Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Very angry mother

• 23-09-2009 8:53pm
    Registered Users Posts: 770 ✭✭✭

Was in a store today buying some DVDs and there was a woman going mental at the staff. You may ask why, well because they didn't sell her EIGHT year old and 18 rated movie and she had to come down to get it.
    She was really screaming at them as well. She did seem a little off. Said she was going to report them (For what exactly?) to head office.
    She was saying her son should be allowed ring her and get the movies. Th guy behind the counter (clearly had enough) told her to try that in the off licence next door. Some people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭Whosbetter?

Bet she'd be the first to complain if they did sell her son the DVD aswell.

Some people deserve a right slap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Unlike the offlicense, is it actually an offense to provide the DVD to someone under the age on the box? Isn't it just an industry standard recommendation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

Remember the days with unenforced regulation. Was sent to shop as a kid to buy packet of cigarettes many times for aunt. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Lab_Mouse

Unlike the offlicense, is it actually an offense to provide the DVD to someone under the age on the box? Isn't it just an industry standard recommendation?
    Not too sure about movies but the ratings used for pc/xbox games is

Was she wearing pajamas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

I would have taken every porno i had under the counter and gave them to the kid. So is he into midgets or gay paraplegics Mrs. Cúntface?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,230 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Could be shop policy though

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

She sounds like she is IQ challenged if she doesn't understand why the shop had a problem saying an 18 rated DVD to a child.

• Registered Users Posts: 141 ✭✭sean0

She sounds like a complete tool! An 8 year old watching an 18's rated movie!? Chances are the kid will see stuff he doesn't understand and his head will become messed up.I suppose the mother bought him a few cans aswell as the dvd to keep him occupied while she goes on a night out.

Could be shop policy though
    Of course and fair enough, I'm only wondering if the analogy to the offie is the best to make.

An 8 year old watching an 18's rated movie!?
    Depends entirely on the movie to be honest and the kid to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭NickNolte

Just what we need. Another young Irish child with a toerag mother allowing him to watch movies with violent and/or sexual content from a young age. Kid hasn't got a chance. Let's hope he doesn't grow up to beat someone's grandfather to death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

It's not illegal but it creates problems for when you do sell it to a minor and then have the parents down complaining about him getting it. So a store usually enacts the 'we reserve the right to refuse' option. Well i was like that back when i worked in a video store.

Dunno about that, what film is 18s and is suitable for an 8 year old? Depending on the kid, at the age of 8 though?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Was she wearing pajamas?

Was she 18?

Was she 18?

lol :D

It's not illegal but it creates problems for when you do sell it to a minor and then have the parents down complaining about him getting it. So a store usually enacts the 'we reserve the right to refuse' option. Well i was like that back when i worked in a video store.
    Pretty much what I thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,306 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

well because they didn't sell her EIGHT year old and 18 rated movie and she had to come down to get it
    They should have child services on quick-dial by now :D

• Registered Users Posts: 929 ✭✭✭TheCardHolder

sean0 wrote: »
    She sounds like a complete tool! An 8 year old watching an 18's rated movie!? Chances are the kid will see stuff he doesn't understand and his head will become messed up.I suppose the mother bought him a few cans aswell as the dvd to keep him occupied while she goes on a night out.

Bit quick to form an opinion?

She went mad at the staff even threatened to report them because they wouldn't sell her eight year old kid an 18's rated dvd.

So no not really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Proxy

Used to get it at least once a week when I worked in Xtravision. Even used to get "well if they want to rent from now on, i'm fine with it", or "ring me then". Knacks.

Told every one of them the same thing - under both company policy and Irish law it's an offense to supply these DVD/games and I'd be personally responsible for the €2,000 fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭SirLemonhead

I used to be allowed watch a fair amount of 18s when I was 8. My dad had the sense to rent them himself for me though :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Was the mommy wearing a tracksuit or pyjamas?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,442 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Oh i'd love to for that woman to try that on me. job or not, the staff were well within their limits to justify themselves and if she had shouted at me, i'd be giving her a piece of my mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

My guess is it was Family guy :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I've seen a similar scene in a games store, some parent shouting they wouldnt sell some Grand Theft Auto game to her child and now she had to buy it for them.

Sure if they did sell the games I'm sure another family member would be shouting at the staff for selling it

Working in retail sucks :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I worked in a music retailer and this was a huge deal - breaching it would land employees in fairly hot water. The woman threatening to "report" the sales assistant... not surprising. Where I work, customers often demand to speak to supervisors when whomever is dealing with them refuses to breach data protection legislation.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Shopstaff were right.
    Parents obviously put out 'cos she had to get off her lazy ass.

The sad part is, that same parent will probably be scratching their head some time soon wondering where or how did a child of their's ever go wrong!

Corkfeen wrote: »
    Remember the days with unenforced regulation. Was sent to shop as a kid to buy packet of cigarettes many times for aunt. :D

with a note from said aunt!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

No, it depends entirely on the age of the CHILD and the age restrictions... No child is mature enough to watch adult content, be it drugs, sex, violence or strong language... Just to name a few.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

I watched T2 when it was released, i was 8. Im not a psycho killer or anything ridiculous. I watched Trainspotting at 12, not a junkie by any means. Get over it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭Delta Kilo

sean0 wrote: »
    Dunno about that, what film is 18s and is suitable for an 8 year old? Depending on the kid, at the age of 8 though?

I reckon A Clockwork Orange should break him in nicely:D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,118 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

The UK thought that they had a law to make it illegal to sell 18 rated games and videos to under 18's. Turns out that they fecked up the legislation 25 years ago though and so they recently had to drop a load of prosecutions until they re-write exatly the same laws again: :D:D:D

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/8219438.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

A geniune case of. kick her in the gee.ffs

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,645 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

Was in a store today buying some DVDs and there was a woman going mental at the staff. You may ask why, well because they didn't sell her EIGHT year old and 18 rated movie and she had to come down to get it.
    She was really screaming at them as well. She did seem a little off. Said she was going to report them (For what exactly?) to head office.
    She was saying her son should be allowed ring her and get the movies. Th guy behind the counter (clearly had enough) told her to try that in the off licence next door. Some people.

on the first read I though the guy said "Try the off license next store" which would of been pure dynamite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Dardania

Melion wrote: »
    I watched T2 when it was released, i was 8. Im not a psycho killer or anything ridiculous. I watched Trainspotting at 12, not a junkie by any means. Get over it!

I watched T2 when I was a kid around 8...scared the bejaysus out of me. I was always dreading that date in 1997 when the machines are intelligent and scar the skys to kill the humans...

Maybe the 18s rating isn't the worst idea!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Not sure tbh.

IFCO give an example situation though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Was the DVD "50 best knacker fights"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭mehfesto2

I got in trouble becuase I refused to sell an 8 year old the last book in the twilight series. I was told it contains 'mature content' towards the end and her mother came in and gave me a bollcking.

You can't win with some people. You try do your best and then they bite the head off you either way. I hope her child grows up to be a total slut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭SirLemonhead

Dardania wrote: »
    I watched T2 when I was a kid around 8...scared the bejaysus out of me. I was always dreading that date in 1997 when the machines are intelligent and scar the skys to kill the humans...

Maybe the 18s rating isn't the worst idea!

Ah sure that's only a 15s :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 496 ✭✭renraw

Having worked for a large chain of home emntertainment, it is an offence to provide a movie to anyone below the film censors office mandatory age. So anyone under 18 given an adult or over 18's film is subject to prosecution with massive fines. It isn't an industry standard but a legal/mandatory requirement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

A jocular squeeze of her tit would have done much to inject some levity to the situation.