Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Standard Liege vs. Arsenal [Merged]

• 16-09-2009 10:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭

100px-Royal_Standard_de_Liege.svg.pngVS. 150px-Arsenal_FC.svg.png

Teams news for Arsenal is that Almunia, Denilson and van Persie are all out through injury.

Mannone

Sagna
    Gallas
    Vermaelen
    Clichy

Song

Fab
    Diaby

Eboue
    Bendtner
    Eduardo

Diaby is easily interchangeable with both Ramsey and Rosicky. I'd prefer to see either of them get a game ahead of him but I reckon he'll get the nod.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

This will be four or five nil to Arse, imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

I'm gonna say 2-1 Arsenal, maybe even a draw.

No Arshavin, RVP, Denilson or Almunia, all of whom have been mainstays this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

0-2 arse for me.

is steven defour playing? i'd like to see how he does if he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,170 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

No Defour broke his foot in Liege's last league game.

I'd reckon 2-0 or 2-1 to Arse, but a draw wouldn't surprise me.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

We should win, but I'm not 100% confident. Defour is a big loss for them.

2-1 to the Gunners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

Live tonight on Setanta Ireland (Sky Sports Xtra?) at 7.45pm

Arsenal are without alot of big names, in cluding Almunia, Van Persie, Denilson, Arshavin, Nasri, Walcott, Djourou and Fabianski, with third-choice keeper Mannone likely to start.

Liege are missing the injured Defour, as well as Dalmat. Witsel is likely to return to the squad after a long suspension.

I could see Liege sneaking a draw tonight, maybe even a win if their fans get behind them and the Arsenal players get dis-heartened, which given their recent run of bad luck is very possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭thorbarry

DaPoolRulz wrote: »

I could see Liege sneaking a draw tonight, maybe even a win if their fans get behind them and the Arsenal players get dis-heartened, which given their recent run of bad luck is very possible.

Nah, Id be very surprised if we didn't win by at least 3 goals

• Registered Users Posts: 5,209 ✭✭✭Redzer7

Going for a 2-0 maybe 2-1 win for Arsenal tonight, can't wait for the match :D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Kirnsy

4 -1 . we never keep a bloody clean sheet.

hopefully im proved wrong and vito does the job..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

Rosicky starts I'm led to believe. Full lineup in a few minutes I'd imagine

[edit]
    arseliege.jpg

Happy with that team. Think we're gonna win this.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Smegball

Bendter to shine tonight I think.

2-0 Arsenal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭cashback

2-1 Arsenal tonight. I really hope Rosicky comes through this OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭hudsonriver

standard 2 arsenal 0

cant believe what Im watching

• Registered Users Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭jaykay74

fck 2-0 to liege after about 5 mins :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,879 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

WTF! 2-0 down after 4mins

Go Liege

• Registered Users Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

LOL

• Registered Users Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Arsenal 7/2 to win at present, doesn't seem very generous.

Really Bad Arsenal :mad:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Jesus. I switched the telly on just as the ball hit the back of the net, saw 1-0 in the corner and assumed I was looking at a replay of Liege goign 1 up.

What happened for the first, commentators are talkign bout Eduardo ****ign somethign up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Beau x1

You have to pay to watch setanta ireland now? Or is it on another channel for free?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Stekelly wrote: »
    Jesus. I switched the telly on just as the ball hit the back of the net, saw 1-0 in the corner and assumed I was looking at a replay of Liege goign 1 up.

What happened for the first, commentators are talkign bout Eduardo ****ign somethign up

Yep he did mess it up alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,934 ✭✭✭Paleface

Lou Macari is the harbinger of doom!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Vampireskiss

Arsenal are are joke of a club, it happens everytime a big club beats them they lose all their confidence and play crap for 10 games, lucky they have some easy games in the league coming up.Jose Mourinho was right when he said Arsene Wenger is the only manager of a big club that does not need to win things, lets see what happens when they miss out on a top 4 place.

decent stream anyone?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,879 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

pg2 of the streams sticky iirc contains em

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Didn't take long for the wheels to come off at Arsenal I see. What is it about this crop of players that makes them so mentally fragile?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭DSB

Arsenal are are joke of a club

Hardly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

flahavaj wrote: »
    Didn't take long for the wheels to come off at Arsenal I see. What is it about this crop of players that makes them so mentally fragile?

Des puts too much pressure on them with his high expectations ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Vampireskiss

DSB wrote: »
    Hardly.

Ye will be losing top 4 status this year none the less

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,043 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

It's quite possible, but tell me. He's not an Arsenal fan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭DSB

I don't support Arsenal, having said that, don't think they will.

Yesss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,934 ✭✭✭Paleface

That was great time to score. COME ON!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,131 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

About fûcking time. Bendtner ya beaut. 2-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

There's some hope for ye yet.

YESSSS. ARSENAL FAN 'FO LIFE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Absolutely awful first half from Arsenal. What on earth was Eduardo thinking of. A good goal by Bendtner though. Wenger needs to keep him off the wing.

I do not see what their top 4 status has to do with the Champions League.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 747 ✭✭✭WillieCocker

Bendtner, lovely goal.
    We can win this, nerves seems to be ruining their play.

Despite how ecstatic I am with the goal before half time, I really think we should have made at least one more signing before the transfer window closed.

Still, that's what being an Arsenal fan is all about these days..faith in our manager.

We're definitely not out of it, though. However, I could have seen us struggling to get anything out of the game if we hadn't gotten that goal.

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    Absolutely awful first half from Arsenal. What on earth was Eduardo thinking of. .

But that's the risk you run when you ask a striker to play out wide and at times puts him in defensive positions.
    It was a silly mistake, but in fairness he probably doesn't know the first thing about defending.

What happened with Eduardo? I wasn't tuned in for that.

Beau x1 wrote: »
    What happened with Eduardo? I wasn't tuned in for that.

Doing flicks right in front of our box, resulted in the first goal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Kirnsy

pat dolan . . . . . implying about the bloody peno and that mannone should have guessed "he went that way against everton last year".:rolleyes:

i reckon we'll do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

but in fairness he probably doesn't know the first thing about defending.

My grandmother would have known that he should have cleared the ball from that position instead of trying to be fancy and making a balls of it.
    Kirnsy wrote: »
    pat dolan . . . . . implying about the bloody peno and that mannone should have guessed "he went that way against everton last year".:rolleyes:

I am actually glad I no longer give money to Setanta so they can pay for that rubbish

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    My grandmother would have known that he should have cleared the ball from that position instead of trying to be fancy and making a balls of it.

He was being silly,..
    Both himself and Rosicky look as naive as each other tonight, like they have been on another footballing planet whilst being missing for over a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭cashback

That iraqgoals stream is rubbish for me. Anyone got a better one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

That was a fantastic tackle just there from Rosicky.

It's funny, Vermaelen has been our best player so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

who were the lads in the boxes?

Belgian Mafia.:)