Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE" Late Night stars of poker - Sunday night.

Jim Rock: "I think the dealer likes me, she keeps giving me the eye"

DP Fitzgerald: "Sure who wouldn't"

Hmmm...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

ferdyfish wrote: »
    ya funny. ah ya terrible bet by me, had that k8 been a8 i might have gotten another 2 ace from space. i should have said 3for the no bet and 4+ me and 2or less you. nice tenner nic.:rolleyes:

ill let you buy out now for a €3 quick pick between us

• Registered Users Posts: 717 ✭✭✭ghostface ste

dp is a tool

• Registered Users Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

two rocks heads up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

very disappointed in Mick, no bling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭max_power

lol is Jim Rock playing?? The cowboy of all cowboys.

• Registered Users Posts: 717 ✭✭✭ghostface ste

'even Dp has an opinion on this hand' great stuff from parkinson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

I thought Dara would try to grind him playing small pots.

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭ispyvisuals

come on dara, dont need another celeb winning, hard enough convinced folk its a skill game without this nonsense

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭ispyvisuals

Jim Rock: "I think the dealer likes me, she keeps giving me the eye"

DP Fitzgerald: "Sure who wouldn't"

Hmmm...

lmao at this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭westlife

DP... 'were still two handed' :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

come on dara, dont need another celeb winning, hard enough convinced folk its a skill game without this nonsense

I will give you 3/1 on Dara if you want :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

I read the first page of this thread...

just in relation to the comments, the presenter is such a twat etc etc...

what the **** were you all expecting...it's RTE :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

kincsem wrote: »

Blinds were fairly massive I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

Thought Rock actually play pretty good for a complete novice to the game!

Anyone else think Doke had a touch of Tom Hanks in Big about him tonight?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭westlife

Rekop dog wrote: »

well.... both of them are long distant runners (more forest gump):D

• Registered Users Posts: 872 ✭✭✭doke

That was the plan. We actually played quite a few small pots of which they showed only one. I was limping my button, something I almost never do headsup, trying to maximise the amount of play post flop, but it got to the stage where even a limp and a cbet was too much of my stack so if I thought I had the best hand pre I had to be happy to get it in.

One hand they cut but Parky and Emmet mentioned in commentary did me some damage. I limped 83s, the board ran out AKQ52 and Rock called me down with ten high!

Once the blinds hit 10/20 and I had 80K left there was no point limping any more. I shipped the AQ, got called by A9, and doubled up. Next hand was the last one. He limped K8o, I thought about a smaller raise or a check with ATs but decided to ship as I knew he'd call with any weaker ace (he just had). At that stage the blinds were just too big for anything fancy.

Rekop dog wrote: »

Frankie Sheehan actually said that at the table. It's a shame they cut most of the table banter out: was a lot of craic.

carfax wrote: »
    Blinds were fairly massive I think.

Yup. In retrospect I felt a key turning point was when Big Mick's K8o sucked out all in against Rock's QQ three handed. At that stage I had 240K and blinds were still 5/10K. With 24 big blinds I think I'd have had a great chance playing small pot poker against someone I felt I could read perfectly after the flop. By the time we did get headsup, I had 10 big blinds, which became 8 after a short while. That made shove or fold the optimal strategy in theory (although as I said before, I felt in practise I was better off keeping pots small as long as I could even if it meant doing awful stuff like limping).

Good fold, Dara, against the Rock's straight.

Cheers. Was pretty easy with just ace high:D

I actually called his hand before he showed but that was edited out. As someone said, Jim played extremely well for a total novice, but like most novices he was incredibly easy to read after the flop. I knew he had the queen in Big Mick's exit, I think Mick knew it too (on the programme, you do hear him saying to me across the table "I probably could have folded there, could I?").

Very good call by Parky in commentary on my thought processes in Mick's exit hand there. Normally 66 is a standard squeeze shove as I know Mick folds enough of his range to make the move profitable, but I was pretty certain Rock was never folding and I'd be racing at best against him.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I missed this. No Bing Blang Blaow?

5starpool wrote: »
    I missed this. No Bing Blang Blaow?

I managed to fire two off but they were both editted out :(

One after I won a pot against Big Mick (not shown) and another when I doubled up with the AQ v A9.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭fatguy

doke wrote: »

One after I won a pot against Big Mick (not shown) and another when I doubled up with the AQ v A9.
    :(

Obviously nobody in RTE reads the Poker forum. Super effort all the same though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Padraig06

doke wrote: »

i put one in myself!

• Registered Users Posts: 103 ✭✭pkaces

missed this last night, here is the link for anyone else in the same boat
    http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1057371

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭a-k-47

Im not sure but did that douche bag presenter say when doke had been eliminated, something along the lines of ' Being an online qualifier, you were the underdog?' before that he mentioned you were a 'professional'?, makes loads of sense!! :rolleyes::rolleyes:. Or was that just the voices in my head again ?:_...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭byrner1

Well played Dara you were very unlucky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭SpencerJames

I think Doke would of won if he wore one of his usual ties!

Knot too big for him imo!

He's intimidating when he looks like he came from a knackers funeral after having just picked up the award for the smallest knot in a tie.

UL and WP

• Registered Users Posts: 991 ✭✭✭tm2204

Last hand his call with the K9 was bad, the flop left him with 4 outs, the turn bang he hits the 4 outer, Doke still has bundles of outs & misses everything on the river.

That pot was massive & Doke would have cruised home from there.

Very unlucky Dara. You rightly looked gutted at the end.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Padraig06 wrote: »
    i put one in myself!

While playing or commentating? Was it broadcast at all?