Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ITB Airsoft Society

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭KonFusion

Funding approved!

Price will be around 10-15 euro depend on cost of bus.

The provisional date for the outing is the 21st.

Sound good?

Venue is hrta. Leaving at around....11?...and returning at 5?

Jesus it's been so long I can't remember haha! Sounds about right. Let me know what ya all think about that date etc.

Can't wait! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭donfarrell

wooooooooo can't wait :D

Meeting tomorrow. Check your email or our facebook for more info.

Someone do something.....I wanna go airsofting!!!! *Jumps up and down like a spoilt child*

Not sure if we got funding this month....Diarmuid seems to be guarding that info with his life lol. I'll send an email POST HASTE!

Started on a 'new improved' website. It's nice and clean. Much prefer it to the old one.

Still under construction but let me know what you think.

www.itbairsoft.com

Also shall be heading to this event http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056322503

If anyone is interested in tagging along then let me know. Would love to have a good few from the soc there. Should be great craic!

Launched the new site today.

(The restrictions on the free digiweb hosting are a pain in the arse!)

Linky to new site. Click me!

Also on facebook (new shiney URL)

and twitter @itbairsoft

If any prospective first years are thinking of joining, please go here and complete this web form.

Old members, also feel free to fill out the form if you should so wish.

Is there gonna be any outing this year as opposed to the 2-3 last year? :L

donfarrell wrote: »
    Is there gonna be any outing this year as opposed to the 2-3 last year? :L

huh? Not sure I understand you.

Do you mean will there be more outings this year?

If so then yes. I wasn't CEO last year, and felt the society was poorly run. So will be stepping back as CEO this year with a whole new committee to make some improvements :)

Good few positions in the society available this year. (Almost all of them in fact :p)

PM me or let me know here if you're interested in helping out. It's not very hard :)

what would helping out entail? :)
    Also when do I get that hoodie I payed for in first year? ahahahah

what would helping out entail? :)
    Also when do I get that hoodie I payed for in first year? ahahahah

Helping out would entail making sure people get their hoodies for one thing :P

I just wanna say that I never got a hoody either :(, but I apologise. Should have made sure you got a refund. Will you PM me how much you paid, and I'll give it to ya when we're back.

tub.ie (who supplied the hoodies) never launched. I can't remember who supplied them, I think it was banana-moon-clothing.co.uk, so I'll give them a shout and see how much I can get them for.

I've a guy who does prints, he'll be doing them on the cheap for me this year (as in buy a t shirt/hoody in pennies or some such, give it to me, i give it to him, you get it back with the logo on it).

Positions available are:

Financial Officer - Documents and manages society finances in co-op with the CEO. Keeps track of invoices, funding, etc etc. Usually the person second in charge of the soc if the CEO is unavailable/explodes spontaneously.

Technical Officer - (as in, airsoft gun tech. So if you can strip em and put em back together, or would like to learn how, this is the position for you). This role would entail AEG repairs and modding.

Organisational Officer - As the name states, whoever has this position organises stuff. Books bus's, rings around to get the best quote etc. Try's to help ensure everything run's smoothly.

Public relations officer - Promotes the society. Might also try and secure sponsorship etc.

Pretty much all the roles just try and take some of the strain off the CEO as it's hard for one person to do it all, also most of them will help each other out, regardless of what their individual role is. Just like a nice big family :P

I can also come up with positions on the fly if anyone has anything they'd like to help out with/do.

so its just basically you? :L
    I'd prob give OO a go as it doesnt seem the most difficult :L

so its just basically you? :L
    I'd prob give OO a go as it doesnt seem the most difficult :L

Tis indeed basically just me :pac:. Good man.

Just to let you know, there's not many perks. Occasionally you might get to go on an outing for free but that's about it :P

It's mostly just about the satisfaction of helping out and seeing something come together that people enjoy.

And nah not too difficult at all. I'll let ya know when the first AGM will be etc. PM me ur mobile num there.

Ah cool well I wouldnt mind being part of the best damn society in ITB ;):p

Got a quote for hoodies (the exact same as our previous ones but instead of them being black, they are now "military green" with either a white or black graphic on the back, and "ITB Airsoft Society" embroidered on the left breast.

The only diff to the old ones is just the colour.

It works out at around 22 euro a hoodie. Bit pricey, but if we can get some funds to subsidise it and bring it down to around 15 quid I'd be happy.

Waiting for a few more quotes though so we might get it cheaper.

Also if we're interested....calenders? Aldi do them for 13 quid each. Prob make them cheaper myself though.

I'd also like to do a promo vid for our first meeting to show the new members. Dunno when I'll have the time though.

Don u up for helping? Got you're own kit?

KonFusion wrote: »
    Got a quote for hoodies (the exact same as our previous ones but instead of them being black, they are now "military green" with either a white or black graphic on the back, and "ITB Airsoft Society" embroidered on the left breast.

The only diff to the old ones is just the colour.

It works out at around 22 euro a hoodie. Bit pricey, but if we can get some funds to subsidise it and bring it down to around 15 quid I'd be happy.

Waiting for a few more quotes though so we might get it cheaper.

Also if we're interested....calenders? Aldi do them for 13 quid each. Prob make them cheaper myself though.

