Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

If the EU constitution was passed, what would be your greatest concerns?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

My greatest concern would be that we would have to continue to listen to these stupid conspiracy theories.

This is a CT Forum. Keep that in mind and read the forum charter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭Black Uhlan

meglome wrote: »
    You do realise that Norway accepts nearly all EU laws but has no say in their creation. Plus they pay the EU for the privilege. Of course Norway has all that oil. I wonder what would happen to an 'independent' country like Iceland if things got really bad, I dunno they might go bankrupt or somesuch.

haha you can't even accept it when Norway says NO. At least their government can accept the will of their people and not force another vote onto them just a year later and to add to that their politcal parties are divided on the issue reflecting the will of the people unlike here and our shower of crooks. I have a cabin in the Nowegian countryside and I have some friends there and to think that some suits in Brussels could put quotas or bans on killing foxes, just as an example is a total crock of ****. The Norwegian economy is actually doing quote well at the moment without the EU.

Of course some people will only consider economic freedom rather than quality of life or personal freedoms:rolleyes:. Not that actually wanting to maintain the soveriegnty of the land their ancestors fought and died for has harmed their economy.

Here is the most recent UN Human Development Index. http://www.infoplease.com/ipa/A0778562.html

Norway is at the top. Iceland is second, obviously that has changed since then but your fearmongering about Iceland's situation and EU membership has no basis in reality. Their Prime Minister Haareide turned the country into an international banking and ****ed them over.

What does having ALL 3 major European nations not in the EU placing in the top 10, never mind the champion and first runner up of the world in the most livable standards index tell you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭Clanket

What does having ALL 3 major European nations not in the EU placing in the top 10, never mind the champion and first runner up of the world in the most livable standards index tell you?

Absolutely nothing when you see that Ireland is number 4.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 Xandrius

You do realise that Norway accepts nearly all EU laws but has no say in their creation. Plus they pay the EU for the privilege. Of course Norway has all that oil. I wonder what would happen to an 'independent' country like Iceland if things got really bad, I dunno they might go bankrupt or somesuch.

Yes that is true that we accept almost every EU law that comes along but we will still have our own constitution and the law that you have or having soon that saves all info from internet, mail and telephone we dont have and it is alot of powers in Norway fighting against that law also. Not only people and politicians but also the companys that provide the internet and phone lines. EU really wants us to have this law but I hope and belive that wont happen in the near future. And yes we pay alot of money to the EU but if we were to become members we would have to pay even more and we would have less to say than we have now so this is a much better solution for us, we are the 10th biggest economy in the world so we are pretty rich with our 4.7 million people. And yes every cent(øre) is from the oil industry and that is not so nice to think about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

my greatest fear that if the treaty is passed that the eu or might be called "Union" fail to use its voice as a group of countries on the global front all singing from the same hymn sheet so to speak.
    my greatest fear is if anyone takes the OP seriously. im yet to come across any plausable infomation from him. i smell TROLL and i suppose im going to get infracted or worse for this, but i really would like to see a single shred of evidence in the treaty for any of this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

My greatest concerns are summarized in my signature, Which are seem to be the characteristics of what we would expect from a NEW World Order Governing body. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

studiorat wrote: »
    I'd like to ask the OP what exactly is his issue with Secularism?

PAUSE...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭espinolman

If the European constitution Lisbon was passed what would be your top greatest concerns if the authorities were to draft in new civil measures into the country?.

Compulsory drafting into the military on the reaching of 18 years of age for two years.This would be particularly hard on small families in the case of casualty.

Yes , well World War three is being planned .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,297 ✭✭✭✭Penn

espinolman wrote: »

It is?

European battlegroups deployed to Iran no doubt. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,297 ✭✭✭✭Penn

