Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE" Late Night stars of poker - Sunday night.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,277 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Hmm lost some respect for John Higgins.

No more Scots imo.

Late night drunks of poker might be a more apt title.

• Registered Users Posts: 36,355 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Registered Users Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Irish Iron

do you reckon they will late the same lad on the show twice or just give it to 2nd place from last night?

also martin mcdonagh is my new hero for that 9s7s hand, fact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭aceswild

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    I'm most definitely not Brad Pitt. Hence why I am acutely aware of my level and limitations when it comes to women.

I think the upsetting part of the whole thing is the fact that some of these heats are being shot in the early morning / afternoon!!
    well let me inform u ur extremely similar 2 bernard dunne in that ur punching well above ur weight

Irish Iron wrote: »
    do you reckon they will late the same lad on the show twice or just give it to 2nd place from last night?

also martin mcdonagh is my new hero for that 9s7s hand, fact.
    feck it let ken play twice,y nt?? he got tru fair n square,but its highly unlikely theyll let him,happy days 4 d guy who was 2nd,but id still be sik if i were him,somethin dirty bout gettin on by default knowin he wasnt good enuf 2 legitimatly qualify:(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

aceswild wrote: »
    well let me inform u ur extremely similar 2 bernard dunne in that ur punching well above ur weight

thats disturbing on a few levels

• Registered Users Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

details of the move mcdonagh pulled plz?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

details of the move mcdonagh pulled plz?

I was playing Sunday Mill and not really concentrating but came down something like this:

don't know what the PF action was but McDonagh had 9s7s and Fintan had 45o. McDonagh had Fintan covered. Can't remember the flop action either but the fun was on the turn iirc.

Board was something like AA46 no flush draw

Fintan bets, McDonagh reraises with 9 hi and Parky starts getting interested on commentary saying 'great play' etc while slagging off Fintan mercilessly. Fintan reraises and we all await the fold but then McDonagh thinks and ships. Parky most impressed.

Fintan folds and maintains his last few chips, asking will he show, McDonagh does and earns Legend status, wp ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 36,355 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

I was playing Sunday Mill and not really concentrating but came down something like this:

don't know what the PF action was but McDonagh had 9s7s and Fintan had 45o. McDonagh had Fintan covered. Can't remember the flop action either but the fun was on the turn iirc.

Board was something like AA46 no flush draw

Fintan bets, McDonagh reraises with 9 hi and Parky starts getting interested on commentary saying 'great play' etc while slagging off Fintan mercilessly. Fintan reraises and we all await the fold but then McDonagh thinks and ships. Parky most impressed.

Fintan folds and maintains his last few chips, asking will he show, McDonagh does and earns Legend status, wp ;)
    yeh it was kinda like that,fintan told mac after that he had folded an ace 2 him but had a really bad kicker with it...oh the lies! the show was really badly put 2gether,there were way better pots they could have shown where in 1 i had trip 9s n bernard had a house 9s over kings,and they made me out 2 b short stack all the time but i was massive chip leader for a good while with 160k and nearest 2 me had 80k n lost most of it in a hand where fintan caught runner runner against me 2 make a straight,the blinds were 1 n 2k n the pot had 80k in it! theyre coverage of hands was really poor.:(

I thought you came across well, quite relaxed in what must be a very strange artificial environment - you certainly looked as though you enjoyed youself!

now for the gossip; how drunk was John Higgins? Give us the scoop and I'll get you a date with Lloyd ;)

(second prize = two dates :eek:)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

Apparently the heat was pushed back a couple of hours so the couple of warm up pints turned into a skinful.

Higgins went to the jacks and when he hadnt turned up for ages someone was sent to investigate and he was found asleep in the cubicle, legend imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

I thought Padraig going go on and ON about the black haired girl being a chatterbox was quite ironic, Jaysus he never shuts up himself. This programme is now compulsive viewing because it is sooo bad. . If you were to parody TV poker it would not be much different than this. The presenter, the giggling over hands in the commentary box, the producer totally skipping series of hands that left you confused as to what was going on, at one stage Fintan got a double up, then he was all in with half of what he won in his double up. What happened to the rest of it?

Next year the celebs will be, the pregnant winner of this years Apprentice romp and John n Edward from X factor slowrolling some cranky whore from Cork in an epidode to be known afterwards as The Bloody Sundey of Irishpoker. I expect carnage, the recipe is there. Also what does the 'Ace from space' mean, I know it rhymes and all but is it from a flash gordon movie or something? WTF?
    The girlie did good fair play young wan.

John Higgins outclassed in the drinks by Nicky.