I'd also like to do a promo vid for our first meeting to show the new members. Dunno when I'll have the time though.

Don u up for helping? Got you're own kit?

Ye I'd be up for helping :)
    No I haven't got any kit but should be getting a gun etc in october funds depending :p

Was just looking at prices is there and I could of sworn there was guns out there for like €70 - €80 not €350 :/
    Any help on where to get a gun cheapish :L

Was just looking at prices is there and I could of sworn there was guns out there for like €70 - €80 not €350 :/
    Any help on where to get a gun cheapish :L
    You can get one for €150 in MIA.

http://www.mainirishairsoft.com/scripts/prodList.asp?idcategory=38&sortField=price

Its a grand gun for going out couple times a year.

Do they all come with batteries and chargers? :p

Not them all, just check the guns page/description, the one for €150 does. Will be ok for you. I bought that one myself last year, but then I bought a new battery for €25. Its grand. I've had it out a couple of times.

I'd recommend running it by me lads before you buy anything. As some of the stuff around that price range is complete muck.

You usually can't go wrong with anything that's G&G. I'd avoid any of the sportslines or anything by Classic Army.

If you HAVE to buy from MIA(I wouldn't), then I'd go with the G&G combat machine.

But if you don't mind waiting a while, I'd order this. Top notch for the price. I'd email them to see if they have it in stock. They probably don't but can order it in. Might be a week or two, but it's cheap and will last. (also I can fit it with an adapter so it takes M4 mags)

Anyway, boards has a great airsoft forum. This isn't the place.

Here's a thread that might be of interest

If you (or anyone reading this for that matter) want more info/tips etc. Pm me :)

PS/Edit: I forgot to say, I'm planning for the first game of this year to be indoors CQB :D I'm also working on a milsim game (which will be possibly 12 hours long).

That gun is actually perfect :D need to save a few pennies for it though :L

Indoor airsoft? :eek: that sounds really dangerous/awesome :cool: where is it?

FIRST OFFICIAL OUTING of the society will be next wednesday! 11-6 approx. Prices will be 10 euro for people with their own kit, and 25 for anyone who needs to rent kit. Rental kit will include a (good) airsoft gun, unlimited ammo and a face mask. The rental package is very cheap (it's normally about 40.) so I'd encourage all new members to take advantage of this. Limited places, so let me know asap!

Please let me know if you're going before Friday if you can folks! Spread the word.

There'll also prob be an AGM on Thursday @ 1pm. Room to be decided.

FIRST OFFICIAL OUTING of the society will be next wednesday! 11-6 approx. Prices will be 10 euro for people with their own kit, and 25 for anyone who needs to rent kit. Rental kit will include a (good) airsoft gun, unlimited ammo and a face mask. The rental package is very cheap (it's normally about 40.) so I'd encourage all new members to take advantage of this. Limited places, so let me know asap!

Please let me know if you're going before Friday if you can folks! Spread the word.

There'll also prob be an AGM on Thursday @ 1pm. Room to be decided.
    I'll be there.

Where is it?

Edit:
    Looking at timetable, would it be possible to change the AGM time?

You'll be where? The outing or the AGM?

If you can't make the agm don't worry too much, I'll send you a summary. It's mostly just to tell people about the outing next week and plans for this year etc.

Out of curiosity what time would suit ya better? I just picked 1 as most people are off at 1 for lunch.

I'll be at the outing & AGM.

I have a lecture 12-2 on Thursday.

I have a class at 1pm on Wed, Thur and Friday.

You pick a time and I'll try to make it. If not, I'll get info of donfarrell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭Block G Raptor

Mentioned the Outing on Air on Phoenix Fm on Wed and played a special song for ya's ..................Kids with guns by gorrillaz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭Damo 2k9

Heading into first year Computer Engineering this year, and this is one of the soc's that im most excited about joining haha! Been playing airsoft for a few years now and would love to join the soc in college, help meet new people and what not! So if anyone could get back to us that would be great, thanks :)

Hey Damo! (We've actually met IRL at Fingal Airsoft way back)

I've been running the soc since it's inception (2/3 years ago), however I'm no longer in the college as of last year.

So feel free to set it back up again this year.

Talk to donfarell on here, he helped me run it.

All you'll need is 3 people, (2 will suffice if you're stuck), a CEO (chairperson/president) and a CFO (chief financial officer). A COO (organisation officer) would also be handy.

Should be a few members knocking around this year coming that'll sign up again. If you need any other info or if you're interested, pm me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭Damo 2k9

Hey Damo! (We've actually met IRL at Fingal Airsoft way back)

I've been running the soc since it's inception (2/3 years ago), however I'm no longer in the college as of last year.

So feel free to set it back up again this year.

Talk to donfarell on here, he helped me run it.

All you'll need is 3 people, (2 will suffice if you're stuck), a CEO (chairperson/president) and a CFO (chief financial officer). A COO (organisation officer) would also be handy.

Should be a few members knocking around this year coming that'll sign up again. If you need any other info or if you're interested, pm me :)
    Really? Small world eh :pac:
    That's a pity that ur finished, well not for you haha. I wouldn't really be up to starting up to setting it up in my first year, maybe in the second year. Maybe some more people set it up, it's something I'd love to do, get to know more people and stuff.