Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Diving in the professional game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,365 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

there was two instances tonight, one where the other guy had a big chunk of his jersey and tugging away and he went down (where i think most footballers would) and the other where he went down easy after the ball was running away from him

the diving debate is going to be more and more scrutinised now and as a result everything will be held in evidence, the torres/bolton incident a prime example, torres didn't dive or try to win a penalty but was accused of doing so by both the media and the bolton players on the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

I'm going to start a thread titled,'ferguson, senile, full of sh*t or just scottish?".

It would be about as moronic as this sh*te tbh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Im gonna take bets on what day a similar thread is started next week. Its getting old now, do people not use the search function anymore?

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

He went down twice tonight in the box iirc. The first he went down easily but there was some contact, although not enough to make him go down. The second he did not in any way dive. It was not a penalty, but he did not dive. There was a fair shoulder challenge when he was slightly off balance and he went down and did not claim a penalty. Riera had the worst theatrical performance of the night in the penalty area yet there is no thread on that.

utd fans lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,503 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Michael+Jackson+Jackson_popcorn.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,049 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Glad I'm not the only one who noticed he dived tonight.

Everyone knows players dive all the time, but it's the singling out of players like Drogba/Ronaldo/Eduardo and then the denial of players like Rooney and Gerrard that annoys me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Unearthly wrote: »
    Glad I'm not the only one who noticed he dived tonight.

Everyone knows players dive all the time, but it's the singling out of players like Drogba/Ronaldo/Eduardo and then the denial of players like Rooney and Gerrard that annoys me.
    The difference is that Gerrard and Rooney go down when they feel contact in an effort to win penalties and frees for ther teams. When they are touched or impeded they feel they have a right to go down. 3 times Gerrard went down in the box too easily yesterday, but that was a rarity, there'd be many many games when Gerrard and Rooney don't dive at all.

Drogba and Ronaldo on the other hand dive every game, and are far more likely to dive when there has been clearly no contact. Also when Gerrard and Rooney go down, they get back up straight away. Drogba in particular feigns injury when he goes down, and looks to get opponents booked.

So there is no question that Drogba is far worse than Gerrard or Rooney.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Bandit12

The difference is that Gerrard and Rooney go down when they feel contact in an effort to win penalties and frees for ther teams. When they are touched or impeded they feel they have a right to go down. 3 times Gerrard went down in the box too easily yesterday, but that was a rarity, there'd be many many games when Gerrard and Rooney don't dive at all.

Drogba and Ronaldo on the other hand dive every game, and are far more likely to dive when there has been clearly no contact. Also when Gerrard and Rooney go down, they get back up straight away. Drogba in particular feigns injury when he goes down, and looks to get opponents booked.

So there is no question that Drogba is far worse than Gerrard or Rooney.
    Agreed. Drogba is in another league when it comes to diving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

Since we're not allowed talk about Rooney (or anyone else for that matter) being as much (if not worse) a diver and a hypocrite in the Gerrard thread, because it is about Gerrard and nothing to do with Rooney, I thought I would start this thread.

So why is Rooney a diver and a dirty hypocrite?
    England striker Wayne Rooney insists "I'd never dive" because he is too honest and it harms the sport.
    Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-408244/Id-dive-insists-Rooney.html#ixzz0RLrYxWQ6

So which player would like to give out about for being a dirty hypocrite and a notorious diver. Any player in the world except for Steven Gerrard :D

• Registered Users Posts: 787 ✭✭✭Roaster

Joe Cole!

The worst offender in the premiership! Is English though, isn't he ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,732 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Oh Dear! :(

• Registered Users Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

These threads are pathetic. You should not be risen by Man Utd fan's who love nothing more than to condemn Steven Gerrard. Christ he'd have been locked up & thrown away the key judging by what was posted in the joke that was the Gerrard trial case thread.

There is an unbelievable biase and wind-up in this forum and it's getting ridiclous. Every debate turns into Utd v Liverpool. Stupid player comparisons (Owen v Aqualani only last week) finances etc. Sure Gerrard goes down easy sometimes - but this has been happening with years and not one person supporting any team can say one of their players never dived - especially United. It's part of the game, as is verbals & every other form of cheating . Build a bloody bridge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

If people didn't reply to these threads, then they'd fall off the front page soon enough

/irony

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,283 ✭✭✭gucci

Im off to start the "Liverpool Red is far superior to Man Utd Red" Thread now.

