Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dissident Republicans vow to kill dealers...

• 16-09-2009 9:35am

VIGILANTES have threatened to kill anyone who continues to deal drugs on the southside of Cork city.

A number of men wearing dark clothing visited pubs last weekend and distributed leaflets warning of lethal consequences for drug dealers.

Up to half-a-dozen men, linked to the dissident republican group, the 32 County Sovereignty Movement, distributed the leaflets in pubs in Passage West and Rochestown and the city suburbs of Ballyphehane and Togher last Friday.

In a chilling warning, the group said it had drawn up a "new list of drug dealers" and would kill those who continued to deal drugs.

"There will be no more individual warnings or knocks on the door. This is your warning and if you continue to deal drugs then you will be held accountable for your actions by lethal force," the leaflet said.

The matter was discussed at a joint policing meeting of Passage West Town Council on Monday, which was attended by gardaí.

A senior garda source said: "The matter is currently under investigation. We are taking this seriously."

Cllr Seamus McGrath, a member of Cork County Council and Passage West Town Council, said he regarded it as a very serious development.

"Drug dealers should be vigorously pursued, but this should be left to the gardaí and not carried out by vigilantes. I would urge people to assist the gardaí in this matter and not to take the law into their own hands."

Senator Jerry Buttimer echoed those sentiments and added that emotions were running high because of the recent number of heroin deaths in the city.

"Those who are aware of drugs dealers have a duty to report such matters to the gardaí. There should be no tolerance for vigilantism."

This story appeared in the printed version of the Irish Examiner Wednesday, September 16, 2009

Read more: http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/cork-...l#ixzz0RFbS37Q4

Complete and utter scumbags, no interest in the community, just a need to vent extreme violence. Presume it'll end up like the IRA in the North and in Dublin - the problem is not drugs or crime, it's someone else getting the proceeds.

Do they, for example, have any way of distinguishing between rumours and fact, between someone who may be pushing heroin and someone handing round a few joints? Could it end up like the fellow who was beaten to death a few years ago in Dublin for being a junkie, when he had full blown AIDS? That was a real benefit to the community.

The attempt to legitimise their desire to inflict serious physical violence is laughable. The sooner these vigiliantes are rounded up, the better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Is that the C or R IRA? Either way they probably just want to clear the way for thier own extra-curicular fund raising.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭mega man

I cant understand vigilantes. They kill criminals and make criminals of themselves. Can they not see that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭ei.sdraob

They are just trying to justify the elimination of competing criminals and gangsters :( while being that themselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 755 ✭✭✭optocynic

ei.sdraob wrote: »
    They are just trying to justify the elimination of competing criminals and gangsters :( while being that themselves

Sure.. don't you know.. they all want to be Omar from The Wire.

Feared by the drug dealers.. but they miss that the RA will never have what Omar had.... Integrity!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

It's the Real IRA behind these threats.
    Complete and utter scumbags, no interest in the community, just a need to vent extreme violence. Presume it'll end up like the IRA in the North and in Dublin - the problem is not drugs or crime, it's someone else getting the proceeds.

That's a load of crap to be honest. While personally I don't think armed groups shooting drug-dealers is the best way to solve the drug problem, the fact is neither the IRA nor the Real IRA were or are selling drugs themselves. Their anti-drugs actions usually stemmed from an ideological opposition to drugs (especially heroin) and an attempt to garner support in working-class areas. (Which was often succesful).
    Could it end up like the fellow who was beaten to death a few years ago in Dublin for being a junkie, when he had full blown AIDS?

I presume it's Josie Dwyer you're referring to, the fact was he died after getting a dig in the stomach when himself and a group of other scumbags threatened anti-drugs activists. Dwyer was formerly quite a significant heroin dealer until he succumbed to his own product, he then resorted to street dealing to find his own habit. He wasn't some poor tormented soul struck down by the evil vigilantes.

The sad fact of the matter is that if the Real IRA did kill someone selling heroin in a working class area here in Cork the decision would probably be universally welcomed. I went to an anti-heroin meeting in Knocknaheeny last month and there is a palpable feeling of worry and anger. There were parents who spoke who had already lost a number of their children to drugs. The Guards were present at the meeting and had the ears chewed off them, one Inspector had the gall to tell us there were no large heroin dealers in Cork and that the supply was being sourced from Dublin in drips and drabs. This was a complete and utter lie and its known to all and sundry that a certain northside family and others are wholesaleing heroin. The Garda approach in many deprived areas is often a complete failure and sometimes shows complete disregard for the community in that area, hence why they often aren't a very popular bunch.