From that site:
    This site was launched in July 2003. It is non-commercial and non-profit and provided by me because I have a particular interest in this subject. Ultimately my hope is that the content presented here may make you sit up and THINK about what's going on in the world today. Sadly, our education, press, TV and day-to-day activities all collude against us to prevent independent thinking.
    Beliefs:
    1. That all historic events of importance have happened by design (see An Introduction to Conspiratorial History);
    2. That three world wars were planned as far back as 1776 and that the commonly believed reasons given for the start of World War I and World War II are contrived;
    3. That the plans for World War III are well laid out and are already following a clearly defined script, with only minor adjustments made to the timing thereof to allow for unforeseen delays to the grand plan;
    4. That the major elements necessary for the start of World War III and the subsequent destruction of society as we know it are now in place, waiting only for the correct combination of events before final world domination is achieved;
    5. That God is in control and permitting the events of today to occur in fulfillment of Biblical prophecy;
    6. That it is our duty to inform and educate those who wish to be informed;
    7. That resistance is futile and that no effort should be expended in trying to prevent world domination by a few. Instead we should prepare as best we can.
    8. That the commonly debated issues on other conspiracy sites like Globalization; Man-Made Diseases; Secret Societies like The Illuminati, Bilderbergers, Skull & Bones, Freemasons, Knights Templars, Rosicrucian's, Opus Dei, etc., are all simply noise and distraction, UNLESS they are discussed within the understanding of the larger battle going on in the spiritual world, which is manifest in the physical world here on earth. This is where most other conspiracy sites get it wrong, by focusing on non-important issues.
    I have no specific credentials relevant to the content on this site (my background is IT and Telecommunications). However the site is the result of many years (at least 15, but I've lost track) of study, research, questioning and personal observances. I have read and summarized countless sources (probably approaching 2,500) and over time have built an understanding of the Conspiratorial View of History in general and the development of the New World Order in particular. In some way perhaps I'm testing that understanding by being bold enough to call the start of World War 3 on Thursday March 20, 2003 with a US invasion of Baghdad. Only time will tell if this proves true.

Disclaimer: The accuracy of any of the information on any of these pages cannot be guaranteed. You should never accept anything you read or hear as fact until you've verified the information for yourself first.
    ThreeWorldWars.com

July, 2003

He's running out of time.

Sorry, but the author says he has read and summarised over 2,500 sources. This doesn't fill me with the greatest of confidence. I could summarise 2,500 recipes, but I wouldn't want to eat what comes out of it. Not only that, but he works in IT and telecommunications. So his interpretation of even the most reliable of sources could still be wrong.

Sorry, but as far as timelines go, lets just say that if I met this guy on the street, I wouldn't ask him for the time of day

EDIT: I also see that none of the dates in this 'timeline' go further than 2008, which means this seems like he's just chronicling events as they happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

If the European constitution Lisbon was passed what would be your top greatest concerns if the authorities were to draft in new civil measures into the country?.

Apart from breeding baby eating Dingos in Latvia and micro chipping the elderly mine would be just some of the following. :eek:

One child per family law in an attempt to cut down on population growth.

Compulsory drafting into the military on the reaching of 18 years of age for two years.This would be particularly hard on small families in the case of casualty.

Mandatory vaccination for infectious diseases. No explanation needed.

Multi usage programmable ID cards to be carried at all times failure to do so would result in a compulsory fine and arrest.

Compulsory use of ID Smartcard or administration codes to access the Internet. Introduced in internet cafe's then rolled out across the board. It would creep in as a trojan for assisting the authorities track down "terrorist" VOIP calls, "child porn" "cyber crime" spam etc. The sheeple would buy it because they would believe that it would make the internet and society "safer" :rolleyes:

Restrictions on freedom of speech, banning of blog or web sites that deem damaging to the interests of the Union. This would be drafted in to help prevent "terrorist organizations" from setting up and "corrupting" the public with "alternative meda". :rolleyes:

Smart card only access for all public transport that would double up as an ID card. This would be introduced for pensioners, welfare and those on disability allowing free transport access but electronically restricting them during peak hours. This will give those on state benefits a good incentive to use them rather than use the normal transit cards. Eventually all Euro ID cards could be programmed to operate on transit touch pads

Smart card requirement for the purchase of all alcohol, tobacco or any materials that deem a threat. Beer, fags knives, hand tools etc will have RFID track & trace devices built into them in case they end up in the wrong hands.

Electronic rationing utilizing the EAN bar code / ETag along with your personal smart card. This will also keep track of your global warming tax credits on all consumer purchases.

Random curfews in time of civil strife or demonstration. Military police could be deployed on the streets of Dublin within hours by drafted them in from abroad. The port tunnel would give them prompt access into the city center.

Electronically locking individuals out of the public transport system. This would not be a bad idea for preventing convicted vandals from traveling on rail or bus services. However if the authorities had suspicion of any subversives they could also lock them out. They could also introduce laws that children under a certain age must be "touched" in with an adult or registered guardians.

Registration of all mobile handsets making it illegal to own or operate an unregistered pay as you go phone. Already enforced in France, this could be very easily drafted in here making service providers having a cut off point for those that fail to register IMEI and sim cards.

