Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fringe - Season 2 (US) [**Spoilers**]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

A shame we've to wait until April for new episodes.

Awww what!!! Balls.

NOT happy with Peter lobbing the gob. Totally messes with the show I think. Other than that it was a good episode but the whole Peter and Olivia going on a date left a bad taste in my mouth.

I'm in a mood now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭TonyD79

Waiting till Apil is nothing compared to the break inbetween SGU,V and the massive break they had with BSG in its last season.Id imagine it will get a third season esp since they moved it to Vancouver to make on the cheap.

Have to say they are doing the whole science vs ethics debate v well with Walter vs Olivia's relationship/history

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

Did anyone else notice the code Walter used on the lock

05-20-10

or May 2010...

L31mr0d wrote: »

05-20-10

or May 2010...

Yea, walter said it was the code belly used for everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,574 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

L31mr0d wrote: »

05-20-10

or May 2010...

Yup and its a Thursday too.
    I'd put money on May 20th being the season finale.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,696 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Excellent episode. I echo that already said about the April wait - ridiculous.

I don't see why this show needs an end date tbh. It's not a serial like Lost or a semi-serial like BSG. I can understand "filler" being used in relation to either of those shows, but not Fringe. The whole point of the show was that it would deal mostly in standalone episodes. There's an overall mythological arc like the X-Files had but that's about it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

Great ep. i was expecting that ending but great when it happened. Walter 100% best character.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

Great ep. i was expecting that ending but great when it happened. Walter 100% best character.

There was a scene just before Olivia met up with Peter where she was looking at herself in the mirror... I half expected her to see the glimmer around herself also, which would of been an interesting twist.

It will be interesting to see where they go with the Walter story. I mean they've been pushing him as this curious but caring genius, but he was and still is to an extent a sociopathic monster.

Like they opened this episode with Walter, from his bed, saying "fantastic, I've never won anything before"... which is endearing... but then we go on to see the true extent of what he actually put the children through at that school.

There is good and evil in Walter, he's no saint!....and he has probably done lot worse that he's forgotten about!

You don't end up in the looney bin for nothing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭Redisle

You don't end up in the looney bin for nothing!

We basically found out that his dementia and incarcination were't really accidents though. What with Bell cutting out pieces of his brain and all. IMO he may have gone to the assylum initially due to the death of a lab partner, or maybe that was just a cover for what Bell wanted to do to him. Really though, I don't think a man capable of so many evil things would be that bothered by the death of a partner, he would find some way to rationalise it and move on.

I believe the producers have confirmed that
    Bell and Walter will have a showdown in the season finale
    , certainly something to look forward to.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,696 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

I've a feeling they might get the green light for a third series. The ratings seem to be doing fairly well and also, apparently people are taking to it via their DVR machines. I still think it has a couple of significant problems as a show. I'd be surprised if it didn't get renewed.

http://www.fringebloggers.com/ There's a bit about the ratings and DVR stuff here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭J-blk

I finally got caught up... five episodes worth :). At least it makes the long wait a little easier... I do hope it gets renewed, it definitely has problems as a show, but the "pattern" episodes are nicely moving things along and I want to see that side of the story unfold.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,696 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

The problem is a lot of the standalone episodes leave much to be desired. Which is a pretty big failure in a show that is meant to be based around such episodes. Every show resorts to the obligatory Nazi episode at some point, but doing it in the second season is a bad sign.

Something has to change. They could shift to doing more serialised/mythology episodes, which would certainly please the fans, but I'm pretty sure that isn't what Fox signed up for. Abrams more or less much pitched the show as "it's not like Lost" so it's not gonna become like it now, nor should it. But they can't keep making mediocre standalone episodes. The X-Files struck a balance which I'm not sure Fringe is achieving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭TonyD79

The problem is a lot of the standalone episodes leave much to be desired. Which is a pretty big failure in a show that is meant to be based around such episodes. Every show resorts to the obligatory Nazi episode at some point, but doing it in the second season is a bad sign.