Its about time that we stopped beating around the bush and debated it once and for all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

maybe a Man United v Liverpool thunderdome should be set up, it might make this place a bit more pallatable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

PORNAPSTER wrote: »

Posted on youtube by a City fan, not a United fan. :)

This thread isnt about Gerrard... :p

Btw this isnt a United v Liverpool thing, I couldnt care if anyone is a utd supporter or not - it's a 'call all the other divers out while pretending your own players dont do it' thread...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

maybe a Man United v Liverpool thunderdome should be set up, it might make this place a bit more pallatable.

I concur. They should be given their own playpen, where football fans don't have to be exposed to them :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

sur did you not know Liverpool are better than United 18-5 to 18-3:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

This thread isnt about Gerrard... :p

Btw this isnt a United v Liverpool thing, I couldnt care if anyone is a utd supporter or not - it's a call all the other divers out while pretending your own players dont do it thread...
    Oh I'm sorry... It is about XXXXXX and his diving silly me.

sur did you not know Liverpool are better than United 18-5 to 18-3:rolleyes:
    You left out the FA cups... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

Rather than delete the threads, which I think make a valid point if childishness can be avoided I've merged them to pave the way for a discussion on diving in the game. If we can all have an adult conversation about it the thread will remain open. If from this point in everyone just wants to point-score and talk rubbish, we'll just lock the thread up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

OPENROAD wrote: »
    So did RTE mention the Gerrard incident tonight?

yep, was mentioned, all agreed it was a clear penalty.

this thread is hilarious.

a liverpool player did dive last night, wasn't Gerrard though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Mr Alan wrote: »

Was it Pepe Reina?

Albert Riera.

Has there been a video of Gerrards "dive" put up in this thread?

i think the people who didn't see it will find it quite laughable what Utd fans are claiming was a dive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Albert Riera.

Has there been a video of Gerrards "dive" put up in this thread?

i think the people who didn't see it will find it quite laughable what Utd fans are claiming was a dive.

United fan here, didn't claim anything

yep, was mentioned, all agreed it was a clear penalty.

I think the fact that Gerrard has said on several occasions that he detests diving and will let any team mate of his know about it if they dive. That is the reason that people will always point out his hypocrisy when he clearly has a catalogue of dives to his name. He is the person who brought it on himself and it should be highlighted and quite rightly so.

There is no doubt that Rooney dives. I've seen him do it, but the fact that Gerrard lets on to be innocent of it all, in diving and in many other instances is the reason why we are discussing it right here and now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭rednik

As a long time supporter I hate diving and all other forms of cheating. To be fair I have seen just about every player attempt it at one stage or another. As a United fan Ronaldo was the worst but even Keane attempted it but was so bad he got booked for the awful attempt.
    I have seen Gerrard do it on a number of occasions but he is not the only one,as far as I am concerned every team has its divers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

the funny thing is about this thread; is if it turns into a mature conversation, i'm pretty sure it'll be on the 2nd page within hours, because everyone knows every team has it's divers.

and many players as well as gerrard have publicly said they haven't, and the ones who haven't, well it's only because they haven't been asked yet.

i agree his comments about diving were ridiculous, thankfully he seems to have cut it out of his game as of late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

PORNAPSTER wrote: »
    I think the fact that Gerrard has said on several occasions that he detests diving and will let any team mate of his know about it if they dive. That is the reason that people will always point out his hypocrisy when he clearly has a catalogue of dives to his name. He is the person who brought it on himself and it should be highlighted and quite rightly so.

There is no doubt that Rooney dives. I've seen him do it, but the fact that Gerrard lets on to be innocent of it all, in diving and in many other instances is the reason why we are discussing it right here and now.

+1 Finally someone understands to point of the thread.
    rednik wrote: »
    As a long time supporter I hate diving and all other forms of cheating. To be fair I have seen just about every player attempt it at one stage or another. As a United fan Ronaldo was the worst but even Keane attempted it but was so bad he got booked for the awful attempt.
    I have seen Gerrard do it on a number of occasions but he is not the only one,as far as I am concerned every team has its divers.