Compulsory fitting of electronic GPS tracking device to all vehicles for monitoring a "carbon tax" based on useage and distance covered. It would be far more accurate than the current ANPR system used in London and could also be compatible with toll roads, bridges etc.
    Lads, this thread has gone seriously off topic, it was intended to discuss what one would fear should this treaty get through but has ended up in another political debate.

Back on topic.

I would also fear the dramatic increase of secularism even to the extent of religious persecution. A possible prohibition of the Angelus on TV and other religious broadcasts such as the Mass. Church services could also be banned from other places such as hospitals, schools and assembly halls. This type of secularism has been steadily progressing since 1964 in the US but could not be enforced into Europe as countries had independent sovereignty, but not any more.

One would have to apply for a permit to speak in public, preach or hand out fliers of any description . This would be electronically swiped to your personal smart card. Failure to comply would result in an immediate arrest. This law would be drafted in to prevent fear mongering and unlawful distribution of subversive material against the interest of the Union.

So after the comprehensive yes vote when do we expect these things to happen?

(I notice in your own county it's a 72.3% Yes vote, all that propaganda you handed out obviously didn't work).

• Registered Users Posts: 73 ✭✭Ken_Is_Here

In response to the OP my greatest fear is the possible implications of this:

"ARTICLE 10 C
    1. The Union's competence in matters of common foreign and security policy shall cover all areas of foreign policy and all questions relating to the Union's security, including the progressive framing of a common defence policy that might lead to a common defence."

(I notice in your own county it's a 72.3% Yes vote, all that propaganda you handed out obviously didn't work).

where is your country?

In response to the OP my greatest fear is the possible implications of this:

"ARTICLE 10 C
    1. The Union's competence in matters of common foreign and security policy shall cover all areas of foreign policy and all questions relating to the Union's security, including the progressive framing of a common defence policy that might lead to a common defence."

Well it has to be a unanimous decision and Ireland can veto it so not much I'd say.
    where is your country?

Ireland or course. Why do you ask?

So after the comprehensive yes vote when do we expect these things to happen?.
    Gradually.
    The NO campain did very well considering it didn't have the full backing of the state coffers, fatcats, biased media etc.

Gradually.

Will I come back in a year?
    The NO campain did very well considering it didn't have the full backing of the state coffers, fatcats, biased media etc.

The majority of posters around my area were No ones. What state funds were used? And it's easy to perceive bias where a more obvious interpretation is simple reality (reality bias as someone said).

Will I come back in a year?).
    All pending the ratification of 27 nations I would guess it will come down on us quite fast.

Give it 2011 at the most we may possibly see the roll out of the Eurowide ID card which will be concurrent with the US REAL ID card. This will store all your medical, police and social welfare records and will be used at electronic borders across the EU. We may even hear of the imposed Eurowide vaccinations plan :eek:

15ppurs.jpg
    The majority of posters around my area were No ones. What state funds were used? And it's easy to perceive bias where a more obvious interpretation is simple reality (reality bias as someone said).
    Referendum commissioners guide for starters, we already went through that one. biased, state backed media propaganda scaremongering the country about the economy and offering false hope on the jobs front.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭rmacm

15ppurs.jpg

scaremongering

^^^^

And you don't call that scare mongering? You consistently tell everyone that the NWO/Yes to Lisbon/Whatever flavour of the month it is uses scaremongering tactics to coerce people into things yet you love to indulge in it yourself.

Oh and there's no difference between the image of crying children being vaccinated and that one, it's still scare mongering.

All pending the ratification of 27 nations I would guess it will come down on us quite fast.

Give it 2011 at the most we may possibly see the roll out of the Eurowide ID card which will be concurrent with the US REAL ID card. This will store all your medical, police and social welfare records and will be used at electronic borders across the EU. We may even hear of the imposed Eurowide vaccinations plan :eek:

No problem I'll book that into my diary and come back to you. But isn't the world supposed to end in 2012 anyway?
    Referendum commissioners guide for starters, we already went through that one. biased, state backed media propaganda scaremongering the country about the economy and offering false hope on the jobs front.

You mean the one you thought the pictures were biased in? The one which you didn't come up with a single peice of text that was biased?

I think undergod did the best analysis. http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=62141915&postcount=31

No problem I'll book that into my diary and come back to you. But isn't the world supposed to end in 2012 anyway?
    Looking foreword to Tony Blair taking up presidency of the EU Parliament, he brought in more post 9/11 invasive legislative powers into the UK than any previous leader in the UK's history. :eek:

You nrver know we might soon have another spectacular "terrorist strike" on the London Underground or Paris Metro to give the powers of the elite a reason to usher in the smart card for every man woman and child in the union..