Something has to change. They could shift to doing more serialised/mythology episodes, which would certainly please the fans, but I'm pretty sure that isn't what Fox signed up for.

The stand alone episodes are what attract/keep the general audience and shows like the Xfiles and Millenium have used Nazi storylines very early on and well before ideas ran out. Most peoples favourite x files episodes were the stand alone ones. If you want a continuing storyline then Lost is the show for you and atleast with Fringe viewers dont feel like they have to watch the whole box set to understand whats going on all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭#Daniel

Just got into this a few weeks ago and have watched every episode. Love the Walter Bishop character, he carries the entire show imo. Not a massive fan of Olivia, she seems very bland to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

#Daniel wrote: »
    Not a massive fan of Olivia, she seems very bland to me.
    Oh really?
    http://www.esquire.com/women/women-we-love/anna-torv-nude-0310 NSFW

Sorry, couldn't resist :D

well

maybe not.

BINGO WINGS! :eek:

To her credit (and Esquire)....at least she's not airbrushed to within and inch of her life (and reality). she's got little makeup on, moles/beauty spots...and them pyjamas bottoms aren't very flattering :(

But, implied nudity :mad: - what a load of (no) ****!...i'm serious. either show it or GTFO! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,293 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Its renewed :eek:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,696 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Glad it's been renewed. :)

Me too :). Plus, it's a full 22 episode pick-up, which is very impressive, given that we're talking about FOX here :D:
    There were several comments wondering about whether the third season renewal for Fringe was a full season order of 22 episodes or a 13 episode pick-up. Since none of the stories I’d seen or the press release touched on it, it was a reasonable question. So I asked FOX. It is a full season pick-up with an order for 22 episodes.

http://tvbythenumbers.com/2010/03/08/fringes-third-season-pick-up-was-a-full-season-22-episode-order/44210

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

I'm glad to hear it's coming back for a third series, though it's surprising all the same: weren't the ratings steadily dropping throughout Season 2 in the US?

pixelburp wrote: »
    weren't the ratings steadily dropping throughout Season 2 in the US?

Yes, they were but FOX is largely to blame for constantly messing with how it airs, taking random breaks, etc. Moving it to Thursday was bad for it too, as that is a very competitive night in the US.

Thankfully, it seems that in this case, FOX has taken all that into account and still renewed it - my guess is that it will move nights next year, somewhere where it can do better (I think it originally aired on Wednesdays for most of season 1).

I wonder what happened the cow, when did we last see her?

Promo for the next episode.

Apparently there's going to be a
    musical episode.

Link

Hmm..

musical episode.

Link

Hmm..

:( That sounds terrible. It totally works with some shows, but not with Fringe - doesn't fit in with the overall tone/mythology of the show at all and I think it'll simply be cringe-tastic. Hopefully we don't get even more such dumb ideas implemented...

musical episode.

Link

Hmm..

What the deuce ?! :o

Argh, is this still not back?! I wish someone would leak this damn screener I keep hearing about. Roll on April 1.

Oh and we need a Fringe forum dammit! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

Oh and we need a Fringe forum dammit! :pac:
    +1 it can replace the prison break forum, who do we speak to,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Preview for episode (215) - Peter:

Air date: 1st April

don ramo wrote: »
    +1 it can replace the prison break forum, who do we speak to,
    Add your support here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭Bacchus

Caught up on Season 2 over the past 2 weeks. I kinda lost interest a bit after the 4/5 episode this season but I gave it another go and think it's really hit a run of form. The standalone episodes have improved a bit. Only the one with the possessed girl was poor imo. The others were quite interesting. Add to that, the continuing storyline is very good. Building up nicely, should be good end to the season.

The promo for the next episode looks great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

These hiatuses [?] have killed my enthusiasm for some new shows like Flashforward and V. Fringe is hanging in there but I really need a fix soon.