I thought you came across well, quite relaxed in what must be a very strange artificial environment - you certainly looked as though you enjoyed youself!

now for the gossip; how drunk was John Higgins? Give us the scoop and I'll get you a date with Lloyd ;)

(second prize = two dates :eek:)
    i have to say john higgins was one of the nicest ppl up there he was lovelly,and so dwn 2 earth,it wasnt as bad as every1 made out,he went 4 a few drinks but so did every1,every1 at that table had been drinkin since at least 3pm that day except bernard dunne(funny that) and john hadnt even eaten breakfast! the show wasnt put bak so we cud drink it was delayed by d other heats recorded b4 ours,yes he did fall asleep but i wud hav 2 if id been drinkin guiness all day!:eek: sum1 has a great vid of him singin! i really feel bad 4 him 4 him cos it was only a laugh n a joke n sum wanker tried 2 sell d story 2 d newspaper.....so 2 sum it up every1 at d table except bernard (and prob me) were pissed its just john a was a little more than the rest of us......but an hour after filmin wrapped up we were all in d very same boat as him!:D

Apparently the heat was pushed back a couple of hours so the couple of warm up pints turned into a skinful.

Higgins went to the jacks and when he hadnt turned up for ages someone was sent to investigate and he was found asleep in the cubicle, legend imo.

totally OT; went to your bistro for dinner on Friday, very good food and real nice layout too. Hope it goes well.

YULETIRED wrote: »
    I thought Padraig going go on and ON about the black haired girl being a chatterbox was quite ironic, Jaysus he never shuts up himself. This programme is now compulsive viewing because it is sooo bad. . If you were to parody TV poker it would not be much different than this. The presenter, the giggling over hands in the commentary box, the producer totally skipping series of hands that left you confused as to what was going on, at one stage Fintan got a double up, then he was all in with half of what he won in his double up. What happened to the rest of it?

Next year the celebs will be, the pregnant winner of this years Apprentice romp and John n Edward from X factor slowrolling some cranky whore from Cork in an epidode to be known afterwards as The Bloody Sundey of Irishpoker. I expect carnage, the recipe is there. Also what does the 'Ace from space' mean, I know it rhymes and all but is it from a flash gordon movie or something? WTF?
    The girlie did good fair play young wan.

John Higgins outclassed in the drinks by Nicky.
    i love that..the girl WITH THE BLACK HAIR :D i was the only girl there lol

Ok so I've stopped the fan letter I was about to send in. I won't be mocked like this. You missed out on a photo of me in speedos.

sending the 'exposed nipple' shot instead eh? cute

damn! me n my mouth!:( i should hav listened 2 padraig,his constant ridiculing was only 2 make me a better person i nw realise! :(:(:( i apologise 4 making this most blatent point and mocking u...............sufficiant grovling POST THE PIC:) preferably red speedos

sending the 'exposed nipple' shot instead eh? cute
    classy ;)

all ur gettin

• Registered Users Posts: 2,724 ✭✭✭oleras

all ur gettin

Is he being cable tied to the chair ? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

which category of players do you fall into

- poker pro
    - sports star
    - online qualifier

- poker pro
    - sports star
    - online qualifier
    tricky question lol :) im an online qualifier but i dnt work n i play poker 4 muchos so i reckon they shud hav had me dwn as a pro lol :D

- poker pro
    - sports star
    - online qualifier

Worst chat up line ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

John made the mistake of thinking he could out drink Parky. I arrived in the city west at 3 and the lads were having a few at that stage. The filming of our heat was to start at 7 but didn't get going until nine by which stage a few of us were well oiled but John was twisted. I went for a piss about 15 minutes before filming started and John was asleep on a sink in the jaxx. John was great craic all day and hey, who hasn't got a little caught up in the beer at a poker event in the city west from time to time.

nicnicnic wrote: »
    John made the mistake of thinking he could out drink out drink Parky. I arrived in the city west at 3 and the lads were having a few at that stage. The filming of our heat was to start at 7 but didn't get going until nine by which stage a few of us were well oiled but John was twisted. I went for a piss about 15 minutes before filming started and John was asleep on a sink in the jaxx. John was great craic all day and hey, who hasn't got a little caught up in the beer at a poker event in the city west from time to time.
    hey nicky :D congrats in killarney,u were lookin hot on d telly lol:) theyre givin d poor fecker a rough old time...i luved him he was great! nt the best singer though ;) this is a nice pic aaint it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

hey nicky :D congrats in killarney,u were lookin hot on d telly lol:) theyre givin d poor fecker a rough old time...i luved him he was great! nt the best singer though ;) this is a nice pic aaint it

Cheers Liz, I'm sure i was lovely :-), Missed it last night but got the bro to tape it so ill have a look later.

nicnicnic wrote: »
    Cheers Liz, I'm sure i was lovely :-), Missed it last night but got the bro to tape it so ill have a look later.
    defo,im tellin ya if ever ya get sik of poker theres a great gap in the market 4 a sleek male escort :) nah u did good,they showed none of ur bluffs though so it looked like u played 1 hand n just went crazy! it was really badly put 2gether imo,ul c it ne way urself..we know the truth! we played fantastic n they edited us out lol;)