Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Random Photo Part XV. DO NOT QUOTE PHOTOS & Photo Size < 800px PLEASE!

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭paulusdu

Brndn
    Good point (and great photo btw), shouldn't satalites/planes etc move faster than stars ? maybe an asteroid/meteor or something moving in the opposite direction far out from the earths orbit ?

maybe one of the lads in the Astronomy section could have fun with that pic (or maybe the conspiracy theory guys:-))

On a more technical note, what settings did you use for that shot ?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,695 ✭✭✭DaireQuinlan

paulusdu wrote: »
    Brndn
    Good point (and great photo btw), shouldn't satalites/planes etc move faster than stars ? maybe an asteroid/meteor or something moving in the opposite direction far out from the earths orbit ?

It might have zipped across the sky really quickly, and just flashed very briefly as it passed by the camera, there's no indication that that streak is of the same duration as the star trails. It's probably a satellite or something I guess.

• Registered Users Posts: 492 ✭✭Burnt

robinph wrote: »
    ^ One star seems to have got lost and it going the wrong way?

I would think that it is an Irdium flash as a best guess. see wiki

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Satellite_flare

• Registered Users Posts: 519 ✭✭✭ThenComesDudley

current stock of films

4008965186_d4d0c1a174_o.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Cosmo K

4004472985_accfb96cb0_o.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Thraktor

A very nice €1 coffee from a cafe in Erlangen, Bavaria.

F1000007_2.JPG

Taken on a Canon AV-1 with a Canon 50mm f/1.8 lens on Ilford HP5 film.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭Pacha

Agents are coming
    IMG_5113.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭.Longshanks.

4009336168_eefd7acc87_o.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 9,324 ✭✭✭keps

Shadow- Valencia

2hs7qdg.jpg

Pic from Arts & Science area Valencia

2n0srjn.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭trooney

F2AD8C1339D24E219377FB0C16635EC9-800.jpg

trooney wrote: »

great shot

• Registered Users Posts: 519 ✭✭✭ThenComesDudley

4009033069_fc4af55245_o.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭paulusdu

Not sure which version i prefer, but both are sort of relaxing for some odd reason in a quiet sort of way . . . .

3982606697_9ff2f36c98.jpg

or

3983367326_a72dd42e94.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 6,392 ✭✭✭AnCatDubh

580CADAF3DD1450A9BB28D813C9B6160.jpg

I think my horizons are straight which probably means that the light could do with being straightened up.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

4009119649_5dab327cc7.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 30,248 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

0E4C7CFF206A4B9784507C54D4312449-800.jpg

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,528 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

ADC70E9C8CA3485D8D388860030575A8-500.jpg

Double exp. with a '36 116mm Brownie and fujifilm

• Registered Users Posts: 6,392 ✭✭✭AnCatDubh

8006D2A4661141DEBA6746D4FC81BDF8.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭katiemaloe

Nice one humberklog- I put a roll of the fujufilm through a 120 lubitel at the weekend. I'll post a pic up here tomorrow. I love the way it exposes right out the edge :)

my wellies and the matching leaf

8D5A5B103B714C4F994F36CBCC89EC9E-500.jpg

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,528 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

katiemaloe wrote: »
    Nice one humberklog- I put a roll of the fujufilm through a 120 lubitel at the weekend. I'll post a pic up here tomorrow. I love the way it exposes right out the edge :)

Thanks Katie, I've moved 2 photos over to the album "Jutethrox" on my pix.ie to show you how big the full exp. is through a 116mm (which is a bigger exp. than 120mm). It covers the length of over 24 sprocket holes. Fecking huge thingies altogether. So that last photo isn't even half the natural length!?

humberklog wrote: »
    Thanks Katie, I've moved 2 photos over to the album "Jutethrox" on my pix.ie to show you how big the full exp. is through a 116mm (which is a bigger exp. than 120mm). It covers the length of over 24 sprocket holes. Fecking huge thingies altogether. So that last photo isn't even half the natural length!?

Wow thats cool! Thats a nice album you have. The ones i took at the weekend were indoors so not the greatest exposures. I'll play with them tomorrow at work. Must take some more outside on my next day off. Its a fun kind of photography. A mate of mine did it with 110 film- I might try that through my 35mm slr and see what its like :)

paulusdu wrote: »
    Not sure which version i prefer, but both are sort of relaxing for some odd reason in a quiet sort of way . . . .

I prefer the 2nd one

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭yarglags

katiemaloe wrote: »

I've got half a roll through a Diana so far. Can't seem to find the time or inspiration to finish it. I must try harder.

I joined here in March or thereabouts

Is it me just thinkin' this or has the standard just gone up in leaps and bounds in the last six months?

humberklog wrote: »
    Canon A1 and 400iso

Truly amazing shot - and dont forget I get free wine at your 'launch'.

(and some cocktail sausages)

keps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭Pacha

649 and 650 go very well together ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 469 ✭✭ttcomet

Robin:
    C39992C333C34004B218EA4E6839AB5C.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Cosmo K

Just for the craic;)

4011656086_e41d29c4a9_o.jpg