Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Dell Inspiron Mini 10 for €166.41

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭unklerosco

I got this when the last batch came up, just waiting for the payment to clear...

Inspiron 1011 Atom N270(1.6GHz,533MHz,512KB)
    No Software Application
    Ubuntu Edition version 8.04
    1.3 megapixel Fixed bezel-mounted camera
    Keyboard Internal UK/Irish Qwerty Keyboard
    Dell Wireless 1397 (802.11 b g)
    Battery Primary 3-cell 24W/HR
    1024M
    Display 10.1in Widescreen WSVGA with Truelife
    Hard Drive 8GB Solid State
    Atom N270 (1.6GHz,533MHz,512KB)
    English Ubuntu Docs
    LCD Back Cover Product Red

Just need to stick windows 7 on it and upgrade the HD(have a few 160gbs in work that'll do nicely)

HAPPY CAMPER!! Oh.. N i'm so jammy I even got the Red one I wanted!!

Oh, n it cost me €188.22, now thats a proper deal!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭eoinf

can someone please explain the differnces between these.

i dont want to buy the wrong one.

someone mentioned one had HDMI and was better for movies, which one is that?

which one can take windows 7?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

Anyone planning on turning theirs into a Hackintosh?

eoinf wrote: »
    can someone please explain the differnces between these.

i dont want to buy the wrong one.

someone mentioned one had HDMI and was better for movies, which one is that?

which one can take windows 7?

Read the first post
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=62143635&postcount=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,734 ✭✭✭zarquon

feylya wrote: »

I am if i can grab one. Just spent a week turning my m1330 into one which was a pain in the arse to do so and still can't get wireless working on it. :(

I wont be, Win 7 rocks... Chuffed I got one for €188. Delivery date is on my B'day too.. Sweet

zarquon wrote: »
    I am if i can grab one. Just spent a week turning my m1330 into one which was a pain in the arse to do so and still can't get wireless working on it. :(

Cool.
    unklerosco wrote: »
    I wont be, Win 7 rocks... Chuffed I got one for €188. Delivery date is on my B'day too.. Sweet

I do like Windows 7 but I kinda fancy an Os X machine. How'd you get it for €188 when mine was €212? Does not compute.

Mines got linux, urs prob has XP home...

Ah, that'd be it. Hmm, wonder does the Eula still stand on mine. Must see if I can get money back :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭eoinf

can only see 1011's coming up and the price seems to have gone up.

I'm only 16 posts away from 6000 posts... Just thought I'd mention that

I've got to stop addictive outlet shopping. Currently have an m1330 and an m2010 :eek: Now i want a mini 10 hackintosh to complete the set.

• Registered Users Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Tester46

There are hundreds of them on the UK Outlet. The price for the full spec Mini10v is €193 (incl VAT) and there are 49 of them.

How come we only have one or two from time to time on the Irish Outlet? Can we buy the UK ones? Any idea when/if there'll be more on the Irish Outlet?

• Registered Users Posts: 3 Rainy days

€277 for a mini10v, think i'll just keep hitting refresh and hope for a cheaper one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,336 ✭✭✭✭Tony

Just got one with xp for € 212.78 incl

1010 that is

Desktop PC Boards discount code on https://www.satellite.ie/ is boards.ie

Load of 10v's there but too expensive :(

zarquon wrote: »
    Load of 10v's there but too expensive :(

would youlike a 10v for €175 + VAT. I can release if you want - having 2nd thoughts now as only 3 cell battery

Released

Mini 10v €175 + VAT

Note: white, 3 cell battery

Dammit, gone again!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭cotwold

#I think i missed it this time, cant find anymore.

I got a red one:) and it only took me 3 hours of hitting refresh!

Mini 10v for €212

Inspiron 1011 Atom N270(1.6GHz,533MHz,512KB)Battery Primary 6-cell 56W/HR

• Registered Users Posts: 320 ✭✭SoldierForce

Rainy days wrote: »

Mini 10v for €212

What price were you quoted before VAT? I saw a few systems for 154 and 175 but when I add them to the cart it went up to 212 or 228 without VAT!