READ THE ORIGINAL POST. This isn't a list of players who dive or who dives the worst/best. Its about Steven Gerrard, his diving and his hypocrisy on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

quarryman wrote: »
    READ THE ORIGINAL POST. This isn't a list of players who dive or who dives the worst/best. Its about Steven Gerrard, his diving and his hypocrisy on it.

LOL, sorry but read the mods post. This thread is for "a discussion on diving in the game".

and it's been admitted that he's a hypocrite.

people have simply stated that he's not the only hypocrite out there. far from it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

READ THE ORIGINAL POST.
    Read the mod note tbh Post #122 in this thread
    Its about Steven Gerrard, his diving and his hypocrisy on it.

Not any more it's not.

i agree his comments about diving were ridiculous, thankfully he seems to have cut it out of his game as of late.
    That is good, and fair play to him if he keeps it up. Hopefully many more will follow suit.

I was watching part of Everton's game at the weekend against Fulham where it looked like Tim Cahill had dived but may have lost his balance. He got up straight away and wagged his finger to the Fulham fans as if to say that he didn't dive before they got the chance to give him stick. A few of the Fulham fans clapped him for doing so. It was good to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

Des wrote: »
    Read the mod note tbh Post #122 in this thread

Not any more it's not.

ah. didn't even see that.

I'm not happy about the merge and title change tbh as the topic had intended to be on Gerrard.

However if it prevents closing it altogether due to childishness then so be it...

it was opened due to childishness, closing it for the same reason would be quite apt tbh

I'm not happy about the merge and title change tbh as the topic had intended to be on Gerrard.

why confine it to Stevie? what's the point?

especially if diving/going down easily while saying you don't is a prevalent issue among many footballers...

oh...unless...your motivation is...oh, i get it...

actually in regards to the OP
    quarryman wrote:
    Watching the Liverpool game earlier to see Gerrard at it again - diving.

the very first line in the first post in this thread was a blatant lie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,680 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

still no video of this Gerrard dive?

it was a blatant peno.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,072 ✭✭✭✭event

that doesnt mean its not a dive though?

you can pull a lads jersey, you can grab him by the shoulder which are both stonewall penaltys in the box.
    it doesnt cause your legs to lose power and collapse though, thats a dive.

anyway, they all do it, every team has divers, even my own Leeds.
    iv seen it happen in sunday league football, ive seen it at 5 a side.
    its not right and that doesnt make it ok, but its a fact

ok sorry.

it wasn't a dive, his shirt was grabbed at the neck by a professional athlete as Gerrard was bursting through, it was tugged down constantly as he was off balance & he fell.

Stonewall penalty. Not a dive.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Can we not close this and just reopen the one from last week, or the week before, or the week before that, or possibly the week before that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

ok sorry.

it wasn't a dive, his shirt was grabbed at the neck by a professional athlete as Gerrard was bursting through, it was tugged down constantly as he was off balance & he fell.

Stonewall penalty. Not a dive.
    It was definetly a penalty but gerrard went down easy and made the most of it(as would most players) he was unfortunate tho that the ref was on the wrong side to see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,462 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

didn't see the game, but chatting to two 'pool supporters at lunch, and they were saying there was one that should have been a penalty, and another that Gerrard blatantly dived for.

lol, the other one the defender shouldered him off the ball hard. shoulder to shoulder, hard.

it wasn't a peno, despite him looking for one, but to say he dived?! lol.

Mr Alan, as impartial as ever. ;)

yea, i'm the one who is letting my club bias over rule my senses here! :rolleyes:

if he dived last night, put up a video.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

SlickRic wrote: »
    can we have a thread on every diver in the Premiership?

he dives. we get it. we know it.

any pool fan who claims he doesn't is nutty; and i don't see anyone denying it really.

we know he's said things in the past claiming he hates divers. it's hypocrisy. again, we get it.

most professionals associated with football talk through their ar$e.

rooney dives too.

as does drogba.

as does ibrahimovic.

as does robert earnshaw.

as do most professional footballers.

and they'll all claim they don't.

no point singling out one player as a hypocrite. they're all at it.

let's get over it, and just hope UEFA can come up with the cajones to actually do something about it.

I've never heard Didier Drogba, Zlatan Ibrahimovic or Robert Earnshaw criticize divers. Maybe they have but i've not heard it

I've heard Steven Gerrard criticize divers. This is what makes him hypocritical not the fact that he dives. He should shut up in future and just keep diving and refrain from criticizing all the other divers in the league