The community in Knocknaheeny and other areas such as Gurranabraher are already coming together on this issue, and while they are a long way off from the sort of actions we saw with COCAD in the mid-1990s, it is certain that that's what will occur if the problem continues to grow.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭omerin

what if the dissidents and the drug dealers killed each other? win win imo

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

optocynic wrote: »

Feared by the drug dealers.. but they miss that the RA will never have what Omar had.... Integrity!!!

I'd say you watch too much telly lad, and haven't a clue what you're on about to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭ei.sdraob

omerin wrote: »
    what if the dissidents and the drug dealers killed each other? win win imo

we can put them in cages and have them go at each other with all sorts of weapons

Now i see why the Romans loved Gladiator games :D

FTA69 wrote: »
    I presume it's Josie Dwyer you're referring to, the fact was he died after getting a dig in the stomach when himself and a group of other scumbags threatened anti-drugs activists.

For clarification, I thought lenghty jail sentences were handed down for his manslaughter? Did one person not confess to taking a hammer to this man? Was the suggestion not that he was beaten to death with hammers?

It seems we are thinking of very different events. The one I recall involved a savage beating with weapons, not some poke in the tummy to prevent an attack.

I'd say you watch too much telly lad, and haven't a clue what you're on about to be honest.

What?... That terrorists don't have integrity?...
    I think I'm pretty much on the ball there...

The rest of it was a joke.. no sense of humour amongst you lot huh?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭cavedave

VIGILANTES have threatened to kill anyone who continues to deal drugs on the southside of Cork city.

'Drug Dealer' is a fairly all encompassing term, should the pharmacists, vintners, vets and tobacconists be worried?

• Registered Users Posts: 37,301 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

VIGILANTES have threatened to kill anyone who continues to deal drugs
    Or anyone who attempts to stop them from robbing cash vans, post offices, etc. They've shot at a number of Gardai, and have killed at least one of them.
    In a chilling warning, the group said it had drawn up a "new list of drug dealers" and would kill those who continued to deal drugs.

"There will be no more individual warnings or knocks on the door. This is your warning and if you continue to deal drugs then you will be held accountable for your actions by lethal force," the leaflet said.
    What a f**k load of bo||ox. If they merrily think you're a dealer, they'll kill you? Mistaken identity equals death. But not to worry, I'm sure the **** have a protection racket checklist set up to ensure you don't get shot.

• Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭Rainman1

My feeling is that this is exactly the kind of thing that happens when local law enforcement fails to deal with the serious problem of drug dealing, the vigilantes move in.
    I'm sure that decent people who have had their lives blighted by drugs and drug dealers will support these people 100% because they have nowhere else to turn, this is how the IRA, PIRA, RIRA etc., etc., win their support, had the local authorites and the Government in general dealth with these scumbags effectively, rather than turning a blind eye and blaming the lack of resources committed to this problem, on the recession, European legislation etc., etc., this whole issue would have never arisen, unfortunetly little or nothing is being done to combat drug dealing in communities all over this country, so I predict a lot more of this kind of vigilantism nationwide in the very near future...

• Registered Users Posts: 863 ✭✭✭DoireNod

How many of you here like Batman, who is a vigilante?

DoireNod wrote: »

But he's not a socialist!

Or a fenian!

He's Batman!

• Registered Users Posts: 37,301 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Rainman1 wrote: »
    My feeling is that this is exactly the kind of thing that happens when local law enforcement fails to deal with the serious problem of drug dealing, the vigilantes move in.
    It has laways been a problem. The Gardai would love the power to round up those who they think sell drugs, without any evidence whatsoever, but they can't. If they did, people would complain about abuse of the drug dealers civil rights. But the terrorists don't have to worry about abusing anyones civil right, as they don't worry about jail time if they shoot someone.

• Registered Users Posts: 657 ✭✭✭madmac187

Thats right man a hunting he will go:rolleyes: That or Mark Brandon ''Chopper'' Reid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Heh, so they're threatening suicide? Someone call the Samaritans.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭MikeC101

A fictional vigilante....

MikeC101 wrote: »
    A fictional vigilante....

Yes, batman is fictional... not a real champions of truth and justice like RA boys...

oh... never mind!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭MikeC101

Yes, batman is fictional... not a real champions of truth and justice like RA boys...

oh... never mind!!!

