Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Diving in the professional game

• 16-09-2009 10:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭

Watching the Liverpool game earlier to see Gerrard at it again - diving. For such an all round talented player over the last few years this aspect of cheating has crept into his game more and more.

As a captain for your club you expect an example of honesty and leadership but he seems to show little of this.

What is so frustrating is his claims to hate diving, hypocritcal:

"I don't think there's anything worse than a player diving when no one's been anywhere near him. It does ruin the game"

Digging around to see if there were many examples i found this video.

Why is isn't this mentioned more in the press?

Discuss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

was only thinking the same thing myself after watching him tonight.

and back to terry's comments about English players staying on their feet being too honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

most players "go down easy" its the way that the game is played these days ...its not just Gerrard (yes he does do it !!)

why not create a thread about diving players and not pick one player specifically.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

What happened tonight?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 203 ✭✭ImJohn

Rooney does it too. Don't forget to mention him OP.

What I notice is that when a player "goes down easy" ..... they twist their body to actually look at the ref straight away (even mid fall)..... durty divin cheats.

OPENROAD wrote: »
    What happened tonight?

some would think there was a sniper in the crowd.

ImJohn wrote: »

he does, but i don't think he criticises for others doing the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

PCPhoto wrote: »
    why not create a thread about diving players and not pick one player specifically.

Because:

1. He did it again tonight

2. He claims to hate diving but regularly practices it.

ImJohn wrote: »
    ntlbell wrote: »

exactly, that's what pisses me off about an otherwise gifted player.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

we need to introduce some sort of delicious ignore thread function.

mayordenis wrote: »

what issue do you have with this one?

is there anything i've said that is incorrect?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭DSB

Not another of these:(

quarryman wrote: »
    Because:

1. He did it again tonight

2. He claims to hate diving but regularly practices it.

so you choose to pick on one player because he's a hypocrite (Yes I'm a liverpool fan) .... but a LOT of players do it they go down easy, infact very few premiership players actually fight for the ball and choose to go down easy (maybe the exceptions Jimmy Bullard or wothisname....Hunt)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,732 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Or maybe the whole boards could come together and put you on ignore. ;)

Gerrard is a chronic diving hypocrit.

Rooney apologised for diving last year.

you could always you know, try not posting in it?

how many professional players came out and said Eduardo dived in the game against Celtic and how many of them called for his punishment ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

He did dive tonight but he won't get slaughtered for it because he doesn't play for Man United.

Boggles wrote: »

Apologised for one time ...or for all the times he did it during the season.

Totally agree with the gerrard comment though...although chronic is a bit strong

He did dive tonight but he won't get slaughtered for it because he doesn't play for Man United.

he wont get slated for it because he's an automatic starter for England...thats why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,852 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

you could always you know, try not posting in it?

Well said!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,261 ✭✭✭kenon

5/6 a side football

Coolmine Sports Centre - Wednesdays - 8pm

PM me for a game

Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

he wont get slated for it because he's an automatic starter for England...thats why.

Did RTE make an issue of it tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,680 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

any video of this dive ?

I didn't watch the match

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭elshambo

Add certain posters to your ignore list, then ignore threads started by them imo

another to the long long list me thinks:D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

So he apologised, and yet still continues to do it?? So why apologise then??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

I missed tonight's game but did he do the starfish again?

steven-gerrard_1107883c.jpg

steven-gerrard-diver.jpg

In case anyone isn't aware of the starfish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

So is Rooney but the amount of stick he got for supposedly diving was unbelievable.

Just watched that video, are those actual quotes? Did he mention players names?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,732 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

monkey9 wrote: »
    So he apologised, and yet still continues to do it?? So why apologise then??

Don't know, why come out and say divers are ruining football and then starfish your way through games every chance you get. Baffling! :confused:

Who's the best diver, Gerrard or Rooney?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Bandit12

Watching the Liverpool game earlier to see Gerrard at it again - diving. For such an all round talented player over the last few years this aspect of cheating has crept into his game more and more.