You mean the one you thought the pictures were biased in? The one which you didn't come up with a single peice of text that was biased?
    Again for the unpteen time the issue was about images and not the text in this document. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

Looking foreword to Tony Blair taking up presidency of the EU Parliament, he brought in more post 9/11 invasive legislative powers into the UK than any previous leader in the UK's history. :eek

Did he now? Can you provide us with some evidence to support that?

studiorat wrote: »
    Did he now? Can you provide us with some evidence to support that?
    The Blair government has undermined the presumption of innocence and the right to trial by jury and, under the Serious Organised Crime and Police Act that came into effect in January, has given the police extraordinary powers to arrest and impose punishment on actions never before considered criminal.

Under the guise of the war against terror, police have been given extraordinary powers to shoot to kill, whilst anti-terror legislation enables a cabinet minister to declare a state of emergency and suspend parliament. The provisions of the innocuous-sounding Legislative and Regulatory Reform Bill will set precedents allowing the government of the day to routinely bypass parliamentary supervision
    http://www.wsws.org/articles/2006/apr2006/blai-a28.shtml
    Tony Blair's government has created more than 3,000 new criminal offences during its nine-year tenure, one for almost every day it has been in power.

In total, the Government has brought in 3,023 offences since May 1997. They comprise 1,169 introduced by primary legislation - debated in Parliament - and 1,854 by secondary legislation such as statutory instruments and orders in council.

And the rate at which offences are being created is accelerating the longer that Tony Blair remains in Downing Street. In 1998, Labour's first full year in power, 160 new offences passed into legislation, rising to 346 in 2000 and 527 in 2005.
    http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/blairs-frenzied-law-making--a-new-offence-for-every-day-spent-in-office-412072.html

Can't wait to be loyal to Herr Blair in the Union:rolleyes:

You do realise he needs to get elected by 27 countries one of which is Ireland. Personally I can't see it happening no matter how many British newspapers say otherwise.

Turkey:
    http://www.sundayszaman.com/sunday/detaylar.do?load=detay&link=3477
    Tony Blair has been on the list for a long time.

Italy - EU Source:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/newreply.php?do=newreply&p=62396060
    Italian Prime Minister Silvio Berlusconi on Friday backed ex-British PM Tony Blair as the "ideal" candidate for European Union president, once the treaty which introduces the post is introduce

US:
    http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=20601087&sid=aygDSmzeH9Zs
    By James G. Neuger
    Oct. 5 (Bloomberg) -- Irish backing for the planned European Union governing treaty ignited a behind-closed-doors battle to appoint the first EU president, with former U.K. Prime Minister Tony Blair on the shortlist.
    [/QUOTE]

Irish Source - French FM
    :
    http://www.euinfo.ie/index.php?page=news&op=readNews&title=%95+Blair+for+EU+President+if+Lisbon+enters+into+force%2C+says+French+FM
    French Foreign Minister suggests Tony Blair is currently the only real candidate for EU President

China
    :
    http://www.chinapost.com.tw/commentary/reuters/2009/09/18/225154/EUs-re-elected.htm
    French President Nicolas Sarkozy suggested former British Prime Minister Tony Blair or veteran Luxembourg Prime Minister Jean-Claude Juncker would make excellent candidates for the new president’s job

etc etc...It'd be quite easy to go on. How would you feel if he was appointed? And you say 27 countries as if the popular vote counts. Why wouldn't 'we' vote for Blair?

• Registered Users Posts: 485 ✭✭macshadow

My greatest concern is that it was rigged.
    http://www.davidicke.com/forum/showthread.php?t=85178

macshadow wrote: »
    My greatest concern is that it was rigged.
    http://www.davidicke.com/forum/showthread.php?t=85178

Not to go all 911 on this but to do what he's suggesting would take a lot of people. There are observers at polling stations and counting centres for all sides, so they'd all have to be silenced or bought off. It's basically impossible.

so they'd all have to be silenced or bought off. It's basically impossible.

"VOTE YES FOR JOBS"

But that is exactly what was done , the electorate was bought off by saying vote yes and we'll give ya a job .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭gerrycollins

"VOTE YES FOR JOBS"

But that is exactly what was done , the electorate was bought off by saying vote yes and we'll give ya a job .

on a personal note I believe that we voted NO last time because we didnt fully understand it and with some bloke telling us it was the end for Ireland if it were passed and not much information from the YES side even I voted NO last time.

also on a figures issue based of the 420k unemployed people in ireland how many actually voted. If it were a job for a yes then they should all have voted but did they?obviously an unanswerable question but a good one I think.