Rainy days wrote: »

Mini 10v for €212

Fair play, did it have a 160GB drive. 8gb ssd is too small for me.

Have the following system in my cart, which I will release in the next 5 minutes! :) Its grand but I dont know to change the HDD so will have to go for the more expensive ones! :(

INSPIRON 1011
    Z2RCZJVR

1024MHard Disk Drive
    Hard Drive 8GB Solid StateCertified Refurbished
    LCD Back Cover Alpine WhiteMISC

System Price : €154.92

€175 ex vat
    €212 incl vat

Hard Disk Drive
    160gb 5400 rpm HD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,454 ✭✭✭jamesd

Ordered one myself there - Dont know why though!
    Inspiron 1011 Atom N270(1.6GHz,533MHz,512KB) Genuine Windows® XP Home Edition 1 € 175.13
    160gb 5400 rpm HD
    LCD Back Cover Alpine White
    Battery Primary 3-cell 24W/HR
    1024M
    Display 10.1in Widescreen WSVGA with Truelife
    Atom N270 (1.6GHz,533MHz,512KB)
    Genuine Windows® XP Home Edition
    Certified Refurbished
    Total excl. VAT VAT Rate VAT Total incl. VAT
    Sub-total(s): € 175.13 21.50% € 37.65 € 212.78

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

jamesd wrote: »
    Ordered one myself there - Dont know why though!

....because you have no will power :D

Have the following system in my cart, which I will release in the next 5 minutes! :) Its grand but I dont know to change the HDD so will have to go for the more expensive ones! :(

INSPIRON 1011
    Z2RCZJVR

1024MHard Disk Drive
    Hard Drive 8GB Solid StateCertified Refurbished
    LCD Back Cover Alpine WhiteMISC

System Price : €154.92

I know its a bit late but its not too hard to upgrade the HD, plenty of guides on the net to show how its done... I'm either gonna stick a 100gb drive in mine or try n get a cheap decent sized ssd..

Dell instructions
    http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/ins1010/en/sm/hdd.htm#wp1184835

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

I presume you mean a 10v? Don't bother trying with a 10(10).
    I'll try if I can get a 10v, for someone else. I'm happy with my s10e hackintosh.

Karoma wrote: »
    I presume you mean a 10v? Don't bother trying with a 10(10).
    I'll try if I can get a 10v, for someone else. I'm happy with my s10e hackintosh.

Yeah, the v's are the most available ones anyway. Should be getting mine next week

I know its a bit late but its not too hard to upgrade the HD, plenty of guides on the net to show how its done... I'm either gonna stick a 100gb drive in mine or try n get a cheap decent sized ssd..

Dell instructions
    http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/ins1010/en/sm/hdd.htm#wp1184835

:( seems easy! Too late now. 154+Vat was an excellent price! Same as yours I guess? Comes to 188. Hoping for better luck next time!

I received my first mail off dell yesterday which was the order acklowledgement ,I have not received the 2nd email off them:
    "You will receive an order confirmation by e-mail after your payment is authorised, so please check your e-mail regularly."

Has anypne else got the order confirmation?

I got mine about 30 mins after the first email.. Might be worth giving them a call incase they've a prob processing the card.. I thought they might have had a prob with mine, as I put down my work address n its not registered on the CC.. Says the delivery address has to be registered with the card for the order to go through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,336 ✭✭✭✭Tony

jamesd wrote: »
    Has anypne else got the order confirmation?

Yes got mine same day

Desktop PC Boards discount code on https://www.satellite.ie/ is boards.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭pauly3

My 1010 arrived this morning, the day after I ordered it !!
    Now to install Windows 7 ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,410 ✭✭✭positron

pauly3 wrote: »
    My 1010 arrived this morning, the day after I ordered it !!
    Now to install Windows 7 ...

Wow, really?

