Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fly Recommendations

Options
  • 19-09-2009 10:00pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,343 ✭✭✭

Hi,I'm fairly new to fly fishing. Have been 3 times in the last few months. Really enjoying it. So far i've fished in the same spot,a stocked lake in Offaly called lough cloghan.The season end on that lake on the 30th of november so i hope to go a few more times.
    I wish to buy some trout flies for myself. Can anybody give me some good reliable trout fly recommendations? Dry and Wet?

Cheers.

Zak.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

have a look around this site.

this is a chart for the Shannon region.

http://fliesofireland.buy.ie/reg_shannon.html

i'm hoping to get a little better informed myself over the winter and fish with a few older patterns next year.
    (as well as with a few newer ones!)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

What's it stocked with, rainbows?
    Do you prefer to fish wets, drys, buzzers or lures or will you just be happy to catch a few fish?
    How have you been doing so far?
    If you could answer those questions I will give you a few suggestions.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,343 ✭✭✭Zak Flaps

Hi chuileog, I'd just like to catch some fish I suppose. It's stocked with rainbows and brown trout. Been 3 times,caught 2 fish. One on some sort of sedge. One on a booby. Like the dry fly fishing best. Although any suggestions welcome. Dry, wet , buzzers, lures etc .... Thanks very much.

• Registered Users Posts: 686 ✭✭✭DVD-Lots