For a few seconds I thought I was imagining someone posting about Batman, in what seems to be a defense of vigilantism, but then I thought maybe they don't know he isn't real.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭star.chaser

he's also gay as a bunch of baloons :D

MikeC101 wrote: »

For a few seconds I thought I was imagining someone posting about Batman, in what seems to be a defense of vigilantism, but then I thought maybe they don't know he isn't real.

Why
    So
    Serious?

• Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭Rainman1

the_syco wrote: »
    It has laways been a problem. The Gardai would love the power to round up those who they think sell drugs, without any evidence whatsoever, but they can't. If they did, people would complain about abuse of the drug dealers civil rights. But the terrorists don't have to worry about abusing anyones civil right, as they don't worry about jail time if they shoot someone.

That's my point, if you read the rest of my post I was pointing out that the blame lies at local and Government level, the Gardai can only enforce the existing laws which are woefully inadequete in dealing with this kind of criminality, I don't think that gaining evidence of this activity is an issue, but dealing with intimidation or direct threats is a joke, there is little or no protection for any witness who would want to testify against these thugs, and why would they, when death or serious injury is guaranteed afterwards, no witnesses means no case, so it's down to street or paramilitary justice where the rights of the individual are irrelivant, what a joke this country is.

• Registered Users Posts: 268 ✭✭Adamisconfused

I read that Cavan thread about the dissidents and was surprised to see that the majority of posters, in over twenty odd pages, seemed to support vigilante methods. I don’t know how representative that is of the population, but it was quite striking nonetheless.
    Some people have an instant reaction to anything deemed to be criminal, including vigilante actions. They take on an almost instinctive, holier than thou attitude and talk about the law being the law. These are the same people who listen to the Fields of Athenry and don’t see a problem with Michael being transported out of the country for stealing corn to feed his family. Yeah; I know it’s only a song.
    I’d agree that the law is the law up until the point that it becomes useless. Laws are enacted by society to protect society. The day that law fails to protect those(the citizens of a country) who empower the institutions of the state then I believe it is delusional to think that people will not support vigilantism.
    The Gardaí can only do so much. The problem seems to be with a judicial system that is madly out of touch with reality. They are far too soft on serious crime. Just from the Cavan thread, one can see that several of the miscreants involved in the assaults were actually out on bail for other attacks. It’s ludicrous. Ironically, a dissident who threatens those thugs would have less chance of attaining bail.

Just to build on my last post. I don’t support vigilantism. I’m saying that support of it by some people who feel vulnerable is unsurprising. At the best of times, it can only be seen as a stop gap measure.
    A better approach would be for society to demand better policing and tougher justice measures. Most of all, leave us drivers alone. Concentrate on the real criminals. I thought I'd just throw that in.
    American justice has some things right, but it concentrates far too much on appearing tough, which is why it seems to have failed.

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,804 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

...its known to all and sundry that a certain northside family and others are wholesaleing heroin.
    Why don't the Gardaí do something about that family? Are they not part of "all and sundry", and are they unaware of it? Are they deliberately and consciously leaving a major heroin wholesaler alone, and - if so - why?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭PomBear

i'm getting sick of the tabloids not referring which IRA they're talking about, theres a BIG difference between the provos and the real IRA

Saying that I always thought any Republicans should support the Constitutional Law of Ireland and not enforce their own justice

PomBear wrote: »
    i'm getting sick of the tabloids not referring which IRA they're talking about, theres a BIG difference between the provos and the real IRA

Saying that I always thought any Republicans should support the Constitutional Law of Ireland and not enforce their own justice

There are no “official” provos anymore. They most certainly would not risk getting involved with violent activities.SF would be devastated.
    In fact, some Cavan people went to SF to complain about local thugs and were told to go to the Gardai. The shinners are an establishment party now. No different than an 1930’s version of Fianna Fáil.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭PomBear

There are no “official” provos anymore. They most certainly would not risk getting involved with violent activities.SF would be devastated.
    In fact, some Cavan people went to SF to complain about local thugs and were told to go to the Gardai. The shinners are an establishment party now. No different than an 1930’s version of Fianna Fáil.

Well to the average person, the provisional IRA are the same as these lads as they're both described as the IRA, I don't appreciate them being tarred with the same brush. Sinn Féin are a party that are extremely active in protests and such and people do trust them but then again alot of people feel they are too conformist for a republican's ideology