list everybody that's worked for IWW for the last 5 years you may be surprised at what you see but I'm not going to speak for other people but you know everything that went down and I had first hand experience of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭Whiplash

Sirsok i have lost all respect for you!!
    Like Sirsok there i have to say i am too grateful to Iww. i trained there for a year give or take a few months i was out getting myself in shape. Thanks to Iww i got to learn to wrestle some what and i did get a chance to live out a dream of mine and have a wrestling match. My involvement in the last gym wars and in the battle royal remain one of my happiest and best memories. I cant comment on how Iww should or shouldnt be run.its not my place. I enjoyed my time there and helped promote two very successful shows around my local area back in november of last year. i am sad that the gym closed but it was one of those things that happen. Like sirsok i had the opertunity to meet some good guys,from kid kash to Dupree to Eugene. you can say what you want about simon rochford but i am thankful to him for having the school there so i could make a dream come true no matter if it was just being in a battle royal. I will not say i am pro iww or against iww. I see ppl keep bringing up the ring not arriving at the cork show. i wasnt around for those shows and by no means am i making excuses for anything. The ring didnt arrive because the van broke down. It wasnt a deliberate thing. it was just bad luck. i cant see how you can hold it against the company. fair enough fans were disappointed but it was just one of those things that could happen to anyone. Now i was only in iww for a hiccup and i cant comment on most of what leggo is discussing. I'm not here to say iww is great or it is the devil. i just wanted to tell ye that my experience was positive for the most part.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

What is Eamon D'Arcy up to these days? He was some legend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Gerard.C wrote: »
    What is Eamon D'Arcy up to these days? He was some legend

Was he the little fella that used pretend to be all embarrassed when they dragged him into the ring to do the funny dance but you knew behind it all he really loved it? My feelings for him used to oscillate between affection and overwhelming pity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭The Cannibal

"It's like mosquito bites on a string of spaghetti"

Darcy talking about Dave Zero's biceps. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭FFPW_Dean

Comment directed at Sirsok & Whiplash:

Is there any reason you guys stopped training when the gym closed down? Why not try FFPW or another gym around the country?

Apologies if this sounds like a shill but I'm actually genuinely curious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭shinzon

there always seems to be one of these IWW threads on these boards, and its always either positive or negative, I have no knowledge of the inner working of IWW but all I can say is that theyve given me some good memories over the years at the Waterford shows some of them are

1) One particular wild night in the forum, where the crowd was so geed up and that got the wrestlers slightly excited to the point SOS launched himself over the top rope and the chap nearly killed himself on the landing thank god he didnt but it did look a spectacular dive. also mad man manson started climbing over the chairs at the end of the night lol which was very amusing, for anyone that wasnt there it was one helluva night

2) I know this didnt happen afterwards but when Kid Kash announced his retirement at global Impact it was a bit of a shock

3) Meeting Raven Doug Williams Kid kash Chad Collier and seeing CIMA Dragon Kid and Rikio, dunno whether it was a put on, but Doug Williams seemed genuinely surprised By the reaction to him in Waterford, culminating in one guy Shouting DOUG YOUR AN EFFING LEGEND

4) last but not least, Vic Viper spraying green mist over Myself my nephew and several of my nephews friends, including one who had a pure white jumper on him that suddenly turned a dark green for which hes still reminded about to this day :)

Quoting a movie director here " Nobdoy cares about the name of the movie, nobody cares about the length of the movie, all anyone cares about is if the movie is any good", same could be said about IWW and the waterford shows were always good

Shin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

^ That night in Waterford was awesome. Best IWW show ever Ive seen. That night also had the best IWW match Ive seen in Viper Vs Jay Phoenix. Top class match. The place was going spazzy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭Whiplash

FFPW_Dean wrote: »
    Comment directed at Sirsok & Whiplash:

Is there any reason you guys stopped training when the gym closed down? Why not try FFPW or another gym around the country?

Apologies if this sounds like a shill but I'm actually genuinely curious.

Well Dean ya shameless plugger!! After the gym closed there was talk of training before shows and i thought i'll try and do that for a while. but having no car and public transport here in the backarse of nowhere it made shows hard to get to. I have given serious thought to going out to bray to train again but not 100% sure if i'm cut out for the wrestling lark. Its not the best time for me to go back training if i do decided to do it again. Last year having lost alot of weight in a short time i weakened my muscles and that brought back some old back problems. I need to get myself a car so making getting to bray alot easier! Currently in the gym 3-4 days a week working on getting into decent shape. so maybe in the new year i will give training a go andf head your direction. Until then i'm gonna enjoy being a fan for a bit.

i thought there would be training before certain shows and so i ended up going to a few shows in the hope of trainin and i only ended up training once!then summer started and i began working in cork.i was also considering heading to the fight factory school, but at the mo i cant with college and work.but one day i wish to be able get back into it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭cinder

hello. it's the guy with four posts as i am called by some muppet on this thread. he knows who he is. just because i have 4 posts doesn't mean i know nothin about irish wrestling. glad to see some people aren't as cyincal and bitchy as boys like flananator are. seriously man whats up with that. fair play to guys like sirsok who gave it a shot at wrestling. also i did not start this thread? why does it say i did?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,982 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

cinder wrote: »
    hello. it's the guy with four posts as i am called by some muppet on this thread. he knows who he is. just because i have 4 posts doesn't mean i know nothin about irish wrestling. glad to see some people aren't as cyincal and bitchy as boys like flananator are. seriously man whats up with that. fair play to guys like sirsok who gave it a shot at wrestling. also i did not start this thread? why does it say i did?

I started it by splitting posts about IWW from the Irish promotion sticky starting with yours, thats why it says you did.

lil friendly mod warning also, please dont start any arguements (I know you didnt start it if someone called you whatever but you are bumping this thread to call someone 'cynical and bitchy') here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭cinder

I started it by splitting posts about IWW from the Irish promotion sticky starting with yours, thats why it says you did.

lil friendly mod warning also, please dont start any arguements (I know you didnt start it if someone called you whatever but you are bumping this thread to call someone 'cynical and bitchy') here.

ok no problem. sorry