Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool v Debreceni VFC Match Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

I hate refs like that. Do they have any inkling of how football works for a player?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭shotamoose

Debreceni look pretty tidy, Insua looks sleepy. I'm watching on ITV, where Clive Tyldesley has adopted his 'schocked that small foreign team has not conceded dozens of goals' tone of voice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Was that a Carragher pass?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

shotamoose wrote: »
    Debreceni look pretty tidy, Insua looks sleepy. I'm watching on ITV, where Clive Tyldesley has adopted his 'schocked that small foreign team has not conceded dozens of goals' tone of voice.

God I despise that man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

that linesman on the right is annoying the hell out of me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

In a competition like this were bookings can be very costly that was very stupid from Gerrard.

Kuyt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

i <3 dirk kuyt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Dirked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Get the **** in there Dirk!

Dirk Kuyt. Because he just wants it more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Diiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiirk.

Legend.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,952 ✭✭✭Morzadec

Vintage Kuyt

Dirk!

Was going to say he was poor enough in the first half!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Funny half, a lot of poor long range passing with the odd peach, lot of needless tippy-tappy stuff. Torres drifting this way and that. Oddly Liverpool seem too fluid for thier own good.

K-9 wrote: »
    Dirk!

Was going to say he was poor enough in the first half!

I thought he was his usual good self. Every time theres a shot or a ball breaking in the box, he's there. It's no fluke he gets these goals.

As shotamoose said, he wants it more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭ANTIFA!

aw debrecen :( come on take it to those elites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,067 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

As poor as the first half was, I was impressed with Benayoun and Kuyt. Riera looks a tad rusty.

Stekelly wrote: »
    I thought he was his usual good self. Every time theres a shot or a ball breaking in the box, he's there. It's no fluke he gets these goals.

As shotamoose said, he wants it more.

Was more about general play, a quiet first half hour.

Hard to know from watching on the box, but Kuyt looks sharper than Nando.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Riera got better as the half progressed, could have had a brace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,108 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Tusky wrote: »
    As poor as the first half was, I was impressed with Benayoun and Kuyt. Riera looks a tad rusty.

Aye, Riera doesn't look anywhere near as inclined to take people on as he normally does, which sucks seeing as he's so good at it.

Hope the team push on now and get another few.

Been impressed with Lucas a lot in this game going forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,680 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

21 consecutive matches

wow fair play

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    Been impressed with Lucas a lot in this game going forward.

yep me too. Though i do like his forward runs, he's emptied the midfield a little too often. He needs to play with this confidence alongside Mascherano

Headshot wrote: »
    21 consecutive matches

wow fair play

what's 21 matches?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Looks like I didn't miss too much in the first half.

Ray likes Johnson :)

what's 21 matches?

sorry 21 cl matches that ye have scored in

1 short of bayern's record

Jesus, how does Gerrard hit a ball like that?

That would have been a peach.

The BBC comments are as insightful as ever:

From LEGIN99M on 606: "Alberto Aquilani cannot get fit fast enough for Liverpool. Lucas is absolutely the worst player I have seen in a red shirt since Mark Walters."

they turned on the tv when Lucas slipped and mis-hit the ball, turned it off and posted that comment

I don't say this lightly, but bring on Babel

great skill from yossi...

Benny is so hot right now.

I don't say this lightly but bring on Sexy Chest

Sherifu wrote: »
    Benny is so hot right now.

lolz
    you shouldve kept that closet closed ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 759 ✭✭✭mrgaa1

If the TV pictures didn't show anything but the pitch you'd almost swear no-one is at the match - very quiet. But then again a poor game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,370 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Babel will come on. Should run them ragged a bit for a while. The ref is really annoying me, the Gerrard yellow looked harsh but I guess we don't know what was said.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,209 ✭✭✭Redzer7

Dive :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Close
    for carra

Gerard is pissing me off. Stay on your feet Stevie.
    Headshot wrote: »
    lolz
    you shouldve kept that closet closed ;)
    Never! My love must be known.

8-10 wrote: »
    Babel will come on. Should run them ragged a bit for a while. The ref is really annoying me, the Gerrard yellow looked harsh but I guess we don't know what was said.

wait for the whistle it would seem

babel isnt ready to come on it seems, no boots. that lad needs to sort his sh1t out...

8-10 wrote: »
    the Gerrard yellow looked harsh but I guess we don't know what was said.

Nothing wrong with the card, the ref clearly told him not to go till the whistle and walked away holding the whistle up. Gerrard took it anyway, probably assuming the ref wouldnt have the bottle to book him for it.

Poor from Skrtle there, completely missing the rest of the defence stepping up and playign the Debrecheni player onside.

Carra having a great game.

mrgaa1 wrote: »
    If the TV pictures didn't show anything but the pitch you'd almost swear no-one is at the match - very quiet. But then again a poor game

Yeh its been pretty poor. There's an air of inevitability about it like they're just playing it out. Never felt so comfortable on a one nil lead to be honest (lets hope I'm not jinxing us).

Wouldn't mind seeing some subs to rest some of the big boys/give them a chance to impress - Babel, Ngog or Voronin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

Another dive from gerrard, disgrace. Such a talented player flawed by a more than occasional tendancy to cheat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

I wish we'd hit the bloody target. This should be 6 or 7 by now, only our final ball / finishing is brutal.

And seriously, although Lucas isn't playing that bad, the amount of times he just doesn't make himself an option for a pass is disgraceful - keeping an opposition player between himself and the player with the ball.

This is annoying me. We should be well clear of these, they are effing useless.

Don;t even get me started on how terrible Torres is tonight (apart from about a 5 minute spell in the second half). He's still not fit IMO.

Torres's touch is way off at the moment, it's like he's thinking too far ahead before he even gets the ball.

I wish we'd hit the bloody target. This should be 6 or 7 by now, only our final ball / finishing is brutal.

And seriously, although Lucas isn't playing that bad, the amount of times he just doesn't make himself an option for a pass is disgraceful - keeping an opposition player between himself and the player with the ball.

This is annoying me. We should be well clear of these, they are effing useless.

Don;t even get me started on how terrible Torres is tonight (apart from about a 5 minute spell in the second half). He's still not fit IMO.

From what I've seen this season I'm inclined to agree and it's a real worry. Looks flat-footed, whereas he's usually so sharp

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

He'd run his socks off for the cause even if it's a hopeless one
    (about Kuyt)

Haha so true.