Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The flowers and bees talk

• 28-09-2009 2:05am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭

Did you as young boys/men ever had a flowers and bees talk with your dad, I never had until a couple of years ago when I went to Thailand. His advice was "Use a condom if you are going to sleep with bad women". By bad women he meant prostitutes.

It was awkward. Did you have some kind of awkward experiences about talking about your sexuality with your dads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

Not really. "The talk" for me was effectively my dad just saying "Use a condom. You know how the whole thing works, right? Good."
    Ah, you gotta love Irish sex ed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,637 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

My oul man passed away before we had the opportunity for the talk but knowing him I can guess it would have been very arkward and embarrising as he was a very reserved and conservative man...this apple fell so very far from that tree! ;)
    When Mrs. Goat and I were talking about having kids we decided that I'd do any boys and she's do the talk with any girls.
    Two daughters later and Mrs. Goat is so regreting our plan. Two nil to me!

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

Luckily for my parents, the primary school I was at had sex ed (it was a fairly liberal Catholic School I guess, because we where taught about condoms also).

I remember being sat down with my sisters, by my parents and awkwardly asked "so, you took that class... you know how it... eh... works... babies.. I mean, right... eh... you don't have... or do you?... questions? I mean feel free to ask us anything."

I think we all just said we "yes we know what happens, you don't have to worry"

The look of relief on their faces was priceless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭lasair

Secondry school teacher in first yr gave us the talk.....she kept drilling into our heads "sex has a price tag" while watching some stupid american chat show about teen pregnancy...
    poor woman then asked any questions- boy was she sorry then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

I found some of my dad's pr0n mags.

Pretty much sussed it from there :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

Never heard of it being called flowers and the bees. 100% sure it's the birds and the bees.

Anyway my parents never bothered with it thankfully. I figured most of it out from friends and the stupidest sex ed class ever. It was about 15 years out of date and the main lad in it just acted like a complete gimp. Spraying on his Lynx in front of the mirror before letting off some ninja mating call. Then he went out to further embarrass himself in his pursuit of his girl. Needless to say pretty much all we got from that class was a good laugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭maddogcollins

came home from school on a friday to a book sitting on my bed..was never asked did i read it or did i have any questions until the following year when mam asked was the book still around as my aunt wanted it for her son!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

Didn't have the talk with my parents (thankfully) but I have an 8 yr old boy and 6 yr old girl and we have a policy that if they are mature enough to ask a question then they are mature enough to get an honest answer.

So the eldest pretty much knows everything, including contraception & condoms. Now being Irish I tend to mumble "go ask your Mum" and she has no problem with explaining things. The big advantage of doing it so young is that there is no teenage embarrassment to deal with.

But shortly after he had it explained I was trying to hurry him out of teh car when he was dragging his feet and he turned to me and said "bet you wish you'd used one of them rubber things now Dad" I could have died from embarrassment...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Never heard of it being called flowers and the bees. 100% sure it's the birds and the bees.

Anyway my parents never bothered with it thankfully. I figured most of it out from friends and the stupidest sex ed class ever. It was about 15 years out of date and the main lad in it just acted like a complete gimp. Spraying on his Lynx in front of the mirror before letting off some ninja mating call. Then he went out to further embarrass himself in his pursuit of his girl. Needless to say pretty much all we got from that class was a good laugh

Hah we had the same video in Primary school too.

Didnt bother with it at home but bought me a book on it and said any Q's after ask them. Read the book but it was mostly stuff I had already picked up or knew from elsewhere.

Then came the Primary school sex education in 6th class. Nothing remarkable in it really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Never had the talk. Was just assumed I'd find out for myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

OP -just read your post. I had conversations with my kids. You mentioned something about discussing sexuality with your Dad. Is there a reason for this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭CliffHuxtabel

My parents hadnt a notion of having such a mortifying conversation with me.

When i was about 15 i walked into my room to find a 'flowers and bees' book on my bed. No explanation how it got there.