As a captain for your club you expect an example of honesty and leadership but he seems to show little of this.

"I don't think there's anything worse than a player diving when no one's been anywhere near him. It does ruin the game"

Discuss.
    Same reason Rooney's hissy fit's are'nt mentioned in the press much, they are both England international's.

rarnes1 wrote: »

Gerrard's won more peno's from it IIRC so i'd say stevie star fish G

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

Don't know, why come out and say divers are ruining football and then starfish your way through games every chance you get. Baffling! :confused:

Thats easy, he knows he wont get slaughtered in the press tomorrow or by the any of the Sky pundits.

I didnt see the game myself but what did the RTE panel have to say or they mention anything about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,170 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Didn't know Eduardo plays for Man United.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

So is Rooney but the amount of stick he got for supposedly diving was unbelievable.

That's because Rooney keeps getting the penalties awarded. Gerrard didn't get one tonight (but arguably should have)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,680 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Discuss.

?

thread is about Gerrard,what does Rooney have to do with it :confused:

Gerrard's won more peno's from it IIRC so i'd say stevie star fish G

Wayne needs some practice then
    Headshot wrote: »
    ?

you know how these things work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

AT ABSOLUTELY NO POINT TONIGHT DID STEVIE G DIVE

your all gonna burn in hell for that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Bandit12

Rooney
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8lKE0hF6U7k

this video.
    That one against Bolton is a joke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

My what a cute love-in you's are having in here.

Headshot wrote: »
    ?

thread is started about Gerrard but some posters are asking why pick a player specifically ... why not just make it a thread about diving players (players that go down easy ...dont like to call it diving)

there are other players which go down easy .... feck sake have one look at Drogba last year - a defender couldnt sneeze near him without him reacting like he was shot by a sniper. (this year not as much...so far)

the list is endless of players that have at one point "gone down easy" on the football pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭JeanClaude

Yeah Right..he doesn't critize others...nice of him to think of the fans..:rolleyes:

'It isn't fair for players to dive and try to cheat the other team. And it is not just cheating your opponents, you are cheating the fans as well.'

nice one Wayne..:p

http://au.fourfourtwo.com/news/111769,rooney-im-not-a-diver.aspx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

now cmon - neither of these have a patch on Roanldo - at it again last night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,432 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Bandit12 wrote: »
    Same reason Rooney's hissy fit's are'nt mentioned in the press much, they are both England international's.

Eh, did you see any of the back pages today?

I'll link to the Guardian but most papers have the story
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2009/sep/16/wayne-rooney-champions-league

stop trying to get a rise out of people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

LOL at soccer fans singling out players from their rival clubs for diving. Can you get any more boring and cliched lads, really? Someday ye'll wake up andrealise that they're all at it to some degree.:pac:

thread is started about Gerrard but some posters are asking why pick a player specifically ... why not just make it a thread about diving players (players that go down easy ...dont like to call it diving)

there are other players which go down easy .... feck sake have one look at Drogba last year - a defender couldnt sneeze near him without him reacting like he was shot by a sniper. (this year not as much...so far)

the list is endless of players that have at one point "gone down easy" on the football pitch.

i already told you. The point of this thread is not "picking on a specific player" as you claim. Its because he cheats but claims he hates other players that do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

can we have a thread on every diver in the Premiership?

he dives. we get it. we know it.

any pool fan who claims he doesn't is nutty; and i don't see anyone denying it really.

we know he's said things in the past claiming he hates divers. it's hypocrisy. again, we get it.

most professionals associated with football talk through their ar$e.

rooney dives too.

as does drogba.

as does ibrahimovic.

as does robert earnshaw.

as do most professional footballers.

and they'll all claim they don't.

no point singling out one player as a hypocrite. they're all at it.

let's get over it, and just hope UEFA can come up with the cajones to actually do something about it.

This thread isn't about other players.

Its about Gerrard who accuses other players of ruining the game by cheating but diving himself and getting no flack from the press.

Stop referring to other players.