Yeay! Third season!!!

you really are missing time:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

New episode (Peter) is incredible and one of the shows best.

Opr

Eric Stolz was originally cast in the BTTF film for anyone who was wondering about that scene.

Opr

Brilliant episode. Although I have a few nitpicks with it. There was a couple of retcons and I think they tried too hard to justify what Walter did. Walter isn't the same person that he used to be. They shouldn't have been afraid to paint the old him in a bad light.

Brilliant episode, very well done. What happened with the lab assistant though? I assumed it was her death that led to Walter being institutionalized and expected to see how that came about but nothing... It was cool to see how Nina's hand was damaged/lost too.

J-blk wrote: »
    It was cool to see how Nina's hand was damaged/lost too.
    Yeah, but shouldn't it have been completely severed like what happened to Jones?

Maybe I am way off base but are we suppose to take from Nina saying how much Peter meant to her to be an indication that she is Peter's real mother?

Opr

Yeah, but shouldn't it have been completely severed like what happened to Jones?

Maybe because Walter's "portal" was a very early version of the technology, it didn't "close" the wormhole between worlds as sharply as the later version Jones was using, thus leaving her hand out of phase rather than cleanly severing it? I think they could explain it away if needed or it could indeed have been something they missed in the continuity.
    opr wrote: »
    Maybe I am way off base but are we suppose to take from Nina saying how much Peter meant to her to be an indication that she is Peter's real mother?

That theory has been going around since season 1 and she certainly seems close to Peter (though I would guess that the interest she has now - and subsequently anything we've seen up to this episode - is because she knows the truth about him and maybe even that he is "important") but I don't see the need for the story to go that way. Isn't there enough intrigue/mystery around Peter anyway? Why would they need to throw in yet another curveball?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Gingervitis

Great episode. To draw a comparison with Lost, this was the "Ab Aeterno" of Season 2, and it pretty well matched it both in content (extended explanatory flashback) and quality.

Loved the 80's title sequence, fecking brilliant! The different filming style they had for the flashback was really appropriate as well.

Definitely the pick of the sci fi shows on at the moment compared to the dross that is V and Flash Forward.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Great episode, very gritty. Loved the change of theme.
    Would love to see that kept actually. Great to finally get some detailed backstory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭somuj

Is Walters wife Irish??

Orla Brady, yes.

Good episode.

nice to see anna torv helping her old castmates

+1 keep the new start,

i thought the scene where he takes peter was odd, when peter was having a bit of a nightmare of being dragged from his bed, i thought he was remebering being taken,

also nice to continuity with them both fallin into the water and the observer saving them,

i wonder how long it will be before peter discovers the truth, and then discovers why he so important,

+1 this is probably the best sci-fi themed show running at the moment, and im delighted theres no more worry about renewal,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

Yep, loved the cheesy synth theme music (but I think it would grate after a while), and the list of technologies that were up and coming in 1985 (Virtual Reality etc). The (what I call) "Space 1999" font was cool too, brought back memories.

I think that Walter is going to become more devoted to work / less connected to his family from 1985 on, possibly in order to combat the potential threat from the other side from his having taken Peter across (so Peter's formative memories from when after he was brought across are those of the cold / disassociated Walter we were told of in Season one). It was clear from this episode that "Walternate" was hardly ever at home, and that alt-Peter preferred his mother to his father. Thus I don't think that the warm Walter in that episode was a retcon. I mean, Abrams and co wouldn't stoop so low, right :confused:

I wonder how real walter managed to explain his son miraculously coming back to life all of a sudden, I mean, surely more than the 4 people who were at Peters funeral knew he was dead. Now suddenly Peter is alive and well again.

I had always pictured Peter dieing, then Walter immediately jumping over to get Peter..nate, without anyone knowing but himself. But no, they had a funeral and made a pretty big deal about it.