I wouldnt mind but the book was a load of muck. It was like the authors were too embarassed to explain even the most basic need-to-know facts.

Thankfully internet porn arrived just in the nick of time for my college years

God Save Ireland from you lot.

I bought my son a soldering iron that had a big red sticker saying always use protection - I had taped a box of condoms to the end of the box. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Thankfully never had a sex talk with either parent.I remember an embarrassing incident when Mum asked me if I wanted to know anything so I tried to think of something to say.Think I asked her about wet dreams.:o

My Dad God bless him,wouldnt be the most tactile man when it comes to these issues.He is the kind of person that used to change the channel if a pair of tits appeared in a TV show or movie.

nedtheshed wrote: »
    so I tried to think of something to say.Think I asked her about wet dreams
    :D LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭QOTSA90

Never had the talk, I guess I just picked up what I needed to know from other kids. Im not exactly sure when I learned how everything worked, but I remember being surprised when the sex ed teacher told us girls got pubic hair too, I was 12 at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭cooperguy

I got a book aswell! Except it didnt appear out of nowhere my mam arrived up to my room with it and said she wanted me to read it. As soon as I saw the cover I knew exactly what it was and I just thought to myself "ah crap I really dont want this conversation". The book came a few years too late, there was nothing in it hadnt found out from people already!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭Crotchety

I was shown pornography on the internet. That explained everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

CDfm wrote: »
    God Save Ireland from you lot.

I bought my son a soldering iron that had a big red sticker saying always use protection - I had taped a box of condoms to the end of the box. :)

Talk about sending mixed messages ;) What if he turned out to be gay?

Confab wrote: »

Well he didn't :D

But how dumb would you feel after having the conversation then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

Confab wrote: »

Gay men still need to use protection... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

My mother did not have any sort of sex education talk with me at all. Not, that is, till I moved in with my OH. At the age of 27! Mum, I love you but you're a few years too late! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭Crotchety

shellyboo wrote: »
    Gay men still need to use protection... :)

Yes. Anal diseases etc.

My mother did not have any sort of sex education talk with me at all. Not, that is, till I moved in with my OH. At the age of 27! Mum, I love you but you're a few years too late! :)

Ah how sweet - bless her:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,634 ✭✭✭token56

My Dad had the talk with me when I was about 11 I think, also had a talk in 6th class and it was all hilarious at the time.

Mother has never said anything to me about it, expect the whole as long as you dont come home and tell me you got someone pregnant I dont care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

My father had the talk with me when I was 13 in the summer between primary and secondary schools. He trapped me nicely into it in we were going somewhere in the car on a fairly long journey and he just started and kept going for about half an hour or an hour using such vivid terms as, "You know the way a ram jumps on sheeps back" (He grew up on a farm)! I disliked it alot as I knew everything since about 5th class when I was 11, (I had the dialup net and Bertieahern.com was the bomb back then!).

Occasionally there are stupid moments and once before as I was flying out at shannon I gave the mom the usual kiss and the father the shake hands and I'll call ye when I land routine, as I was in the queue he shouts over, "Be sure and use rubbers if yer doing any ridin ya fecker ya!" :eek: The security fella at the gate was smirking and two or three girls in the queue were practically bursting their holes at it.

I stirred up a storm when my sister went to college by planting a Condom in the pockets of her dirty laundry, which mother emptied during her usual Irish mammy routine of doing the clothes. It created a grand a storm as you could imagine as my sister had just started seeing a guy and he was coming over for the weekend. I later came clean, which opened a can of worms for myself, "having them for evaluation purposes" wasn't believed!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Got a "talk" in sixth class about what changes we could expect at puberty. It wasn't really sex ed because they just told us what was going to happen, not *why* it was going to happen.
    I remember at one point, all the boys being told to go out in the yard and play and the girls stayed behind. When we came back in, nobody would tell us what they were talking about. Obviously they were discussing menstruation and the like, but to this day I think it was really bizarre that they thought it was necessary to "hide" this from the boys and only talk about it with the girls. And this was the mid-ninties.