I ordered yesterday AM too (probably some 6 hrs after you did) and the order status now says '4. Delivery Preparation'. Don't think I will get it today not..!

Rang Dell, may as well have been talking to the wall for 30 minutes as im none the wiser on my order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭jimogr

Have they increased the prices? I see a couple of 1011's there now but they are 228+vat = 275

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,410 ✭✭✭positron

pauly3, Could you pls check what your order status says on the Dell Order tracking website (link on the second / order confirmation mail).

Would be really nice if they deliver mine today, giving me time to work on it this weekend, but I see you are in kildare, probably a different delivery service than what's coming to Dublin..... It's in stage 4, 'Preparing Delivery' and the packing slip says 'Shipped Via' as 'INT'.

thanks a mill!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭bazwaldo

get there quick. Some 1011 for 175+VAT=212.78came in. At least 3 now (I got one a min ago)

an ubuntu one there too for 150+VAT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,397 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Decided to pick one up... for 212 with vat
    10v 160gb 6cell battery
    looks like the non v models were better deals

Got my order sorted, my order was lost in Dell Space but has been now found :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭bazwaldo

A mini 10 popped up there and I have it in my cart. A red one.

http://outlet.euro.dell.com/topics/global.aspx/arb/online/en/InventoryDetails?systemId=EW7P5HD3

Even though I prefer it to the 10v, its for my niece and the 6 cell battery on the 10v I got earlier is probably more use to her. I'd do what Pauly3 would do and put win7 on the 10 but I dont need it. Anyways, I'll update my cart now and let it timeout in 15 mins. So it should drop back into the outlet at around 16.47.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭pauly3

Positron, I just checked the status of my order on the Dell website. This is what it says:

Order Date: 17/09/2009
    Estimated Delivery Date (on or before this date): 24/09/2009
    Actual Shipment Date: 17/09/2009
    Carrier Name: Interlink
    Status of delivery: Your order is currently with the carrier and a detailed status on your delivery should be available shortly.
    Packing Slip (Electronic Copy)

Your order has been dispatched as of 17/09/2009

So, as I placed the order at 3am, it went into production the same morning and out on the Interlink network sometime during the day. This suggests to me that they are shipping from Limerick or Dublin, I don't think next day would be from England. I could be wrong. But I am impressed with Dell for getting it to me so quickly. I got the red one, which is gorgeous.

The 1010 model I got has a VERY glossy screen, so is best used indoors and away from overhead lighting. It feels cold to the touch, thanks to the magnesium alloy case. It looks great. I haven't got the chance to install Windows 7 yet, I will do that tonight, as I am looking forward to see if it can really accelerate h.264 video (the 1011 does not have this feature). I found a good discussion on the merits of the GMA500 chipset here:

http://www.mydellmini.com/forum/dell-mini-10-hardware-issues-problems/8376-new-mini-10-but-hd-video-problem.html

The mydellmini.com site has loads of information on eveything about these models.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,397 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

bazwaldo wrote: »
    A mini 10 popped up there and I have it in my cart. A red one.

was looking at the same machine, but since I got the 10v earlier with the 6 cell battery, not going to get it, so should should still there in a few minutes,

also the fact that linux and osx work better with the 10v is a factor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭Redisle

Just saw one of those 175/212 10v's get sold. Was tempted (tho I don't need it).
    Think I will get one of the Ubuntu ones if I see one turning up. The 8gb ssd would be sufficient for me too since I store everything on a home server (+ I could get a large SDHC card if needed)

Edit: That one seems to be back right now if anyone is interested. It's a 10v with a black cover. 175/212.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,007 ✭✭✭mad m

Got a Ubuntu 1011 with all the trimmings...Not bad for €182....Delivered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭eamon234

Those yokes have the worst trackpads I've ever used! Buy a mouse as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,161 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

eamon234 wrote: »

Definitely. The integrated buttons are infuriating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭Tech Overhaul

eamon234 wrote: »

Total agree. Drove me nuts.